Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular

CABELA'S Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular

Why is it that the biggest bucks tend to grow up where it is cold and harsh? Because no one can sit out all day in the cold to hunt them, that's why. Thinking about going up to Saskatchewan after a massive trophy whitetail? Or maybe you're planning a late-season hunt? You're going to want our Stand Hunter Extreme Series of hunting outerwear. No, you're going to need it. Engineered for extreme cold, the parka is made of Cabela's wooltimate fabric, which is extremely quiet yet exceptionally warm. Thinsulate™ Platinum Insulation offers a unique blend of warmth and reduced bulk. By varying the weights of the insulation, we created warm-weather outerwear that works with you to keep you warm and mobile. With a well-insulated core, adding extra insulation throughout the sleeves would just add extra bulk. Therefore, we used 150-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation to cut down the size and add extra mobility. On top of that, we put in articulated elbows and a low-bulk cuff design. When the torso is insulated, there is greater flow of warm blood to your outer extremities, such as your fingers or toes. Wrapping your body in 200-gram insulation will keep you warm from head to toe. Your core temperature is largely controlled by the spinal column. That's why we've put 300-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation down the spine and through the kidneys. Storage options include two chest handwarmer pockets, two lower zip-closure cargo pockets, two interior hoop-and-loop-closure storage pockets, as well as an interior zip-closure security pocket. Under arm zippers and a two-way front closure zipper allow for venting when walking to and from the stand. Front storm flap, wind-skirt and integrated handwarmer muff provide optimal warmth. Removable handwarmer muff is fleece-lined and insulated with 150-gram Thinsulate Platinum and stores in it's own pocket in the back of the parka. Three-piece adjustable, removable hood features 100-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation. All zippers feature large rubberized pulls for ease of use with gloved hands. Imported. Sizes: M-3XL. Camo pattern: Outfitter Camo™ , Cabela's Zonz™ Woodlands .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
101 out of 106(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Review 1 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2012

Stand Hunter Parka

By
Location: Central Mn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Wow. You want warm, you got it. Stand hunting in northern Minnesota can get down right frigid. This parka along with the stand hunter bibs will allow you to be in the woods for extended periods of time. There is a little weight to it but is to be expected with a coat of this caliber. Price is no longer a concern when you realize how many features this parka has and how well it performs even in the wind. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2012

Real Cold Gear

By
Location: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm a Medic in the Film Industry. We travel all over the world making Movies & T.V. I'm on Set usually at 4am and don't leave until after dark. I was tired of layering up only to remain cold until I bought the Stand Hunter Extreme Parka. Now everyone else looks at me cozy each morning as there layers don't keep them as warm as my new Parka from Cabela's Stand Hunter Gear. I stand in exterior locations all day and night waiting for an Accident as a Stunt Medic in the Film Industry many years. I wish I had known about this gear a long time ago. The Jacket fits well as a Regular. I'm 6'1", and in between most Tall & Regular sizes. A Large-Regular size, gives in the right places and covers well in extreme Wind! It out performs Goose-down Jackets by other extreme gear company's by it's technological design, comfort and ease of use. Even if you forget your gloves this Jacket has your back with it's Muff always mounted hidden & present. I have Arthritis, which hurts to the bone in the cold. I know what I'm talking about out on Exterior locations, in 15-35*F conditions, in rain & snow. Layering up is always helpful to prepare for extreme cold, like the Mystery Mesa, a Pig Farm we recently shot for "The Long Ranger". Thats why I purchased a Chamois Shirt from Cabala's also. Now that's layering well for the extreme cold on any Pig Ranch or Mesa. lol. The Berber Parka is warm but for not as cold. It's lighter but doesn't have the warmth of Wootlimate. But was extremely comfortable in the 40*F's! Berber doesn't have the vent opening flaps the Stand Hunter under each arm pit for cooling off a sweaty Hunter or Medic. So I chose warmth over weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2016

Every thing I wanted in a coat

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great coat lots of pockets very warm great for all around use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Fantastic

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
While I only used this parka for two days, they both started with temps in the teen and warmed to low twenties. Underneath, I wore a polar weight shirt, and couldn't believe how comfortable I stayed. No more having to pack in extra layers! The parka itself is heavy, but beats packing extra layers. The design is great, with all the pockets where I would have put them. It is extremely quiet, and fit makes shooting a bow so easy. I am looking forward to wearing this in sub-zero temps!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2015

Stop cold in it's tracks.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
want to stay warm in cold weather? Well this did it's job and some.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015

Warmest thing I have ever worn

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought the bibs last year and they are extremely warm , as soon as you zip them its like you turn a heater on , the jacket is the same . I bought the jacket this year and it is amazing , you can go out in temps well below zero and you wont even care , Amazing . Thats all I can say . These are absolutely the warmest thing i have ever worn in my life , I have tried alot of coats and layers and these are by far the warmest ever . Thankyou , now i can sit in any temp and be comfortable . Thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

The Last Coat that you'll wear

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I wore this on a late season NW Montana deer hunt. Temperatures hovered around Zero all week. We were outside all week in tree stands.
If you're still cold after wearing this coat- well then you're dead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015

So far So good

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
i have not been able to use it hunting yet and truthfully it has not been cold enough to use. I have tried it outside in 15 degree weather with only a tee shirt. I stayed out only for about an hour but I did not get chilled at all. I believe that it will do just fine once deer season is in next year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Bring on the cold !

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the stand hunter extreme parka and bibs. They have allowed me to hunt comfortably sitting on stand for hours in temperatures well below freezing. They may be to warm if you have a long walk to your stand ! I won't even bring this outfit out of the closet unless the temperature is in the mid 20's or lower...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

warm at last

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I wanted warmth when I was hunting. Having tried several attempts at finding "The one" set of insulated clothing to meet my needs, my search is over.
This parka and matching Bibs is the ultimate in comfort,warmth,and quiet.
You can be reassured that Mother Nature can throw her coldest at you without success . Go outside and enjoy the winter weather in style and remain warm!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

This Parka is Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this for hunting whitetail in the U.P. of Michigan, and after giving it a very stringent test in wind, snow, and single digit temps I can say it passed with flying colors. I like to sit all day the first few days of the season and this parka allowed me to stay put, which given the conditions this year is amazing.
The parka is pretty bulky, and I didn't try to wear it while walking in or out - I packed it in. Even with it unzipped and the pit zips open I would think this would be too warm in all but double digit below zero.
As mentioned in other reviews, the upper hand warmer pockets are in a bad spot as they're too high, but other than that it's a great, well thought out design and is made very well.
If you're on the fence and need a very warm parka, buy this when it's on sale, you won't regret it. My only regret is wait so long to buy one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014

Extreme!!!

By
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this parka three yrs ago. Wore it once the first hunting season and liked it but the zipper pulled away at the bottom. Over a year later Cabela's replaced it no questions asked. Last year I wore it approx. 20 days of the Alberta hunting season along with Cabela's wooltimate pants. With proper layering it kept me warm in -32c / -26f weather for hours. It is not wind proof thus, proper layering and it is heavy (Stand Hunter Extreme). Being a wool blend it is very comfortable and warm even when damp. (sitting in the falling snow all day) and dries quickly. I've thrown mine in the washer/dryer several times, no issues. If you like wool clothes you will love this and other wooltimate clothes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013

Warm, silent, good camo pattern!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
If I dont get my big buck early season or rut I will sit late season. In SE Wisconsin, late season gets cold!! With the Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka and Bibs i am able to sit as long as i want! The added windshear really helps with the cold December and January hunts!
I would recommend this gear to anyone who wants to put the long days in during the cold late season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2013

Warm Parka

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've been hunting & ice fishing in Michigan since the very early 60's so have had my share of experience with cold weather clothing. I purchased this parka with the matching bibs and after trying them on a few times sent the bibs back and kept the parka. Both are extremely warm and high quality but when worn together were a little too bulky for my needs. I like some freedom of movement. I'm 6' tall, weigh 220 lbs. and the XL fits me well so it seems that the XL is true to size. For what it's worth, I exchanged the extreme bibs for Cabela's waterproof snow bibs, which are a lot lighter and work well with this parka. Bottom line, the extreme stand hunter parka is a warm, high quality, full featured piece of winter equipment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2013

Awesome!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought the bibs and the parka, I got tired of getting cold after 2 or 3 hours in 20 degree or colder temps. Went out in muzzle loading season, temps in the low 20's wind chills in the low teens. I kept waiting for that chill to hit me as the sun went down, it never came. I was warm and comfortable all the way back to the house. If you are looking for warmth and comfort in cold weather, I recommend this system, hands down. I am very happy I went with these, rather than something else!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013

best of best

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
I've bought many items from cabelas through the many years of hunting and fishing. But I think I've that this is the best item, That I purchased . I spent over 5 hours in my stand, and it was 3 below when I started out on my atv. I had plenty of tears in my eyes, going too my stand, but not a shiver came across me during that 5+ hours of the morning hunt..Don't buy this item if your hunting in warmer weather, but excellent for 20's and lower. I also purchased the bibs of the same series, and was very impressed. This coat was designed with easy access to all the storage pockets incorporated in the coat itself. I don't need my fanny pack on short hunts, this coat has the storage needed to get you by. don't let your wife or girlfriend too close while warring this, because its as soft as a kitten, and she'll won't let you go.. stay warm my friends...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Warmth it is!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Well built with a good selection of pockets. Holds up well and warm as heck. Holds its own in the winters of the U.P. Warmest jacket I have own or know of. Not for walking or stalking; as it is way too warm for even moderate activity! This is bowhunter quiet!!! Even in 10F weather on a quiet day you can draw on deer and they don't freak out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

Great Parka

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tis parka is the warmast coat i have ever had. If you move around to much you will sweat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

EXCELLENT PURCHASE

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I HAVE OWNED THE STAND HUNTER BIBS FOR SEVERAL YEARS WITH NO PROBLEM. I FINALLY PURCHASED THE HEAVY JACKET TO MATCH. I HAVE VERY HAPPY WITH THE FIT AND PERFORMANCE OF BOTH PIECES. VERY WARM AND THEY HOLD UP TO WEAR AND TEAR WELL - YOU CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE OLD BIBS AND THE NEW JACKET.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

GREAT PRODUCT

By
Country: Ukraine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this parka for my son. His height is 6', his weight is 175 lb. I bought "L" Regular size. He used it at temperature -4 F and strong wind. He was standing motionlessly for 8 hours and felt warm, comfortable and exetremely quite. This product is great.
Thank you very much.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 106