Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap

These caps are perfect for the outdoorsman who prefers the field-cap style. Camouflage models have an Ambush Cloth? shell, while the Blaze Orange style is made of Ten Mile Cloth?. The Blaze Camo is poly/cotton. We added a GORE-TEX? lining to make them 100% waterproof and breathable. And, to finish the job, we added Thinsulate? Insulation to keep you warm. Insulated earflaps fold down for extra warmth. Imported. Sizes: S-2XL. Camo patterns: Advantage MAX-4 HD?, Advantage Timber?, Blaze, Seclusion 3D? Blaze, Seclusion 3D?, Mossy Oak? New Break-Up?, Mossy Oak? Duck Blind?, Mossy Oak? New Shadow Grass?.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
59 out of 72(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Review 1 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GORE-TEX Cap

Date:October 2, 2008
This is a good cap. Nothing fancy. It gets a little hot during the early season hunts but helps keep your head warm when the cold weather hits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lovettsville, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Insulated Hat

Date:June 12, 2008
Good quality material and insulation. Hat was sized to allow for additional layer or balaclavas to be worn under your hat for those extremelly cold days. Never had a chance to verify how waterproof the hat is but quality material leads me to believe project would hold up during wet and cold conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Loja, Ecuador
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice cap

Date:April 30, 2008
I purchased the same cap 4 or 5 months a go, but my only complaint is that this new one is a bit snug. I would suggest buying one size larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: auburn hills, michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:April 23, 2008
I have been unable to field test this since hunting season is essentially over in Michigan. That being said, I found this to be a very high quality cap. My only complaint is that , due to the ear flaps, it is a bit snug. I would strongly suggest buying one size larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheep hat

Date:April 15, 2008
I perchased the same hat a year or two ago. That hat was
fine.
This hat is a cheep copy in every way,stitching ,sizing and everything else possible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: White Lake, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Functional quality

Date:March 31, 2008
Simply a great cap. Warm, dry and the fold-down ear flaps add that little touch of warmth. Worth the few extra dollars over a non Gore-tex cap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thinsulate field cap

Date:March 18, 2008
Cap has a crown that is too low. In x-large size, it perches on the the top of the head like a skullcap. Too easily brushed or blown off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I live in California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gore-Tex field Cap

Date:March 17, 2008
While Hunting in Idaho this last year my brother-inlaw had me wear his orange Gore-tex hat,and I loved it.It kept my head warm,and I could be seen by other hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good choice

Date:March 17, 2008
This cap has an excellent fit with a brim that shades the eyes. Nice and warm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana,deer and turkey hunter, fisherman
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gore-tex field cap(blaze orange/camo)

Date:March 11, 2008
I am very pleased with the cap. Hunting season is over here in Indiana but I did wear it while shoveling snow. It fits well and it is warm, wow.
I have a large head, size 7/7/8 to 8. Its hard to find a cap that fits well. This one does...Thanks Cabela's...Jammieo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carlisle, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Hat!

Date:February 27, 2008
This hat is excellent for cool and cold weather. Thinsulate in the crown and faux shearling in the ear muffs keep your head warm. Gore-tex assures waterproofing. Very good Mossy Oak camo patterns. Quality-made throughout. An excellent hat at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Coast California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ear Flaps

Date:February 26, 2008
Perhaps I should have looked more carefully before ordering, but I was really taken aback when my ball cap arrived with an ear flap. That in itself would not have been so much of an issue, but the flap didn't cover my ears. So what we have is a flap taking up room in the cap when folded in and not accomplishing anything much worthwhile when folded out. My solution was to trim the flap off entirely and now I have a decent enough insulated, waterproof ball cap. It was in the bargain cave, so all in all, I guess I have no serious complaint, but really, the ear flap thing was a real waste of fabric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Maquoketa, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good ONLINE purchase

Date:February 22, 2008
Very nice cap, just don't count on it fitting after you get it. I'm guessing there is very little quality controll done, in foreign factories. If your head size is X-Large, order a 2X-L and you might get lucky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ionia Mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hapy Outdoorsmen

Date:February 20, 2008
I hate these hats nowdays, one size fits all. Most don,t have ear flaps and thew ones that do don't come down far enought to keep your ears warm. Cabela's is the only place that I have found that they have sizes, and they keep my head & ears warm. I would recommend Cabela's is a place to shop for all your out doors needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Gore Tex Thinsulate Cap

Date:February 20, 2008
It's warm, its waterproof. It has a bit of a sheen to it that I don't like but it has served it's purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX Thinsulate Field Cap

Date:February 19, 2008
Comfortable, warm and waterproof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Alexandria, Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's GORE-TEX? Thinsulate? Field Cap

Date:February 12, 2008
This cap is not as heavy, as warm or as well made as the old one that I still have. It is 7 years old and showing it but is by far the better of the two. It was made of 50% cotton/polyester.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great hat for hunting

Date:February 11, 2008
Excellent hat stays on the biggest head in strong winds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: UK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goretex field cap

Date:February 9, 2008
Nice cap, fits sugly (important unless you like chasing hats when the wind gets up). Very waterproof. Insulation felt quite light, this cap was adequate at near zero temperature but I'd use another if the temperature was well below freezing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® Thinsulate™ Field Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warrenton, Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX Thinsulate Field Cap

Date:February 8, 2008
Finally, a GORE-TEX cap with ear flaps. I have been very satisfied with this cap and wear it even when not hunting. It is very comfortable and warm in 30 degrees or more. I would recommend it to everyone. I have not worn it in the rain as of yet but I plan on getting one in hunter orange when available. Great cap! Well worth the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 72