Customer Reviews for TURTLESKIN Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters

TURTLESKIN Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters

Soft enough to scrunch up and fit into a small pouch, the Gaiters are packable and convenient for any trip into snake country. Reversible so you can choose camo or khaki. TurtleSkin's patented material gives you outstanding protection against snakes while remaining lightweight, cool and comfortable. Tight, high-strength interlocking fibers form a barrier that snake fangs just can't slip past. And they're waterproof to fend off rain, wet grass and foliage. One size fits most. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.184 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
0
34 out of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Review 1 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth the money

Date:November 5, 2013
There are lightweight will give them that. I am on the short side and they are too tall and rub the back of my knees when I step which is very annoying.
The bungee strap on top is the worst part, very poor design. You have stretch the heck out of it to tighten and even then it doesn't really work that well. I can see it breaking very soon.
The zipper is fairly light duty and could be heavier duty, I can see it not lasting very long.
Overall not very satisfied for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Zippers stink

Date:May 2, 2013
For the price the zippers are terrible on the pair I just received. I live in a dusty area and after only 3 days they don't want to zip up. Need to make the zippers larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Penn Valley, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good but Over priced

Date:February 12, 2011
The positive is they are lightweight and flexible and can be worn with shorts. I hike and want leg protection from snakes and bushes. I have read the prior reviews and agree with many of the comments.
The hole placement isn't good for tying them down. The zippers could be bigger, hard to zip the small ones. I wore them with hiking boots and the elastic cut into the back of my legs. They are overpriced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Van Nuys, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters

Date:November 3, 2009
I odered These Cabela's TurtleSkin Snake Armor Gaiters on the advice of friends. When I recived them they did not fit around my calfs. I am a fairly big and I could barley slide them up my leg and could not even zip them up. In my opinuion they should offer two differant sizes Regular and XL for us bigger guys.
I was looking forward to using this product and was very disapointed when I was unable to use them. I sold them to a friend and he loves' them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Durham, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Comfortable But Zipper Broke

Date:May 12, 2007
Loved the lightweight fabric for about 2 years. But the zipper broke. This was not an inexpensive product. I am diappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Cabela'sBy Product SpecialistJuly 26, 2007
The manufacture suggests that you occasionally clean and lubricate the zippers in order to prolong the life of the item.
Review 6 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Concept great, execution only OK

Date:August 21, 2008
I've worn a pair of these for two seasons, but I'm a little disappointed. The concept seems to be good and testing with a needle convinces me that they will stop snake fangs. And they are certainly more comfortable than other snake gaiters.
Probems:
First, they seem to be designed by someone that has never actually worn gaiters. There are no straps or cords to go under your foot and hold them down nor are the holes in the right place if you want to add them. I modified mine by punching a couple of new holes closer to mid-foot and added some parachute cord. I also added a hook to hold them forward over my bootlaces.
The second problem is that the fabric is not a rip-stop weave. If you do manage to puncture them on a sharp stick or barbed wire, the punctures quickly become long tears. Repair is nearly impossible due to the nature of the fabric. I've had a little bit of success with iron on patches, but ultimately they fail. The outer layer of both of mine are pretty shredded at this point, so I will be tossing them soon.
These gaiters still might be the best thing going, but they could definately use some improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorful Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turtleskin Gaiters

Date:November 9, 2006
Unfortunately, the zipper on these gaiters broke the first time I put them on. I still rated them 3 stars as the Turtleskin fabric is far superior to the hard and stiff inserts found in similar products. Having previously owned a Turtleskin product I know how well this fabric works. However, I expected more durable hardware for this amount of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How I wear these gaiters

Date:April 27, 2014
As a normal size guy - 5'10", 175 pounds - I got the regular size snake gaiters, but found that they would ride up my ankle in the back, even while anchored in the front...not to mention the hassle of tying them down or hooking them down to the front of my boots...and doing the reverse after the hike. So I purchased a pair of the husky size and wear them upside down and backwards (tongue flap rides behind the knee). I don't have to anchor them anymore, and they never ride up. And they're cooler, and easier to remove. Whoever I'm hiking with wears my older regular size gaiters.
Love this product but the zippers are hard to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice product

Date:October 3, 2011
Very light weight and comfortable. Have some security knowing I am protected. Would rate it a 5 star but never have been bit and really want to keep that way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: tempe
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product and well worth the money

Date:August 26, 2011
Living in Arizona snake chaps are a must. Most of my hunting is done in southern az where the snakes run thick. After running into 3 in one day I went on the quest to finding good reiable snake chaps. These are by far the best I found. Other competing brands were bolky and weighed a ton. Wore these last weekend and I could even feel them on my legs. No extra sweat underneath and catcus thorns weren't getting cought in them. Be able to take off any type of chaps without getting cacus in your hand is a huge plus. With these you get snake protection and brush/cacti protection (which save expensive hunting pants from being ripped to shreds). The only flaw for them would be the elastic at the top (which tightens them to your leg) could be in more robust. Overall I love these things and they are the first to go into the pack everytime I go out in the sticks. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost perfect!

Date:May 12, 2011
The snake gaiters are very light and comfortable. They zip up as opposed to velcro which is great at keeping the Brome grasses out of your pants and shoes. The only problem is there is no strap for keeping the gaiters down at your ankles. This is a major flaw which they should fix. They do have holes to put strings but this is "bootleg" and not convenient for such an expensive item. A leather strap would be perfect. The makers should look at outdoor gaiter designs (such as mountain hardware) as an example.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice in hot weather!

Date:April 19, 2011
I have worn these snake gaiters this past Spring Turkey Season in Florida and found them to work very well. They are very light weight and quiet while walking through the woods trying to locate gobblers. I like the fact that I can wear them over my lightweight rubber boots or over my heavier hunting boots. You can rotate out your hunting boots each day and still have snake protection by wearing these gaiters. The zippers are on the small size but still they worked just fine. After walking a short distance I did notice that the front of the gaiters would turn inward towards my instep. They also have an elastic pull string at the top of the gaiter that is very thin and should have been constructed of heavier material. There are three small grommets on the front of the gaiter that I'm not sure what they are for, possibly to tie down the front of the gaiter to your boot?
I did NOT get snake bit so I can't swear to the fact that they are truly snakeproof but I shall continue to wear them until proven otherwise.
I did not rate these 5 stars because of the small zippers and thin elastic pull string at the top of these gaiters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

expensive but otherwise excellent

Date:April 12, 2011
I like most everything about the Cabela's TurtleSkin Snake Armor Gaiters, with the notable exception of the price. The reversible khaki/camo design, light weight, comfort, packability, and relative quietness are excellent.
I also like having the 3 grommet holes at the bottom of the gaiters. They make it easy to securely attach them to my boots. I use strong twist-ties (plastic-coated wires), to attach the front/middle hole to my boot laces. I prefer twist-ties over pieces of shoe lace since bow knots down there are almost guaranteed to be snagged and maybe even pulled loose by low-lying brush, briars, etc. Also, securing each gaiter to the top of a boot means you don't have to run a strap underneath the boot, which would be likely to either catch on something or be cut by stepping on rocks and other rough objects.
The zippers could probably be a little stronger, but I don't foresee any problems provided I don't put them on or take them off too roughly. The shock cords that close around the top of each calf could also probably be a little stronger, but they shouldn't be a problem either, especially since I will rarely have to adjust them after finding the initial good fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Morgantown, WV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Material, Odd Design

Date:June 14, 2010
I live on Snake Hill in West Virginia, home of rattlesnakes, copperheads, and blackberry bushes, so I think I am entitled to have an opinion on snake gaiters.
First, let me say that I like these gaiters and would recommend them because the cloth is light and bearably wearable for vigorous activity (long walks, mountain biking through weeds, berry picking, and so on) on a hot day. Why buy something that's too stiff and heavy to wear in hot weather?
Here's the "But . . . " you're waiting for. But, . . . they are expensive, and they have some disappointing features:
1) Light-duty zippers. I don't have confidence that these zippers on these gaiters will last more than a year or two of heavy use. They are good quality, and work fine, but they are light-duty.
2) Light-duty and ineffective drawstrings on top. The drawstrings on these are a joke - light and elastic. They are not strong enough to make the material gather. Almost useless.
3) Grommet holes are in a bizarre location. Gaiters need two holes, one on each side of your ankle-bones, to accommodate a cinch-line that runs under your foot just in front of your boot heel. Otherwise, they will ride up and expose your ankles. I have no idea what the designer was thinking of when he put the grommet holes where he did. Like the previous commenter, I reluctantly have decided to cut (or melt) my own holes in the proper place, because otherwise these gaiters definitely ride up.
Bottom Line: Despite the cheesy features and weird design, these gaiters are made out of a material that is light and flexible and comfortable enough so that you'll actually wear them. And I don't doubt they'll stop a fang. So, if you are worried about snakes, man up and lay out the cash for these things. Then put em on and go pick some blackberries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gray, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gaiters

Date:July 16, 2009
Good design except no explaination for the reinforced eyelets on the front and sides --- is something missing?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Madera, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

snakes galore

Date:September 17, 2008
I live and hunt the snake infested Sierra foothills of Central California, where I kill several snakes yearly. Last week while dove hunting I killed two good sized rattlers (3.5' and 4.0') within a half hour. That makes five this summer. Fed up, I ordered these gaiters. I like the idea of tham being soft material and not stiff plastic panels. EXPENSIVE, but they feel great and look cool(like old time trouser leggins).
This product seems very well made and the use of other Turtleskin produsts by police agencies really bolsters my confidence in them. Like other customers, I tried the needle test and it does deflect well. However, push hard enough,several lbs. of direct pressure, and it WILL go through. In fairness, I doubt any snake strike will come even remotely close to the pressure needed to puncture these sturdy gaiters. needless to say I am so far satisfied with the product and will be using them on a buck hunt this weekend in a remote river gorge loaded with snakes and hopefully big bucks. I also plan to use them for those dewy morning quail hunts as they are also water and brush proof. Only four stars as I have not yet used them afield. Thanks Cabelas. I hope I never need 'em for fangs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: N. California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turtleskin works

Date:July 21, 2008
Not only works for snakes, but protects legs from brush and wood slash. Second pair, first lasted 1 1/2 years, zipper system broke. Normal shop can not replace zipper because of fabric. Must take care of zipper system because nylon based zipper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty nice

Date:May 2, 2008
I only got these a short while ago, and haven''t quite figured out how to get them to stay on properly, but working on it. They are soooo nice after walking around in heavy snake chaps, a huge difference. I really love them.
The zipper has been tough though, right from the beginning and takes a little tweaking to get it to zip up. As long as the zipper doesn't break, I don't mind, but I would think Cabelas would put in a better zipper after all the zipper comments!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TurtleSkin Snake Gaiters

Date:May 22, 2007
I bought these for a little peace of mind for hiking here in AZ. I have only used them once and didn't have any snake encounters so I couldn't test whether or not they actually prevent a snake bite (I hope I never have to). They are comfortable and did protect me from catclaw and other thorny plant that normally penetrate my jeans. Very happy with the purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's TurtleSkin® Snake Armor Gaiters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great snake chaps

Date:January 9, 2012
Lightweight, easy to use and tough. Good product. Bill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 38