Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

From the Iditarod trail to the treestand, these boots have proven they are true cold-weather performers. A 13mm Texel® removable liner reflects heat inward to minimize loss. Beneath that, the Moisture Trap footbed wicks away perspiration and condensation. A 1/2" layer of EVA foam, coupled with the nylon-covered Phylon midsole, puts 3" of cold-blocking material between your feet and the ground. The tough, flexible vamps are protected by a triple-layer, abrasion-resistant toe guard, and the rubber toe cap ensures longer wear. These boots have a reflective, lightweight waterproof shell with lightweight, reflective nylon shafts. Radiantex™ reflective coating. The 8" liner allows for pants inside the boots, and the rip-stop nylon gaiter has a cord-locked drawcord to keep out snow. They're easy to tighten, thanks to a one-pull ball bearing lacing system. Inside, a heat pack pocket allows you to insert toe warmer heat packs. Height: 15". Average weight: 5.8 lbs./pair. Men's whole sizes: 7-13. Color: Black/Tan.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 192
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 192 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
188 out of 192(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Review 21 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The real deal

Date:February 28, 2014
I have been ice fishing all my life,I have tried every type of boot out there.the only way i could even start to keep my feet warm was buying a boot two sizes larger and stuffing them with felt and socks.and even then would get cold.I purchased the trans alaska boots and my first time using them was 10 below ,spent 6 hours on the ice and they did work,I was warmer than i have ever been ice fishing.I can also say dont believe there is lots of room in them for thick socks,buy at least a size bigger,i wear 11 bought 12 and would buy 13 if i were doing it over,I like to wear multi pairs of socks inside,they are hard to put on ,you do need to put the liner on your foot first and then in the boot but not a big deal.also they say 3" under your foot but actually about an inch under the toe section but that is enough,they do what they are said to do.gave them a 4 i feel most any product has room for improvement and i would give 4.5 if i could.I also didnt find these hard to walk in at all,great boots really happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm boots, not waterproof

Date:February 20, 2014
I have used the boots about 10 times in 3 years for Ice Fishing. Feet were always warm, except when the Right boot leaks. It's a love hate relationship. I will take them back and test their return policy. I think it is reasonable to expect a cold weather boot to be waterproof above the ankle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good!

Date:February 19, 2014
So far these are the best boots I've ever owned, tho' to qualify that statement I've only wore them twice so far. All my life I've suffered from cold feet and have never (with 1 other exception) found anything that could keep my feet warm in the winter. Growing up in Vermont that was a problem let me tell you! :} Anyhoo, now here in Ohio I do a lot of tree cutting for firewood, and stomping around snowy/muddy/wet fields in the winter will chill ya to the bone! first time I wore these boots it was 27 degrees outside, so not arctic to be sure, but for the first time ever my feet did not get cold! Today it got up to 45 degrees and the field was nothing but mud & melting snow (cold water) up to my ankles, and again my feet did not get cold! I also love the fact that the liners has a space underneath for those "toe warmers" but I have not needed them yet! I would strongly recommend these boots! As others have posted the sizing runs nearly true; I wear a size 8 - 8.5 shoe, so I ordered the size 9 boots, & there is barely room for 2 pair of wool socks, so you may want to upsize a bit it possible. I really like the way these things lace up, easiest tie-up I've ever seen! The string closing off the top is also a nice touch. I intend on trying to order some replacement liners just in case. I intend to clean them off after each use & let them dry, & maybe order some waterproofing altho' these boots kept my feet dry all day today even tho' I was walking around in ankle deep cold water! Can't say enough good things about these boots, but will update this review if necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dis' boot's da bomb!

Date:February 15, 2014
Warm, comfortable and light for it's size. Doesn't weigh much more than my steel toe work boots. However, the sizing must loose something during the metric conversion. I wear a size 9e and ordered a size10 on the advice of the numerous reviews. I could bearly get my foot into the boot. A size 11 fit great, leaving some wiggle room for the little piggies. A tight boot, no matter how warm, will make for cold feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Boot

Date:February 14, 2014
Exceptionally warm. Ice fished for 7 hours with feet directly on the ice the whole time and my feet were as warm when I came in as when I started out. They were amazing! I wear a size 10 Sorel pac boot but needed to go to a size 11 in this line. Even that seemed slightly snug when new, but like other reviews said, they broke in to a very comfortable fit. Yes, they are not a hiking boot due to their size & weight but are excellent for outdoor snow-blowing, ice fishing, etc. "The" best performing cold weather boot I have worn in my 64 years, period!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good - really keeps feet warm

Date:January 27, 2014
I bought these to replace a competitors arctic pacs that turned brittle and fell apart in -15F temperatures. These are really warm and not too heavy. It takes a few strolls to get used to walking because of the size of them and the sole thickness. Really keep your feet warm. Traction could be a bit better but this could be because of the big footprint they have (less pounds per square inch). The heel pull tab is great when putting them on and I really like the speed laces and the gaither style top. One needs to tuck the laces into the top since they are long. I went one size up because on my half size and wide feet. No problems with them walking your socks off. Highly recommend them for subzero outside activity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The BEST BOOTS EVER !

Date:January 18, 2014
I just spent the entire day on the ice with warm feet.The best boots you can buy for cold weather.They are light on your feet and provide good support.
You won't be driving in these boots , so plan on wearing something easy to get off if you have to travel.Also my old ice cleats would not fit over the toe so I'll have to get new ones.A small inconvenience but well worth having comfort no matter how cold,or how long I stay out.
I would recommend these to anyone who doesn't want to end their day short because of frozen feet.
Thank you Cabelas for providing another awesome product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth It

Date:January 17, 2014
I purchased these boots for Ice Fishing in Wisconsin. I spend a lot of time on the ice, and since I have bought these boots my feet never get cold. I have been through 20 degrees to -15 degrees without the wind. I have walked through slush and no water ever penetrated through. The boots are a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Warm hunting boot

Date:January 4, 2014
Took these out in northern CT with temps in the teens, 5 inches of snow on the ground. I was only wearing a lighweight wicking sock and my feet were HOT.
I would highly recommend these boots for hunting/sitting.
I was coyote hunting and walking around between sets and my feet were very comfortable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Boot's

Date:December 24, 2013
I bought these last week and wore them out this morning for the first time Ice fishing , although it was 7 degree's F out and the wind was blowing after 4 hours my feet still felt like i had them propped up next to the fireplace they were nice and warm despite i only wore a pair of normal sock's . The only reason i am giving them a 5 is because the reviews don't offer a 6 to give them . God Bless and Merry Christmas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boots

Date:December 19, 2013
I have had these boots for a number of years Bought for ice fishing. I must say that in the years Ive owned them I have only "needed" them twice. During a cold Maine hunt temps hit -25. Not even my toe tips were cold. My foot is 9 1/2 to almost a 10 and 10 fit me good after using them a couple of times. Probably a good idea, as others mentioned, to get a size up from what you normally wear. Worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boot. good price

Date:December 15, 2013
I've worn many cold weather boots over the past 5 to 6 years, trying to find that one boot that will keep my feet warm in all cold weather conditions, whether it be sitting in a deer stand in 10 degree weather or sitting on the ice for 8 hours. one thing that many boots lack are insulation between the bottom of your foot and the ground. lots of boots give you insulation around the upper part of your foot and up your ankle, thats great but the bottom of your foot is the part that takes the most cold because it is on the ground. this boot puts many inches of foam and wool between your foot and the ground keeping the cold out. for being a large boot i did not find it hard to walk in. this boot is absolutely built for the outdoorsman. its light and warm compared to lacrosse ice kings or something along that line this boot is way more comfortable. I've used this boot on the ice and sitting in my deer stand and everything in between and i have absolutely no complaints. if your looking for a great cold weather boot that is light and easy to maneuver in look no further my friend. defiantly get 1 size bigger, so if you wear a size 9 shoe get a size 10 boot, its just common sense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not true to size

Date:November 3, 2013
The product is excellent, but do not believe it when people say it runs by its size. I am a 9 and my toes were touching the tip. I needed to send them back and order a 10. I am yet to find out whether or not those will fit; they should.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Japan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps me Safe.

Date:November 3, 2013
Our family has 3 pair of these boots.
There are keep us Safe in coldest -40 c Temp.
I think it suitable for stationaly activities.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never think about your feet again

Date:February 19, 2013
Very warm boot for standing in the goose pit or riding the snow machine.
Best surprise ever were the targets printed on the inside of the lid. Needed something to site in a rifle, grabbed the box and the targets were already there. All boxes should be made this way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Look out, Gene Simmons!

Date:February 12, 2013
These are the biggest, warmest yet lightest winter boots I have ever seen. I got them on sale and when I put them on I grew 4 inches! Lots of insulation in the foot bed for warmth. You look like a try-out for the band KISS but warmth doesn't have to be sexy. Gonna give them a go for ice fishing this year but the purpose was for stand hunting in my cold, Canadian climate of Ontario. I like them!! I'm a 9 to a 9.5 and I bought 10s.....they fit perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps the cold out!

Date:February 5, 2013
Just got back from ice fishing in northern Minnesota. Day temps were around 0 degrees, no problems keeping feet warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Like These a Lot!

Date:February 5, 2013
I have allways used a traditional pac boot for my winter activities. The problem was that after a couple hours my feet would prespire, then they would get cold. So far this has not happened with these boots. I have worn them several times, including, three 14 hour days in temps around 5 F, my feet have remained dry and warm. For this reason I love this boot. Additionally I was concerned these boots would be cumbersome compared to the pac boots I was used to wearing, not so, I personally don't notice a difference. Great product Cabelas !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warmest boot ever

Date:February 5, 2013
I did a lot of research for warm boots for ice fishing. My feet always get cold so I looked into these. Have used them on multiple 5-20 degree days and toes toasty warm. Yes the sole is a little thick but you get used to them. If you want warm buy these
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boots for warmth

Date:February 5, 2013
I bought theses boots for ice fishing in northern South Dakota. My first trip out with them this winter the air temp was right at zero degrees with 20+ mph winds. They performed great, my toes and feet never once got cold even when I dunked my toes through the hole into the water.
I would not recommend these boots if you are looking to do a lot of walking as they are very big and bulky. But, if you are looking to still hunt or ice fish and don't plan to move around a lot, these boots are extremely warm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 192