Customer Reviews for IRISH SETTER Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

IRISH SETTER Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots

The future of rubber hunting boots, RutMaster's durable, scent-free, all-rubber construction features ExoFlex technology for smooth on/off. ExoFlex panels hug tight to the ankles for an optimum fit and amazing long-distance walking comfort. Front-cleated Mud Claw rocker outsoles put an aggressive, sure-footed bite into any terrain. Features 1,200-gram Thinsulate™ Ultra Insulation. Imported. Height: 17". Weight: 5 lbs. 5 oz./pair. Men's whole sizes: 8-13. Camo pattern: Realtree AP™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
24 out of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Review 1 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Do It

Date:November 22, 2013
I've not worn these boots more than 15 times. I have hunting property that is mostly all wet swamp and have only worn them there. No abuse no long walks. Just back and forth to my stand. Now they have a crack in the heel. Based on my use only, which was very very minimal, I believe the rubber to be Inferior.
In short, Save yourself and Cabela's the hassle of you
having to return them and Buy A Different Boot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boots!

Date:October 29, 2013
I love my new boots! Very warm and comfy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than expected

Date:October 15, 2013
Boots are very comfortable. They run one size bigger so order with that in mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good and could be an excellent boot

Date:July 30, 2013
First, I am fussy about boots so that said I would recommend this boot. I want the boot to be waterproof and warm. As you know if you are walking rubber boots keep your feet very warm, almost too warm. I wanted I rubber boot that would keep my feet warm in a NY State cold winter day on stand. I got to this Irish Setter boot after trying two cabela's boots, the dura trax 2, and the comfort trax 2000. Both models I had the same problem. I got a blister on my heel and I figured it out. After trying different socks I came to the conclusion that the problem was the "sole insert" right under the heal. Both models bothered me. It is where the back of the insert meets the boot. You may not find a problem with them but I did. I would recommend the Cabelas brand but they were not for me you may have better luck. The Irish Setter boot has never given me a blister problem. The are very warm boot ... 1,200 g. I haven't had them on a real good day in two years. My hunt days haven't been that cold to make a comment on them. However, on the days I used them they were very warm. Here is why I did not score them as a five star. After two years, about 12 days total of hard hunting, I am still having problems getting my foot into the boots.They have not loosened up much, maybe a little. I use a stretch wrap liner to give my foot and heal the slippery surface to get the foot to go into the boot. They need to loosen up more and I should use them more. I've only worn them when I go down to the lower part of the farm where I have to cross a small stream and there can be lots of muck. When I hunt "up" on the hill fields and woods I opt for my regular leather boots. The Irish Setter rubber boot is an excellent boot, comfortable, its just tough to get the foot in them without a plastic stretch wrap to slide the foot in. When getting the boots off I use one of those boot boards that crabs your heel while you stand on it. So, I recommend the Irish Setter boots and would also suggest you consider the Cabela brands too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:June 26, 2013
These are the worst boots I have ever owned. Customer service is also bad. From day one I couldnt get the right boot on. Contacted Irish Setter and they said they wont exchange boot. Contacted seller who is giving me a full refund. After buying this companies boot for years. I am now done based on their customer service. Poor quality control and poorer customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

3 pairs of leaky boots

Date:April 12, 2013
The boots are very comfortable but the quality is terrible. In 3 years I went thru 3 pairs of these boots. The rubber on the toes separated from the rest of the boot and leaked on the last pair. All three pairs cracked where the rubber would bend near the toe with each step. Each pair was only worn for bow and shotgun season and partial ice fishin season. For one of the most expensive pairs of rubber boots on the market, I would expect them to last. Guess its time to try a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

weak link

Date:March 6, 2013
Everything about boot is fine except the exoflex behind the calf/heal. This will break and leak if you do much hiking in them. Don't buy 'em!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Seem good

Date:February 5, 2013
Wanted to try these for a while. I didn't receive them until deer season was over. They fir well, size right for comfort. They are difficult to get off, why I gave 4 stars vs. 5, I hope that with time removing them will get a bit easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Avoid Irish Setter products

Date:January 31, 2013
I would suggest buying Cabelas brand boots where they actually stand behind their products. I bought a pair of these, and after one season of use, I found two holes, one in the arch of each boot. I think the arches should have been more reinforced, but that is the thinnest part of these boots. I called the manufacturer and was having a polite discussion as to whether punctures would result from normal use or abuse, and the customer representative just hung up on me! Definitely avoid buying Irish Setter boots. Poor product combined with rude customer support.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Boot You Will Ever Own

Date:January 21, 2013
Purchased a pair before deer season. They were awesome in the store. They lasted 9 days in the field. The footbed all scrunched up, but even worse ... they cracked wide open across the top at the balls the feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:January 8, 2013
Very comfortable to walk in on and off easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rut Master Boots

Date:January 3, 2013
The Exo flex feature is awesome easy on and easy off! warm boots and fit like a running shoe! purchased other rubber boots in the past but you get what you pay for.Spend the money and you won't be disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good boots

Date:December 18, 2012
Some of the most comfortable boots out of the box, had over a mile walk to my stand, no problems with blisters etc. Feet were very warm. Easy on/off. Would recommend to anyone looking for rubber boots
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great. for now!

Date:December 11, 2012
Got these 2 seasons ago and they were great , Til yesterday when I steped in the creek and felt water comming in. The seal around the exoflex section has begun separating as well as cracks where the ankle meets the foot. My rockies at least lasted 4 seasons, and they where way less $$. Mind you I took great care of these and ONLY wore them for hunting. Too bad, they seemed great fit and finish!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love them!

Date:December 5, 2012
Absolutely the best investment that I've made in my hunting days!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best boot i have purchase

Date:November 19, 2012
best boot i have purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Treestand Hunting Boot

Date:November 13, 2012
I switched last year to using these boots and the uninsulated 100% when bow hunting. Since then I have had ZERO deer notice my "scent trail" from entering the stand. These boots fit my foot like tennis shoes once in the boot. The are also really easy to take on and off. My feet do seem to sweat in them, which usually results in cold feet after about 4 hours in the stand. This is the case with any rubber boot that I have used though, and is a tradeoff I will always make to remain undetected. If you are looking for a rubber boot, look NO FURTHER!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Need more sizes

Date:November 10, 2012
Highest quality of all the boots. Insulation all the way to the top of the boot. Only downfall is they do not make a 7. True to fit so ordering a size up as other reviews state did not work for me. Too bad, great boot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too Bad

Date:November 8, 2012
I 99% love these boots! I bought some for the 2011 season. After the season ended I noticed a crack along the side where it bends as you walk! I tooke them back to Cabelas and of course no problem with an exchange! I grabbed another pair for the 2012 season! Well I have worn them a few times in the summer to cross some streams and for most of the cooler days so far! So maye 10 times. One boot split AGAIN this time on the top where it bends and it has the extra piece for toughness I guess! I can not believe they tore again and I hardly wore them! Very dissapointed with that! Other then that problem I love the boots! Super comfy feet stay mostly warm. Unless I sit a long day in 30 or less deg! The only other thing I did not like is they are a little sloppy around the calf! So once again back to Cabelas! Once again NO problem! Even though it was my second pair within a year! I also went back to Mucks! I have never had a problem with them! Exept the cold toe issue! But it seems that is with ANY boot! So I guess the next thing to get is The Thermacel Foot warmers! I have been waiting for something like these! And from a great company! But, Thanks Cabelas for your OUTSTANDING boot coverage! That is way to much money to be spending once a year on Boots!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Irish Setter RutMaster 17" 1,200-gram Rubber Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get On Board

Date:November 1, 2012
I had to return your product for the simple reason, I could not get my foot into the boot!
I loved the style of the boot and would purchase the boot again if you only had this style boot made with a
SIDE ZIPPER! you would be amazed at your increase in sales!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31