Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Made of durable, knit acrylic, these stocking caps fit any type of cold weather hunting conditions. Ideal for super-cold, wet conditions, the deluxe version boasts the lightweight warmth of 50-gram Thinsulate™ insulation and the waterproof comfort of GORE-TEX® to deliver an impermeable barrier to precipitation while permitting perspiration to escape. Made in USA. One size fits most. Camo patterns:  Snow White, Mossy Oak® Break-Up®.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.54 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
12
1 Star
4
41 out of 63(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Review 1 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very very warm

Date:February 4, 2011
Don' wear this hat unless it's really really cold out. It's that warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Mid-Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Warm hat but sloppy

Date:January 31, 2011
Hat seems warm but it fits weird. The hat is a little tighter that normal and seems to ride up due to how tight it is but not really all that uncomfortable. Also, upon receiving the hat and taking it out of the box it sounded like there was that paper wrapping stuffed in the hat, but there is something sewn into the hat that make a papery noise. I just wanted a basic white hat that said Cabela's on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OC, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm, very-very warm.

Date:September 16, 2010
As a bald guy I appreciate a good warm hat but wow. For me the stocking cap and Thinsulate is just overkill. Hunting someplace extremely cold (tracking polar bears?) it would probably be great but I honestly doubt I go anyplace cold enough to need this thing.
For what it is it's good though, well made and comfy, just hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Avid hunter, 55 years old, Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Warm: but that's all it is.

Date:March 3, 2010
Used the stocking cap on a hog hunt in Texas in January. The temps never got above freezing, and we rode 4-wheelers guite a bit. The cap was good for riding the 4-wheelers but was awful for hunting. The plastic membrane was loud, had a continous crackling noise, and the cap fit too tight. Will look for a better alternative next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm and wind resistant

Date:March 2, 2010
I wore this hat while working on a ski lift in very cold and windy weather and found it to be as warm as a bomber hat. Also, no wind gets through. A drawback is that the material snags and pulls out. Not a big issue for a functional hat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:February 13, 2010
This cap was not stiched tight enough for me to keep the wind out. The thinsulate is located in the top part of the hat, so there is only yarn covering your ears. I bought a white cap since I have a blaze orange hat like this that I like, but for some reason the white cap does not have tight stiching to keep the wind out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hurricane, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome Hat

Date:January 23, 2010
I already have friends ordering this amazing value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:January 20, 2010
Just a great warm and dry hat.............................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northeast nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT

Date:January 18, 2010
GREAT HAT STOPPED THE WIND VERY WARM NOT RECOMENDED FOR WALKING USE GREAT FOR SITTING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm and dry

Date:January 18, 2010
This is the warmest stocking cap I ever wore Keeps you dry in the snow also
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: mobile, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:January 18, 2010
The cap is extremely warm and does all that is expected in that regard. The only thing that is an issue is that the inside portion of the cap (the insulation) does not go to the end of the cap. There is a portion of the cap, it is the part that folds up to show the Cabela's name does not have the insulation. As a result, it is sometimes hard to get the warm part of the cap to be pulled all the way down over your head and even over your ears. Somehow the insulation inside of the organge layers needs to be attached as one unit so you can get it and keep it down all the way on your head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Raymon in the Missouri Ozarks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stocking Cap

Date:January 18, 2010
Excellent cap.....Thinsulate insulation works well and it is definately waterproof....I have had this cap socking wet on the outside in a rain storm, but the Gor-Tex liner kept my head dry....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: GENTRYVILLE, INDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap

Date:January 16, 2010
IT KEEPS YOUR HEAD WARM BUT IT IS A LITTLE NOISY WHEN YOU TURN YOUR HEAD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastern Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get a better cap.

Date:January 13, 2010
This cap worked OK the first couple of time I wore it. However, after that the insulation bunched up in the top and fabric on the inside became loose and would not stay in place, making it very difficult to get on, adjust, or wear properly. It was sufficiently warm for me in cold weather (20 F and up) but that is overshadowed by its poor construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chillicothe, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest Stocking Cap Ever

Date:January 11, 2010
I gave this stocking cap to my hunter husband for Christmas to replace an old stained blaze orange one. He loves it! Said it's the warmest one he's ever owned. He has used it anytime he goes to the woods or to be outside e.g. when splitting wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hatteras Island NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big enough and wam enough

Date:January 9, 2010
This hat is rare in that it actually covers my ears without squeezing my big head like all the other beanie type of hats. It is very hard to find a hat that fits like this anywere. The hat has been plenty warm while hiking and jogging but I don't know if would be warm enough while sitting still in below freezing windy conditions. I got blaze orange and will probably order camo just because of the fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest hat I've ever worn

Date:January 4, 2010
This hat is a great combination of being warm, waterproof, and wind-resistant. I liked mine so much I bought one for my father and one for my son. My only complaint is that the outer layer is a very loose weave and gets pulls very easily. Not recommended for crawling through brush!
Others have commented about the Goretex and Thinsulate layers getting bunched and lumpy and hard to straighten. I found that by turning the hat inside out and back again, the layers get re-aligned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gore-tex stocking cap

Date:December 30, 2009
Hunted in the coldest weather of my career and the hat performed very well. In fact, my head was the only part of my body that was not feeling the effects of the - 25 degree weather. A very warm, and comfortable product at a very reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabelas Gore-Tex/Thinsulate Stocking Cap

Date:December 29, 2009
I returned this hat mainly because it didn't fit me. A warm stocking hat with Gore-tex and thinsulate is a good concept BUT this hat has the following problems- 1) it is too small in size- my head size is about 24 inches in circumference and the hat was too tight, 2) the Gore-tex in the hat is noisy, and 3) the Goretex membrane inside the hat is "loose" inside the knitting, and it can bunch up in parts of the hat at times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's GORE-TEX® / Thinsulate™ Stocking Cap
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gore-Tex/Thinsulate cap

Date:December 15, 2009
A good stocking cap--soft and warm. Not stated in catalog is that this cap is reversible to blaze orange inside. Outside is camo, of course.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 63