Customer Reviews for FILSON Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

FILSON Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

The double Mackinaw Cruiser design features a full one-piece cape over basic coat to form double covering for front, back and sleeves. Large carrying pocket on the back extends well up under the cape. Seven front pockets include concealed handwarmer pockets with side opening. 100% 24-oz. virgin wool. Made in USA. Even chest sizes: 36-48. Colors: Red/Black Plaid, Charcoal.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.939 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Review 1 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2011

Great jacket

By
Location: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Well made wool jacket. Worth every penny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

Best Coat Ever!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Experience a Michigan winter in this coat and you'll be really impressed. It's warmth, quietness, and good looks will convince you that Filson wool is the way to go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

Filson Double Mac..

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Quality! Period. Stayed warm in 7 below (windchill), last week in WV. Its a Filson, what more do you need to know? Insulates when wet. Not as bulky or heavy as one would think. Quite comfortable with plenty of pockets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2013

Wool the original performance fabric

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Warm, warm when wet , naturally fire resistant ,quiet in the woods. A great coat for any outdoor activities in cold weather. I have many Filson products and have never been disapointed. Great products that last.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Warmest wool jacket period!

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've gone through many jackets over the years and this is what I would consider the "holy grail" of all wool jackets. Very heavy and rugged, this thing is built like a tank. Your guaranteed to stay warm and cozy in this even on the coldest winter days. It's a jacket I'll pass down to the grandchildren someday when that time comes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

the most comfortable jacket

By
Country: Italy
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
if you want a soft, warm jacket that helps you heating your body in the chillest days, you must have it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

American Made Quality

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
From the first time I tried on the Filson Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser, I knew this high quality, Amerian-made coat would last me the rest of my life and likely be in good enough condition to pass down to my son. The wool is dense and warm but surprisingly light in weight for a coat that has a double thickness of material in the shoulders and arms. I've already spent several hours sitting outside in below freezing weather and felt very warm and comfortable in the coat. It was not cheap but I'll never wear it out, it will never go out of style and I will always be able to count on it keeping me warm in the cold, snow and rain. If the power ever goes out and I lose heat at home or the cottage, you know what I'll be wearing inside until the heat comes back on. I'm so glad my local Cabelas stocks this kind of quality gear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

AAhhhhh,,,,Filson

By
Location: WA
Thought this might be to much coat---wrong! Just perfect, excellant quality,fit and comfort.It is like wearing a climate control coat--breathes excellant,retains heat--excellant
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

The BEST! Buy it! You won't regret it.

By
Location: Penns Woods
Filson's motto is "Might As Well Have The Best". Sure, that comes with a price tag but getting this coat in an after-season sale at Cabela's made that easier.
This is one of Filson's products that's still made in the USA too. You just can't get better quality wool or workmanship than what you get in this coat. To get the double thick wool, the construction design is simple but it's ingenious and it works!
I also own a single-thick wool Filson Cape Coat but this Double Mackinaw is the one for the coldest days. It's downright warm! Like wearing your favorite blanket. I guess you can tell, I love it! I'm sure it will outlast me and hopefully, if my son grows up to be close to my size, he'll wear it for the rest of his life!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Lifetime Wool Coat

By
Location: Tennessee
When Filson makes a wool coat, you can bet it'll last your life time and quite possibly your son's! Heavy duty construction and top quality material insures that it's the best out there. Recommended with Enthusiasm!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Very nice product

By
Location: columbus, oh
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This coat fits well and is true to size when ordering. Not only does it fit well but it is a great looking coat as I have had many folks ask where I bought the coat. It is warm and I believe I will be able to get many years of use out of it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

FILSON JACKET

By
Location: Buffalo, Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Have always wanted this jacket & when it went on sale I jumped on it. So happy I did. Get compliments all the time, & living in Wyoming, WEAR IT ALL THE TIME!! So warm & functional!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

Thick Wool, Warm, Classic, Expensive

By
Location: NW OH
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Pros:
Warm when wet
Stylish enough for Church or Deer Woods
Heirloom USA Made Quality
Layered Correctly good to Minus 0 Deg
Timeless Style
Filson Guarantee
Cons:
Home Equity needed for purchase
Strong wind will go thru it
*If warmer required get a Cabela's Down Parka with Hood
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2011

I love my Filson

By
Location: Northern Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This coat has rapidly become my favorite.
I can wear it outside in the harshest of conditions and still stay warm. I can also wear it inside and not become overheated, I still find that one hard to believe, but i guess that is due to the wool's ability to breathe.
Dirt seems to dry up and fall off of the coat, cattail seeds blow off as well, it is probably the most labor free coat to keep clean.
I get compliments from many older guys that remember such attire in years past, I am hoping, and expecting that this coat will serve me well for many decades to come.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

Filson Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

By
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great jacket - great quality. Just what a guy in Alaska needs to wear to work everyday and use hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2011

ALWAYS EXCELLENT QUALITY

By
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have many pieces of Filson gear and clothing. F or the cold weather hard to beat!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Best Purchase Ever!

By
Location: MN/SD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Best Christmas gift my husband received. He loves it. It's warm - it looks nice and its his favorite coat to wear in the cold weather!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010

Warm

By
Location: Mandeville, LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a top quality garment and the best cold weather coat I've ever had. I highly recommend this for anyone who sits in a tree stand regularly as its the only coat I've found to keep me completely warm. Although its a bit bulky for stalking, I've got within 10 yds of big game due to the fact the wool is absolutely silent when moving through the thickets and brush. Its worth every penny and for once its a quality product made in the USA!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010

Best in Class

By
Location: Sonoma, CA and Lake Linden, Michigan
This is the best designed best executed coat on the market for cold weather. This coat fits like a glove because it is still available in multiple chest (38,40,42- - -) sizes not just small, medium, large, etc.
Filson got it right 100 years ago and still excels today.
Last week I ordered a second coat, just to have one at the hunting camp and one at home.
It's worth the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009

Filson® Double Mackinaw Wool Cruiser

By
Location: Cumberland County, NC
I ordered the charcol in large and it is not what I thought it would be...it's too nice to use for hunting...I will use this as a out..and..about coat with my jeans..Seriously, this is a nice warm coat..get lots of good compliments about it..looks better than my leather carcoat at about half the price..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 33