Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular

Developed to help mushers defeat the Alaskan winter, this suit will reliably shield you from extreme cold. It features a grade-A coyote-fur ruff, 200-gram high-loft Thinsulate™ Insulation, 100% windproof Gore WindStopper® nylon shell, fused storm-flap/side-leg zippers, front chest pockets and side cargo pockets and an adjustable belt. Fabric reinforcement and padding in critical areas reduces wear. Despite all these features, the active fit makes it easy to slip on over layers. Imported. Sizes: S-2XL. Colors: Red, Olive.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Review 1 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recomended!!!

Date:April 2, 2013
I can't say enough positive things about the trans Alaskan suit! Great for winter, hunting, fishing, feeding livestock, and general chores. I liked mine so much ... I bought another one for my mother to use on her small spread & she loves it. I sincerely hope that they never change the design or the qualiy! Cordially, Phil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:February 5, 2013
best suite I ve used...hunting,ice fishing,trapping,sledding..thanks cabelas...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best snowmobile suit I have ever owned.

Date:February 5, 2013
This is the one piece suit I have been looking for.
It is warm in the cold conditions (heavy 35mph wind and -2F), in light rain it was water proof (beaded) , and was comfortable. The knee pads worked well on slushy snow (kept me dry). It exceeded my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great high end suit

Date:January 6, 2013
First of all this is a very nice, very fancy, super warm snowsuit much, much more upscale than a regular snowsuit from a regular retail store. I don’t know anything about climbing Mt.Everest or surviving on the North Pole but the average person in the average cold weather state will find this suit very warm and comfortable. The hood with fur trim is very warm for the head and face. The only thing missing are insulated hand warmer pockets, which would be a nice addition. I am 6 ft tall 228 lbs and the 2XL regular suit fits me well but is not a little loose like I thought so the sizes might run slightly smaller than some would expect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Annville, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cold Gear Gold

Date:January 29, 2012
Used this suit at recent K300 in Bethel, AK where the winter is known for minus double digit temps and strong winds. I was warm while on the river with minimal layering in wind chills past -40. The fur trimmed hood was warm and kept out wind. The nylon shell worked well and was flexible , but might not be adaquate for rugged tasks. I would have liked lined hand warmer pockets and extra storage inside, but this is definitly the suit this 'easterner' needed to stay comfortable and ready to book my next race trip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: savoonga,ak
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

-65

Date:December 27, 2011
Wore this suit in my t shirt and shorts in -65 wind chill factor. The upper body warmth is excellent but the lower section is like the wind speed tunnel got kinda cold very drafty need to install velcro there cabelas although great suit.Heading back ps stuffed the lower section with R19 insulation so i wont get cold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kiana, Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not the same suit I once had.

Date:December 15, 2011
I was a little disappointed when I realized that they took the velcro out of the suit. I wore this suit for awhile in 25 below weather before making this review. It was not the same suit I once had before with the velcro on the leggings and chest part, I felt a little cold coming in on my legs, I never felt this in the older suit I had. Now, this is going to cost me a little more to have some velcro put on the suit. Although, this is a nice suit, warm and easy to walk with and I wonder if we can send this suit back to Cabelas to have them put in some velcro?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Yellowknife
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trans Alaska Suite

Date:November 22, 2011
I use the suite for dog sledding. My biggest complaint is the new black stuff on the new suits is flimsy and not tough and weather resistant like the old cordura was - what the heck were they thinking when they started using this stuff! Decent suit is now only good for light duty.
In general it is good for -10C to -30C then you need to start adding wind jackets and parkas if it is below -35C. This assumes you have layers under of course.
They don't come built for short people, I had it altered, shortened the front because the regular small is too tall for me, added a length of cordura along the leg zipper with velcro to help with the cold air flow, added a tab on the bottom leg tab/velcro around the ankle as its kind of short the way it comes - the snow openes it. Added velcro to the front zip flap and reflective tape. Rear flap DOES let air in, not sure what to do with that. Zipper pulls too short - added my own. I thought I would not like the fact that the arms and legs have no gussets but if your dressed well under it is fine and it keep warm air moving into my mitts an boots better than with them. More arm pockets and inner zip pocket would be good. Really disappointed about the new materials used for "reinforcing". Alot of work to make the suite really work for me but it has lasted a few years with alot of wear so probably worth it. The new one with the flimsy black stuff - well - not something for hard core working in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brilliant

Date:February 11, 2011
I just ran the Yukon Quest 300 mile dogsled race in it. From -6'C to -36'C I was warm and comfortable. It's tough, breathable, and windproof, and surprisingly protective when you're being bounced around on the trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DETROIT MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best!!!

Date:February 8, 2010
went to lake simco ice fishing, was-14 degres, was never cold whatsoever, also have the trans alaska boots, feet were never cold, everyone i was with had to go in because they were freezing, you cant go wrong with this purchase!!!!! totally satisfied, GREAT PURCHASE!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Marais, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what it's designed to do.

Date:February 8, 2010
I bought this suit to keep me warm running the John Beargrease Sleddog Marathon. In spite of temperatures regularly 10 to 20 below zero during the 380 mile race, I was never cold. Even when it got wet it still kept me warm unlike the down parka I've used in years past.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Port Hope, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:January 6, 2010
I have the Cabelas Snowy Range Suit, that used to be available just before the Trans-Alaska suit came out--Wow! Is it ever warm! I live in Michigan and the winters can be fierce. I can stand outside in a blizzard, right out in the open, and be warm as toast with the suit, with only my pajamas underneath! I've never owned anything this warm! Wonderful quality. Just a bit long in the legs. I ordered a regular mens, and because I'm a 5'5" woman, it's a bit long on me. But otherwise, it's an excellent suit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best snow suit I ever owned!

Date:December 28, 2009
For the first time ever I was able to outlast everyone outside in the snow! In 25 degree weather all I had underneath was a pair of long johns and my snow suit and I felt like I could go all day long! I would have too but nobody elses snow suit was as warm as this one! The fur around the face was perfect for the wind. It breaks the wind before it hits your face. It's a thick suit but I was able move around very well. Lots of pockets too for my cell phone, camera, keys and other things. I can't wait to go on my next snow mobil trip! This is truly the best snow suit I have ever owned!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nome, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Norton Sound Winter Crabbing

Date:December 19, 2009
I use my Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit for running winter subsistance crab pots along the north shore of Norton Sound near Nome Alaska. Conditions can be brutel, cutting through 4' of ice in tempetures down to -30deg and winds up to 25 miles per hour. You get wet with ocean water that freezes almost instantly. My suit keeps me warm and comfortable in these conditions. The only thing that I would change or add to the suit is to add snow gators in the legs. When you step off a snowmoblile in deep powder snow it has a tendancy to go up the pant leg and into your boot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: cincinnati ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:March 18, 2009
should have insulated front pockets,the coyote fur sheds, kind of gross.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trans-Alaska Elite

Date:February 27, 2009
The suit I found it very comfortable in fit and in a climate comfort for ice fishing & snowmobiling. The only thing I didn't expect was that th suite wasn't waterproof or nor did it have a gortex liner. My rear got wet on the snowmobile. My fault I guess I should of read the description more closely. I tried this suite out in the UP of MI in 0 degrees.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaska Elite Trail Suit

Date:February 9, 2009
Excellant fit. Good Pockets. Well Made. Nice material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

really warm

Date:February 3, 2009
wraps tight around boot, inner suspenders provide extra comfort--suit stays in place. although i haven't used the "trap door" in back, it would be very useful. did the drive in -17 below with strong winds, and was perfectly warm. cinch strap on hood pulls it away from face. it outperformed my boots and gloves. excellent value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Trappers Creek, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elite Trail Suit

Date:January 27, 2009
This is the second set that we have bought and the reason why is we were so impressed with the first one. Living in Alaska we have to do daily chores at temperatures averaging -30 and this year we have had a extremely long cold spell where the temperatures stayed in the -60s. With the internal suspenders and the drop rear it allows you to work and ride without a lot of hassle and this suit is easy to take off in our arctic entry. Having real fur makes a big difference as well and was nice. The fake fur does not work in cold weather. Only recommendation would be to have a short size. My wife had to have the arms and legs tailored so they would fit her.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska Elite Trail Suit - Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great suit for the price

Date:January 1, 2009
I work in bush Alaska, often at temps below -40. This suit is great for just about anything at those temps! The lack of waist seams/joints makes it a lot warmer. Just jump into it with a base layer on, and go!
Jeff King came through the Iditarod check point in Unalakleet in 2007 and he was wearing this suit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34