Customer Reviews for SIMMS Simms G3 Guide™ Waders

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SIMMS Simms G3 Guide™ Waders

These no-nonsense waders stand up to the toughest conditions and keep you dry. Made of GORE-TEX® Pro Shell fabrics with a patented front/back leg seam for enhanced articulation, durability and comfort. Features include a zippered fly box chest pocket, flip-out Tippet Tender™ pocket with a built-in retractor, microfleece-lined handwarmer pocket, built-in Guide Model Gravel Guards and belt loops. Nylon belt and repair kit included. Made in USA. Men's sizes: M, L, XL. Color: Sterling.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Review 1 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Waders

Date:October 29, 2013
These waders are a perfect fit and well worth the money. I put them on and hardly knew they were there. Since my purchase, I've spent about 12 hours fishing trout creeks in PA and let me tell you, they are perfect! Just last weekend I went fishing, it was 27 degrees in the morning about 8:00 am and the water temp was about 45 or so. Never felt the cold, except for my hands. I highly recommend these waders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Notch

Date:August 22, 2012
In twenty five years of trout fishing, I've had many different kinds of waders. None were as good as these. I fish about 60 days per year, most of it in the tag alders of northern wisconsin and upper michigan. My most recent pair of these is five years old and going strong. They are pricey, but not when you divide the price by the number of years they last. They are also much less expensive than a boat, and will get you to much more remote places. I've had other brands of breathables, and never was able to get two years out of them. These are excellent! I'll never buy another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bombproof Waders

Date:June 18, 2012
These waders are truly awesome. I am a Gore MountainTech and I've tested a lot of products for W.L. Gore. Without question, these are the best waders I've ever worn. They are very comfortable, breathable, and of course waterproof. I have taken a couple bad falls in these waders and they prove to be bombproof each time. I am 6'5" tall and found the XL waders to be a little short.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best Cost More

Date:December 14, 2010
Think about how much time you spend in waders on a fishing trip. And, if you're a steelheader like me, you spend it waist-deep in frigid water. So, what's the number one factor for comfort? You got it, your waders.
I bought my G3's after a bad experience with some Orvis XTs (think Michelin-Man...). And though I balked at the inital cost, it's been worth every penny.
Rugged, fit better than any wader I've experienced, and super durable. All the things I've come to expect from the Simms brand. The best simply costs more. And once you've tried it, you'll never go back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G3 Guide Waders - Best of the best!

Date:December 3, 2009
Used these G3 Guide waders on several trips and without a doubt the best waders I have ever owned. Fit very well and contructed to last a long time. SIMMS customer service is top notch and stand behind this product 100%. Price is higher than others but worth every dollar. I read too many reviews on other brands leaking right out of the box or after minimal use. You won't be disappointed with the G3 Guide waders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms G3 Guide Waders

Date:July 26, 2009
I've been using these waders on average three times each week. They are extremely comfortable and so far no problems with leakage or failures of any type. They appear to be very durable and should last a long time if given reasonable care.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms G3 Guide Waders

Date:April 20, 2009
These are simply the best waders I have ever owned and that is saying a lot. Between fishing and waterfowl hunting I have owned more waders than I could count and these are the best I have had. The fit is excellent and paired with the Simms Rivershed wading boots, the comfort is better that a pair of jeans and tennis shoes. I can't attest to the durability as I just started fishing these, but the construction looks like these will hold up for many, many trouble-free years. I bought these to replace some other breathable's that just never held up, as I have owned other Simms products in the past and I have always been impressed with their quality and customer service. These waders are expensive, no doubt about it; but so far seem to be well worth the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms G3 Guide Waders

Date:April 19, 2009
Without question, my favorite waders. This is all that I wear, I trust them 100% that I am going to get at least 100, 8-10 hour days on the water a year. I have never owned another wader that I was able to get this much time out of. I have sold my waders to clients at the end of each season, and going back four years, all are still holding strong.
The fit on the new G3 is different from the older ones. The ankle, upper leg and seat area were a bit of an issue for people a couple of years ago (myself included). All of these areas have been addressed, and the fit is much better. The feet are new, and a little thicker, and the GORE-TEX is new.
I can not say enough about these. I know that many people are drawn to the G4 with the zipper, and they do have great points about them. I have never seen the need to upgrade, I know these, and trust them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms G3 Guide waders

Date:February 4, 2009
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simms G3 Guide

Date:February 3, 2009
Simms are just great waders. This is my second set of waders from simms. My first pair I bought when they were still in Jackson Hole, WY. That is how old they are, but still waterproof and usable. I have used them in all conditions and they last so that is why I invested in a new pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Absolutely Worth the Money!!!

Date:November 12, 2008
Yes Simms waders are expensive but my G3's have been worth it! Two years of heavy year around wading has really put these waders to the test. Sun, rain, snow no problem! These waders have prooved themselves time and again for many reasons. First off finding and repairing holes and leaks is a breeze! All you need is a little rubbing alcohol and voila, the leak shows it self. The fit and finish on these waders is supurb. Customer service has been excellent and the first repair of the waders was free. (This is great when the repair requires seam work). They breath incrediblly well and staying dry has never been a factor. They are very rugged. There is a lot of smart detail work on Simms waders that you do not see on competetors products. Make sure to wash and retreat the surface fabric like any H2O proof garment to keep them at top performance and always hang dry after use. If you know you are going to be spending lots of time in the water, and are able to hit the price, put your investment here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Greatexpectations

Date:September 29, 2008
So far I only used them twice , but they have performed to my expectations. At this point I would recomend them to anyone. They have a really nice fit and I Grexpect them to perform as designed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lufkin, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best

Date:July 26, 2008
I will never buy anything else...ever. Nor will I need to for a good while because these will last 2-3 times longer than anything else you put them up against. Guides use Simms... there is a reason.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shreveport, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G3 Waders

Date:March 11, 2008
Excellent footing in fast water, easy on and off. Great feel and comfort over several layers without adding weight. Pockets in the right place, easy to get your hand in and out of the wind while walking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Failed After 2 years of moderate use

Date:November 5, 2009
after about 100 fishing trips waders started leaking through leg seams, sent back for repair but Simms was unable to fix it and sent new replacement pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st time used

Date:September 6, 2008
Nice Waders,
like wearing jeans on the river
They were a lot of $$ for me yet I hope
the years of service generate value
time will tell.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simms G3 Guide™ Waders
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Longmont, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Failed After 3 years of moderate use

Date:June 4, 2008
I bought a pair of the G3 waders in 2005, and they worked fine until this spring. During a spring trip, I had leaks in the booties, and both leg seams. I sent them in to be repaired, and Simms just told me that they were unrepairable. They claimed that many of the tape seams had failed because they were stored wet on occasion. I don't think this is reasonable performace for a set of waders that cost so much, considing that I only used them 50 times +/-. I was very disappointed that customer service didn't see this as an issue.
In the future, I will purchase a less expensive wader and simply replace them after 3 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.