Customer Reviews for OUTBACK TRADING Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket

OUTBACK TRADING Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket

Workwear doesn't get any more rugged than this Outback Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket. Premium 12-oz. waterproof oilskin fabric from Australia withstands the demands of tough ranch work. A quilted, plaid taffeta lining adds a layer of warmth. Nubuck top collar and cuff tabs. Two-way zipper with storm flap. Adjustable drawstring waist. Multiple interior and exterior pockets. Imported. Sizes: M-2XL. Colors: Bronze, English Green.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Review 1 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great coat great price

Date:March 10, 2015
Excellent fit, attention to construction and generally very comfortable to wear. I like the style and hip length. Water repellency is good. If I have any suggestion for improvement it pertains to the zipper; the zipper pull could be larger to accommodate large hands or gloved hands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great coat

Date:March 7, 2015
Extremely well built coat, defiantly not light and flimsy. Used a fleece vest with it when sub zero and was waterproof in wet heavy snow this winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great coat!

Date:February 24, 2015
I am very pleased with this coat. I was worried that the sleeves would not be long enough. But, they were perfect! I am 6' 4" and have long arms. I thought I would give the coat a try because others had said the sleeves were too long. The XL fit me perfectly. The construction and weight is also right on.
Thanks Cabela's for a great coat and quick shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great coat

Date:December 23, 2014
Great coat. Works for everyday or for workin cows. When ordering, order a size bigger in case you want to layer warmer clothes under. This coat isn't for sub zero Temps but works great for 30 and up. The material blocks the wind and rain but conducts cold. I use a wool or fleece vest under it to counter that and it works good. One improvement I would make is on the concealed carry pocket and holster. When trying to holster a weapon in the elastic holster it is not user friendly. If you carry a full frame pistol, the coat is going to droop on the left side. Carrying a sub compact or a small revolver works fine. With any new conceal carry position or holster, safe unloaded presentation and draws are key to speed. I would recommend replacing the zipper for the pocket with some strong magnets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful Coat

Date:November 15, 2014
I could not be happier about this Outback Trading Deer Hunter Jacket. It has the look and weight I was searching for. The price is a nice bonus but it would be a great value at twice the cost. The Nubuck leather was NOT greasy or messy as some have observed. Since it is already cold here in Michigan I hung the coat in a small room with a space heater for several hours with the temperature in the high 80's to help the cotton "absorb" any extra wax on the surface and that has worked great. A+A+A+A+A+
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:February 14, 2014
I really like this coat. It has a ton of pockets for all my stuff, even a pocket for concealed carry. Flannel lined, built well, material is very durable, waterproof, and wind proof. This fit is a little big but not to much. I am able to layer a couple shirts and a sweatshirt under my medium. I am 5'8" 165lbs. The coat is long enough to cover most of my butt too, which I like because most coats you buy are really short. GREAT COAT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD QUALITY, POOR MANUFACTURING

Date:January 28, 2014
The size is correct, i order the large and fits perfect, even have room from layering, the only prolem with the jacket is not come with the second buttom of the top, other wise i give 5 stars.
I Iive in the north of Mexico, and the jacket is resistant against the branches with thorns.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gift

Date:December 17, 2013
I purchased this jacket for my extremely picky (college age) son. He loved the multiple pockets, and durability of the material. The flannel liner was also a big hit. Cabela's stands behind their products, which makes us keep coming back!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Jacket!

Date:November 27, 2013
I really enjoy wearing this jacket and the style it is. I'm one of those between medium and large, depending on sleeve length usually. I decided to try medium with this due to other reviews commenting on this being slightly oversized. I'm glad I went with medium as it fits great in the chest and the sleeves are just the right length for me (it's a smidge shorter on sleeve length than I wanted, but I didn't think it was enough of a difference to send back for Large size). I like the pocket arrangements, including the inner pocket for concealment. It blocks wind great, has good insulation for those brisk cold mornings. I'm really glad I got this jacket as it met my expectations and was a style that I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Jacket I ever owned

Date:November 5, 2013
This is the best jacket I have ever owned.
It is light enough to wear all day and warm enough for the worst of weather Northern California can have.
There are plenty of pockets to loose your stuff in that are easy to access. The liner of this jacket is soft and very warm. The size is a little big but plenty of room to layer if needed. Great jacket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Outdoor Jacket

Date:April 2, 2013
Used the jacket every day in rain, wind and cold while on an outdoor building project in February and March. Stayed warm and dry. Sizing was good and jacket easy to clean when it got dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Windproof!

Date:March 19, 2013
Super jacket for a trip. Left Chicago 20 degrees. Arrived Corpus Christi TX 50 degrees and WINDY. Just regulate the "heat" with the zipper or snap flap over it. Loads of interior and exterior pockets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Size Matters

Date:February 12, 2013
I liked the coat, but in my opinion the product is inconsistent with the size chart. It would help to get manufacturers of sourced product to be consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Newfoundland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:December 27, 2012
Husband very satisfied
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Five stars

Date:December 12, 2012
Buy one great coat tuff as they get won't get wet or cold all day blizzard proof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good jacket, if you can get a fit.

Date:December 5, 2012
Large too small through the waist and hips. XL too large everywhere. Too bad - an older Outback jacket is still going strong after 12 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great coat

Date:October 31, 2012
Just recieved the Deerhunter Jacket and it's exactly what I wanted. The other reviews were spot-on as to sizing (one size smaller is perfect). Been looking for a 3 season jacket and finally found the right one. No hood, nice collar, no velcro, fits great (with room for layering), sturdy and very comfortable. Feels lived in right out of the box. I don't think it's too heavy at all. Hand pockets are warm and in the right place; all the other pockets make sense and are usable but not in the way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Coat !!

Date:March 29, 2012
I bought this coat on sale as a gift to myself and couldn't be happier with it. I've had many complements on it's looks...and the quality is outstanding. I wouldn't want to be without it now !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pakistan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DeerHunter Jacket

Date:March 7, 2012
Excellent , I used this jacket when i went for wildboar hunt in january,it was quite chilly temperature but i didn't felt cold in this jacket,but little bit heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Outback® Trading Men's Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.E. Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Favorite

Date:February 13, 2012
Outback Trading Deerhunter Jacket is my new Favorite!!
Comfort, Quality and Value!
I saw an Outback Trading jacket in a local store (different model) and was impressed by the quality, but they didn't have my size (normally wear a large, but the medium Deerhunter is perfect# and I wanted waterproof.
This jacket is awesome! While it feels heavy to pick up, it wears very comfortably and doesn't feel heavy at all when it is on. It blocks the wind very well and it sure does keep me dry in the rain. I also like the length. On a particularly chilly morning, it was notable that unlike shorter jackets, it kept my lower torso #hips and butt) warm and this increases my comfort level significantly.
This is the most comfortable jacket I have owned! I will also say that every time I've worn it at least one person has told me how much they like my jacket and several even said "nice leather jacket".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29