Customer Reviews for DALSIN Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

DALSIN Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit

Anglers in northern climates know that when the lakes freeze over, fishing doesn't end. Ice-fishing requires special gear, and that's where this suit comes in. The Clam Ice Armor™ Suit is a specialized parka and bibs made for ice anglers. The shell is made of waterproof, windproof Tactel® nylon oxford. They feature a warm polyester tricot lining with lined handwarmer pockets. There is a Sherpa fleece patch for holding lures, and D-rings below the front pockets for hanging flashlights or gloves. The bibs have padded knees and seat for comfort. Sold as a two-piece set only. Imported. Sizes: S-4XL. Color: Blue/Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 out of 33(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Review 1 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice armor suit does it's job

Date:November 3, 2006
I purchased the Ice armor suit, gloves and inner jacket last year. It is truly 100% wind and waterproof. I was out during some of the coldest days. I am talking about -35 to -50 Celsius. The extra large pockets make it very easy to retrieve stuff even with your gloves on. The padded knees are also great for kneeling down on the ice. As well as the padded butt for sitting down. The neoprene cuff lings really come in handy when retrieving the fish from the hole. The gloves actually are waterproof. I say that because when I got theme and put them on they did not feel like a waterproof glove. They feel just like a normal winter glove, which makes them comfortable. Like I said they are fully waterproof. The only thing is the sizing. When you purchase yours look at the measurements and order the one size up. That is what I did and it fits perfect. If I had gotten the size down it would not have worked. The pockets on the jacket are fleeced lined and have been great for warming the hands when the use of gloves is not possible. The front pockets of the pants are very well placed; they make it easy to store the stuff you need for every catch. I was sceptical but now I recommended this suit to all my fishing bodies
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michegan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

suite and gloves

Date:February 5, 2007
I was walleye fishing in the UP of Michigan on Feb 3-07. After I drilled my holes in 3 1/2 feet of ice I realized I had left my skimmer at home. They clamed the ICE ARMOR mittens were water proof, So I cleaned the holes with my gloves on. WOW, My hands stayed Warm and Dry. The suite is Also excelent!!! No wet knees from the ice, your seat stayes dry and the pockets are HUGE!!!! You still have to wear layers of clothing, but you will not get WET... When I got off the Ice it was -8. at 8:30pm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Arbor Vitae, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice Armor Suit

Date:January 9, 2008
The Ice Armor blue suit is a well built piece of outdoor clothing but for the price could be insulated much better. The knees and seat are padded well and the multitude of full zippers, pockets and snaps are well thought out. The leg zippers are so high as to make it easy to put on the suit with my Lacrosse winter pack boots.
The suit seems to be wind resistant and water resistant but when you are sitting ice fishing or blowing snow on the tractor I have to put on too many extra layers. The suit does have good movement, regardless.
I realize that there is a Ice Armor grey suit that is supposed to be warmer but at the price you even pay for the Ice Armor blue suit, I feel it should be insulated better.
My old fishing outfit was a Carhart bibs and coat. Very bulky but warm and it was not water resistant. The Ice Armor seems to be as well built but we will see if it lasts 18 years like the Carhart.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I needed.

Date:January 16, 2008
I have worn this suit twice this year when it has been below zero. The last trip started at 20 below and I was as snug as a bug in a rug. The suit by itself works great for keeping the wind off and for keeping me dry. It also resists fish hook snags. To get the added warmth I need underneath the suit I wear Under Armour (extreme cold), long johns and a quilted shirt. You add the Ice Armour gloves and this is the perfect suit for ice fishing and snowmobiling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice Armor Suit

Date:February 3, 2008
This suit is unbelievably warm considering I wear it in below freezing temperatures up here in Northern Ontario, Canada. It is totally windproof and waterproof as they claim.The only problem I have with it is the zipper on the coat.It always seems that I have a problem getting it started, but maybe it's just me. Great product and I would recommend it to all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Savage,MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice Armor

Date:February 8, 2008
This is a great cold weather suit. I am new to this Minnesota ice fishing sport and my Ice Armor keeps me warm and dry. Well made and plenty of pockets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sauk Centre, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

customer satisfaction

Date:February 20, 2008
Well my boyfriend loved the product I on the other had worn it once, and was not satisfied. It did not keep me warm like I had imagined. I also than bought the ice armor gloves to go with and I heard they are supposed to be the greatest thing (my BF loves them) Imy hands got cold wearing them. I walked from my house to the unattached garage and my hands were cold. I however did not think I would not be satisfied and threw the tags in the garbage and I would think that I can not return them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brewer, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clam Corporation Ice Armor suit

Date:February 28, 2008
Excellent clothing for ice fishing and can be transformed into a Snowmobile suit. Many pockets available for all your needs. Special padding provides comfort for the knees when playing a fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clam Corporation Ice Armor™ Suit

Date:December 8, 2008
I used this suit the other day on a fishing trip while in my boat. Tt was -15 outside and snowing, while flying acorss the water a 40mph I did not feel any coldness whatsoever, it kept me warm and dry. The padding in the suits kness and rear also help a bunch. Only thing I wish it had was more insulation in the coat/pants as I had to layer my clothes to achieve my warmness, not sure how it would have been had I not layered, but overall it kept me really warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice Armor suit

Date:January 18, 2010
I absolutely love this gear! Should have purchased years ago! Well worth the $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mtn.Home,AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great suit

Date:January 18, 2010
I replaced my old trans atlantic suit with the clam suit and have been totally satisfied. My first trip out was a day on the lake were high temps reached 20 and the suit worked well even at high speeds down the lake in my bass boat.
The suit looks great and functions well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

clam ice armor

Date:January 20, 2010
Works well only downfall needs more lining in the coat sleves
you have to layer to keep warm. fleece works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clam Ice Armor Suit

Date:February 1, 2010
This is a great ice fishing suit. It is not too heavily insulated, windproof and waterproof. It allows enough room for layering under it when the weather gets colder. I move around a lot while fishing, so I tend to get hot. This suit has the perfect amount of insulation. My only complaint is that the hood is a little short.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Savage, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ice suit

Date:January 31, 2011
I bought this for a couple reasons, but mainly ice fishing. I've found myself wearing this for almost any winter outside activity lately. The ice suit is light, flexible and comfortable and yet it is durable and keeps me warm whether fishing on the ice, snowmobiling for blowing snow out of the driveway. Highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indian lake ,OH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase

Date:January 31, 2011
My Ice Armor Suit keeps me warm out on the Ice. Has plenty of storage pockets for your gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: madison sd
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ice armor suit

Date:February 4, 2011
this is everything they say it is i love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE and DRY

Date:February 8, 2011
Used quite a few times this winter.... seals up nice to stay dry and warm... nice padding on the knees and back of coat...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ice armour suit

Date:February 9, 2011
comfortable and breaks the wind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Edinboro, Pa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Money I Spent in a Long Time!

Date:February 13, 2011
I was a little skeptical of laying out so much money for an ice fishing suit, (especially when I can wear my wool deer hunting outfit) but on the strength of the reviews I read, I took the plunge.
I was not disappointed and now I join the chorus of Ice Armor lovers!
The big advantages over wool or wearing deer hunting outfit is when kneeling on wet ice, wool sticks to the ice, this nylon suit (with sewn in padding) does not stick. Further, it is inevitable to accumulate fish slime or bait smell on the deer hunting outfit which presents a problem come next season - and season after season to deodorize your hunting suit for deer.
Anyway, this outfit is super warm. I only where long john bottoms and then for the top half, long johns and a simple sweatshirt. This keeps me plenty warm on most trips, but if below 20 degrees, I'll layer a light fleece jacket over the sweatshirt, then the Ice Armor jacket. I have had several trips this year at zero or below and/or high winds, and have yet to be uncomfortable. I have no doubts that for my ice fishing trips to Canada where you can run in to 20 below weather or colder, that this suit will keep me warm.
I even don't where my bomber hat or wool cap - too hot with the hood up, so I just wear a baseball cap which is nice if its sunny, and if cold, just pull the hood up.
I think I am still discovering pockets. You almost need to map where you keep things!
Finally, this does double duty when snowblowing my 200-ft driveway. Before all my clothes got soaked from melting snow - not so in Ice Armor. And the hood is cut just right - enough to seal off the neck and back of the head, but it does not rob you of peripheral vision.
I can't think of a single feature I wish this had, its just perfect for ice fishing, or whatever other activity you may have for the best time of year - winter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clam Outdoors¿ Ice Armor™ Suit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hazelhurst, Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Comfortable

Date:February 14, 2011
This suit is very comfortable and adaptable, just the right weight for working inside a shelter without being too hot yet warm enough to be out in the cold. Like the padded knees and the large pockets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33