Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

CABELA'S Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

From the Iditarod trail to the treestand, these boots have proven they are true cold-weather performers. A 13mm Texel® removable liner reflects heat inward to minimize loss. Beneath that, the Moisture Trap footbed wicks away perspiration and condensation. A 1/2" layer of EVA foam, coupled with the nylon-covered Phylon midsole, puts 3" of cold-blocking material between your feet and the ground. The tough, flexible vamps are protected by a triple-layer, abrasion-resistant toe guard, and the rubber toe cap ensures longer wear. These boots have a reflective, lightweight waterproof shell with lightweight, reflective nylon shafts. Radiantex™ reflective coating. The 8" liner allows for pants inside the boots, and the rip-stop nylon gaiter has a cord-locked drawcord to keep out snow. They're easy to tighten, thanks to a one-pull ball bearing lacing system. Inside, a heat pack pocket allows you to insert toe warmer heat packs. Height: 15". Average weight: 5.8 lbs./pair. Men's whole sizes: 7-13. Color: Black/Tan.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 201 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
197 out of 201(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Review 21 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recommend These for Ice Fishing

Date:February 3, 2015
Pros include warm, comfortable (after breaking them in), lacing system allows you to quickly take them off and put back on, a draw string around the top keeps the snow out, and are water proof. Cons are they only go up to a size 13, and are a bit heavy.
Based on other feedback I ordered a size larger than I normally would and they are just right after break-in. I have used these boots for ice fighing in Michigan several times since I purchased them and am very happy with them - the 3" thick sole does insulate you well from the ice....ALL DAY! I have stood in water half way up the boot with no issues. I also plan to use these for long sits in the hunting stand next year on those really cold sub-zero days, but would not want to hike a long way in them as they are a bit heavy.
Fish-on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

Date:January 28, 2015
These may be ok for ice fishing or walking on level ground ,but i nearly twisted my ankle trying to walk up steep hills hunting. I returned these and purchased the Baffin boots rated to -148 degrees. I truly gave these a sound work out up and down hills and sitting for hours hunting squirles in very hilly country . Much better support, much better design for hunting. I wore a medium sock ,my feet didn't sweat, and were nice and toasty even after climbing up and down steep hills in snow then sitting for hours. I would highly recommend these boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot

Date:January 28, 2015
Incredible boot!! Extremely warm, comfortable, light!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pac Boot

Date:January 27, 2015
Pac boots are very comfortable. Warmest boot I've ever bought! Good quality, and good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice and warm

Date:January 14, 2015
I purchased then for ice fishing and they do keep my feet warm. My feet are always the fist thing to get cold when sitting for hours on the ice. I have used them one time in 5 deg temperatures and my feet stayed warm for the 6 hours on the ice. they were a little more than I wanted to spend, but I would do it again. well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Boots Ever

Date:January 12, 2015
I have purchased many, many types of boots for my husband from Under Armour to Rocky with tons of grams of thinsulate and have never been able to find a pair to keep his feet warm during hunting until now. These are very nice, very warm boots!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:December 26, 2014
Great product. Nice and warm. I thought they would be clumsy as large as they are, but that's not the case. I wouldn't consider walking long distances in these boots, but they are great for short walks and long cold sits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome boots for bitter cold

Date:August 24, 2014
Bought these February 2014. Best purchase ever for low energy outdoor activities in the winter: e.g. Ice fishing, winter camping, late season muzzle loader, and winter festivals w/ beer tents, etc. I've got very poor circulation in my feet & have always had to call it in early due to cold feet in the winter even with other well respected brand pac boots w/ double wool socks. These boots are incredible at regulating temperate from the 1 or 2 mile hike to your hunting location, then sitting for hours in the snow, then hiking back out. I constantly get compliments on these boots when out ice fishing & especially at the local winter beer festivals where everyone else is freezing. These boots definitely give you a presence amongst your peers!
These boots are not ideal for long winter treks over technical terrain & are a little too big to fit my snowshoes (MSR Lightning Ascents); however, they are more than adequate in support & comfort in rolling hills thru the woods over several miles or so. I hiked 5 miles through 12" of fresh powder with these on & I'd say overall they did much better than any other boot I've owned without using a snowshoe thru similar conditions. I do warn you though, these boots are not meant to hike highly technical terrain where you need much stiffer ankle support from a mountaineering boot (i.e. mountains & steep ascents / descents).
Whenever I do winter camping, I bring these boots with me for base camp activities & lounging in the snow after XC skiing, snowshoeing, etc. I use the removable liners to keep my feet warm in my sleeping bag & also sleep w/ the moisture absorbing foot beds to them dry them out overnight; next morning, everything is dry even in the worst conditions & I have a nice warm pair of boots to come back to after another day of skiing & snowshoeing.
I initially purchased these two sizes larger than my usual size of hiking boots, but ended up downsizing them to only one size above my usual. The two sizes larger option were great for toe warmth while sitting for long periods, but after they broke in a bit, they fit too sloppy for walking more than a few hundred yards without tripping over my feet constantly. If you buy only 1 size larger, they'll feel too tight initially & your toes will feel a tad cramped; however, if you take a few good hikes & put about 5-10 miles on them, they'll start to break in perfectly with a snug enough fit to provide adequate support for walking, while also compacting the insulation in the toe box enough to not constrict circulation & provide plenty of wiggle room for warmth during extended sitting or standing.
I used to hate winter because of how limited I was during outdoor activities due to always getting cold feet within an hour or so. I'm actually looking forward to this coming winter & am already planning a few extended trips knowing that I'll no longer have to limit my outdoors time due to cold feet! I found with these boots, I'm usually the last man standing around the ice fishing hole & unexpectedly my whole body feels warmer due to having warm feet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Saved my feet

Date:March 12, 2014
I used these boots when snow machining up in alaska. Me and my buddies got stranded and had to spend the night under a spruce tree. Without these boots me feet would've definitely frozen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The real deal

Date:February 28, 2014
I have been ice fishing all my life,I have tried every type of boot out there.the only way i could even start to keep my feet warm was buying a boot two sizes larger and stuffing them with felt and socks.and even then would get cold.I purchased the trans alaska boots and my first time using them was 10 below ,spent 6 hours on the ice and they did work,I was warmer than i have ever been ice fishing.I can also say dont believe there is lots of room in them for thick socks,buy at least a size bigger,i wear 11 bought 12 and would buy 13 if i were doing it over,I like to wear multi pairs of socks inside,they are hard to put on ,you do need to put the liner on your foot first and then in the boot but not a big deal.also they say 3" under your foot but actually about an inch under the toe section but that is enough,they do what they are said to do.gave them a 4 i feel most any product has room for improvement and i would give 4.5 if i could.I also didnt find these hard to walk in at all,great boots really happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm boots, not waterproof

Date:February 20, 2014
I have used the boots about 10 times in 3 years for Ice Fishing. Feet were always warm, except when the Right boot leaks. It's a love hate relationship. I will take them back and test their return policy. I think it is reasonable to expect a cold weather boot to be waterproof above the ankle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good!

Date:February 19, 2014
So far these are the best boots I've ever owned, tho' to qualify that statement I've only wore them twice so far. All my life I've suffered from cold feet and have never (with 1 other exception) found anything that could keep my feet warm in the winter. Growing up in Vermont that was a problem let me tell you! :} Anyhoo, now here in Ohio I do a lot of tree cutting for firewood, and stomping around snowy/muddy/wet fields in the winter will chill ya to the bone! first time I wore these boots it was 27 degrees outside, so not arctic to be sure, but for the first time ever my feet did not get cold! Today it got up to 45 degrees and the field was nothing but mud & melting snow (cold water) up to my ankles, and again my feet did not get cold! I also love the fact that the liners has a space underneath for those "toe warmers" but I have not needed them yet! I would strongly recommend these boots! As others have posted the sizing runs nearly true; I wear a size 8 - 8.5 shoe, so I ordered the size 9 boots, & there is barely room for 2 pair of wool socks, so you may want to upsize a bit it possible. I really like the way these things lace up, easiest tie-up I've ever seen! The string closing off the top is also a nice touch. I intend on trying to order some replacement liners just in case. I intend to clean them off after each use & let them dry, & maybe order some waterproofing altho' these boots kept my feet dry all day today even tho' I was walking around in ankle deep cold water! Can't say enough good things about these boots, but will update this review if necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dis' boot's da bomb!

Date:February 15, 2014
Warm, comfortable and light for it's size. Doesn't weigh much more than my steel toe work boots. However, the sizing must loose something during the metric conversion. I wear a size 9e and ordered a size10 on the advice of the numerous reviews. I could bearly get my foot into the boot. A size 11 fit great, leaving some wiggle room for the little piggies. A tight boot, no matter how warm, will make for cold feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Boot

Date:February 14, 2014
Exceptionally warm. Ice fished for 7 hours with feet directly on the ice the whole time and my feet were as warm when I came in as when I started out. They were amazing! I wear a size 10 Sorel pac boot but needed to go to a size 11 in this line. Even that seemed slightly snug when new, but like other reviews said, they broke in to a very comfortable fit. Yes, they are not a hiking boot due to their size & weight but are excellent for outdoor snow-blowing, ice fishing, etc. "The" best performing cold weather boot I have worn in my 64 years, period!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good - really keeps feet warm

Date:January 27, 2014
I bought these to replace a competitors arctic pacs that turned brittle and fell apart in -15F temperatures. These are really warm and not too heavy. It takes a few strolls to get used to walking because of the size of them and the sole thickness. Really keep your feet warm. Traction could be a bit better but this could be because of the big footprint they have (less pounds per square inch). The heel pull tab is great when putting them on and I really like the speed laces and the gaither style top. One needs to tuck the laces into the top since they are long. I went one size up because on my half size and wide feet. No problems with them walking your socks off. Highly recommend them for subzero outside activity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The BEST BOOTS EVER !

Date:January 18, 2014
I just spent the entire day on the ice with warm feet.The best boots you can buy for cold weather.They are light on your feet and provide good support.
You won't be driving in these boots , so plan on wearing something easy to get off if you have to travel.Also my old ice cleats would not fit over the toe so I'll have to get new ones.A small inconvenience but well worth having comfort no matter how cold,or how long I stay out.
I would recommend these to anyone who doesn't want to end their day short because of frozen feet.
Thank you Cabelas for providing another awesome product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth It

Date:January 17, 2014
I purchased these boots for Ice Fishing in Wisconsin. I spend a lot of time on the ice, and since I have bought these boots my feet never get cold. I have been through 20 degrees to -15 degrees without the wind. I have walked through slush and no water ever penetrated through. The boots are a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Warm hunting boot

Date:January 4, 2014
Took these out in northern CT with temps in the teens, 5 inches of snow on the ground. I was only wearing a lighweight wicking sock and my feet were HOT.
I would highly recommend these boots for hunting/sitting.
I was coyote hunting and walking around between sets and my feet were very comfortable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Boot's

Date:December 24, 2013
I bought these last week and wore them out this morning for the first time Ice fishing , although it was 7 degree's F out and the wind was blowing after 4 hours my feet still felt like i had them propped up next to the fireplace they were nice and warm despite i only wore a pair of normal sock's . The only reason i am giving them a 5 is because the reviews don't offer a 6 to give them . God Bless and Merry Christmas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Trans-Alaska™ III Pac Boot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boots

Date:December 19, 2013
I have had these boots for a number of years Bought for ice fishing. I must say that in the years Ive owned them I have only "needed" them twice. During a cold Maine hunt temps hit -25. Not even my toe tips were cold. My foot is 9 1/2 to almost a 10 and 10 fit me good after using them a couple of times. Probably a good idea, as others mentioned, to get a size up from what you normally wear. Worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 201