Customer Reviews for MERRELL Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers

MERRELL Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers

Don’t let a little weather interfere with your weekend plans. These classic hikers feature combination mesh and nubuck uppers backed with waterproof and breathable membranes to keep feet dry and comfortable, even when conditions get a little tough. Plus, the deep, multidirectional lugs and sticky-rubber outsoles deliver a sure, nonslip grip and trail-grabbing traction. External insteps and heel stability arms, along with protective rubber toecaps, guard against hazards on and off the trail. Inside the hikers, comfort reigns thanks to compression-molded EVA midsoles with air cushions for a soft, stable ride. Imported. Height: 6’’. Average weight: 2.1 lbs./pair. Color: Gunsmoke.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
29 out of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Review 1 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comfortable boots

Date:July 21, 2015
Super comfortable hiking boots. you can feel the difference between this brand and the others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boot

Date:July 19, 2015
These are a great hiking boot. I bought them for a scout camp that I attended with our troop and had no problems. I put 45 miles on them in one week and had absolutely no problems. Walked through dew, some puddles and a shallow stream and never felt any wetness. We hiked a lot of hills and rough terrain but not too many rocks and there not showing any wear as of yet. We will be putting on a lot more miles in the near future and I'm hoping they hold since they are very comfortable. The sizes do seem to run a little small. I normally wear a size 10 1/2 but needed an 11 to fit me comfortably.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Comfortable, but not durable

Date:June 19, 2015
Based on my prior experience with Merrell boots and the comfort of the Yakotas, buying them seemed like a no-brainer. I do most of my hiking on the A.T. in Pa., which is notoriously rocky, but the soles on these boots self-destructed after only about 50 miles. I lost one 'lug' off each boot heel (the same one on both boots) and the yellow part of the tread started to split and break off. This exposed the soft gray rubber part under it which makes sharp rocks quite painful to walk on. I would probably recommend these boots to someone who's hiking is done on softer surfaces, but not for rocks. FWIW, I didn't give up on Merrell and just bought a pair of waterproof Moabs.... hoping for better durability.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good shoes

Date:June 9, 2015
comfortable and tough enough for any where you go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mesh and rivets

Date:February 28, 2015
The mess top leaks, walking through morning dew, you'll feel it. Otherwise, a good all purpose all season boot. I've owned for about 7 month and the rivets on both boots pulled through the material (securing hooks for the top of the lacing). You can either take it into a boot shop to fix, or rip the rest off and treat the holes as top lacing holes now. Comfortable. I've had other brands that last 7+ years with no material breaking, just can't take the smell anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst boots I have bought

Date:January 20, 2015
Went through 2 pairs in a month! When I laced up my boots the clip that holds the shoelace came off twice! Will never by that brand again! I returned them and got a pair of cabelas hiking boots. and I love them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very comfortable

Date:January 5, 2015
Very comfortable, Just purchased so not sure on durability yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comfy

Date:December 9, 2014
great fit comfy and nice and light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nicely done Merrell

Date:November 19, 2014
live in the high Sierra, hike all sorts of conditions- good shoes, only gripe- too low
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not waterproof at all

Date:November 19, 2014
Against a friend's advice, I purchased these boots to use during bow season. He told me to spend the extra money and get the Gortex Merells like his instead. But I didn't. The first time I wore these to bowhunt, I had to walk about 400 yards thru wet grass to get to the stand. By the time I got there, both feet were SOAKED. I wish I had listened to my friend, so please listen to me. BUY THE GORTEX INSTEAD!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY GOOD PURCHASE

Date:October 21, 2014
THESE SHOES ARE A GREAT FIT ON MY FOOT AND I HAVE WIDE FEET. THEY ARE VERY COMFORTABLE AND KEEP MY FEET WARM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hiking boots

Date:October 10, 2014
Bought these boots because I have another different pair of Merrell hiking boots and wanted another pair to take out hunting in Wyoming. These boots required no "break in" period for me. Hiked in them several days hunting Mule deer up and down the mountains with no problems. Very comfortable, like a running show. Great Product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hiking boots ever owned

Date:September 30, 2014
First day I put them on, did a 7 mike hike in the ElkHorns, very difficult trail, and even though my legs were burning, my feet never felt better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good boots

Date:September 24, 2014
lightweight, great support, comfortable, no break in required, reasonably priced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NOT QUITE WATERPROOF BUT NICE

Date:June 23, 2014
they fit my foot well, the Keens did not. These merrells are comfortable, suitable for off trail due to fairly stiif soles, and look well made (I had them for a month only).
BUT, I wish thery were GoreTex (or somehing like DryPlus)-because the are not really waterproof; more like water resisitant. In my hike I stepped in a creek-and they stayed dry, BUT later that day I walked through wet grass and my foot (not both feet, only one) got WET. addmittedly, walking through wet grass is a hard test. but hey,.. Now I used a couple of different sprays and i hope that will do the trick. There is that mesh on top in front, it is two small circles of mesh that are the problem, the leather, rubber above the soles are fine.
Other than that I really like the boots, I would buy them again. I just wish Merrell outsourced a better waterproof material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Pair of Shoes I've purchased yet

Date:April 23, 2014
I've always worn non-lace up work boots but walk typically 20-30 miles a week with a new job so I decided to purchase these. These shoes are amazing for the walking that I do and recommend them to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very comfortable

Date:April 9, 2014
I've owned Merrell shoes/boots for years and have always been impressed with their quality, customer service and fit. These are solid, comfortable and have great support. Kudos Merrell!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boots

Date:April 8, 2014
I needed a lite weight pair of boots for hiking and working in the yard. These really fit the ticket. I've worn them numerous times all day and they are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:March 4, 2014
These are the most comfortable boots I have ever worn. They have kept my toes toasty warm and dry in these negative degree temps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Play it again, Merrell

Date:March 4, 2014
This is my 5th pair of Merrell boots and like all of them, they are extremely comfortable, durable and grippy. I have yet to retire a pair, they just keep going if you take good care of them. When they are on sale, they are a 5 star product, at regular prices I'd give them 4, only for being a bit on the pricey side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35