Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Snow Runner™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Snow Runner™

Winter used to mean saying goodbye to athletic-shoe comfort until the spring thaw. Not anymore. With all the waterproof protection needed to get through cold snowy weather, plus the comfort of your favorite warm-weather trailhikers, these versatile boots will keep you warm and dry all winter long. And, their casual good looks mean you won’t have the inconvenience of switching from snow boots to "indoor" shoes everytime you head inside to warm up. The Cabela’s-exclusive Dry-Plus® barrier locks out moisture from snow and rain. 400-gram Thinsulate™ Ultra Insulation seals in warmth without excessive weight or bulk. Resilient, lightweight EVA midsoles cushion your strides and bounce back for more. Order next size up if wearing with heavy socks. Height: 8". Men’s sizes: 8-14. Half sizes to 12. Colors: Dark Moss, Brown/Olive.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(872 Reviews) 872
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 872 reviews
5 Stars
655
4 Stars
156
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
14
1 Star
15
834 out of 872(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Review 1 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best winter boot ever!!!!!!

Date:March 29, 2014
My feet do not like the cold and these boots have solved my problem! If they were double the price I would still buy them. I do deliveries for a living and these boots with a pair of wool socks keep my feet warm and dry all day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Snow Runner

Date:March 25, 2014
This is the most comfortable boot I have worn in years. I'm a senior, my feet are hard to fit and as an old guy it's harder to stay on my feet for long periods. These boots are great. Truly water proof and very warm. Buy one size larger. Also I usually wear a EE but these are plenty wide. The only draw back is they eat laces. I wear mine every day and go through laces about every three months. Not enough of a problem to stop me from owning three pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best all around boots ever

Date:March 9, 2014
I love these boots. I have been wearing them every day for four years. I work in cold wet conditions and have never had a problem. They have also become my favorite backpacking boots. I buy them on sale and have four pair still in the box. hopefully cabelas will keep selling them at the same quality. get a pair. you will be thrilled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BUY THESE BOOTS!...you will not be disappointed

Date:February 13, 2014
I am particular when it comes to footwear whether hiking, hunting, casual, work etc. I am also not hard on footwear so I am able to wear boots/shoes for a long time without showing much wear, and I will keep boots for many years (if they perform well) likely longer than most, and I take care of every pair as if they were my only or the last pair I own. I have a 20+ year old pair of traditional pac boots and purchased the Cabela's Snow Runner Pac Boot a few weeks ago as I prefer a shorter boot and was not able to put them to the test until today. First, compared with other reviews that may state the boots are stiff...unless a boots is made of kangaroo leather there will likely be a break-in period for any footwear. This pair would probably fall into a category consistent with a "break-in" but I would not categorize the boots as "stiff" rather as "new". Remember these are pac boots, not sneakers nor hikers, so their construction is different. Next, waterproof?...ABSOLUTELY! 15" of snow today that turned had rain and sleet mixed in-not a hint of wet feet. These are unequivocally waterproof. Comfortable?...ABSOLUTELY! ..."new' footwear does tend to have a tendency to become less snug with time as they break-in...for me these already have the "old shoe comfort. Traction? ABSOLUTELY, treads shed snow well. Warm?...DEFINTELY. If a boot is too tight, that will constrict the foot and blood flow causing feet to get cold. These are pac boots...therefore you would expect to be moving not standing still. I have not tested them for prolonged periods of time standing still but I would not hesitate to use them for that. Price? GREAT...bought mine on sale-even if not on sale, you will not be disappointed. If you are like me, you think about your favorite pair of boots and are thankful you purchased them. I anticipate looking back 5-10 years from now and doing the same with these. Keep up the tradition of making quality products worthy of putting the Cabela's name on them...these boots definitely fall into that category!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value but......

Date:February 10, 2014
Very comfortable, light weight and good value. However, I wore them today in 20 - 22 degrees and after about one hour my toes were cold. Also had on good socks - Thor Lo. The boots are great for cold weather down to say 32 but below that I would go with something better. They need better insulation in the toe box.
So my recommendation comes with reservations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The hole appeared in 2 weeks of use.

Date:February 5, 2014
I use boots of only 2 weeks. On the left boot the hole on a seam was formed.
Boots warm, but I didn't get used to go in the torn footwear.
I regret for purchase of boots Cabela's Snow Runner™.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good boots

Date:January 29, 2014
Yes, they're inexpensive, and currently on sale. I like these a lot. Not too heavy, better than average traction, even on ice (qualified, no boot is great on ice, unless specialized).
Wore them yesterday with some wool socks. Initially thought they were snug, but my foot settled in in a few minutes.
Today I wore them with boot socks from Cabela's, IK-813106. Even better. Bought two pair with the boots, want more.
True to size, which worried me.
If I have a complaint, it's the laces. Y'know how some don't hold a knot, and loosen? Yeah. These are like that. Work around it.
I don't need a sub-zero boot, and these are like athletic shoes in fit and feel at +20. So much so, that I'd say 0 will be just fine. Much warmer than my tactical boots, and less bulky.
The sole pattern is aggressive, but very self-cleaning in snow. I'll stick to Wellies I can hose off in mud.
If these were 2-3" higher, I'd buy a few pair to stash away. My wife bought another brand, more than 2x the price, that look very similar, and weigh about the same. She loves hers.
That's why I ordered these from Cabelas. They're made for them, and I trust Cabelas. I was right. When I find something that works, I stock up.
So confident, that I'm using these, with gaiters, snowshoeing next week.
Grab 'em while you can.
Good boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome boot

Date:January 25, 2014
I live in the country and was looking for a good boot for around my house that can hold up to snow and mud and also be warm. This is a great boot for the price or any price. It is very comfortable and warm. I also use it more a backup hunting boot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:January 15, 2014
If you stand on the street shoed in these boots more than 10-15 minutes when temperature is colder than -10C your toes will freeze.
If you walk more than 10-15 minutes in these boots you will have chafes on your ankles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Boots

Date:January 2, 2014
These boots are OK. They have kept my feet warm in mildly cold winter temps which is what I expected. I ordered a half size bigger than my shoes and I wish I would have ordered a whole size bigger. They pinch at my little toe a little bit although I am hoping the more I wear them they will stretch out a little more. They definitely keep my fee dry. They are light weight so for something like snowshoeing or hiking they work well.
One of the lace hooks has started to pull out even though I haven't worn these boots a ton so that is somewhat disappointing.
Over all they are a decent boot for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost great

Date:December 30, 2013
I picked up a pair at the Olympia store two or three months ago. Other reviewers are right, they start out very stiff but they are getting better. I walk between 2 and 3 miles a day, mostly on concrete sidewalks and inside of an office building. So far I have not gone trail hiking at all, and the weather has been mostly dry. The shoes still look almost like new. I would have given them 5 stars but took off one star because the right shoe feels loose on the inside and does not hold my foot as firmly as the left shoe, and another star because the stitching above the joint between the foot and the big toe on the right foot is coming undone. This is not the kind of quality I expected from all of the other reviews. I got the shoes on sale and I would pay that price for them again, but I would not recommend them at full price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

small size, cold

Date:December 15, 2013
I have Had these boots two years and they are light and tough ,but very stiff and seem to run small. My toes get cold when standing . Wouldn't recommend for much standing around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Kazakhstan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent quality

Date:November 28, 2013
excellent quality, need to take one size larger for winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best boot ever

Date:November 12, 2013
do not stop making this boot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT BOOTS!

Date:November 11, 2013
I loved these boots so much that I ended up buying a second pair. They are warm and waterproof, but allow you to get around much more easily than other insulated/waterproof boots. I use them for walking, working and exercising outside in winter, and even for ice-fishing on the more moderate winter days when i don't need my full-blown, heavy-duty ice fishing boots. They fit great and feel great! Great boots for the money! I recommend them wholeheartedly!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

average boot

Date:November 10, 2013
I purchased these boots because they got good reviews. I wore them for the first time the other day and was pleased for about an hour, I was squatting a lot and started to notice that the boots were digging into the side of my ankles, so I loosened the laces, it helped a little. so I think maybe with a thicker pair of socks they might be better. Other than that issue I have no other complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good boot

Date:October 22, 2013
Size correct a bit stiff overall, long break-in time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:October 22, 2013
These boots have performed well. They have great traction and support for down hill hiking. They have taken awhile to get broken in but besides that I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Boots

Date:October 9, 2013
It warm and dry in our cold winter!
This boots are best for money.
Tnx, Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Snow Runner™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice boots

Date:September 19, 2013
I have just bought these boots. It's still relatively warm outside, so I cannot test how warm they will be when the real Russian winter comes.
I bought size 12 and it's ok for my feet which are 29,5 cm if I wear thick winter socks. With normal socks, I would prefer size 11.5 size. I am thinking about buying another pair of size 11.5 for wearing with normal socks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 872