Customer Reviews for NEW BALANCE New Balance® 978 Country Walkers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NEW BALANCE New Balance® 978 Country Walkers

A few clicks more aggressive than standard walkers, full-grain-leather 978s combine hiking-boot stability with walking-shoe comfort. Their trail-taming rollbars balance and stabilize your feet through each step, just like a pair of top-end hikers. Rock Stop plates shrug off abrasion from rocks and gravel. The Abzorb® heels and forefeet drastically reduce ground shock. Lightweight C-Cap® midsoles offer amazing flexibility. External heel counters lock in heels for rigid support. Waterproof, breathable GORE-TEX® liners. Dual-density-foam collars. Imported. Men's sizes: 7-15 D, EE and 4E widths. Half sizes to 12. Color: Brown.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
16 out of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Review 1 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor quality

Date:March 13, 2014
Have had these shoes about a year. Very comfortable and kept me dry but at about 1 year the front toe strip on one of the shoes near the front stitching began to tear an now these are useless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quality has declined.

Date:September 8, 2013
This is my second pair of 978's. The first pair lasted a full year and stayed water proof most of that first year. I bought the second pair in late spring of this year. The water proofing failed after only a couple of weeks of moderate use. After almost a month...not long...the outsole separated from the shoe without seeing any evident damage that could have caused the separation. I still trust Cabela's but will have to find something other than the New Balance to work with. This is far too common with offshore products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great pair of walkers

Date:August 13, 2013
they are very comfortable and fit great right out of the box. The price was very affordable. stylish and have gortex liners. Which are water proof for the life of the shoe. Would purchase another pair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Save your $$$

Date:July 22, 2013
I've been wearing New Balance tennis shoes for over 30 years. And I keep buying them because of the quality. I wish I could say the same about the 978 Country Walkers. They were a disappointment from the start. Upon lacing them up there were immediately wrinkles in the toe leather. Very unattractive. Within 6 weeks, the shoes would squish when walking where it was wet and within 2 more weeks the soles began to fall off. This is a very poor quality boot especially when you consider the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shoes. bad glue

Date:July 5, 2013
I think my first pair were 976 and they lasted two years carrying mail through all kinds of horrible weather and terrain. I am retired now and the rubber outer sole on my first pair of 978s
started coming loose on both heels in the center "see into the sole window". These were the most comfortable shoes I've ever had so I bought another pair and sent the bad ones to New Balance. They issued me a voucher for another pair. The second pair lasted less than a year when the black rubber sole started separating under the forefoot of the left shoe. I glued it back to the rock stop plate with contact cement. There are lots of miles left on these if the repair holds. The rock stop plate is hard but flexible - a real asset when walking on gravel or sharp rocks but that is where the rubber sole is attached and the glue fails. Since no other reviewers had this problem, maybe it was a bad batch and maybe the pair I haven't worn will hold up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

New Balance 978 Big Disapointment

Date:July 2, 2013
I'm a big fan of New Balance foot wear and was excited to pick up a pair of the 978's. Well first thing i noticed sizing was weird i normally wear a size 12 but they felt to big and very loose so i went with an 11.5 . I wore them around my house a few times to break them in but they never got better they are very uncomfortable . To be honest if they didn't get dirty i would have returned them. To top it off i saw them in a sale flyer for 5bucks less then i paid a week later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Shoes !

Date:June 25, 2013
I bought the New Balance shoes because I was familiar with the fit of the brand and because I wanted a water-proof shoe.
I got my chance to test them during a Spring down pour recently. I was walking in water up to the tops of the shoes and my feet were still dry - a strange but amazing feeling ! They fit just right and I can't wait for the weather to turn bad again to give them another test drive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very comfortable shoe by far.

Date:June 4, 2013
They are so comfortable that my back feels much better when I wear them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hikers

Date:May 14, 2013
I have had a lot of foot pain and a long history of foot trouble so I need very good shoes. I have two pair of 974's I wear at work and in the yard but wanted a little more ankle support for hiking.
Right after I got the 978's we went on a long trip back east. I walked for several hours a day at the Kentucky horse park on grass,gravel ,dirt and pavement. They felt great and kept my feet dry in the rain and mud. We then went to D.C. and pounded the pavement all day and on to Gettysburg where again we walked for hours on grass, gravel and concrete. I couldn't have asked for anything better. As with most New Balance footwear buy them a half size bigger than usual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great but run small

Date:May 14, 2013
The Country Walkers are great but I'm glad I noticed an earlier review suggesting the sizes ran small. I ordered a half size up but should have gone a full size. They are a bit snug, especially with heavier hiking socks. Otherwise, they are GREAT and I would buy them again....for sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comfortable and lightweight shoes.

Date:February 12, 2013
I like these shoes. They look good, comfortable and lightweight. Use not long until all happy. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2nd pair

Date:January 15, 2013
comfortable, good support, and well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2nd pair

Date:December 30, 2012
I have just purchased my 2nd pair of NB978s. The first pair is 2 years old purchased locally. I love em. Hoping this pair from Cabela's is just as comfortable and long lasting. Was going to purchase them at CabeIas Hoffman Estates but they didn't have my size. I noticed that the soles appear to be a little bit more rugged (not as flat, more lugs) so hoping that won't make a difference in wearability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wasted Money

Date:December 18, 2012
When I first got these shoes they were very uncomfortable. My mistake was thinking they would get better after awhile. Well after 3 months and at least 20 miles later they have to be the worst shoes I ever bought. Don't make the same mistake buy something else. WASTED MONEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shoes

Date:October 31, 2012
Was looking for a Gore Tex product to keep my feet dry. This one does that very well. Also great comfort. New Balance in my opinion runs a half size smaller than most other footwear. Cabela's had just about every size that anyone could want. I tried several on in the Hartford Conn. store. The help in the shoe dept were terrific, they came back promptly and smiling each time I asked to try a different size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comfortable boot

Date:October 2, 2012
havent tested water proof yet, little narrow but overall good boot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Ireland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

walking on air

Date:September 12, 2012
as always with cabelas perfect, great walkers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Balance 978 Country Walkers

Date:September 11, 2012
Probably the best shoes I ever had. Wear them all the time, shopping, walking in the woods, gathering firewood, fishing etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8500 mile walker

Date:September 7, 2012
From 2003 to 2010 I walked 8168 miles. Most of the miles were on unpaved,gravel dirt roads. The 978 Country Walker was the ONLY walking shoe that could handle the gravel, dirt and water. Since retiring in Feb. 2013 I have begun walking 18 holes of golf twice a week. These shoes can do anything!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for New Balance® 978 Country Walkers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

too short

Date:July 8, 2012
I had a pair of 974 new balance and loved them. I bought a pair of 978 and they hurt my toes. I tried wearing them and finally gave up. I should have returned them when they were new.Order them a size longer than the 974 or find another brand like I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25