Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater

Made of 100% wool, our durable fatigue sweaters are ideal for just about any outdoor situation. They are great on their own when it's chilly, and they are unbeatable as a layering garment when it turns downright frigid. The comfortable, quiet wool makes a perfect match for the ultra-light, micro-thin WindShear liner that has the unique ability to stop wind from penetrating, while at the same time being incredibly breathable so perspiration vapor can escape and you stay more comfortable. With a WindShear sweater, you can stay warm with fewer layers. The comfortable rib knit collar, cuffs and hem keep warmth in and cold out. Camo patterns are woven into the jacquard knit so they will never come out. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M-2XL.Camo patterns: Realtree All Purpose® Grey, Realtree All-Purpose® Brown, Mossy Oak® Treestand®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
42 out of 45(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Review 21 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: long island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this is the third one I bought

Date:July 17, 2008
good use over many seasons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PENN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOOL RULES

Date:February 20, 2008
I WAS TOTALY SATISFIED WITH CABELAS WIND SHEAR WOOL SWEATER. I'AM A FIRM BELIEVER IN WOOL TO START WITH. MY HUNTING BUDDIES AND I WERE OUT DOING SOME DUCK HUNTING IN JANUARY. THEY WERE ALL WEARING THERE INSULATED JACKETS FOR THE BOAT RIDE OUT TO OUR BLIND.i FIGURED THIS WOULD BE A GOOD TEST FOR THE WIND SHEAR SWEATER AND LET ME TELL YOU, IT PAST WITH FLYING COLORS. NICE AND TOASTY
NO WIND CAME THROUGH THE SWEATER AT ALL. HATS OFF TO CABELAS FOR SUCH A FIND GARMENT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultimate layering garment

Date:February 8, 2008
I own a truckload of Cabela's hunting clothing, and this is simply the best product I own. On medium days, it's a great product by itself. As a layering product on days below 20 degrees or windy it has no equal. Pricey, but worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carterville IL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas WindShear wool Fatigue Sweater

Date:January 17, 2008
This sweater is very nice and extremely warm just as promised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Guide for Iowa Trophy Whitetails in Douds Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest ever

Date:July 29, 2007
About 5 years ago a bought two or your wind lined wool sweaters, I gave one to my buddy and It is the warmest piece Guide for Iowa Trophyof clothing we have. Mine is full of holes and snagged bad, but it has had 5 years of hard hunting, all over the US and Canada. I highly recamend this product, in fact I told my wife I wanted a new one for my birthday. It is rated a 10 in my book
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WindShear Fatigue Sweater

Date:November 23, 2006
It was a snowy day and my hunting buddy kept complaining about being cold. A cold wind was blowing off the slew where we were hunting moose. I stayed by the slew with just my WindShear wool sweater, a long sleeve shirt and a t-shirt and was comfortably warm all day long. I would recommend this product to anyone who spends time outdoors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Windshear sweater

Date:November 22, 2006
This sweater dose exactly as described.Keep me warn as could be.From whitetail hunting allday to football gan-mes at night in the rain and wind.I would highly recommend this sweater to anyone.Thanks for such a great product.Dan P.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saginaw, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's WindShear� Wool Fatigue Sweater

Date:November 22, 2006
I bought my first Cabelas Wool Fatigue Sweater about four years ago and from Steelhead fishing in the spring to waterfowl and deer hunting in the fall this is by far the best layering garment I own. I have been hunting and fishing for over 20 years and this sweater has proven itself time and time again in the coldiest of weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheshire Ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm & Cozy

Date:November 21, 2006
This wool sweater kept me warm through the howling winds of Wyoming.After walking to our stand I would put my sweater on for the afternoon hunt .A perfect way to layer your clothing without too much bulk. Dont leave home without one.Cabelas never fails to deliver the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:November 20, 2006
I saw this sweater in the catalog for some time. But when I went to the Cabela's store and picked up, I bought it. I wear this item from the fall to the dead of winter, from NY to Alabama. Its warm, stops the wind and its comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bristol, vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

some clasics never die

Date:November 20, 2006
From waterfowl hunting extreme conditions to whitetail hunting this sweater does it all. This is an extremely warm garment suited to the coldest conditions. I carry this sweater and put it on once in my stand because if you exert too much in it you will sweat. However, it has no equal for keeping you warm. This is a classic you will never regret buying
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MINN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ORDER 1 SIZE BIGGER

Date:February 17, 2011
IF I ORDERED AGAIN I WOULD ORDER I SIZE BIGGER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville/Florida-Glenrock/Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

windshear-wool sweater

Date:January 22, 2010
I like the swearter. The lining makes it easy to get on and off. I think they run a little small in size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern shore Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas always Satisfies!

Date:January 18, 2010
This is my second wool fatigue sweater that I bought from Cabelas. I use them for bowhunting with traditional archery equipment so they need to be quiet when I move. I tried to purchase this sweater without the liner because it is noisy. However, I was told it was not available. With that being said, I always cut the windshear lining out of a brand new sweater or whatever the item is because it sounds like a paper bag crinkling in the woods. If you're a gun hunter shooting at game from a distance, windshear will be ok but for a bowhunter, windshear is disasterous. It is still warm without the liner if you wear a good base layer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better with Gore Windstopper

Date:December 10, 2009
These sweaters are among the most useful hunting garments I own; having said that, the ones I have are the older, Gore Windstopper version which is a lot quieter. I see that Cabela's has replaced all their Gore stuff with their own windproof lining--it works well for warmth, but it's noisy. As a midlayer it would still be a very versatile item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's a must

Date:February 17, 2009
Had my sweather about 4 yrs. now and is one of the most important pieces I own for hunting or fishing. Stops the wind when Im in stand and also when fishing on lake erie. I would rate 5 stars if it wasn't for the stiching has come apart at the seams under the arm of the windshear about 2 yrs. ago but I am just carful when I put on and off, also does shrink. When I buy another it will be a tall for shrinkage. This sweater is a absolute must.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wool Windshear

Date:November 28, 2006
We have bought two of the wool windshear sweaters in the past for my husband. We live outside of Fairbanks Alaska and have really put this product to the test. It is hard to tell if my husband or the weather is the toughest on the sweater! He loves to hunt, ice fish and trap. The sweater is out from Sept till May. Layers well, not bulky under clothes. It is easy to wear over other clothes because not only is the liner completely wind proof it is slippery material that slides over things well and doesn't bind. Very warm on cold artic days! Durable, with the exception of getting it covered with moose blood on the way home from the hunt in the back of the truck and my husband not wanting to go a day without it and not only putting it in the washer but also the dryer! It now fits the our beagle. The next day I was on line purchasing another one. What a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm, but noisy

Date:January 11, 2012
I purchased this sweater for cold weather hunts. I love the sweater, but the liner is too noisy to wear when bowhunting. I cut the lining out and love the sweater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Missoula, Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

windshear fatigue sweater

Date:February 18, 2011
this is a very nice and warm sweater. I have used it skiing, snowshoeing, and just being out side in cold weather and have stayed warm. I do find that it does not breath very well and one can sweat quite quickly with moderate exercise. I have actually considered removing the wind shear lining or at least using a razor knife and putting slits in it to help release some of the body heat but have reframed so far. Maybe with a couple of washings it will breath better, I just haven't worn it enough yet to worry about washing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's WindShear™ Wool Fatigue Sweater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Great Falls, MT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not what you think but still works.

Date:January 22, 2011
Bought this a few months ago for the hunting season, very nice, heavy sweater but after a few attempts to get through the day I could no longer deal with the liner inside the sweater. No matter what I did sit or walk the moisture was trapped inside and I was soaking wet and freezing in no time. I finally ripped the lining out and that is when I discovered that the inside layer of this lining is indeed a rubber like material. After I tore it out the sweater worked much better. Heavy and warm but just not what it was advertised to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 45