Customer Reviews for Columbia Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Columbia Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest

Take on the toughest upland conditions in comfort with Columbia's Grouse X Comfort Vest. The special Spacer Mesh Columbia Comfort System? yoke distributes weight, while the durable 60% cotton/40% polyester blend handles harsh abuse. It has two bellows pockets with four quick-loader tubes in each for 12- or 20-gauge shells. The front-loading bloodproof game bag zips out for easy cleaning, and it has two water-bottle pockets so you can carry extra for yourself and your dog. Imported. Chest sizes: M(38-41), L(42-45), XL(46-49), 2XL(50-53), 3XL(54-57), 4XL(57-60). Colors: Flax/Blaze.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
34 out of 40(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Review 1 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: WISCONSIN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GROUSE 2 VEST

Date:November 18, 2008
WHEN REMOVING ONE OF THE 20GA TUBE'S THE ENTIRE TUBE BROKE OFF THE VEST. THERE ARE NO SHELL LOOPS INSIDE THE POCKETS. IF YOU ARE NOT CAREFUL PUTTING ITEMS INTO THE POCKETS THE ITEM CAN FALL RIGHT THRU THE POCKET AND ONTO THE GROUND. POOR DESIGN ALL THE WAY AROUND WITH THE SHELL TUBE'S AND POCKETS.
I WILL GO BACK TO MY BROWNING VESTS IN THE FUTURE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad product or a lemon

Date:October 25, 2007
I used the vest on two hunting trips on the second trip one of the loading tubes fell off due to the thread unravelling that was holding it on. Then when I removed the vest at the end of the hunt I noticed that the material ripped apart right where the collar is sewn to the vest right above the name tag. Besides the vest falling apart I like the loading tubes and the comfort while wearing it during a hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This vest is stange

Date:October 28, 2008
This vest should come with a user's manual. My hunting buddies and my engineer brother could not figure out how to store shells in the shell holder, which is, at best, clumsy and at worst, impossible. I have finally resorted to just putting the shells in the pockets loose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: southwest WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

grouse vest

Date:December 1, 2008
I've only worn the vest a few times so I can't comment on durability. The neck of the vest rubs on the back of my neck and becomes very irritating the longer you wear it. The other thing I don't really care for are the shotshell holders. They add a lot of bulk to lower-front portion of the vest without much benefit. I put some 20 gauge shells in the holder but they're not snug enough to give me peace-of-mind. I thought I'd probably be losing shells so I didn't end up using the holder at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Columbia Grouse Vest

Date:December 6, 2007
I used this vest for several weeks. I had a real hard time pulling shells through the loader tubes. One tube broke when the temperature was 3 degrees. I couldn't pull shells through tubes with gloves on. Once the tubes are improved, it will be a good vest. The pockets and water bottle pockets are functional. I like the vest but the loader tubes must be improved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hunting vest

Date:September 15, 2007
Vest is heavy and, to my surprise, equipped with a 20 gauge shot-shell dispenser system that I did not want. Had I known it had a shell dispensing system I would not have ordered this vest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks the part

Date:November 25, 2006
For comfort and load bearing, this vest does well. It's balanced and distributes the weight evenly. Construction of the vest is not very good. After taking the vest out of the package and familiarizing with the features, the front left pocket snap fell off - have had a tube feeder come off as well with very little pull. It's "high speed and low drag" look makes it aesthetically appealing, but would be better effective without the speed loaders and snaps.
The pockets are big enough to accommodate more than enough shells and gloves and a hat - good room there. Water bottle carriers are a good addition.
Good: capacity and wear
Bad: feeders and snaps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Upland Vest

Date:November 15, 2006
This vest has worked great for this years southern Alberta pheasant season. The pockets and general layout of the vest offer excellent load bearing. Side pockets are excellent for carying a couple of water bottles and first-aid kit.
This vest can do without the metal snaps on the front. I removed these with a vengance, due to them marking my new Cynergy stock.
The quick loader tubes offer easy re-loading, but the 24 rd capacity makes the vest heavy. The best load is 12 rds.
The plastic of the quick loader tubes is less plyable when the temperature is below 0 Celcius and makes the re-load a little harder.
Overall a good product. Happy I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: balearic islands , spain Europe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good vest

Date:March 31, 2009
fits well, the only thing that I don't like is the design of the rapid loaders and the front pocket. finally I've made some changes and now it's perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tipton, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grouse X Vest

Date:January 8, 2008
Very comfortable vest. The only problem encountered is the shell dispensers are too tight. After pulling several hundred shells through, they were still too tight. Thus, I used a dremel tool to hollow them out a little more. Now, everything works great. This was with the 20 gauge inserts. 12 guage shells pull much easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Columbia Grouse X Comfort Vest

Date:November 29, 2006
Vest provides a lot of room for gloves and misc. gear. Blood rinses off material easily. The quick loader feature is nice, my only concern is if the plastic inserts wear out I hope replacements are available. The vest wears comfortably across shoulders when fully loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montreal, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Columbia Grouse X Comfort Vest

Date:November 22, 2006
Great great vest. The pokets are large and can contains lots of material. On the front pokets, we have special slots for shell storage. In the back we have large pokets and also a small poket located on each side to carry a water bottle. These two back/side pokets are very hard to access when the vest is on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great vest

Date:October 28, 2009
this vest fits well and has plenty of pockets, the speed loader tubes do work and hold the shells tight enough that they wont fall out walking,even in some thick stuff. the tubes do take a bit of force to pull the shell out. even with the vest loaded and heavy with a few birds in the back it still wears very comfertable and light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vest

Date:August 16, 2009
Had one of Cabelas Lite n Load vests that I used for a couple of seasons, decided that it was just to small for me. Went back to this model and have been using it ever since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Allentown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comfortable and works great

Date:July 23, 2009
I haven't had a lot of chance to use in the field - but the times I have walked my dogs and used the vest with sporting clays - it worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grouse X Vest

Date:June 23, 2009
When it came time to replace my old Cabelas vest, I was looking for: greater visibility (gets thick in woodcock cover), a "back pack" compartment to carry rain gear or an insulating layer, water bottle pockets, and a comfortable fit. This vest has it all, at a reasonable price. The quick-load shell holders don't do a lot for me; never found the action "fast and furious" with grouse and woodcock. But I'll be ready, by gosh, if I ever do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:January 4, 2009
This vest has anything you could possibly want with the exception of one thing. I wish it had hand warmer pockets for when sitting still for small game on cool days. I would buy this vest over again though!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kamena Bourla-Greece
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A lot of space.

Date:December 3, 2008
I am using this vest for only two weeks but it fullfil all my needs for upland hunting. It has a lot of space for evrething you need to have during bird hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bradford, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Columbia Grouse X Comfort Vest

Date:October 28, 2008
I hunt grouse, woodcock and pheasants in Pennsylvania and New York. I love this vest. Very comfortable. Have worn it on about a dozen hunts so far through some very very nasty cover and it's holding up well. Didn't think I would like the speed loaders, but, they are very handy. Pockets for the water bottles have been a plus during some hot weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Columbia® Grouse X Comfort Vest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Brunswick ,Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great vest-best I've seen yet!

Date:October 16, 2008
I've used this vest now several days-and can't come up with any major issues-other reviewers seemed to have trouble removing the 20 gauge inserts from the speed loaders-I found that simply "inchworming" the fabric around the top of the loaders back and twisting them slightly ONE BY ONE exposed the yellow tab on the inserts-I removed all mine in a little over a minute-this vest has lots of pockets for knife,shells,gps,radio etc.The roomy pouch in the back has lots of room in the event you need to shed a jacket and/ or sweater(just carry a plastic bag to prevent contact with your game!)-I'll probably use this deer hunting too instead of wearring a back pack!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 40