Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Made of durable, knit acrylic, these stocking caps fit any type of cold weather hunting conditions. Ideal for super-cold, wet conditions, the deluxe version boasts the lightweight warmth of 50-gram Thinsulate™ insulation and the waterproof comfort of GORE-TEX® to deliver an impermeable barrier to precipitation while permitting perspiration to escape. Made in USA. One size fits most. Camo patterns:  Snow White, Mossy Oak® Break-Up®.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.54 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
12
1 Star
4
41 out of 63(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Review 21 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:April 5, 2008
This stocking cap will keep your head warm and dry. You will want to hand wash it and hang to try. You will also have to reposition the gore-tex liner after washing- hence only three stars. I would recommend the hat to someone who has the patience to reposition the liner after washing, as it takes some effort. I have two of these hats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern New Mexico( High country)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cap

Date:February 21, 2008
Very warm hat , but my only issue with it is the Thinsulate seems to gather at the top of the cap when you have it in your pocket. When you go to put it on you have to work the insulation back down the cap and try to get it adjusted again. At times this was very hard to get done in a blizzard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Maryville, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but could be improved

Date:February 14, 2008
I recieved this hat in snow color and I thought it seemed like a well made hat but apon further inspection I noticed that the Gore-tex and Thinsulate was not sown into place which I did not think much of till I tried to wash it. When washed the Goretex and Thinsulate balled up and were inpossible to get back. To fix this I removed some stiching from the top of the hat to put my hand on the inside forced the thinsulate back to were it should be and removed the Gore-tex because it was noisy and I didn't want it in the hat in the first place. Overall it is a very warm and other than the insulation and Gortex shifting when washed is very well made. I do think that Cabelas would do well to have the insulation and Gore-tex into place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Farmington, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Warm but noisy

Date:November 26, 2007
This hat keeps me very warm but the Gore-Tex liner is very noisy. It is very hard to hear in the woods while wearing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Outlook, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

STOCKING HAT

Date:October 23, 2007
THE HAT ITSELF IS VERY WARM. IT IS ALSO REVERSABLE. THE PROBLEM I HAD IS THAT IT IS VERY BULKY, AND IT IS NOW ATTACHED TOGETHER AT THE CENTER OF YOUR HEAD. I WAS LOOKING MORE FOR SOMETHING THAT WOULD PACK BETTER, THAT I COULD USE ON MY ATV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

noisy hat.

Date:January 12, 2007
This hat does keep you warm & dry, but is very noisy. It is also hard to keep it adjusted on your head. The liner makes it very unforgiving.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm but noisy

Date:November 30, 2006
Like the first review stated, this hat seemingly makes a lot of noise when putting it on. For sitting in a blind it would be excellent, but for walking around I wouldn't recommend it. It's a very warm hat, but the noise got to be annoying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plastic bag in the hat

Date:November 20, 2006
The knit edging was fine but pulling on the hat seemed a little tight. It seems and sounds like there is a plastic bag in between the layers of knit. The plastic material doesn't streach and makes noise when putting it on your head. It did keep my head warm while sitting in the blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OC, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm, very-very warm.

Date:September 16, 2010
As a bald guy I appreciate a good warm hat but wow. For me the stocking cap and Thinsulate is just overkill. Hunting someplace extremely cold (tracking polar bears?) it would probably be great but I honestly doubt I go anyplace cold enough to need this thing.
For what it is it's good though, well made and comfy, just hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm and wind resistant

Date:March 2, 2010
I wore this hat while working on a ski lift in very cold and windy weather and found it to be as warm as a bomber hat. Also, no wind gets through. A drawback is that the material snags and pulls out. Not a big issue for a functional hat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: mobile, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:January 18, 2010
The cap is extremely warm and does all that is expected in that regard. The only thing that is an issue is that the inside portion of the cap (the insulation) does not go to the end of the cap. There is a portion of the cap, it is the part that folds up to show the Cabela's name does not have the insulation. As a result, it is sometimes hard to get the warm part of the cap to be pulled all the way down over your head and even over your ears. Somehow the insulation inside of the organge layers needs to be attached as one unit so you can get it and keep it down all the way on your head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: GENTRYVILLE, INDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:January 16, 2010
IT KEEPS YOUR HEAD WARM BUT IT IS A LITTLE NOISY WHEN YOU TURN YOUR HEAD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hatteras Island NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big enough and wam enough

Date:January 9, 2010
This hat is rare in that it actually covers my ears without squeezing my big head like all the other beanie type of hats. It is very hard to find a hat that fits like this anywere. The hat has been plenty warm while hiking and jogging but I don't know if would be warm enough while sitting still in below freezing windy conditions. I got blaze orange and will probably order camo just because of the fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest hat I've ever worn

Date:January 4, 2010
This hat is a great combination of being warm, waterproof, and wind-resistant. I liked mine so much I bought one for my father and one for my son. My only complaint is that the outer layer is a very loose weave and gets pulls very easily. Not recommended for crawling through brush!
Others have commented about the Goretex and Thinsulate layers getting bunched and lumpy and hard to straighten. I found that by turning the hat inside out and back again, the layers get re-aligned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gore-tex stocking cap

Date:December 30, 2009
Hunted in the coldest weather of my career and the hat performed very well. In fact, my head was the only part of my body that was not feeling the effects of the - 25 degree weather. A very warm, and comfortable product at a very reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Berthoud, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest Stocking Hat

Date:November 24, 2009
This is the warmest stocking hat I have ever worn. I would recomend this to any hunter who hunts out in any kind of cold weather.
Because of the gore-tex(?) the hat sounds like it has a plastic bag on the inside of it and is slightly noisy when putting it on. Otherwise it would have been rated at 5-stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Westminster CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thinsulate stocking cap

Date:November 18, 2009
Hat was very warm. The fact that is has two layers was a little strange and made it sit funny on your head once in a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

almost too hot

Date:October 25, 2009
definately keeps you warm, but thinsulate and gore-tex make the hat fit tighter and more irregularly than a plain knit hat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alexandria, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

STOCKING CAP

Date:March 24, 2009
I like this cap. It is warm confortable and windproof. You need to know that you cannot toss this into a washng machine to get it clean. Let it soak over night in warm soapy wanter , rinse it very gently or let it soak in clean cold water then let it dry out while sitting flat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Excelsior, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cap

Date:March 11, 2009
would recommend washing it right away to get the stiffness out... nice and warm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 63