Customer Reviews for MERRELL Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers

MERRELL Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers

Don’t let a little weather interfere with your weekend plans. These classic hikers feature combination mesh and nubuck uppers backed with waterproof and breathable membranes to keep feet dry and comfortable, even when conditions get a little tough. Plus, the deep, multidirectional lugs and sticky-rubber outsoles deliver a sure, nonslip grip and trail-grabbing traction. External insteps and heel stability arms, along with protective rubber toecaps, guard against hazards on and off the trail. Inside the hikers, comfort reigns thanks to compression-molded EVA midsoles with air cushions for a soft, stable ride. Imported. Height: 6’’. Average weight: 2.1 lbs./pair. Color: Gunsmoke.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
36 out of 45(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Review 1 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2016

Shoes

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Shoe fits well comfortable to wear and very sturdy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
True to width
True to width
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Good support
Good support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 2 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2016

Not waterproof at all

By
Good shoe but "waterproof" it is not, wet grass and in 5min you are soaked right through
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
A little narrow
A little narrow
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Average support
Average support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 3 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2016

shoes

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Not at all waterproof.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
True to width
True to width
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Average support
Average support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 4 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2016

Great walking/hiking shoes

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Merrell's Yokota Hikers are very comfortable and supportive for an all around walking / hiking shoe. I rated them a "4" because they are only sold in a D width. I purchased a pair that was 1/2 size larger than my regular shoes and they fit fairly well with medium weight socks. They are waterproof as marked and sold because I was sloshing around in wet snow behind my snow blower and my feet were perfectly dry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
A little narrow
A little narrow
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Great support
Great support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 5 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2016

great boots, great price

By
State: New York
Gender: Male
very comfy, light weight,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
True to width
True to width
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Good support
Good support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 6 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2016

No Good... Ratty after almost a year...

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased these shoes around a year ago. I am wearing them right now as I type this, just because they are the only pair of hiking boots I have and it was raining today. I thought they would be good for days like today.... My feet are soaked. Along with that is the fact that the shoes seams are completely falling apart at the front inside of the toe where the leather and rubber meet. There is a 3" long gaping hole from the seam splitting and the threads just coming loose. The heel of the right shoe has completely worn a hole through to the outer layer. I noticed both of these problems starting to appear last fall. I am the type that likes to wear a shoe completely out before moving on to a new pair and I expect to get at least a couple years out of a shoe like this one. I don't honestly believe that I got a full 6 months out of these until they started unraveling... I am not impressed with the tread wear either. I use these shoes on average 3-4 times a week for light construction and hiking. I'll stay away from Merrils in the future...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Fit Survey Review
Size
True to size
True to size
Runs smallTrue to sizeRuns large
Width
True to width
True to width
Runs narrowTrue to widthRuns wide
Arch Support
Average support
Average support
No supportAverage supportGreat support
Review 7 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

best purchase ever

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great fit, comfortable and no break in .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Great Shoe

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I love the feel of these boots,they wear like tennis shoes while keeping my feet dry. Will purchase more Merrel boots in the future
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015

Excellent choice

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great support and sole cushioning. I have been using these to get in shape for my fall elk hunt. I am impressed with the lacing and side support.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2015

Very Comfortable Hikers

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I tried on several boots from different manufacturers. I have wide feet, and these Merrell's fit the best. I've owned them since the beginning of July, and they've broken in nice. I never experienced any blistering or discomfort at all during that break-in period. These boots are worth serious consideration when deciding what to buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Comfortable boots

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Super comfortable hiking boots. you can feel the difference between this brand and the others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2015

Great Boot

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These are a great hiking boot. I bought them for a scout camp that I attended with our troop and had no problems. I put 45 miles on them in one week and had absolutely no problems. Walked through dew, some puddles and a shallow stream and never felt any wetness. We hiked a lot of hills and rough terrain but not too many rocks and there not showing any wear as of yet. We will be putting on a lot more miles in the near future and I'm hoping they hold since they are very comfortable. The sizes do seem to run a little small. I normally wear a size 10 1/2 but needed an 11 to fit me comfortably.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2015

Comfortable, but not durable

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Based on my prior experience with Merrell boots and the comfort of the Yakotas, buying them seemed like a no-brainer. I do most of my hiking on the A.T. in Pa., which is notoriously rocky, but the soles on these boots self-destructed after only about 50 miles. I lost one 'lug' off each boot heel (the same one on both boots) and the yellow part of the tread started to split and break off. This exposed the soft gray rubber part under it which makes sharp rocks quite painful to walk on. I would probably recommend these boots to someone who's hiking is done on softer surfaces, but not for rocks. FWIW, I didn't give up on Merrell and just bought a pair of waterproof Moabs.... hoping for better durability.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2015

good shoes

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
comfortable and tough enough for any where you go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2015

Mesh and rivets

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The mess top leaks, walking through morning dew, you'll feel it. Otherwise, a good all purpose all season boot. I've owned for about 7 month and the rivets on both boots pulled through the material (securing hooks for the top of the lacing). You can either take it into a boot shop to fix, or rip the rest off and treat the holes as top lacing holes now. Comfortable. I've had other brands that last 7+ years with no material breaking, just can't take the smell anymore.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Worst boots I have bought

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Went through 2 pairs in a month! When I laced up my boots the clip that holds the shoelace came off twice! Will never by that brand again! I returned them and got a pair of cabelas hiking boots. and I love them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2015

Very comfortable

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very comfortable, Just purchased so not sure on durability yet
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

comfy

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
great fit comfy and nice and light
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2014

nicely done Merrell

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
live in the high Sierra, hike all sorts of conditions- good shoes, only gripe- too low
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Merrell® Yokota WP Mid Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2014

Not waterproof at all

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Against a friend's advice, I purchased these boots to use during bow season. He told me to spend the extra money and get the Gortex Merells like his instead. But I didn't. The first time I wore these to bowhunt, I had to walk about 400 yards thru wet grass to get to the stand. By the time I got there, both feet were SOAKED. I wish I had listened to my friend, so please listen to me. BUY THE GORTEX INSTEAD!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 45