Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks

CABELA'S Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks

Having cold feet in your waders can ruin any fishing or hunting trip. Keep your feet warm and comfortable all day long with Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks. D-cell batteries (not included) are worn on your belt or in a wader pouch. Low amperage eliminates possibility of shock. Made of high-quality 40% virgin wool, 40% acrylic and 20% stretch nylon. Wiring and connections are positioned to prevent rubbing and chafing. Mothproof and shrink resistant. Hand wash. Imported. Average Weight: 7.6 oz. Thickness: .25". Height: 14". Sizes: S (7 to 8), M (9 to 10), L (11 to 14). Color: Gray/Maroon.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.776 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
23
26 out of 58(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Review 1 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2006

Heated Wader Socks

By
Location: Minnesota
I was having a hard time keeping my feet warm while sitting in my stand late in the season. I thought I would try battery heated socks as opposed to those chemical pack heaters. I found that the battery heated socks actually provide more constant warmth than anything else I have tried. The only drawback is the somewhat bulky battery pack that houses two D-cell batteries. The wader socks offer a longer wire that allows you to put it in a pocket or on your belt out of the way. I think this is better since you can turn them on and off easier. Overall, these socks are effective at keeping your feet warm and dry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Battery Heated Wader Socks

By
Location: Seattle, Washington
This made a really nice birthday gift for my husband. Heated wader socks mada it a certainty that fishing in the chilly fall days of Washington stays fun for my husband
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Wader Socks Battery operated

By
Location: GILROY, CA
What can I say. The wader socks were suppose to be a Christmas gift for my nephew. Even at the age of 21, he still begs for his gifts early. Since he knew I ordered from Cabela's, he had to open one thing. this was only one of the one things he had to have NOW. So he got the whole kit & caboodle. All the socks, the shirts, the boots..ALL FROM CABELA'S..HE LOVES EVERYTIHNG. He is the happiest young man in America.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

Poor Performance

By
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Batteries run out quickly. The sock only work one or two times.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

Heating strip to small

By
I hunt in Michigan and it gets cold so I am always looking for ways to keep warm. I thought these would be the ticket. I used them once. The heating strip is so narrow it is rarely under your toes. It is hard to keep it positioned right. It is just one little wire that heats up. The main power cord rubs the inside of your ankle when walking. Just buy a pair of Supermag 1600 Cabelas waders and a good pair of wool socks (Cabelas ultimate cold wheather merino wool socks, over the calf, with some of the Cabelas white liner socks) you will be more comfortable and warmer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2006

Good idea, but could be improved

By
Location: Kent, WA (near Seattle)
I do a lot of cold weather fishing and one problem is that my toes get cold. Chemical heat pads don't work because they don't get enough oxygen in feet of the waders. These battery heated socks do work, but there is a lot of room for improvement. The D cell batteries are very bulky and heavy; I'd like to see a change to 9V batteries instead. An On/Off switch would also be nice, instead of having to unsnap the top cover, which allows the batteries to fall out. Some type of temperature control would also be useful. The socks never get "toasty warm" but just get warm enough to ward off the bone chilling cold. They work and solve a problem and I use them, but I'd sure like to see an improved version.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2007

Warm Happy Feet

By
Location: I work on the docks in Boston Ma.
I have had cold feet for years. I have warm happy feet now. I have bought three pair for other people with cold feet. When your feet get warm just unclip the battery cover on the belt clip. Life is now good again and I can play and work outside with out being cold. I love my electric socks they are the greatest. Inside the house they are nice warm and plush. I can barely feel the wire and I get no chaffing.
Warm Regards
Jmm3388
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2007

Cheap snap cover

By
Location: Rapic City SD
I like the socks except for the snap cover on the battery pack. I bought from Cabelas because I wanted the quality but I was disappointed. I have to use a rubber band to get a good connection. Other than that they work great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

Good Product

By
Location: Massachusetts
Have'nt tried in real cold weather
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Cold Feet!

By
Location: Massachusetts
I bought these socks for the 2007 New York Shotgun season for deer. I choose the boot model with the remote battery casse that attaches to your belt. The wiring seems to all be in good working order but I had expected to feel heat from the socks and was disappointed that the level of heat was so low.
In fact I am not sure if the little heat I felt when putting my hand in the sock wasn't due to my hand simply warming up because of the wool sock itself.
Regardless of this hand test I decided to try them in the field (and on my feet with batteries properly installed). Sitting for several hours (3-4) I did not feel that my feet were any warmer than they usually are when hunting in 25 - 30 degree temp. Truthfully I have been to lazy to bother complaining to Cabelas or to talk with any of there tech people. Maybe my socks are defective but I definitely would not recommend these socks for people that want to warm their feet more than an ordinary pair of wool socks will accomplish!
Louis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Not so good

By
Location: Baltimore, MD
I tried to use these probably 6 times before I gave up on them. They just won't keep my feet warm. I used brand new D-Cells and could feel a little heat, but not enough. They look to be built fine, but the sock portion is pretty low quality and doesn't fit my foot very well (too large) despite getting the size that is almost perfect for me (I'm a 9.5 and the mediums are supposed to be 9-10). The sock is a very loose knit, not sturdy like a hiking sock. Sometimes the small heating element area at the toe can be uncomfortable until you get it situated right in your boot. I wouldn't buy them again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Warm feet

By
Location: Lansing, Mi
My feet are always the first to get cold, when this happens my hunting is done. These have extended my hunting to all day. Dont wait until your feet get cold to snap the batteries in. By then it is to late. Only problem is they eat the batteries, so take an extra set. and use them sparingly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

great socks

By
Location: colorado springs, co.
I use these socks for winter motorcycling and ice fishing. Could not be happier. The belt height battery holder makes turning them on and off a snap!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2008

1 star

By
Location: alabama
do not heat very well and heater is on the bottom of feat. the top of my feat is what needs them the most!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

poor design

By
Location: Northern CA
only the toes heated so not good in bed, too lumpy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2008

Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks

By
I used Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks inside my military boot while in the field. They worked well at first but then my feet began to swet. Next time I am going to try a light polypro sock liner even though the directions state to put the sock on without any liner. Also, be sure bring extra batteries because the battery life with these socks is very short.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2008

Battery Heated Socks

By
Socks did not meet expectations---did not keep feet warm
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

Not for Skiing

By
Location: Rockies
A well-made sock which I am sure would be well used in snowmobiling or other type winter sports. However, as small as the wire is, it still interferes with comfort with the ski boot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2008

Battery Heated Wader Socks

By
Location: Upstate SC
Useless, the worst operating system possible. The battery holder requires manually holding the battery contacts to the wiring. Virtually no heat. Not a product I would buy again or recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Battery Heated Wader Socks
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

Not all they're cracked up to be

By
Location: California
Just took the chill off somewhat, not really all that warm, and this was in only 40 degree weather. I hesitate to see what happens in the snow. Didn't particularly like the wires in the sock either--isn't there some other way to do this? I wouldn't want to walk very far in them--best for stationary situations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 58