Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap

These acrylic-knit barracks caps have fold-down earflaps. They come with a waterproof, breathable quilted GORE-TEX lining and 50-gram Thinsulate™ Insulation to repel rain and snow while allowing perspiration to vent. One size fits most. Made in USA.Camo patterns: Blaze Orange, Mossy Oak® Break-Up&#8482, Seclusion 3D® Blaze,
Overall Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
32 out of 42(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Review 1 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A notch above average

Date:July 11, 2011
I have not worn this hat to the woods yet, but this is my take on the purchase. Sizing, it's a bit small for my melon of a head, but a couple wearings watching TV has cleared that up. Warmth, excellent inside the house. The only foerseeable problem with this hat is the knitting. I purchased the camo version. The knit is a bit loose, so wearing this hat in the briar patch might serve as a problem. However, with the insulating properties, wearing this hat while doing much walking will be a hot one, I presume. The khaki color is a bit to light for my taste, but they did not ask me when picking out the threads. I am pleased with this purchase and look forward to hunting with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: San Jose
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not the same hat....

Date:February 25, 2011
I just got my cap in the mail and it is a regular knit "radar" cap in blaze orange. I was expecting the cap shown in the picture, which looks to be fleece AND knit, but the cap I got was all knit. no fleece. luckily it fits ok. I'll still wear it. I just want to alert buyers that the cap pictured is not the cap that gets mailed out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Rockland County, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed!

Date:February 9, 2011
The one size fits all Cap doesn't. My regular hat size is a well within normal range 7 3/8, but the Cap is just too tight - just a bit skimpy. Its color is good, and it is warm, but the fits all sizing is over promise/under delivery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

way too small

Date:February 4, 2011
only fit for the smallest child- cant beleive they sell this as an adult size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

one size fits most

Date:January 27, 2011
This hat would not begin to fit my head. I passed it around at hunting camp and it was too small to fit anyone. On it, it said " One size fits most ". When I was leaving camp one of my friends had his 12 year old daughter with him and she tried it on and it was a little tight, but she said it would be OK. So I left my hat with her. Needless to say, I was not pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leechburg, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's good for Radar is good for me!

Date:January 27, 2011
This cap is waterproof and warm. Plus that little bill makes it much more comfortable in wet weather, and when the sun comes out. Fit is great. I wear it every day, several times a day. Great value. Much better than a watch cap, in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Back country guide cap

Date:January 24, 2011
Great and very useful would recommend for anyone and what a price!!! great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salem, Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This is not the hat for me.

Date:January 22, 2011
I found this hat to be a poor fit (Very Small) and overall the quality was low. I returned this hat to Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NO MORE COLD EARS

Date:January 18, 2011
WARM AND DRY IS ALL I NEED TO SAY ABOUT THIS HAT. I USE IT FOR SMALL GAME HUNTING IN NEW JERSEY AND LATE NIGHT WALKS WITH OUR DOG IN THE COLD AND LIGHT RAIN. A LITTLE TIGHT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT BUT AFTER A FEW WEARINGS IT FITS SNUG AND STAYS PUT IN THE WIND.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent way to beat the wind

Date:January 14, 2011
My brother was the first with this hat and now there are four in the group with it including me. It does a great job of blocking the wind and with that short brim you can block out early morning sun and still anchor with a bow. The only knock on this hat was the one that my dad bought never fit right. It was like there was no elasticity to it. The others have been great. I would buy another if I lost mine. Oh I also wish they would come up with camo patterns that match other gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for Price

Date:February 9, 2010
I bought this on a great sale so I can say that it was a wonderful value for the price. However, I would not feel this way had I paid full price. It works great keeps you dry and warm. This hat fits me well and stretches nicely to fit many head sizes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Hat

Date:February 9, 2010
This hat is two things, kind of goofy looking and VERY warm. Also, it's a "one size" thing and it fits pretty tight on my head, it does not stretch at all. So if you have a large head....... Overall though it does what it's supposed to do, keep your head warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Manhattan, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very warm

Date:February 1, 2010
The only reason why I did not give this 5 stars is because this product can get a little too warm. Great for when the temp get's down into the teens and the singal digits. Went hunting with the temp at 0 degrees with wind chill of -10 and my head was nice and warm the whole trip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not big enough

Date:January 25, 2010
the guide cap was much to small like a childrens small, one size dose not fit all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: lehigh Valley, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cap

Date:January 18, 2010
It is a little tight, but I'd sooner have it that way than loose and floppy. It has kept my head warm, which is what is required of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cap

Date:January 18, 2010
Really like the construction. I have several and some do need a little streching.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Running in winter

Date:January 11, 2010
I bought this hat for running in freezing temperatures, and it has been very satisfactory. I have run in the 'teens with wind chills in the single digits in good comfort. [Above freezing this cap is too warm.] The international orange hue makes me more conspicuous to drivers in all lighting conditions. The cap dries quickly as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bear creek twp. pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm

Date:January 11, 2010
nice warm hat, just what i was looking for warmth with a visor. others have said it is a little snug and i do agree, i've given mine a couple of good stretches. but all in all a good hat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tulsa ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

service tech for auto & heavy equipment

Date:January 9, 2010
i took his hat & hunting vest from cabelas on a hunting trip to south dakota both vest & hat worked great. the guys on the trip stated i can see you for a mile away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Back Country Guide™ Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It is what it is, a HAT!

Date:January 6, 2010
This hat's very warm, and sheds water. Exactly what I'd expected. However, sizing is SMALL. I managed to stretch it out a bit but it's still a snug fit, and I'm no bucket-head. The open knit material does tend to snag a bit on branches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 42