Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular

CABELA'S Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular

Why is it that the biggest bucks tend to grow up where it is cold and harsh? Because no one can sit out all day in the cold to hunt them, that's why. Thinking about going up to Saskatchewan after a massive trophy whitetail? Or maybe you're planning a late-season hunt? You're going to want our Stand Hunter Extreme Series of hunting outerwear. No, you're going to need it. Engineered for extreme cold, the parka is made of Cabela's wooltimate fabric, which is extremely quiet yet exceptionally warm. Thinsulate™ Platinum Insulation offers a unique blend of warmth and reduced bulk. By varying the weights of the insulation, we created warm-weather outerwear that works with you to keep you warm and mobile. With a well-insulated core, adding extra insulation throughout the sleeves would just add extra bulk. Therefore, we used 150-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation to cut down the size and add extra mobility. On top of that, we put in articulated elbows and a low-bulk cuff design. When the torso is insulated, there is greater flow of warm blood to your outer extremities, such as your fingers or toes. Wrapping your body in 200-gram insulation will keep you warm from head to toe. Your core temperature is largely controlled by the spinal column. That's why we've put 300-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation down the spine and through the kidneys. Storage options include two chest handwarmer pockets, two lower zip-closure cargo pockets, two interior hoop-and-loop-closure storage pockets, as well as an interior zip-closure security pocket. Under arm zippers and a two-way front closure zipper allow for venting when walking to and from the stand. Front storm flap, wind-skirt and integrated handwarmer muff provide optimal warmth. Removable handwarmer muff is fleece-lined and insulated with 150-gram Thinsulate Platinum and stores in it's own pocket in the back of the parka. Three-piece adjustable, removable hood features 100-gram Thinsulate Platinum Insulation. All zippers feature large rubberized pulls for ease of use with gloved hands. Imported. Sizes: M-3XL. Camo pattern: Outfitter Camo™ , Cabela's Zonz™ Woodlands .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.755 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
91 out of 94(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Review 1 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Mn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stand Hunter Parka

Date:February 16, 2012
Wow. You want warm, you got it. Stand hunting in northern Minnesota can get down right frigid. This parka along with the stand hunter bibs will allow you to be in the woods for extended periods of time. There is a little weight to it but is to be expected with a coat of this caliber. Price is no longer a concern when you realize how many features this parka has and how well it performs even in the wind. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real Cold Gear

Date:February 7, 2012
I'm a Medic in the Film Industry. We travel all over the world making Movies & T.V. I'm on Set usually at 4am and don't leave until after dark. I was tired of layering up only to remain cold until I bought the Stand Hunter Extreme Parka. Now everyone else looks at me cozy each morning as there layers don't keep them as warm as my new Parka from Cabela's Stand Hunter Gear. I stand in exterior locations all day and night waiting for an Accident as a Stunt Medic in the Film Industry many years. I wish I had known about this gear a long time ago. The Jacket fits well as a Regular. I'm 6'1", and in between most Tall & Regular sizes. A Large-Regular size, gives in the right places and covers well in extreme Wind! It out performs Goose-down Jackets by other extreme gear company's by it's technological design, comfort and ease of use. Even if you forget your gloves this Jacket has your back with it's Muff always mounted hidden & present. I have Arthritis, which hurts to the bone in the cold. I know what I'm talking about out on Exterior locations, in 15-35*F conditions, in rain & snow. Layering up is always helpful to prepare for extreme cold, like the Mystery Mesa, a Pig Farm we recently shot for "The Long Ranger". Thats why I purchased a Chamois Shirt from Cabala's also. Now that's layering well for the extreme cold on any Pig Ranch or Mesa. lol. The Berber Parka is warm but for not as cold. It's lighter but doesn't have the warmth of Wootlimate. But was extremely comfortable in the 40*F's! Berber doesn't have the vent opening flaps the Stand Hunter under each arm pit for cooling off a sweaty Hunter or Medic. So I chose warmth over weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This Parka is Awesome

Date:November 18, 2014
I purchased this for hunting whitetail in the U.P. of Michigan, and after giving it a very stringent test in wind, snow, and single digit temps I can say it passed with flying colors. I like to sit all day the first few days of the season and this parka allowed me to stay put, which given the conditions this year is amazing.
The parka is pretty bulky, and I didn't try to wear it while walking in or out - I packed it in. Even with it unzipped and the pit zips open I would think this would be too warm in all but double digit below zero.
As mentioned in other reviews, the upper hand warmer pockets are in a bad spot as they're too high, but other than that it's a great, well thought out design and is made very well.
If you're on the fence and need a very warm parka, buy this when it's on sale, you won't regret it. My only regret is wait so long to buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extreme!!!

Date:September 10, 2014
I purchased this parka three yrs ago. Wore it once the first hunting season and liked it but the zipper pulled away at the bottom. Over a year later Cabela's replaced it no questions asked. Last year I wore it approx. 20 days of the Alberta hunting season along with Cabela's wooltimate pants. With proper layering it kept me warm in -32c / -26f weather for hours. It is not wind proof thus, proper layering and it is heavy (Stand Hunter Extreme). Being a wool blend it is very comfortable and warm even when damp. (sitting in the falling snow all day) and dries quickly. I've thrown mine in the washer/dryer several times, no issues. If you like wool clothes you will love this and other wooltimate clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm, silent, good camo pattern!!!

Date:December 29, 2013
If I dont get my big buck early season or rut I will sit late season. In SE Wisconsin, late season gets cold!! With the Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka and Bibs i am able to sit as long as i want! The added windshear really helps with the cold December and January hunts!
I would recommend this gear to anyone who wants to put the long days in during the cold late season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm Parka

Date:December 10, 2013
I've been hunting & ice fishing in Michigan since the very early 60's so have had my share of experience with cold weather clothing. I purchased this parka with the matching bibs and after trying them on a few times sent the bibs back and kept the parka. Both are extremely warm and high quality but when worn together were a little too bulky for my needs. I like some freedom of movement. I'm 6' tall, weigh 220 lbs. and the XL fits me well so it seems that the XL is true to size. For what it's worth, I exchanged the extreme bibs for Cabela's waterproof snow bibs, which are a lot lighter and work well with this parka. Bottom line, the extreme stand hunter parka is a warm, high quality, full featured piece of winter equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!

Date:December 7, 2013
Bought the bibs and the parka, I got tired of getting cold after 2 or 3 hours in 20 degree or colder temps. Went out in muzzle loading season, temps in the low 20's wind chills in the low teens. I kept waiting for that chill to hit me as the sun went down, it never came. I was warm and comfortable all the way back to the house. If you are looking for warmth and comfort in cold weather, I recommend this system, hands down. I am very happy I went with these, rather than something else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best of best

Date:November 30, 2013
I've bought many items from cabelas through the many years of hunting and fishing. But I think I've that this is the best item, That I purchased . I spent over 5 hours in my stand, and it was 3 below when I started out on my atv. I had plenty of tears in my eyes, going too my stand, but not a shiver came across me during that 5+ hours of the morning hunt..Don't buy this item if your hunting in warmer weather, but excellent for 20's and lower. I also purchased the bibs of the same series, and was very impressed. This coat was designed with easy access to all the storage pockets incorporated in the coat itself. I don't need my fanny pack on short hunts, this coat has the storage needed to get you by. don't let your wife or girlfriend too close while warring this, because its as soft as a kitten, and she'll won't let you go.. stay warm my friends...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmth it is!

Date:November 19, 2013
Well built with a good selection of pockets. Holds up well and warm as heck. Holds its own in the winters of the U.P. Warmest jacket I have own or know of. Not for walking or stalking; as it is way too warm for even moderate activity! This is bowhunter quiet!!! Even in 10F weather on a quiet day you can draw on deer and they don't freak out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Parka

Date:April 2, 2013
Tis parka is the warmast coat i have ever had. If you move around to much you will sweat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT PURCHASE

Date:January 22, 2013
I HAVE OWNED THE STAND HUNTER BIBS FOR SEVERAL YEARS WITH NO PROBLEM. I FINALLY PURCHASED THE HEAVY JACKET TO MATCH. I HAVE VERY HAPPY WITH THE FIT AND PERFORMANCE OF BOTH PIECES. VERY WARM AND THEY HOLD UP TO WEAR AND TEAR WELL - YOU CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE OLD BIBS AND THE NEW JACKET.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Ukraine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:January 22, 2013
I bought this parka for my son. His height is 6', his weight is 175 lb. I bought "L" Regular size. He used it at temperature -4 F and strong wind. He was standing motionlessly for 8 hours and felt warm, comfortable and exetremely quite. This product is great.
Thank you very much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing warmth and comfort

Date:January 22, 2013
I hunted coyotes today in about 15 degrees with a wind and was as comfortable as if I was in my bed with only an underarmour shirt underneath it.. Other parts of me got cold but nothing covered by this baby. Its so soft its like wearing your favorite comforter. I don't stand hunt much but, I can't see why this wouldn't be perfectly designed for it with lots of pockets and super silent.
Its so warm that you better not forget something in the house or you work up a sweat. I definitely left it unzipped and also the unzipped the under arms when walking (which is an ingenious feature) because when I didn't I was sweating.
I've taken to wearing this as my winter jacket because North-Central Montana gets so cold and, I may rely on my older Cabela's parka for hunting only because I don't like the thought of getting deer guts on this luxurious coat.
One down side is that it did not come with the zipper in the back for your tree harness that I thought the one in the store had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

laugh at the cold

Date:December 4, 2012
no need to be longwinded,this by far is and always will be the best parka for winter all day stand hunting.i also have the bibs and when i say laugh at the cold thats exactly what you will do,in comfort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Germany
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How to stay warm in the very cold!

Date:December 3, 2012
Bought this parka for tree stand hunting in Germany. Used it on two days this weekend in northern Bavaria, combined total of six hours up in the stand, and stayed warm enough to enjoy the experience (experience = total of 189 red deer and wild boar taken by about 25 hunters in a major cull in 22F weather). Recommend this plus the tree stand long underwear. Thank you, Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extreme Parka

Date:November 26, 2012
Bought this for my fiance for hunting and he absolutely loves it. Definitely keeps him warm, sometimes too warm! It is very roomy and comes with the nice hand warmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bet against the cold!

Date:March 28, 2012
I got the bib/parka during the past deer season. While not arctic cold, low 20s were cold enough to test them during an archery stand sit. I risked wearing the outfit with only scent prevention apparel underneath, no additional layering to see how well they performed. Was very warm for between 2-3 hours, then could feel a chill. Stayed another hour and my hunt was done for the day. Had I added another layer, I could have handled the last hour with less chill I'm sure! I give 5 stars for that reason, as it would be unreasonable to think 4+ hrs on stand would pass completely warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Butler, Pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Cold Weather Clothing

Date:February 23, 2012
I loved evrything about the parka and bought it. I can say it is easily the warmest piece of clothing I own. I loved the bibs too. All the features were great, but I didn't see myself walking over a mile to my treestand in them without sweating away 20 pounds. I really wanted to buy the bibs too, but opted for the Super-Slams instead so I can move a little more free. They were not as bulky or heavy. If you are going to sit on stand and not walk, these are definately worth every penny. I highly recomend the Stand Hunter Extreme clothing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iron River Mi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for cold weather

Date:February 14, 2012
This is the most quiet and warm late season clothing you can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Stand Hunter Extreme Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I've had

Date:February 1, 2012
I was hesitant about purchasing this coat when I read the comment that there was no windshear in the coat. I decided to go for.
When I received the coat, right away I could see there was windshear in it and the first time I wore it sold me on the coat. It is warm without bulk even in windy conditions.The hand warmer muff is great. I don't even have to use the heater paks to keep my hands warm or any other part of my body for that matter.
Great job Cabelas. I will be geting the bibs next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 94