Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular

Insulated with premium 550-fill-power goose down to keep you warm and active in sub-zero temperatures. The heat-trapping drawstring hood is also packed with 550-fill-power goose down and features a removable, flurry-blocking coyote ruff. The thick 65/35 polyester/cotton microweave shell has a weatherproof Teflon® finish and is cut longer for increased coverage and warmth. Parka features oversized buttons that are easy to work with gloves. Handwarmer pockets at chest and waist. Zippered security pocket on upper left sleeve. Drawstring-adjustable waist. Lined with 100% nylon, two Velcro®-close waist pockets and an inside zip-close security chest pocket. Back length for size Large: 37-1/2". Imported. Size: XL. Color: Limestone.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
97 out of 101(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Review 21 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wainwright, AK -- North Slope
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Parka

Date:March 9, 2010
I live in a little bush village on the arctic ocean called Wainwright. During winter the average temps. range from -20 to -30 below zero. Add in the wind chill factor and a person can imagine how cold it can get. I have had this Parka now for several months and have worn it in very nasty conditions. If the wind is not seriously blowing I never have to wear anything but a t-shirt underneath and I stay warm. Most of the time if I am going out for just a short while even in -15 to -20 below in no wind conditions I do not zip the Parka up and I still stay warm. Taking a stab at the issue many reviewers have commented on with the main zipper. I have found at times that it may catch while zipping up the Parka, but I have found this issue is no different than dealing with zipping up a high quality sleeping bag. The "zipper cover" will get snagged in the zipper but being taught by my wiley ol' Grandpa that the best way to zip up a high quality sleeping bag is using a "sawing like motion" to zip it up. So using this most definitely time tested method to zip up the Parka has made this issue a non issue for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Used in Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmth at a Very Good Price

Date:February 16, 2010
I had to go to Fairbanks, Alaska for two weeks in February, so I had to consider outerwear. Living in Seattle, I have a Gore Tex Parka, which I thought of wearing with a down jacket underneath. That jacket, by the way, was purchased at Cabelas 3 years ago and has been a good item. But then I figured, I sure don't want to be poorly equipped in Fairbanks. So I started a lot of online shopping. You'll note that ads do not tell you how MUCH down is in a garment. They prefer to talk about "fill power" which is a measure of loft. I called Cabelas, and the down jacket I had previously purchased from them had 8 ounces of down. The Alaskan Goose Down Parka has 16 ounces. I figured, that's sure going to make a lot of difference.
I ordered the jacket and got it a few days later. This item contains a lot of materials and plenty of labor went into the stitching. It has pockets, flaps, draw cord, etc. I took it with confidence on the trip.
As it happened, I never experienced the minus 40 degree temperatures I had anticipated. The weather was between minus 15 and plus 10 almost all the time. My torso and arms were never cool for even a moment in this jacket. That included inner tubing and dog sledding. The hood is very warm, too. I recommend getting some insulated pants and boots, and very warm mittens. My feet, legs and hands were cold! Anyway, this jacket is another Cabelas home run in terms of value, believe me. Now the question is, will I ever use it again in Seattle?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Saskatchewan, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice & warm

Date:January 26, 2010
I bought this parka to wear when the weather here in northern Saskatchewan, Canada gets colder than -22 Fahrenheit. It has been plenty warm & looks good too. The only slight drawback is that it picks up lint & pet hair very easy. Oh well, nothing a lint brush won't take care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cumberland County, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just a small gripe

Date:January 24, 2010
I am a retired 60+ old man living in North Carolina where most of the stores like to determine just what you will wear and make you pay through the nose for it. I have been dissatisfied for some time with their ATTITUDES and lack of quality selections for winter gear of any type. Since I have started shopping at CABALAS I'm not such a grouch. I got this parka and it is all that was advertized and on sale too!!
However, I have some gripes and they are:
1. People have an annoying habit of walking by and "rubbing" the fur ruff(dirty and unsanitary), when in public.
2. Being asked repeatedly where you got the parka and how much did you pay for it.
3. Having guests and friends(?) when leaving trying to wear your parka out the door when it's cold outside(they don't get invited back).
4. Having to buy the wife the lady's version so that I can get some peace and harmony(and cooked meals again).
5. Having brought the Lady's version, going out to every store on the east coast numerous times to find matching gloves/hat/blouse/sweater(not needed). Thank goodness that CABELAS had matching shearling boots for the wife!! My bison CHIPPAWAS boots from CABELAS got worn down in the heels as much as me!!
6. Meeting with family and in-laws and having to deny that you have come out of retirement and are making big bucks and/or you must have salted away money that they don't know about and by the way how about a loan...or how about you paying for the dinners since you obviously can afford it.
7. Running into old co-workers and being asked if you are contracting with Haliburton and being asked to buy the round again.
This is a great parka!! It's actually better than the one I had issued in Spec Ops..warmer and cleans up better. Got the son one also..thank goodness..He wears it anytime it gets below 40..got him to quit wearing that raggedy formerly favorite coat of his; now this one is his favorite. He is actually taking my advice now on cold weather gear.
.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCEPTIONAL COAT!

Date:January 20, 2010
As a former high altitude winter mountaineer, I've worn a lot of coats that protected me from inclement weather, frostbite, etc. Although this coat is not designed for high altitude mountaineering (because of its very sturdy and heavier material), it is exceptionally warm, and made with superior quality. Cabela's hired top-notch craftsmen/women to think out every detail necessary to keep warm. Living at 7200 feet elevation, this coat keeps me very warm in snow storms and while working in below freezing temperatures. I certainly would recommend it to anyone who lives in harsh weather, and who would like a coat that will last for years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waterdown ON, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great jacket for the $

Date:January 8, 2010
Great jacket. The reviews here were very helpful because I ended up ordering one size smaller than I normally take. I'm a 42 short sport coat and usually take a large, medium was plenty big. I have not had an issue with the zipper as of yet as some others have. As one person mentioned, an imporvement could be the addition of arm pit zippers to allow some of the heat to vent but still a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this jacket

Date:January 7, 2010
I was worried to buy this jacket online without trying it on first. Being a small guy, I didnt want to end up with a huge sized jacket. I got to say that shipping was blazing fast, as I ordered it on Saturday and got the jacket on Tuesday. This has to be the warmest jacket I've ever had. Ruf is nice soft and thick and can be rolled out for those extra cold days. You will not feel any windchill in this jacket. Best thing is that its light and very comfy. the only thing that I dont really like on it is the zipper, but for the price you pay it is 200% "best bang for a buck".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A very warm and fur-lined parka!

Date:April 27, 2009
It is so cold in Colorado and winter was a little behind this year for us. This coat is wonderful and definitely lives it up to its expectations for the price. I am glad that I was able to buy it on sale. The pockets are roomy and I like the fact that there are big buttons to cover the coat once it has been fully zipped up. The zipper is plenty big and the coat is very roomy and toasty WARM!!! It is full-length and has a real coyote fur hood which keeps the biting wind out of the face. I would recommend this coat as a really good buy and Cabela's as a great e-tailer. Wonderful customer service. Thanks. CABELA's for selling quality merchandise!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My North Slope Goose Down Parka

Date:February 13, 2009
This winter has been extremely cold here in Upstate NY compared to several recent winters. I purchased this coat in preparation for a skating trip to Ottawa, Canada as my old down coat was getting quite worn. After searching all the outerwear stores in the area and leaving unsatisfied, I Googled "down parkas" online.
Leafing through multiple sites featuring stylish, overpriced outerwear with faux fur, I ran into the Cabela's website. I made a note of this parka and read the impressive reviews. After thinking for several days I decided to buy this coat only to find only big sizes (XL and up) available online. For some reason, I decided to call customer service. The extremely polite and helpful associate found a Medium in brown which I immediately bought. It arrived in three days including the weekend.
I have never had such a warm comfortable coat. I was impressed from the moment I unpacked it. The outer fabric is soft and "cottony" feeling, not hard or slick. The construction gives the impression of "old-fashioned" quality. The patch pockets are very large, but given form by stitching on sides and bottom. The sleeve edges are taped for extra wear resistance. The inside cuffs are very soft and stretchy. The coyote ruff is wide and forms a breathing tunnel when needed. It is also very soft and quite warming. The hood holds the fur right around your neck when the coat is zipped all the way up. The large buttons which closed the pockets and wind flap are large enough to handle with cold hands. All-in-all I found this to be a great addition to my cold weather gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Coat

Date:January 30, 2009
I was ice fishing in Northern Minnesota with temps ranging from -37 degrees below zero thru -21 below zero. This coat worked great, I never got cold.
One drawback is the difficulty using the zipper. It is really hard to get the zipper started, but it can easily be figured out with some usage of the coat.
I ove this coat and would recommend it to anyone for ice fishing or a cold weather environment where you have to be warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, DC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Coat...

Date:January 21, 2009
This parka exceeded all my expectations. I was so warm in this coat that I didn't even realize I was outside! An outstanding value that I would highly recommend. I wore it to President Barack Obama's inaugural where it was 19 degrees and it was as comfortable and warm as it coud be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: London, England
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good things come to those who wait.

Date:January 17, 2009
Maybe it’s because I’m a Londoner that I took so long to choose a Parka.
Here in our comparatively mild climate the temperature only occasionally dips to sub-zero Celcius and, though wanting to be prepared for the cold snaps, spending hundreds of GBPs on an item of limited usage may not be prudent for someone with limited finances like myself.
I had viewed (and even tried on) some of the more well known international brands of Parkas in the stores, but could not bring myself to commit to the prices being demanded. I could have opted for something less well constructed (or even more stylish or fashionable) but I had set my heart on a proper cold weather coat.
After much internal debate a fortuitous piece of internet browsing directed me to the Cabela’s site where apparently I could obtain a well constructed goose down Parka, with real fur trim, at a fraction of the price of those that I had previously seen.
And that is exactly what I received!
The reviews I found to be very helpful and mostly accurate. Maybe I could have got away with a size smaller (a large does look quite big on someone of 5’8”) but the feeling of being enveloped is quite appealing when it is freezing.
I have actually worn the coat more than I thought I would and have found it particularly beneficial at times of inactivity e.g. standing watching a soccer match in the cold.
This is by far superior to any cold weather item I have owned before and gives me the convenience of not having to layer my clothing as on some previous occasions. An ordinary shirt or t-shirt is fine when you have this kind of insulation on the outside.
I would advise other Northern Europeans, who continue to be ripped off by extortionate prices, to consider Cabela’s in future as there are obviously quality bargains to be had, even after additional shipping costs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loved It!!

Date:January 16, 2009
Got this coat for my 17 year old son for Christmas! He was estatic! AWESOME! Is how he described it. The coat is excellent quality, great price and just what we were looking for. If you're looking for a stylish, warm, quality, awesome coat this is the one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

North Slope Parka for men

Date:January 6, 2009
We live in Marquette, MI and this coat really does the job for our winter weather. The only shortcoming is the zipper. It is hard to work, and requires regular waxing to keep functional. Still a warm and weatherproof coat, as long as you allow time to struggle with zipping it - often while an impatient dog is barking at the door to go out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent coat for deep winter!

Date:January 3, 2009
I purchased this coat when it was on sale last Summer - it was a steal (now wish I had purchased another...)
The parka is roomy (I purchased a 2XL) - excellent for layering;
Roomy hood (fits over mushers hat and headlamp);
Pockets for holding any- and everything;
Goes on over bulky layers because of lining.
It has been between 30 and 40 below for over a week now in Fairbanks...I have gotten my money's worth (and then some) from this purchase.
If you want a serious winter coat - this is it.
Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:January 2, 2009
If you're looking for something to keep you toasty warm in the harshest winter environment, then look no further. Living in interior Alaska we know cold weather. I have worn this parka outside in -55 degree weather for hours... literally HOURS playing or out on the trail and am always warm as can be.
This parka will stop the harshest wind... the down is just incredible... the hood is a good size and keeps the wind off your face... the pockets are handy and a nice size... This is a winner all around. Oh, yea... and GREAT customer service. Can't beat that these days!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:December 24, 2008
This is the coat if you want to stay warm when the cold weather is at it's worst.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Parka for the Price

Date:December 23, 2008
Excellent quality for the price, well made, generous sizing. You might be able to order a size smaller than your customary size if you prefer a more snug fit. I have a Canada Goose arctic parka, and this Cabela parka is comparable, at one-third the price. Good for extreme cold. Suggestions to Cabela: use velcro rather than buttons, extend the hood and zipper a few inches for the full snorkel effect, and add an inside snow belt, rather than a drawstring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LaPorte, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Cold Weather Coat

Date:December 15, 2008
This is an excellent cold weather coat. It will keep you very warm and comfortable. I would recommend this easily to anyone. Also Cabelas got it to me fast and i had excellent service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Alaskan Goose Down Parka – Regular
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goosedown Parka

Date:December 3, 2008
This coat is amazing. I purchased two; one for myself and one for my dad....now my husband wants one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 101