Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular

CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular

Developed to help mushers defeat the Alaskan winter, this suit will reliably shield you from extreme cold. It features a grade-A coyote-fur ruff, 200-gram high-loft Thinsulate™ Insulation, 100% windproof Gore WindStopper® nylon shell, fused storm-flap/side-leg zippers, front chest pockets and side cargo pockets and an adjustable belt. Fabric reinforcement and padding in critical areas reduces wear. Despite all these features, the active fit makes it easy to slip on over layers. Imported. Sizes: S-2XL. Colors: Red, Olive.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Review 21 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

Incredible Trail Suit

By
Location: Green Bay, WI
This is an incredible Trail Suit! One of my friends bought it last year and recommended it to me. We have had temperatures here in the single digits with wind chills of -25 and I have been as warm as could be. I would highly recommend this suit to anyone that has to be outside in extremely cold temperatures. I was outside yesterday for 5 hours straight in it and was perfectly warm. I love the red and black colors too. I love it so much that my wife wants to buy one for herself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2008

Everybody's Happy!

By
Location: Okanogan Highlands, Lovely Washington state
We are The Flying Furs Sled Team! We bought our Dad the red Elite Trail suit for his birthday this winter. He looks great! He stayed warm and when he fell off the sled like usual and we dragged him for a while... He got back up all happy because his shorts weren't full of snow ! Great fit but the belt was really short. More secure pockets would be better...and lined...great for 0 degrees and up.. We are all very Happy !
Happy Trails and Tight Lines!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2008

Absolute Best

By
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
This gear was tested in some extreme cold weather and it was warm and toasty. I was not disappointed. The suit is durable for active outdoor chores, worth every penny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2008

yukon quest 2008

By
Location: Dawson city,Yukon
this suit made the whole run, from Fairbanks to Whitehorse.Combined with a north slope goose down parkas when temperature drop to-50F.
only the back zipper let some cold air go thru...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2008

Alaska Elite Trail Suit

By
Location: Out doors guy Northern Ontario Canada
Nice design, however not made for our Northern Canadian winters, not as warm as I thought it would be, needs goose down filling or more insulation with extra in the back, no flexable wire in the hood so the fur is always in your eyes, with a wire insert one can mold the opening to any desireable shape.
Most importantly, no lined front chest pockets for hand warming, while working without mitts, or just standing around, other than that has some great... features, just a little under engineered...to be promoted as an "Alaska Elite" It would be more expensive, however, it would the worth the additional costs to implement, for serious outdoorsmen, thanks...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2008

great product highly recommend

By
Location: Northern Indiana
Wonderful product, do recommend front hand warming pockets like the old style though. Stayed very warm during ice fishing. Can not do without!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Better, not best

By
love the suit, but the flaps over the zippers are a tad to small and no velcro - breezy and brrrrr
bum-flap - usable, handy - same zipper issue
built for a man - too long in the torso.
LOVE the material, the hood is great.
sleeves - nothing to stop the breeze blowing up. Velcro is good and handy, but an inner lining like you used to make would be good.
GREAT red colour!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

The Elite Trail Suit

By
Location: Michigan
I live in Michigan and deal with being outdoors alot in Michigan Winters, this suit meets my needs. I am glad I bought it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular

By
Location: KY.
This suit is an excellent product. Don't buy unless you intend to be in teens or sub zero temps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

Alaska Snow Suit

By
Location: NM
My goal for Christmas was to "keep my girlfriend warm". I am working out of town and she has told me that between the Alaskan suit and the gloves (Gore-tex/Thinsulate) she has been able to keep working with the horses all winter in exceptional comfort - even with below zero wind chills!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2008

trail suit

By
Location: battle creek mi
I t was a great suit. My husband loved it. so warm ice fishing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Trans-Alaska Trail Suit

By
Location: Medina, Washington
Alaska is very harsh in the winter. This suit is a great engineering feat to protect your body from the freezing winds and drivng snows. A must have if you are watching or doing the Iditarod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

The Best Suit for Alaska

By
Location: Kipnuk, Ak
I have been traveling with snowmobile for ice fishing, hunting, and gathering wood using this suit. It is very nice for bone chilling cold winds and the fur is very useful for not getting frost bites. All these travels I went on while the temperature dipped below zeros averaging to minus -45 on the chill factor was very comfy for me to enjoy my favorite outdoor activities. Only one thing is missing on the zippers on the legs is velcro. Please put that on the list if you guys make improvements. Overall, it is the best suit I ever wear for cold weather traveling. Thank you very much Cabela's for making things enjoyable for your consumers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2007

Zippers from The place I cannot mention

By
Location: Yellowknife Northwest Territories Canada
I bought this suit thinking it was step up from the original and I found that with all the fancy things it is actually a step backwards. I think that all the pockets are good but they need to be placed on the inside or higher up on the body. I really do not like the zipper in the rear, I understand the convenience level but it causes a draft through the zipper. I have had to place duct tape over all the zippers from the inside. The zipper pulls are also so small you have to remove your gloves to use them. The pockets are not insulated so my GPS freezes in an outside pocket. I also need a map pocket in the back above the zipper with the rear access. I think you need to stop creating for those people in the South. and focus some effort on Northern environment clothing. We are in the Western Arctic and we need a suit that will provide the necessary comfort level to stop any potential Survival situation. I have no problem with the insulation level or the colour as it is ideal in the bush to have a RED suit on for ease of finding us if we are lost. It was the right idea I'm sure it was designed for the cold but it got watered down for southern climes. Go Back to the drawing board I am sure that this creation was not the suit that Jeff wore in the Iditarod. If it was please tell me his layering system.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-34 of 34