Customer Reviews for MOSSBACK PRODUCTIONS Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MOSSBACK PRODUCTIONS Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat

The choice of generations of hunters because it’s dependably warm and will stand up to years of hard use. This classic 18.5-oz. 85/15 wool/nylon coat is suited for nearly any weather condition and will retain its superior insulating properties through wet conditions. An oversized collar with a button tab battens down against the cold. Four bellows-style pockets (two lower and two upper) with button closures and a rear storage pocket have ample room for your gear. Slash-style handwarmer pockets at chest height. Polyester-cotton brushed twill lining for easy on and off. Knit cuffs. Dry-clean only. Imported. Sizes: M-2XL. Colors: Red/Black Plaid, Green/Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Review 1 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

A North East Deerhunter's must have.

By
Location: Commack,NY Joe Yes
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought my first one 40 some years ago and it's still ser vicable.I needed a little more room and liked the fact that this one doe'snt have to be dry cleaned. Made me sad not to see made in U.S.A. on the label though,would have rethought buying it if I had known.Charge me double but make it here please.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Good coat

By
Location: Sudbury, MA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The hunting season was very mild this year in Northern Maine, but I got some snow and and cold weather once. The coat kept we warm. It was very comfortable, not too bulky, and very silent in the woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2011

Great Coat

By
Location: I am from PA Philly area.
This is the greatest coat I have ever owned, warm durable, it stays clean and very warm. The only problem is that I would love a new one but the original one I purchased in 1975 other than needing some inside pocket repair is still like new . I recommend this coat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011

Nicest one I own!

By
Location: cascade mountains, WA
I am 5'10", 200 lbs, 46" chest. The large size fits well. I usually purchase an extra large, regular, shirt size.
Excellent quality, heavy duty, outdoor gear. Great sale price at Cabelas. I spend a lot of time outdoors and have a lot of cold weather and hunting clothing. I think this is the nicest coat I own.Too bad it sold out a little later, I wanted to pick up another for Dad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011

Woolrich Classic Hunting Coat

By
Location: Ontario, Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a great coat. I wanted this coat for many years, but could not affored it until I seen it on sale @ cableas.com. I had to snap it up. This coat is very warm, fits me perfectly, and should last a lifetime. It's going to take awhile to break it in, but I really love it, and would recomend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2011

Wish it fit

By
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was excited to get the coat, but the excitement quickly turn to disappointment when I put on the coat and it was too large. The sleeves fit well, as I have monkey like arms; however, the shoulders and torso were crafted to fit a man with a bit more bulk than me. I'm 165 @ 5.11. I chose the medium. For what it's worth...it appears to be a great product, so I give 4 stars and would recommend it to a fuller bodied gentleman! Just doesn't fit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2011

Great stuff

By
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I like traditional wool, maybe it's just me. Wool seems to act like a thermostat for me keeping me not to hot and not too cold for winter wear.
I'm 6' 4" 260lbs and this coat is a good fit around the shoulders and middle. I only wish it came in long sizes as it is a wee bit short in the sleeves for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011

excellent workmanship

By
Location: Bend Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Had to return for appropriate size-replacement out of stock
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011

Warmest Coat

By
Location: East Windsor, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I love this coat, it is very warm. It has a huge collar which is great on windy days. The large pockets have a snap closure. Nice heavy coat which seems like it should last a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2011

just perfect

By
Location: Loja, Ecuador
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I'm like the shelter made for me, heavy but very nice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Warm and Waterproof

By
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I had this same coat when I first started hunting. I was 16 then. I decided to buy this coat and hunt in it now that I am retired. It has become my favorite all around cold weather coat and hunting coat. The third elk season in Colorado this year was warm and dry. On the last day of the season, I got caught in heavy rain storm that turned into a snowy blizzard. The coat kept me very warm and dry. The coat runs true to size. I am 5"8" with a 46" chest. The Large size is a little tight with bib style pants and a wool shirt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Awesome Jacket

By
Location: Berne, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have wanted this jacket for years and am glad I finally made the purchase. The construction quality of this coat is excellent as is the warmth. As to sizing, I am 6'3" 260lbs and I bought a 2XL. It is a little big on me,BUT that leaves room for layering and gives good freedom of movement. I have very long arms and the sleeve length is perfect. The large collar easily stands up and is great for blocking stiff winter winds. If you are looking for a coat that will last you for decades, then this is your coat. If you are looking for a fitted coat, then look elsewhere. Hope this info is useful...Joe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

Great Product.

By
Location: Brooklyn, Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased as a Christmas gift for my son - he absolutely loves this coat. He does snow removal in the winter and wears it almost every day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Great old school coat.

By
Location: Shelter Island,NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this coat strickly for the retro aspect. It is warm by the old standards.I normally wear XL long but from reading the previous reviews I orderded a L. It fit perfectly but since there was no long sizing it's slightly short in sleeve length. Regardless I love this coat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2009

Best coat ever made

By
This is the warmest coat I have ever owned in my entire life. I live in the Northeast and we get some pretty cold weather up here. Today was 10 degrees out and 11 below with the wind chill and I had this coat on with nothing more than a flannel on underneath it and I was not the least bit cold at all. This coat does an excellent job of blocking out the wind especially when you put the collar up on it. This coat also has 4 front pockets for storing stuff in along with a interior pocket and the 2 to warm your hands in. The coolest thing about this coat though is the pocket on the back of it that extends from one side of the coat to the other, that can be used for storing larger things when your hiking, or for storing small game if you're a hunter. If you're in the market to buy a coat stop looking and just order this one you will not regret it at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2009

too small the biggest size

By
Location: Roma, Italy
the size that i take 2XL is not so big. sleeves to short for my arm and i'm only 188cm. is a good coat and i wonder i can use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2009

Great Coat

By
Location: Calvert County, MD
I got this coat a few years ago, because I'm a big fan of wool clothing and I wanted to own a classic. I like to winter hunt in the Western MD mountains, in temperatures of 10 - 20 F. After using it for two years, I can see why this coat has been around for ages. It's warm and quiet, and very well-made.
The only thing you have to be careful about is the sizing, as this coat is cut large. I'm 6'2", 220 lbs and typically wear either a 46 or 48 size sports coat. Usually, this means I get an X-Large for everything. I first ordered an X-Large and found it was too big. I returned it and got a Large. This fits well and has enough room for layering underneath.
I also own the Woolrich bib overalls. They're great as well. I strongly recommend Woolrich wool clothing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

the business

By
Location: london uk
a classic!!!...what more can i say.....a heavy duty winter warmer that is practical and fashionable.....really comfortable to wear ......full marks to manufacturer and supplier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Great coat, wind gets through

By
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Great coat, heavy and warm. Lots of pockets, easy to open. Great classic look at well. The only thing it does not do is block the wind. Layer underneath if it will be windy. Otherwise should last forever. The last wool coat I should ever had to buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woolrich® Wool Hunting Coat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008

Woolrich Wool Hunting Coat

By
Overall pleased with the coat. Like the inside pocket and the fit. Not as windproof or warm as Filson's double Mackinaw. Good coat overall
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 30