Customer Reviews for SIMMS Simms® RipRap™ Shoes

SIMMS Simms® RipRap™ Shoes

Wading shoes that perform like boots. Nonmarking Vibram® Idrogrip® rubber outsoles with StreamTread™ soles deliver versatile traction. Hydrophobic, perforated upper materials combine with the heel drains for quick drying. Fully enclosed design keeps out debris. Low-profile, durable nylon speed lace systems with lace-lock storage pockets minimize line snagging. Anti-odor, anatomically molded EVA footbeds. Heavy-duty protective toe bumpers. Quick-pull laces for slip on and off convenience. Pull-on heel loops. Imported. Men’s sizes: 8-13. Color: Brown.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Review 1 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great walk/wade shoe

Date:July 21, 2014
I am going on my 3rd season with these shoes. I put on ALOT of miles walk/wading trips. These shoes have been outstanding. I wear a pair of Simms neoprene socks for extra cushion. Late last year I did have to put 5 cleats in each shoe for traction as I have worn down the rubber tread. No need for cleats until tread worn down. I will definitely be buying another pair. Light weight, quick dry and easy lace system. Great product and stands up to hard use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shoes

Date:March 9, 2014
Used them bonefishing in the Aklins Bahamas and river fishing in Beleze this winter and they worked great for walking in the water and climbing accross rocks to get to the good spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms Got It Right

Date:March 8, 2014
Highly recommended. Have used for over a year on rivers, streams, ocean flats, ocean breaker/surf, and ocean rock/coral reefs and have no complaints. Slight tear one side (most likely from coral); otherwise, still in great shape. Excellent gripping sole and very comfortable and easy to put on and remove. My go to shoe, unless it's "slicker than snot", then I'll go with studded shoe. I wear with waders. Take up less room when traveling, too. I'm a size 12 and wear a 12 Riprap. Impressive how they "stick" to rocks, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shoes

Date:August 24, 2013
I used these for the first time yesterday.
I returned to a river I had fished a week ago. The shoes I wore last week are good shoes, but are getting old.
These shoes feel like they're glued to the rocks. I don't know what the bottoms are made from, but it works like nothing I've ever had before. Also, they're very light, another plus.
The only problem I had was my own overconfidence. I found myself just hopping from rock to rock without thinking enough about whether my landing spot might be slippery. I'm 66, so I have to take some care about that.
It's only one outing, but so far these are great shoes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great multipurpose shoe

Date:March 4, 2013
I've had these shoes over a month now and have used them for a myriad of purposes and have been impressed throughout. Not only can you use these for dry or wet wading due to the simms wading boot grip on them, they are great for many other reasons. They are comfortable to wear with or without socks/neoprene, and use on the river or off. I've used them to fish, to clean the roof of the house (best grip available), hike, dog park, and just run errands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent grip and fit

Date:September 4, 2012
These Simms wading shoes are excellent for fishing in rock bottom rivers. Excellent grip and function as well on land as in the water so no need to use a different pair of shoes to get you to where you are fishing. Also a great overall water shoe for activities other than fishing. Order true to size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simms® RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really, truly excellent for land and water

Date:August 8, 2011
I've had a pair of these shoes for about 3 months, and have worn them in all kinds of conditions, from hiking to everyday to Oregon stream wading. They have surprised me repeatedly with their competence in all environments, comfort, sturdiness and feeling that they will go on forever.
I wear a half size and was a little disappointed that they come only in full sizes, but I wear them with ordinary sweat socks for unchallenging use, and wear thick boot socks for more rigorous applications, such as longer hikes or wading.
The only time I have felt that they could have been better, was hiking on quartzite in Death Valley. They were slippery there, but I expect anything else would be too, and that's probably the price one pays for long-lived soles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.