Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants

"Penny" is a term used to describe nail size and strength. You wouldn't use 16-penny nails to hang a picture. You'd use them to build a house. Our 16-Penny canvas is as tough as the nails it's named for and it's the strongest workwear material we sell, yet it affords all-day comfort. That means you can count on our 16-Penny Workwear to handle anything the job site throws at you. These tough-as-nails pants are built of ultrastrong 100% cotton canvas material that will last for years. We're confident you won't find more rugged and reliable workwear for prices this great anywhere else. The 16-Penny Work Pants will bend, turn, climb, crawl with you through your hard-working day. Made of super-tough 100% cotton canvas, their strength is reinforced by triple-needle stitching. A gusseted crotch adds range of motion. These pants also feature a hammer loop, a utility pocket on the leg, spacious front pockets and two rear pockets with extra reinforcement for added durability. Belt loops accommodate larger belts. Look around all you want, but you won't find a better pair of work pants. Imported. Inseams: 30", 32", 34". Sizes: 30, 31, 32, 33, 34-46 even. Colors: Moss, Desert, Hickory.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
39 out of 55(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Review 1 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ely, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

16 penny workpants

Date:August 21, 2007
I really liked them, and I wore them, but then I washed them[as per instructions] They shrunk so much I could no longer ware them. Next time I'll order a 36 inch waist.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

16-d work pants

Date:October 18, 2007
they are sized small. for a 36 waist order a 38. length about the same. they start out too long, but get shorter after a wash. tough material. a little warm for summer. they do have lots of room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Loganton, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

16 Penny Work Pants too light

Date:October 23, 2007
I did not prefer the higher cut waist and the material is not as heavy as my denim jeans. I was looking for a heavy, durable work pant that was not a pair of jeans and was not satisfied with the lighter weight material used for these pants. They would work well for hotter weather and on a jobsite where a heavy material might not be quite as important.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Foresthill, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

16-penny Work Pants

Date:December 8, 2007
I am very disappointed with pants. First of all I ordered these pants in the size that I wear all of my other pants 34 waist. When I recieved the pants all 3 pairs (34 waist) were so tight I could not even button them. I sent them back (had to pay for shipping again) and exchanged them for 36 Waist. I tried all 3 pairs of pants on and 2 of the pants were so loose I could pulled them down to my knees without buttoning them. The other pair fits baggy, but I have worn them about 5 times while working. After the first washing with this one pair of pants I made myself wear, Half of the belt loops are fraid and the pants were still baggy. I probably will not wear them again and feel I waisted close to $100.00. Quality control on these items was poor at best. Never ever been disappointed with a Cabelas order before this one. I'm not going to send back again as shipping would be charged again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great work pants

Date:January 7, 2008
These pants are rugged, comfortable and perfect for my work in the construciton field. They are high quality and well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough with comfort

Date:January 8, 2008
These pants were used on a stenuous mountain hunt recently that required some truly tough fabric. They had to battle thorns, cat-claw, and jagged rocks constantly on my 4 day hunt and they performed flawlessly. My body build really likes the cut of these pants so I am able to experience extreme comfort. They are durable yet very comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pants!!

Date:January 15, 2008
Get a pair, you will be pleased!! Great work weight, pockets to spare, great fit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Long Island, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants

Date:January 16, 2008
Thought the material would be heavier. Comfortable, great fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temecula, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:February 1, 2008
They are tough, and they are comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pants

Date:February 21, 2008
Bought four pairs and one had a slight rip on one seam by the fly. Other than that, great pants. Like the heavy cotton fabric and the small pocket on the right leg that holds a cel phone just right. Would buy these again and probably will.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

16 Penny Pants

Date:February 22, 2008
These are tough pants and look to be long-wearing. They are tighter in the waist than most pants of the same waist size- so order a size larger. They're plenty large enough below the waist, however, but dieting may be in order to get the full life out of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: DENMARK, Europe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Denmark Europe

Date:February 27, 2008
The legs is much to wide, i can put my 2 legs in one pantleg, waistsize is ok. the picture online does not show the real fit the pants have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:April 10, 2008
The 16-Penny Work Pants are true to size and are of great quality(especially for that price). Pants of that quality at other places are alot pricier. The only downside was that when I was checking about something else on your website, I noticed that these pants were now $10 cheaper. I guess that is just my loss. I may wait a while before ordering something else, and keep checking for sales! Otherwise, I would definitely recommend these pants to others!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: winnemucca nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cabela 16penny work pants

Date:June 2, 2008
size was not right way small, real thin ,i will stick to carharts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great pants

Date:June 4, 2008
the pants are great the fabric seems thin but is extremly durable i use them reagurly for work and have had no problems. my only recomendation is order a size larger they door run a little tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pants!

Date:June 18, 2008
I ordered these pants to try something other than Carhart.
Very impressed with the fit and finish. I even wear'em to church!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Try something else.

Date:June 30, 2008
I ordered 3 pairs. I wore one pair a few times, thought I liked them but then they began to fall apart. Sent the other two back to exchange for better quality and fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sierra Foothills
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Baggy, Strange

Date:July 1, 2008
I have worn Carhartt brown canvas pants and like the feel of the fabric. I was expecting these "canvas" pants to be somewhat like Carhartt but instead the fabric has an odd smooth and uncomfortable texture. There is a line of sewing that catches your fingers when you jam your hand in the pockets. The cut is baggy and strange with giant flappy legs that flap on each other when you walk. Plus my wife says "never, ever wear those pants again if you want me to stick around."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheaper for a reason

Date:July 18, 2008
I bought my husband three pairs of these for Christmas. Within three weeks all three pairs unraveled at the belt loops and on the zipper area the fabric unraveled and created holes.It also happened on the leg. I called and complained and cabellas did offer to replace or refund but it was't worth the hassell to send them back. I will not buy these again. It was really strange all three had defects in the same area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's 16-Penny Work Pants
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bowdoin, Me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

16 Penny Canvas Pant

Date:July 28, 2008
Pants not sized correctly, bigger
Pants come out of dryer wrinkled
Would not buy another pair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55