Customer Reviews for OUTBACK TRADING Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket

OUTBACK TRADING Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket

Workwear doesn't get any more rugged than this Outback Trading Deerhunter Jacket. Premium 12-oz. waterproof oilskin fabric from Australia withstands the demands of tough ranch work. A quilted, plaid taffeta lining adds a layer of warmth. Nubuck top collar and cuff tabs. Two-way zipper with storm flap. Adjustable drawstring waist. Multiple interior and exterior pockets. Imported. Sizes: M-2XL. Colors: Bronze, English Green.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Review 1 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:February 14, 2014
I really like this coat. It has a ton of pockets for all my stuff, even a pocket for concealed carry. Flannel lined, built well, material is very durable, waterproof, and wind proof. This fit is a little big but not to much. I am able to layer a couple shirts and a sweatshirt under my medium. I am 5'8" 165lbs. The coat is long enough to cover most of my butt too, which I like because most coats you buy are really short. GREAT COAT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD QUALITY, POOR MANUFACTURING

Date:January 28, 2014
The size is correct, i order the large and fits perfect, even have room from layering, the only prolem with the jacket is not come with the second buttom of the top, other wise i give 5 stars.
I Iive in the north of Mexico, and the jacket is resistant against the branches with thorns.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gift

Date:December 17, 2013
I purchased this jacket for my extremely picky (college age) son. He loved the multiple pockets, and durability of the material. The flannel liner was also a big hit. Cabela's stands behind their products, which makes us keep coming back!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Jacket!

Date:November 27, 2013
I really enjoy wearing this jacket and the style it is. I'm one of those between medium and large, depending on sleeve length usually. I decided to try medium with this due to other reviews commenting on this being slightly oversized. I'm glad I went with medium as it fits great in the chest and the sleeves are just the right length for me (it's a smidge shorter on sleeve length than I wanted, but I didn't think it was enough of a difference to send back for Large size). I like the pocket arrangements, including the inner pocket for concealment. It blocks wind great, has good insulation for those brisk cold mornings. I'm really glad I got this jacket as it met my expectations and was a style that I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Jacket I ever owned

Date:November 5, 2013
This is the best jacket I have ever owned.
It is light enough to wear all day and warm enough for the worst of weather Northern California can have.
There are plenty of pockets to loose your stuff in that are easy to access. The liner of this jacket is soft and very warm. The size is a little big but plenty of room to layer if needed. Great jacket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Outdoor Jacket

Date:April 2, 2013
Used the jacket every day in rain, wind and cold while on an outdoor building project in February and March. Stayed warm and dry. Sizing was good and jacket easy to clean when it got dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Windproof!

Date:March 19, 2013
Super jacket for a trip. Left Chicago 20 degrees. Arrived Corpus Christi TX 50 degrees and WINDY. Just regulate the "heat" with the zipper or snap flap over it. Loads of interior and exterior pockets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Size Matters

Date:February 12, 2013
I liked the coat, but in my opinion the product is inconsistent with the size chart. It would help to get manufacturers of sourced product to be consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Newfoundland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:December 27, 2012
Husband very satisfied
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Five stars

Date:December 12, 2012
Buy one great coat tuff as they get won't get wet or cold all day blizzard proof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good jacket, if you can get a fit.

Date:December 5, 2012
Large too small through the waist and hips. XL too large everywhere. Too bad - an older Outback jacket is still going strong after 12 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great coat

Date:October 31, 2012
Just recieved the Deerhunter Jacket and it's exactly what I wanted. The other reviews were spot-on as to sizing (one size smaller is perfect). Been looking for a 3 season jacket and finally found the right one. No hood, nice collar, no velcro, fits great (with room for layering), sturdy and very comfortable. Feels lived in right out of the box. I don't think it's too heavy at all. Hand pockets are warm and in the right place; all the other pockets make sense and are usable but not in the way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Coat !!

Date:March 29, 2012
I bought this coat on sale as a gift to myself and couldn't be happier with it. I've had many complements on it's looks...and the quality is outstanding. I wouldn't want to be without it now !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pakistan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DeerHunter Jacket

Date:March 7, 2012
Excellent , I used this jacket when i went for wildboar hunt in january,it was quite chilly temperature but i didn't felt cold in this jacket,but little bit heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.E. Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Favorite

Date:February 13, 2012
Outback Trading Deerhunter Jacket is my new Favorite!!
Comfort, Quality and Value!
I saw an Outback Trading jacket in a local store (different model) and was impressed by the quality, but they didn't have my size (normally wear a large, but the medium Deerhunter is perfect# and I wanted waterproof.
This jacket is awesome! While it feels heavy to pick up, it wears very comfortably and doesn't feel heavy at all when it is on. It blocks the wind very well and it sure does keep me dry in the rain. I also like the length. On a particularly chilly morning, it was notable that unlike shorter jackets, it kept my lower torso #hips and butt) warm and this increases my comfort level significantly.
This is the most comfortable jacket I have owned! I will also say that every time I've worn it at least one person has told me how much they like my jacket and several even said "nice leather jacket".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dang It's Heavy

Date:February 1, 2012
Bought this a couple of days ago. I ordered a large (as I do with most things), but a large was LARGE. It ran a little big, so if you think a medium may be too small it'll probably fit fine like mine did. The inner lining is super soft and it has so many pockets I'm pretty sure I'll put it on next fall and find some paper or something that I misplaced and forgot about. By the feel and weight it should last a long time. And I like that the washing instructions say "hang it up and spray with a pressurized hose." Oddly enough though, it came out of the package with what looks like dog or cat hair all over it............?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colonial Heights, Va.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very stylish coat.

Date:January 24, 2012
I bought this coat for my oldest son, he seemed to love it, saying this is called a DEER Hunters coat, but this is what you wear after the hunt is over. I ordered him a size 2x large because he is thick in the shoulders. Isent it back for an XL. It fits perfectly. Good quality, really expensive looking. Got it back in appr. week and a half. But no problem. Both deliveries were very quick. Very pleased. Will continue buying fron CABELAS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly recommended

Date:January 18, 2012
Just purchased it for myself and it is a GREAT purchase! It is somewhat heavy but its weight is an indication of its quality. From the outstanding zippers to the handy pockets, this jacket is a steal at its sale price Other sites have this exact jacket selling for at least double the Cabela's price. I have found this coat to be warm, windproof, waterproof and comfortable. I was looking for a ranchcoat when I came upon this bargain and I am glad I opted for this. Several warnings. The coat does have an oil smell and coating that takes time to "settle" in. I hung mine outside in the sun for several days to dry it. Do not wear any good dress shirts under it until you dry it or some of the oil will wear off onto the shirt. No problems after that. I normally wear an XL (I am 6 foot 225 lbs) but the Large fit me perfectly inclusive of sleeve length. I hang the coat in my garage so as to not possibly tranfer any smell or oil onto my wifes coats in our closet. Have received many compliments on the jackets looks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Jacket

Date:January 16, 2012
I bought this coat to keep in my pickup truck for driving in the Rockey Mountains. I am 6' 1" and 230 lbs and find that the XL fits perfectly with room for layering under. I usually wear a turtle neck and a wool shirt as base layers. It blocks wind and sheds snow and rain very well. I do not find the fabric any too heavy at all. The coat is perfect. I do wear a broad brimed hat to keep snow from going down my neck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Outback® Trading Deerhunter Jacket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:January 12, 2012
Got the coat in today. I don't think it's heavy at all. I've been looking at getting a oilskin coat and this one is superb! Looking forward to getting some great wear out of this really nice coat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24