Customer Reviews for TACKLE FACTORY Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TACKLE FACTORY Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

The double Mackinaw Cruiser design features a full one-piece cape over basic coat to form double covering for front, back and sleeves. Large carrying pocket on the back extends well up under the cape. Seven front pockets include concealed handwarmer pockets with side opening. 100% 24-oz. virgin wool. Made in USA. Even chest sizes: 36-48. Colors: Red/Black Plaid, Charcoal.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.939 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Review 1 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great jacket

Date:March 3, 2011
Well made wool jacket. Worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Coat Ever!

Date:February 26, 2013
Experience a Michigan winter in this coat and you'll be really impressed. It's warmth, quietness, and good looks will convince you that Filson wool is the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Filson Double Mac..

Date:February 5, 2013
Quality! Period. Stayed warm in 7 below (windchill), last week in WV. Its a Filson, what more do you need to know? Insulates when wet. Not as bulky or heavy as one would think. Quite comfortable with plenty of pockets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wool the original performance fabric

Date:January 29, 2013
Warm, warm when wet , naturally fire resistant ,quiet in the woods. A great coat for any outdoor activities in cold weather. I have many Filson products and have never been disapointed. Great products that last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest wool jacket period!

Date:January 22, 2013
I've gone through many jackets over the years and this is what I would consider the "holy grail" of all wool jackets. Very heavy and rugged, this thing is built like a tank. Your guaranteed to stay warm and cozy in this even on the coldest winter days. It's a jacket I'll pass down to the grandchildren someday when that time comes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Italy
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the most comfortable jacket

Date:November 27, 2012
if you want a soft, warm jacket that helps you heating your body in the chillest days, you must have it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Made Quality

Date:May 16, 2012
From the first time I tried on the Filson Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser, I knew this high quality, Amerian-made coat would last me the rest of my life and likely be in good enough condition to pass down to my son. The wool is dense and warm but surprisingly light in weight for a coat that has a double thickness of material in the shoulders and arms. I've already spent several hours sitting outside in below freezing weather and felt very warm and comfortable in the coat. It was not cheap but I'll never wear it out, it will never go out of style and I will always be able to count on it keeping me warm in the cold, snow and rain. If the power ever goes out and I lose heat at home or the cottage, you know what I'll be wearing inside until the heat comes back on. I'm so glad my local Cabelas stocks this kind of quality gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AAhhhhh,,,,Filson

Date:February 21, 2012
Thought this might be to much coat---wrong! Just perfect, excellant quality,fit and comfort.It is like wearing a climate control coat--breathes excellant,retains heat--excellant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penns Woods
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The BEST! Buy it! You won't regret it.

Date:January 12, 2012
Filson's motto is "Might As Well Have The Best". Sure, that comes with a price tag but getting this coat in an after-season sale at Cabela's made that easier.
This is one of Filson's products that's still made in the USA too. You just can't get better quality wool or workmanship than what you get in this coat. To get the double thick wool, the construction design is simple but it's ingenious and it works!
I also own a single-thick wool Filson Cape Coat but this Double Mackinaw is the one for the coldest days. It's downright warm! Like wearing your favorite blanket. I guess you can tell, I love it! I'm sure it will outlast me and hopefully, if my son grows up to be close to my size, he'll wear it for the rest of his life!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lifetime Wool Coat

Date:January 11, 2012
When Filson makes a wool coat, you can bet it'll last your life time and quite possibly your son's! Heavy duty construction and top quality material insures that it's the best out there. Recommended with Enthusiasm!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: columbus, oh
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice product

Date:January 9, 2012
This coat fits well and is true to size when ordering. Not only does it fit well but it is a great looking coat as I have had many folks ask where I bought the coat. It is warm and I believe I will be able to get many years of use out of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FILSON JACKET

Date:January 9, 2012
Have always wanted this jacket & when it went on sale I jumped on it. So happy I did. Get compliments all the time, & living in Wyoming, WEAR IT ALL THE TIME!! So warm & functional!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW OH
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thick Wool, Warm, Classic, Expensive

Date:October 24, 2011
Pros:
Warm when wet
Stylish enough for Church or Deer Woods
Heirloom USA Made Quality
Layered Correctly good to Minus 0 Deg
Timeless Style
Filson Guarantee
Cons:
Home Equity needed for purchase
Strong wind will go thru it
*If warmer required get a Cabela's Down Parka with Hood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love my Filson

Date:March 20, 2011
This coat has rapidly become my favorite.
I can wear it outside in the harshest of conditions and still stay warm. I can also wear it inside and not become overheated, I still find that one hard to believe, but i guess that is due to the wool's ability to breathe.
Dirt seems to dry up and fall off of the coat, cattail seeds blow off as well, it is probably the most labor free coat to keep clean.
I get compliments from many older guys that remember such attire in years past, I am hoping, and expecting that this coat will serve me well for many decades to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Filson Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

Date:March 1, 2011
Great jacket - great quality. Just what a guy in Alaska needs to wear to work everyday and use hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ALWAYS EXCELLENT QUALITY

Date:February 26, 2011
I have many pieces of Filson gear and clothing. F or the cold weather hard to beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN/SD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever!

Date:February 23, 2011
Best Christmas gift my husband received. He loves it. It's warm - it looks nice and its his favorite coat to wear in the cold weather!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mandeville, LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm

Date:December 11, 2010
This is a top quality garment and the best cold weather coat I've ever had. I highly recommend this for anyone who sits in a tree stand regularly as its the only coat I've found to keep me completely warm. Although its a bit bulky for stalking, I've got within 10 yds of big game due to the fact the wool is absolutely silent when moving through the thickets and brush. Its worth every penny and for once its a quality product made in the USA!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sonoma, CA and Lake Linden, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best in Class

Date:January 5, 2010
This is the best designed best executed coat on the market for cold weather. This coat fits like a glove because it is still available in multiple chest (38,40,42- - -) sizes not just small, medium, large, etc.
Filson got it right 100 years ago and still excels today.
Last week I ordered a second coat, just to have one at the hunting camp and one at home.
It's worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cumberland County, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

Date:December 15, 2009
I ordered the charcol in large and it is not what I thought it would be...it's too nice to use for hunting...I will use this as a out..and..about coat with my jeans..Seriously, this is a nice warm coat..get lots of good compliments about it..looks better than my leather carcoat at about half the price..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33