Customer Reviews for New Balance New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

New Balance New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots

These hikers keep feet on easy street with features like the advanced-protecting waterproof GORE-TEX® XCR®. Rock Stop® in the forefeet protects from sharp rocks and debris. Dual-density midsoles use a soft density foam for cushioning and a firmer foam for support. Multidirectional traction Vibram® outsoles provide maximum surface contact. Lightweight and breathable suede uppers with feet-cooling mesh. Gusseted tongues. Imported.Height: 5.5".Average weight: 3.2 lbs./pair.Men's sizes: 7-14 D width; 9-14 EE and 4E widths. Half sizes to 12.Color: Brown.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Review 1 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Up To New Balance Standards

Date:January 21, 2012
This hiking boot was a major disappointment, it took weeks of wearing to break in one boot that kept on digging into my leg. A lace hook broke during an off trail hike which now makes that boot awkward to lace up. The arch in one boot does not line up with the arch in my foot and causes great discomfort in my heel, I have never experienced this before. I would have returned the boots right away but I did not use them until 4 months after the purchase. I Do not recommend this New Balance product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Recommended

Date:September 2, 2011
Comfortable boots, however, after wearing them for 6 months one of the top lace hooks popped off, makes it real difficult to properly tie the boot. Rather irritating since they are still in good shape and have not been able to find a shoe repair place to fix them. For this kind of money I will stick with Keen or try a pair of Merrell’s next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: quincy ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Balance 1201 hiking boots

Date:August 25, 2010
Happy! comfortable,sturdy scree danc'n athletic hiker.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shoe........... But

Date:August 14, 2010
Overall a great shoe! Great traction, support, construction and comfortable......... Once you break them in. Out of the box they are really stiff and uncomfortable. Very Un- New Blanace like. They take a while to break in but after that they feel great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penns Woods
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WIDE!

Date:June 23, 2010
I'm a fan of New Balance... wear the Model 622 "Cross Trainers" in EE width to work every day!
BE AWARE THOUGH... if you wear a EE in New Balance athletic shoes, you're gonna need a EEEE in these boots!
(NB does not make their hiking boots on the same lasts as the athletic shoes and the hiking boots run much narrower over all.)
I recently bought these 1201 boots in a EEEE width and they work just fine! Even my custom orthotics for plantar fasciitis fit very well in them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hiking Boots

Date:August 24, 2009
Very comfortable right out of the box. Just got back from a hike at Mt. Lassen NP and the boots performed very satisfactorily. Very comfortable, no tight spots, no blisters, good traction on rock and loose dirt. I like them and am glad I chose them. It's hard to find good hiking boots in a wide size, I really lucked out with these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boots, will buy them again

Date:August 4, 2009
I purchased these boots to replace a pair of Vasque Sundowners that I had for 10 years. I was looking for a somewhat lighter weight boot that I could take with me to Alaska for a week of day hiking. These boots worked great in the very wet tundra conditions. These boots run narrow, which is perfect for my foot, but take caution if you don't have a narrow foot. My only complaint is that these boots are somewhat difficult to clean up after a muddy hike.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Balance 1201 Hiking Boots

Date:July 19, 2009
This is a good shoe, but it takes several weeks of wear to break-in. The Vibram bottom does a great job protecting foot from sharp rocks or using a shovel. If you don't mind the extended break-in process, this is an excellent shoe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEW BALANCE 1201 HIKING BOOTS

Date:June 26, 2009
EXCELLENT QUALITY,REASONABLEY PRICED.
WAS ABLE TO WEAR IMMEDIATELY AND BRAKE IN PERIOD WAS NOT LONG.
I HAVE BAD FEET AND MY PODIATRIST TOLD ME TO BUY HIGH QUALITY SHOES.
THESE HAVE WORKED GREAT FOR HIKING,HUNTING,OR AROUND TOWN.
GREAT ANKLE SUPPORT.
WOULD RECCOMEND TO MY FRIENDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boots

Date:May 4, 2009
Great boots. Took a couple of weeks to break in. Haven't had them out in real wet weather yet but heavy dew didn't soak through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ok but there must be better

Date:April 20, 2009
boots are stiff and moderately uncomfortable, good waterproofness
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Culver, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:March 24, 2009
I've worn New Balance running shoes for about 25 years. I felt sure of the quality in buying these hikers. They are sturdy. I can say that. There 2 qualities that fall short though. First is the comfort. In the past,I've continued to buy New Balance because they felt like part of my feet nearly right from the first time I would lace them on. These feel too rigid even after about 20 miles in them. I hope with enough use, some day they might start to come around. Second, the waterproof claim is not completely accurate. They are very water resistant, but water will begin to seep in at the creases that are formed when the shoe bends. There are 2 other details I'm less than happy about. After the first outing, the right shoe developed a snapping noise with each step. Also, the Vibram sole, which is very durable, is not the best in terms of grip on wet rock. None of these complaints are bad enough to make me want to return them. It's just that I had hoped these would be just as good as the running shoes I've come to appreciate all these years. But they fall short of satisfying. When these wear out, I'll be looking at others instead of this one to replace them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

newbalance boots

Date:March 23, 2009
they fit well and were comfortable from day one. No break in needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: centrl pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hike or work

Date:February 10, 2009
So far the best lightweight boots for hiking or construction work. Especially the fact that they come in 4E. Was looking for the New Balance winter sneaker that was insulated and waterproof but was not able to find. This new model will last a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance? 1201 Hiking Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NW New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Know what you need...

Date:January 15, 2009
You want waterproof, this has is it. You want a warm light hiker, this will work. However if you want a everyday rugged boot, this may not be it. My main issue is the heel cushioning. I bought this boot hoping for New Balance comfort, and I have to say I'm a bit disappointed. But, add a few sole inserts and these boots should be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.