Customer Reviews for Outback Trading Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Outback Trading Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover

The Short Lined Drover features a durable, waterproof and breathable 100% cotton oilskin shell with a removable, button-in 100% wool liner for three-season versatility and weather protection. Shell is lined with cotton twill and taffeta for easy on and off when wearing it without the liner. Double-needle stitching and bar tacks at all stress points, snap-closed fronts with snap-closed storm flaps, detachable capes, adjustable cuffs, inside elbow patches and an internal security pocket. Provides All the upper-body protection of the Long Drover, without the additional leg coverage. Flapped, top-entry cargo pockets with side-entry openings behind. Back gusset. Imported. Sizes: S-3XL.Colors: Brown, Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Review 1 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Logan County, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Trading Drover

Date:March 17, 2011
Love this coat. Comfortable, roomy and great looking. I've received many compliments and am considering purchasing another one a size smaller for a snugger fit when not using the insulated vest.
I bought it mainly to where on the motorcycle (dual sport riding) but find I wear it all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisville, ky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cold weather and looking good!

Date:January 18, 2011
i bought this for my nephew but, it seems hes not into these type of cloths. he rather look like one of the ball players and wear the garb. like nothing else exist other than UofL clothing or that other brand with the upside down U's.
but for myself i'm all for it, the trench bought about 20yrs. now usec it travels in rain across country on a motorcycle. travelly and also around my area of lou.ky. now. but a lot of the time weather doesn't dictate a lot of use here. and different brands thru cabela's i just don't hang on to wearing one spicific coat. can't wear one out in yrs past.
john
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wasilla, Ak
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rain coat.

Date:January 7, 2011
I live in south-central Alaska and I spend around 60 days hunting and fishing every summer and I go through lots of rain gear. This drover is by far the best rain coat I have ever used. I never got wet and never got any wind through it. But I have never used the insulated liner that it comes with. Still a very well made coat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Short Lined Drover

Date:February 9, 2010
I wear 40-42 shirts and jackets. I ordered a Medium and it fits great. Enough room to wear a sweatshirt underneath. Water beads up and runs off nicely. The liner is a vest type, no sleeves. I've only worn it in the 40's outside. Warm and comfortable. You would want something else underneath if you need it for cold climate wear. It will shed a little when new. The cape shoulder cover adds character and is removable. There are no instructions or explanations for its use. I would recommend it as price for quality is very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Highland NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Short Drover

Date:February 8, 2010
This is the best coat I have ever own it is great all around and the liner is very warm on those cold days in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great all weather coat

Date:January 18, 2010
great heavy coat, rain proof,take liner out if needed,for not so cold weather
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I wanted

Date:January 12, 2010
I love the coat. Warm, comfortable, stylin'!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback trading co short lined drover

Date:January 11, 2010
My husband and I each got one of these coats for Christmas. We also have the long lined Drover Coats. The long coats are rather clumsy for getting in and out of a car. These short Drovers are absolutely great. Super warm with the lining, and keep us dry here in Washington. We love them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: retired navy diver/san jacinto,ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lined drover

Date:January 11, 2010
The outback drover was bought for one main purpose for me and that purpose was to keep the weather elements from letting me ride my motorcycle. i leave at 4:30 am in the morning to go to work and it is about 55 degrees outside. the coat does its job and i am comfortable wearing just a sweater underneath. i love the double stitching on the sewn areas and the fact that you can pull up the collar to keep the cold out of your neck area. this coat was made for the outdoors enthusiast for sure. thank you for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North America
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally a great jacket at a great price!

Date:January 8, 2010
I am an over the road driver and I travel literally from Florida to Washington and Southern California to Maine plus Southern Canada. I have been looking for a jacket that I can wear all over and can stand up to the abuse that working around trucks entails. I needed a jacket that was mostly waterproof, yet tough enough not to tear when moving around cut metal and chains. It had to be warm enough so that I didn't freeze in Wyoming with 45+ mph gusts of wind but not so hot that I couldn't wear it inside to sign paperwork. It had to fit closely enough that it wouldn't get caught in moving equipment but have enough room so that I had complete freedom of movement to secure loads and climb into the truck & trailer. And on top of all that I wanted it to look nice so that I didn't look rough when I went in to deal with customers. I have been on the road for fifteen years and have tried just about everything, and then a sales lady at Cabelas mentioned the Outback Trading Company jacket in the short version. I have had it now for almost two months and have worn it from Northern California to Maine, including the blizzard that hit Wyoming Christmas eve & Christmas day. Twenty below with 50+ mph winds and I was fine, I worked outside for over three hours and was comfortable the whole time (I have the fleece liner). This jacket has met all of my hopes and expectations; it sheds water like a duck, is as tough as nails, is warm and yet it doesn't bind you when you need to move, and it looks nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comfortable, excellent for wet & cold weather

Date:November 30, 2009
I just purchased this jacket and am very happy with it. I originally had wanted the full-length drover, but it was out of stock, so I felt I had to "settle" for the shorter jacket. In the end, I think I got the right coat.
I especially like the removable liner. When I got the coat, I was planning to attend a football game and wanted the coat delivered in time to wear it for the game. The weather was very cold and windy and this jacket kept me comfortable throughout the game. I was initially concerned that the liner did not extend into the sleeves, but I find that this is not a big issue for me.
A few days after wearing the coat to the game, the weather turned warmer. I removed the liner and wore the coat without it to several more football games (including one at Notre Dame). The coat kept me warm and comfortable through all kinds of temperature swings. Now that the weather is again turning colder, I just put the liner back in and I am as warm as I can expect. In Wisconsin where I live, the fall weather is very unpredictable and it's great to have the option to go with the liner or without.
If there is any negative about this coat for me it's the diameter of the cuffs. I am broad in the shoulders and had to order a 3X Large coat. I would like to see a little more freedom to adjust the cuffs to a smaller size so I can keep the wind from blowing up my sleeves. However, with my size and build, I find it difficult to find clothing that fits me as well as this coat. Overall, I consider this a small price to pay for this excellent jacket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback short line drover

Date:July 29, 2009
I have not yet needed to wear it , but it fits well, looks great. I am waiting for the cooler weather this fall to try it out.
I have always been pleased with Cabelas products, I am sure this will be no exception.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4

Date:April 9, 2009
I purchased the short lined drovers coat and found it to my liking, having received several very good comments on the coat and this boosts my egol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant

Date:December 15, 2008
This coat is very warm and will keep you dry when it is raining. I have not had any problem with the lining fuzz like some of the other reviewers mentioned, maybe the problem is taken care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Short Drover from Outback Trading Co.

Date:November 19, 2008
A very nice overcoat. The sheepskin lining is plush and very warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover

Date:July 10, 2008
Excellent duster! I put this to the test with a pack trip that had me flying on horseback through the Rockies. Branches hit me and scraped along my jacket, I was in a heavy lightning storm that literally poured. This jacket was brutally put to the test and I survived without a scratch and completely dry underneath my jacket. Trust me it was an extremely rugged and brutal trip but a blast. This jacket is made to last and for heavy duty riding or labour. It also looks great. You will definitely not be dissapointed if you make this purchase. The only thing I would suggest is that a drawstring be put into the waist, I had one sewn in mine but it would have been nice if it just came that way. Anyway go ahead and make the purchase, its worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Russellville, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Coat

Date:March 10, 2008
I bought this coat in the fall and regretted having gotten the liner because the weather was not cold enough for it. However, after a colder than normal winter I am so glad I got the liner. It does shed a little, but not too bad on mine. It is by far the best coat I've ever bought in my life. Perfect in rain, snow, sleet whatever. For me, this is the best coat ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lethbridge AB Canda
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

short lined drover coat

Date:February 20, 2008
I think it is a vary good coat. I have worn it in 40 below weather with a lite shirt on under it and was vary warm. I like it a lot. when I wear it I get a lot of compliments on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warwick,RI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Traders Owns!

Date:January 30, 2008
The short drover jacket with liner has once again proved that Outback Traders makes The Best Aussie style clothing. Fully functional as well as waterproof and super warm with the genuine shearling liner. You can't beat this jacket with a stick!! I love it, and will wear it to death no doubt. You can't go wrong with Cabelas or their selection of Outback Traders items.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Outback Trading Company Short Lined Drover
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quinhagak Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tundrajim

Date:July 24, 2007
I have owned several oilskin coats, full length for when riding and guiding in the mountains in Montana. Thjey have served their purpose and have performed remarkably well. This particular coat I just recently purchase that is lined is excellent for Alaska and it's weather here on the west coast. I haver not taken it hunting in the mountains yet, but in a couple of months will. Right now it's rainy and cool here and it's nice to be dry and warm. I think this coat is far more superior to others I have. I would recommend this coat for the serious outdoors person, male or female.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35