Customer Reviews for OBENAUF'S Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.

OBENAUF'S Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.

Originally developed for the severe conditions endured by wildland firefighters, Obenauf’s LP protects, preserves, restores and adds water repellency to many types of leather. The beeswax/propolis suspension formula provides a time-release lubrication to inner fibers while the leather’s surface is reinforced against scuffing and remains breathable. The formula contains no harmful silicone, petroleum or solvents, and is odorless after applied. Goes on easily with a clean cloth. Made in USA. Net weight: 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Review 41 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009

The best for leather care

By
Location: Cumming, GA
This is the best preservative on the market. Its all natural and provides great protection for your leather boots. It will keep the leather in great condition, add waterproofing, and will not change the color of the leather.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008

Great Stuff

By
Location: Redlands, California
After using the leather renewer on my hunting boots, I treated my work boots that are constantly in water and mud. They were pretty worn and scuffed but the leather came back like new. Even the original finish came through the scuffing. These Cabelas work boots will last a long time now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

Great Stuff!

By
Location: Salem, IN
I rubbed it in by hand and it really changed the look of my meindls. I like the way it looks and it took the "squeak" out!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2008

Excellent on Mountaineering Boots!

By
Location: Red Lodge, MT
Obenauf's Heavy Duty LP is a great product. Apply it to your boots when they're new and then twice a year thereafter for good leather appearance, protection, and performance. I invested $200 in pair of quality mountaineering boots (from Cabelas - made by Meindl) and treated them right out of the box with Obenauf's. They now have two years of rigorous back country, high elevation backpacking and climbing trips on them and after just applying another coat of Obenaufs (two cloats actually) they look like new - save a few superficial granite cuts that only kevlar or steel would have resisted.
There's nothing like a new looking fresh smelling pair of leather mountaineering boots to inspire another good hike. Headed out tonight so gtg. Try Obenauf's. Apply according to directions included, melt with your hands or a hair dryer so it permeates the leather. You'll like it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2008

Good Product

By
Location: Lincoln, NE
It did a great job of treating and preserving my five year old hunting boots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2008

Effective Waterproofing...

By
Location: West Virginia
Highly recommended, try warming with hair dryer per product instructions for best application. Used on chemical plant work boots under nearly constant wet conditions to good effect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

Leather Boots Care

By
Location: Savannah, Ga
Quality product and an exceptional value! I used it on my quail hunting boots and now they look like they are brand new!
Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2008

Heavy Duty Leather Preservative

By
Location: Nimbus from Wi
I've been very happy with this product and its companion, the Leather Oil Preservative. I use the oil version first--let soak in overnight and follow up with heavy duty the next day; and I'm "good to go" for another 3 or 4 months. I warm this stuff in the microwave about 30 seconds to soften first and finger apply. A little goes a long way--4 oz jar lasts me couple years. Many uses--I even use this on my Cabela's unlined Canadian Moccasins with no discoloration. Works so good for me, I'm afraid to try any other. Product made in Idaho, USA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2007

Leather Conditioner

By
Easy to use. Gives leather a nice color. Very good water repelling product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015

Good Stuff But Not Impressed

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
They make my leather shoes look good but if they are not designed to be waterproof this stuff isn't going to make them waterproof. A bit on pricey side so honestly if I was looking for some kind of leather wax I would probably just buy it from local chain at half the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013

excellent product

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Darkened my rough leather boots a few shades but definitely conditioned and protected them great. Softened them up and covered scuffs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Obenauf's 4oz

By
Location: Minnesota
Easy to apply, but a little messy using bare hands.
Worked well on removing and keep off salt stains.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009

Good to go!

By
Location: American West
I bought this for my Gore-Tex boots because it is listed as Gore-Tex approved. It goes on easy. At first it really darkened the leather and the boot looked almost greasy for a day or two (it looked as though I had used lots of neats foot oil on the boot), but then it went back to its normal look if only slightly darker. It finally rained around here and I wore the boots that day. I could tell that the boot could breathe and that the leather was much softer and it seemed renewed. I like the product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009

good stuff

By
Location: glenrock wy
put some on my boots,but have'nt been in any moisture yet
to know how good it works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Bad product

By
Location: Rochester, Washington
Gender: Male
I bought this product to waterproof my hiking boots thinking it was the best product available but it is possibly the worst waterproofing product I have ever used. I worked out in the Olympic rain Forrest last summer and although it didn't rain everyday there was condensation and dew on the vegetation each morning that would get my boots wet and I used this product to make them waterproof. Unfortunately this product did absolutely nothing to waterproof my boots. Within the first hour each morning my boots would be completely soaked to the point of making "squishing" sounds as I took each step.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-55 of 55