Customer Reviews for Danner Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Danner Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots

The legendary performance of Danner is combined with the ease of a side-zip with this Cabela's-exclusive version of the Pronghorn. The CamoHide? full-grain leather really offers the best in terms of durability, function and comfort. The side zipper is ergonomically designed to follow the natural curve of the foot down from the shin bone and around the ankle joint. By sewing the zipper in a curve, Danner has eliminated the pinching and tight feel normally associated with a side-zip boot. To match that comfort under the foot, the Terra Force? technology takes over. The platform of the boot feels wider since the upper is stitched through insole plate. An internal shank keeps your arch from being overworked and fatigued. The soft, cushy feel comes from the lightweight polyurethane midsole. The external nylon shank provides an extra measure of stability and the outsole has been engineered for the maximum amount of traction in all types of weather. Not that you'll worry about weather with the Pronghorn. A GORE-TEX? lining is waterproof against any type of moisture including snow, rain and standing puddles. It's also breathable, to keep your foot from overheating. The warmth is provided by 600-gram Thinsulate? Ultra Insulation. Height: 8". Average weight: 3.6 lbs./pair. Color: Brown. Sizes: 8-14 D, 8-13 EE widths. Half sizes to 12.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
48 out of 55(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Review 1 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A Miss For Danner

Date:July 6, 2009
I have been wearing a pair of original Danner Pronghorns for years, and love them. I liked them so much that I bought a pair for my dad and son, (who had just started hunting with me). They are light, comfortable, and can be used "right out of the box" with no break in. I thought that the Pronghorn GTX side-zips would be the same way. I was really intrigued with the zip concept, as to avoid the time lacing boots in the dark and cold. Unfortunately the design does not work well. The zipper catches on the waterproof backing, and makes it almost impossible to zip them down. I will still buy Danner, but stick with the more traditional designs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: nc
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misinformed

Date:February 5, 2009
I have one ankle fused,so I thought thyese boots would work for me. they do not open wide enough for me to get my foot in. The placement of the zipper is worthless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Saint James, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Side zippers?

Date:November 18, 2008
I have been a Danner purchaser for 15 years. I thought I would give these boots a try because of the decent price and the full leather. The concept of saving time in putting my boots on and off was not appealing to me so the side zipper was not the reason for the purchase. In the future, the side zipper option will be the reason NOT to purchase. I wore them for one weekend of bow hunting and had bruises on the side of my lower legs for a week. The zipper is not comfortable and really does not make it easier to take the boot on and off. It also looks as though it will brake over time. Why not a good solid metal zipper instead of the plastic flimsy ones?
I returned the boots and am sticking with the full leather and vibram soles on the Danner Frontier - no side zipper. Some things are better left alone....zippers are for pants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

boots

Date:September 23, 2008
too hard to get on,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Dallas, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Danner Pronghorn GTX Hunting Boots

Date:July 7, 2009
The construction of the boots was excellent. Unfortunately getting into the boots by just unzipping them was impossible - the true advantage to a boot like this is you can get them laced right and then use the zipper to get in and out of them quickly and easily - just not the case with this boot. Too bad because everything else about the boots seemed excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Falls Church, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Danner Pronghorn GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots

Date:December 23, 2008
Boots have a neat side zipper feature, presumably to make them easier to get on and off. Despite this, they are VERY HARD to get on and off. And the flap just inside the zipper top tends to hurt your leg. Laces aren't long enough and require going through eyelets to lace up - no "speed lacing" feature. Once you get the boots on, assuming I remember to bend the flap back, they seem fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Okay Boot

Date:December 20, 2008
I purchased these boots because of the 600gram, all leather, price and they were Danner.
For the good, they kept my feet warm, dry and my feet felt great after walking all day.
The bad, I had trouble with the zipper. The boots tend to bunch and rub my upper ankle. The zipper is definitely not worth it, since you still have to unlace the boots to get your feet in and out of them.
Overall I would not repurchase these boots, but I would purchase another pair of Pronghorns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Pair

Date:September 30, 2008
These are my first pair of Danner boots. I've heard all of the hype and finally decided to try a pair because of the sale price. For the money these are a great comfortable pair of hunting boots. The only thing I was disappointed in was how bulky they are. I was expecting them to be a lower profile boot but these are a little too bulky for what I purchased them for.
The zipper on the side does help alot when putting the boots on and off. I did however have trouble with the zipper snagging the first few times I wore them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

import boots

Date:September 22, 2008
for imported boots they are ok. Side zipper is no help still have to untie laces to get boots off. Spend the extra money & get american made. I thought they were since they were Danner. I was mistaken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Danner Pronghorn GTX 600 Boots (Zipper on Side)

Date:August 31, 2008
Ordered a pair of these for an upcoming elk hunt in Colorado this October. Boots are nice and light, of quality leather, and felt comfortable when I put them on. However, the zipper is of nylon and does not appear to be that sturdy. I tried them on, wearing a Cabela's liner sock and medium weight Outfitter wool sock. They seemed sized a little large (for me anyway), my foot slid a little in the heels. I knew they would get looser when broken in and the terrain got tougher than my living room, and would cause blisters. Based upon the sizing issue, and my lack of confidence in the zipper being able to withstand the rigors of an elk hunt, I returned them and bought a pair of the Whitetail Extreme boots instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Danner Pronghorn GTX 600 gram

Date:September 13, 2009
The boot is well built. It scuffs easy (all leather) and after 3 miles of walking gets heavy. I belive this boot will out last the Cabelas brand boots I wore out last hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Danner Pronghorn good boot for the money

Date:March 30, 2009
These boots are very comfortable, I have only had them for about a month but I have put them through allot of water and the Gortex works very well. The downfall of the boot is that the zipper is a little tough to unzip and they are kind of tight so you can't really take them off just by unzipping them. I do like the fact that the laces have eyelets all the way up because they don't loosen up as you walk. I packed my 35 pound baby up a two mile trail that goes up about 1500 ft over the two miles and never had a slip on the way up or down, so I would definitely recommend these boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MARGRETVILLE N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Richie555 Margretville N.Y.

Date:December 27, 2008
these boots kept my feet warm and dry in zero windchills in upstate N. Y. THE only thing is the top of the boots scuff very quickly and get the wide width .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hammond, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good boot

Date:December 15, 2008
These boots have a short breakin period. They are warm and comfortable. The only thing I do not like is that they lace all the way to the top. Even with the zipper, I have to undo the laces.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boot

Date:December 1, 2008
These boots are very comfortable, I wore them about a week before their first hunting trip and my feet heve never gotten sore. The ONLY thing I don't like is the extra bulk from the zipper can rub your leg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: west liberty,ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Danner Boots

Date:December 1, 2008
These boots are very good boots there the only boots I've not had to break in . As far as the zippper it is hard to get your shoes on and off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: altoona pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hunter

Date:November 18, 2008
i like the boots they are light weigh easy on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Napa, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice boot, but the zipper...?

Date:September 8, 2008
Very comfortable boot from the first wearing to now, but getting them on even with the zipper open all of the way takes a moment. You grunt and push and grab the loop and you're in, not the easiest boot to put on but they are comfortable. The fiberglass shank adds a lot of stability on rocky terrain and is a good work boot so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South Bend, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boot after several day break in period.

Date:February 1, 2008
There a tight fitting boot for the 1st few days but after break in period GREAT boot. I'm a police officer and they are holding up to the Danner name. Thanks Danner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danner® Pronghorn™ GTX 600-Gram Hunting Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clarkdale, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Danner Pronghorn GTX 600-Gram Hunting boots

Date:September 16, 2009
I wore these boots recently on a caribou hunt in Northern Quebec and was very pleased with their comfort, and the fact that they also kept my feet dry. We encountered bogs, rain, snow and high winds. I would definitley recommend them for cold, wet wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55