Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap

These caps are perfect for the outdoorsman who prefers the field-cap style. Camouflage models have an Ambush Cloth? shell, while the Blaze Orange style is made of Ten Mile Cloth?. The Blaze Camo is poly/cotton. We added a GORE-TEX? lining to make them 100% waterproof and breathable. And, to finish the job, we added Thinsulate? Insulation to keep you warm. Insulated earflaps fold down for extra warmth. Imported. Sizes: S-2XL. Camo patterns: Advantage MAX-4 HD?, Advantage Timber?, Blaze, Seclusion 3D? Blaze, Seclusion 3D?, Mossy Oak? New Break-Up?, Mossy Oak? Duck Blind?, Mossy Oak? New Shadow Grass?.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
59 out of 72(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Review 1 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheep hat

Date:April 15, 2008
I perchased the same hat a year or two ago. That hat was
fine.
This hat is a cheep copy in every way,stitching ,sizing and everything else possible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thinsulate field cap

Date:March 18, 2008
Cap has a crown that is too low. In x-large size, it perches on the the top of the head like a skullcap. Too easily brushed or blown off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor quality

Date:January 7, 2008
I am extremely disappointed with this field cap. In particular, the fit of the cap is really "goofy." Among other problems, the edges of the cap are very uneven, and it's all "bunched up" in the back. I bought a similar cap (different color) from Cabela's about a year ago, and I really like that cap--it has very good quality. Unfortunately, sometime in the past year, Cabela's must have changed suppliers, and the new cap is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not The Same

Date:September 10, 2007
I have owned several of these caps in the past and was very pleased with them. My most recent cap purchase is a completely different construction. Sizes run very small and is not nearly as comfortable or functional as the previous design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kalispell, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What you see, is NOT what I got!

Date:January 28, 2007
I ordered this EXACT same blaze orange a couple of years ago (got chewed by dog), and was VERY happy with it!
The hat I got this time was different mfg., and not of the same quality!
1. Underside of brim is now "bright" orange, instead of green.
2. Head shell is smaller, and ear flap does not cover as far down on ears.
They are probably using an old pic!?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Maquoketa, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good ONLINE purchase

Date:February 22, 2008
Very nice cap, just don't count on it fitting after you get it. I'm guessing there is very little quality controll done, in foreign factories. If your head size is X-Large, order a 2X-L and you might get lucky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Alexandria, Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's GORE-TEX? Thinsulate? Field Cap

Date:February 12, 2008
This cap is not as heavy, as warm or as well made as the old one that I still have. It is 7 years old and showing it but is by far the better of the two. It was made of 50% cotton/polyester.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Monroe NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Field cap quality

Date:January 8, 2008
I have been purchasing this cap over the years and have been disappointed the last two purchases.
First it is supposed to be sized as a XXL but barely fits my 7 3/4 head. The fit is high on the head and the elastic in this years one is just uncomfortable after a full days wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Read ALL of the reviews first

Date:November 21, 2007
This hat is below my standards and below what I consider to be Cabela's normal standards. If you want a cheap Gore-Tex hat and are not concerned about quality, this is the hat for you. As for me, I'm sending it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: WATERVLIET, MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

gore-tex insulated field cap

Date:November 13, 2007
READ ALL REVIEWS BEFORE BUYING THIS CAP. WAS TOLD THAT IT RUN SMALL, SO I ORDERED THE NEXT LARGER SIZE. IT WAS TOO LARGE AND THE EAR FLAPS DO NOT COVER EARS COMPLEATLY. QUALITY AND FIT NOT EVEN CLOSE TO AMERICAN MADE CAPS PURCHASED FROM CABELA IN THE PAST. IT WILL COST ME SHIPPING TO RETURN AND EXCHANGE FOR A SMALLER SIZE, SO IT LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE I KNOW GETS A FREE CAP. MAYBE CABELA SHOULD TAKE A CLOSER LOOK AT REVIEWS AND ADVERTIZE ACCORDINGLY. DISSATIFIED LOYAL CABELA CUSTOMER.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Field Cap

Date:April 9, 2007
I didn't like the material it was made from. Not waterproof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Latest Version Is a Step Backwards

Date:February 4, 2007
This is the third time I have ordered this hat and each time it has been a step backwards from the first. The first hat I ordered was a dream come true. I have a size 8 1/8 hat size and the hat fit like a charm. The second time I ordered one of these hats the quality was the same but the actual size was a bit smaller than the first hat I ordered. I ordered another hat this year and the differences are immence. The size is much smaller (3/8" smaller in circumference than first and 1/4 smaller than second hat ordered) and the hat is shallower - depth from brim to top is less. Basically it doesn't fit. I gave it to my brother who has a 7 5/8's hat size and it barely fits him. Fortunately some other clothing manufacturers have brought out some true 2XL goretex hats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Coast California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ear Flaps

Date:February 26, 2008
Perhaps I should have looked more carefully before ordering, but I was really taken aback when my ball cap arrived with an ear flap. That in itself would not have been so much of an issue, but the flap didn't cover my ears. So what we have is a flap taking up room in the cap when folded in and not accomplishing anything much worthwhile when folded out. My solution was to trim the flap off entirely and now I have a decent enough insulated, waterproof ball cap. It was in the bargain cave, so all in all, I guess I have no serious complaint, but really, the ear flap thing was a real waste of fabric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Gore Tex Thinsulate Cap

Date:February 20, 2008
It's warm, its waterproof. It has a bit of a sheen to it that I don't like but it has served it's purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Post Falls, Id.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Change isn't always good

Date:January 31, 2008
I use this cap in seclusion blaze and was very happy with the ten mile cloth, They have changed the material to some sort of nylon. old style 5 stars, new material only gets 3 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: KITTANNING, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a bad hat for the money

Date:January 17, 2008
I ordered two of these hats,,,one in camo and the other in orange both in 2XL. The orange one was way too small and the camo one fit just fine. The hat seemed to be a good hat for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gore-tex insulated hat - Blaze Orange

Date:January 10, 2008
Nothing spectacular. It's gore-tex, the Blaze orange is bright, it's insulated. It has ear flaps that fully cover my ears on those cold days. It's also not stitched very well around the brim where it attaches to the crown. It's ugly. The crown is not stiffened in any way, so it's shaped more like a pancake than a ball cap. But then I remember that it's for hunting and I paid less than $20 for it - then everything seems O.K again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Greensboro, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Gore-Tex Field Cap

Date:March 26, 2007
I purchased this cap originally---then sent it back because the Large size that I ordered was not large enough. This despite my having always worn a Large size from Cabela's.
Then I received another Large size cap hoping it would be sized correctly. It is marginally better but still tighter on my head than other caps (size Large) purchased in prior years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GORE-TEX Cap

Date:October 2, 2008
This is a good cap. Nothing fancy. It gets a little hot during the early season hunts but helps keep your head warm when the cold weather hits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Loja, Ecuador
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice cap

Date:April 30, 2008
I purchased the same cap 4 or 5 months a go, but my only complaint is that this new one is a bit snug. I would suggest buying one size larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 72