Customer Reviews for MILITARY SPEC Tru-Spec Military Poncho

MILITARY SPEC Tru-Spec Military Poncho

The design is based on input from several tactical officers around the country with the goal of improving functionality, durability and comfort in the field. Coated nylon rip-stop is great for hunting from a treestand, where brush isn’t an issue, and maximum coverage is. Double-sided snaps enable use as a tent either alone or by snapping two or more ponchos together for an even larger emergency shelter. Drawstring secured hood can be adjusted as weather dictates. Waist tie-down makes it easier to handle in windy conditions. Easily folds for storage in handy (included) drawstring carry bag. Hand wash only. One size fits all. Imported. Dimensions: 81"L x 56"W. Camo pattern: Digital Woodland.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
23 out of 34(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Review 1 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Military Poncho Review

Date:March 27, 2013
A good poncho is a vital piece of equipment, but it has to be able to stand up to foul weather and rough handling. I've had plastic ponchos that were OK for watching a football game from the bleachers, but they tend to tear and leak. The best poncho I have ever used is the military poncho. It will hold up no matter how bad the weather is or how roughly you handle it. Team it up with liner and you can almost live in it. I learned this lesson yet again after attending a shooting match in eastern Montana in June. The weather turned cold, started to rain hard and then freeze. Eventually the rain turned to snow and the match was called because nobody could see the targets. A lot of shooters who didn't have ponchos had to leave the firing line because it was so cold and they got wet. Some had flimsy plastic ponchos, but they tore and blew apart in the gusting wind, up to 40 mph I think. My military poncho held up just fine and kept me dry and warm enough to stay on the firing line until the very end. A good poncho like this is an essential piece of gear. It earns five stars in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOT Waterproof!!!!

Date:May 30, 2012
If you read the positive reviews for this poncho you will see that for the most part the reviewers are saying that the poncho looks good and appears to be durable (and it does look good and appear to be made out of durable materials). These guys are going to be disappointed when they actually use it in the rain though. I was very pleased when I received my poncho but when I took it outside to test it during a rain shower I was shocked to find myself completely soaked in about two minutes. Also, for you larger people, the neck hole is very small. Thats not a problem for me but if you wear an size large or extra-large shirt you may have problems getting your head to fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

neck hole TOO small!!

Date:May 20, 2012
I think the material and everything else was decent...and good design
BUT, trying to get this over my head was uncomfortable ... seriously too small of an opening ... I was VERY disappointed, as I wanted something lightweight and quick to throw on for light rain
also wanted to get a couple, so could store a 2nd one in boat for forgetful fishing partners
too bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: le mars, ia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value!!

Date:April 10, 2012
bought this for a emergency bag. lightweight and compact, storage bag is a plus!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: elverson,pa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:April 2, 2012
perfect for throwing in backpack for that rainey day in the stand or blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tru-Spec Military Poncho

Date:January 15, 2012
Bought this item for my son to use during Boy Scout camping trips. A little large for an 11-year old, but it's better for a poncho to be a little large than too small. He really likes the military cammo style. Can also fashion a small shelter out of it, making it ideal for scout gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

All wet

Date:January 4, 2012
I purchased this poncho in the digital camo pattern. The opening for the head is extremely small. I wear a size 71/2" hat and found it almost impossible to get the poncho over my head in the rain as moisture causes it to cling to your skin. Forget trying to wear it over a hat. Mine also leaks like a sieve.
I'm still looking for a good rain poncho to keep both me and my gun dry in the rain. This model doesn't come close!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tru spec poncho

Date:August 26, 2011
The Tru spec poncho I received was the correct camo pattern and has useful features, I will order another one soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N. California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly what I needed!

Date:February 23, 2011
When the water is up and I have to hunt from a "belly boat" in the rain this poncho worked perfectly to keep me dry and concealed. It is large enough to drape over the boat tube and light enough not to hinder movement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This is not Mil Spec

Date:November 28, 2009
This is not a military specifications poncho. Not even close.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NYS Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:November 18, 2009
Good Mil Spec type poncho just what I expected. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SOUTH CAROLINA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

digital desert camo poncho

Date:October 19, 2009
This camo is as pictured on line,not what you would think of as a true digital desert camo print at least none I've ever seen.Nice poncho overall but the head is smaller than most ponchos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LI, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm dry

Date:September 1, 2009
great poncho! the head area is a little tight on me, but I have a big head. :) it has quality snaps, and is easy-on, easy-off. bought it for an Appleseed shoot and it did not rain. but it will soon! heh.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Avon, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Extremely disappointed

Date:May 27, 2009
Bought just before turkey season. Took it out one day in light rain and it repelled the water for about 30 mins and then it started to soak in. Not a great product. I sprayed it with some waterproofing and am going to try it on the boat and if it soaks through it is going straight back to cabelas. I like the lightweight material and the camo, but the point of a poncho is to stay dry, right??!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did its job, kept me dry!

Date:May 4, 2009
Great poncho. Sat out hunting in the rain for three hours in a down pour and stayed completely dry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poncho

Date:April 20, 2009
The Poncho is good for the money and I don't expect it to last for years. The neck and hood are small for an average person, but it's nice to have in your pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kanab, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Light Weight Poncho

Date:March 2, 2009
Just Like everything I have ever purchased from Cabela's, just as described. The poncho is light weight but effective. I try for the best light weight gear for my sojurns into the Grand Canyon. This item filled the bill at a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thin Fabric but Useful

Date:December 23, 2008
The product material was thin but durable. The poncho fits perfectly in the field bag that I carry while deer hunting. The poncho is perfect for my use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mediocre at best...

Date:November 3, 2008
Thin, flimsy and looks like it would be easily torn. It might last a season or two, but that's about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tru-Spec Military Poncho
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ireland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

miltary spec poncho

Date:October 6, 2008
just what i need for the irish winter,s great price,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34