Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

From the Iditarod trail to the treestand, these boots have proven they are true cold-weather performers. A 13mm Texel® removable liner reflects heat inward to minimize loss. Beneath that, the Moisture Trap footbed wicks away perspiration and condensation. A 1/2" layer of EVA foam, coupled with the nylon-covered Phylon midsole, puts 3" of cold-blocking material between your feet and the ground. The tough, flexible vamps are protected by a triple-layer, abrasion-resistant toe guard, and the rubber toe cap ensures longer wear. These boots have a reflective, lightweight waterproof shell with lightweight, reflective nylon shafts. Radiantex™ reflective coating. The 8" liner allows for pants inside the boots, and the rip-stop nylon gaiter has a cord-locked drawcord to keep out snow. They're easy to tighten, thanks to a one-pull ball bearing lacing system. Inside, a heat pack pocket allows you to insert toe warmer heat packs. Height: 15". Average weight: 5.8 lbs./pair. Men's whole sizes: 7-13. Color: Black/Tan.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
171 out of 175(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Review 21 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Like These a Lot!

Date:February 5, 2013
I have allways used a traditional pac boot for my winter activities. The problem was that after a couple hours my feet would prespire, then they would get cold. So far this has not happened with these boots. I have worn them several times, including, three 14 hour days in temps around 5 F, my feet have remained dry and warm. For this reason I love this boot. Additionally I was concerned these boots would be cumbersome compared to the pac boots I was used to wearing, not so, I personally don't notice a difference. Great product Cabelas !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest boot ever

Date:February 5, 2013
I did a lot of research for warm boots for ice fishing. My feet always get cold so I looked into these. Have used them on multiple 5-20 degree days and toes toasty warm. Yes the sole is a little thick but you get used to them. If you want warm buy these
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boots for warmth

Date:February 5, 2013
I bought theses boots for ice fishing in northern South Dakota. My first trip out with them this winter the air temp was right at zero degrees with 20+ mph winds. They performed great, my toes and feet never once got cold even when I dunked my toes through the hole into the water.
I would not recommend these boots if you are looking to do a lot of walking as they are very big and bulky. But, if you are looking to still hunt or ice fish and don't plan to move around a lot, these boots are extremely warm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for cold interior Alaska

Date:February 3, 2013
I was looking for an alternative to the bunny boot, the boot you can bet our life on. These will do. Buy a size up first and trade down if needed.
Used them on the trap line and didn't even know they were on. That means my feet were warm and comfortable.
Thumbs up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boot

Date:January 29, 2013
Been out twice with these boots ice fishing in sub zero weather and my feet stayed warm and that's a first for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pac Boot

Date:January 22, 2013
A great boot if you plan to stand or hike in snow all day. Somewhat goofy looking platform style boot but it keeps your feet away from the snow, it's light weight and will keep your feet comfortable while snowmobiling or back counrty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great First Day

Date:January 10, 2013
First day on the ice with these boots. Wow! Warm, dry and confortable. I wear and 8 and bought a size 9 great fit. I wore a medium weight cabelas hunting sock with them. My feet haven't felt that good in years after being on the ice all day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm and comfortable

Date:January 8, 2013
These boots are great. they look bulky but are not. Mold to your feet and are easy to walk in. I hunted in the artic circle and bought a par of artic boots, you could not walk in them at all. Wish I would of had Cabela's Trans - Alaska lll could of saved a lot of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:January 3, 2013
These boots are great. My feet won't be cold now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent boots

Date:December 18, 2012
It is very happy with these boots, feet don't freeze. To use them on number of zagonny hunting and on a snowmobile. The only lack of information, boots need to be taken one size more. Usually I carry the size 12 (45-46 Russia) both bought these boots 12D and I carry only with a thin sock since with thick or two socks already presses a foot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Saskatchewan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not walking shoes

Date:December 12, 2012
These are the finest boots I have ever had for warmth, I have wore them at 40 below and always had warm feet. We sled the North and these stood the test, just wish I had them when I was a kid as I froze all the time.
Another fine product from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Boots

Date:December 12, 2012
These are the warmest boots i've ever owned, yet they are light weight and still give you decent foot support. I wouldn't recommend walking 5 miles in them but i have no problem walking to my deer stand or ice fishing spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm still hunting boots

Date:December 5, 2012
Boots worked well on canadian deer hunt. Below zero to 20 degree temps. Sitting all day. The key is a set of toasty toes in am and switch out for a fresh pair at lunch and feet will be fine. Very heavy and bulky but walk amazingly well. Dry in snow and good purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:November 30, 2012
I give them a 5 rating though I do find a very minor fault in them but I have gotten used to it.
That is the souls are so thick they are a little cumbersome to walk in at first. My feet have never stayed warmer in boot that is so lite weight.
I am considering purchasing a second pair in case I wear these ones out but I'm not sure that is possible.
Buy far well worth every penny spent on them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boots

Date:September 24, 2012
My feet have yet to get cold in these boots and my feet usually get cold quite easily. Awesome boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Sub-Zero Pac

Date:May 17, 2012
I had the Iditarod IIs, but somebody liked them better than me--and they ran off with that person. I had my first pair of IIIs a few years ago; I lost those to my wife. This past winter we had temps down to -70 and although I stayed home and fed the stove if I'd had to go out I know at least my feet would be warm in my new IIIs. I've used these pacs continuously since around (IIs and later, IIIs) 2000 or so whenever it's below zero--and here in Arctic Alaska it's normal. The IIIs are lighter, easier on and off, and have provisions for heat packs. They're warm even filled with water--that too happens regularly in overflow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Boots

Date:May 16, 2012
These boots are the best I could find for what I was looking for. They are very warm and comfortable. They are HUGE, but they dont weigh you down, and are worth buying even if you're not going to Alaska. I use them for ice fishing and they are great. You can walk comfortably in them, and dont get overheated. Worth the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm & Dry Winter Boot

Date:March 29, 2012
I purchased these boots and wore them for first time in Feb. 2012. I was a little skeptical at first, but after wearing them a few times I was very satisfied. I especially liked the height of them. The easy lace tightener worked well, and I like the liner that is removable. I used them ice fishing in Maine and my feet stayed very dry and warm. The warm winter in Maine made for lots of slush & water on the ice and the boots never wet through. I would recommend these boots for winter activities that require dry, warm feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:March 28, 2012
Used these boots on a NWT musk-ox hunt where the temps were -35F. My feet were always warm and would strongly recomend for these conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall Happy

Date:March 28, 2012
I think I expected more but overall was happy. The stitching on the liners did start to come out after about 3 days of continuous use. Not bad, like the liners are useless, but it is happening. The boots were adequate in the -35 weather for the most part. Also had dry feet after a few stream crossings that did not over top the boot. Maybe not as warm as other boots I have, but certainly lighter on the feet and suitably warm. I typically wear a size 12. I bought a 13. I think a 12 would have been fine so it seems like they run true to size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 175