Customer Reviews for SIMMS Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes

SIMMS Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes

Wading shoes that perform like boots. Nonmarking Vibram® Idrogrip® rubber outsoles with StreamTread™ soles deliver versatile traction. Hydrophobic, perforated upper materials combine with the heel drains for quick drying. Fully enclosed design keeps out debris. Low-profile, durable nylon speed lace systems with lace-lock storage pockets minimize line snagging. Anti-odor, anatomically molded EVA footbeds. Heavy-duty protective toe bumpers. Quick-pull laces for slip on and off convenience. Pull-on heel loops. Imported. Men’s sizes: 8-13. Color: Brown.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Review 1 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2015

Fits very close to street shoe size

By
Note that I have not worn these on the water yet. They fit very true to size and are not oversized to accommodate waders or thick/neoprene socks/booties. My initial impression of the quality of the shoes is good, and I look forward to seeing how their performance/durability is.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014

Wet wading

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
These wading shoes are pretty good for hiking and wet wading. While the rubber outsoles do provide decent traction, I did have some slips with them (without cleats). Even after putting "Alumibite" cleats on them, I am still careful when wading.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014

Great walk/wade shoe

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am going on my 3rd season with these shoes. I put on ALOT of miles walk/wading trips. These shoes have been outstanding. I wear a pair of Simms neoprene socks for extra cushion. Late last year I did have to put 5 cleats in each shoe for traction as I have worn down the rubber tread. No need for cleats until tread worn down. I will definitely be buying another pair. Light weight, quick dry and easy lace system. Great product and stands up to hard use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014

Great shoes

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used them bonefishing in the Aklins Bahamas and river fishing in Beleze this winter and they worked great for walking in the water and climbing accross rocks to get to the good spots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014

Simms Got It Right

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Highly recommended. Have used for over a year on rivers, streams, ocean flats, ocean breaker/surf, and ocean rock/coral reefs and have no complaints. Slight tear one side (most likely from coral); otherwise, still in great shape. Excellent gripping sole and very comfortable and easy to put on and remove. My go to shoe, unless it's "slicker than snot", then I'll go with studded shoe. I wear with waders. Take up less room when traveling, too. I'm a size 12 and wear a 12 Riprap. Impressive how they "stick" to rocks, etc.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013

Great Shoes

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I used these for the first time yesterday.
I returned to a river I had fished a week ago. The shoes I wore last week are good shoes, but are getting old.
These shoes feel like they're glued to the rocks. I don't know what the bottoms are made from, but it works like nothing I've ever had before. Also, they're very light, another plus.
The only problem I had was my own overconfidence. I found myself just hopping from rock to rock without thinking enough about whether my landing spot might be slippery. I'm 66, so I have to take some care about that.
It's only one outing, but so far these are great shoes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2013

Great multipurpose shoe

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had these shoes over a month now and have used them for a myriad of purposes and have been impressed throughout. Not only can you use these for dry or wet wading due to the simms wading boot grip on them, they are great for many other reasons. They are comfortable to wear with or without socks/neoprene, and use on the river or off. I've used them to fish, to clean the roof of the house (best grip available), hike, dog park, and just run errands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

Excellent grip and fit

By
These Simms wading shoes are excellent for fishing in rock bottom rivers. Excellent grip and function as well on land as in the water so no need to use a different pair of shoes to get you to where you are fishing. Also a great overall water shoe for activities other than fishing. Order true to size.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simms® Men's RipRap™ Shoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011

Really, truly excellent for land and water

By
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've had a pair of these shoes for about 3 months, and have worn them in all kinds of conditions, from hiking to everyday to Oregon stream wading. They have surprised me repeatedly with their competence in all environments, comfort, sturdiness and feeling that they will go on forever.
I wear a half size and was a little disappointed that they come only in full sizes, but I wear them with ordinary sweat socks for unchallenging use, and wear thick boot socks for more rigorous applications, such as longer hikes or wading.
The only time I have felt that they could have been better, was hiking on quartzite in Death Valley. They were slippery there, but I expect anything else would be too, and that's probably the price one pays for long-lived soles.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.