Customer Reviews for OBENAUF'S Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.

OBENAUF'S Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.

Originally developed for the severe conditions endured by wildland firefighters, Obenauf’s LP protects, preserves, restores and adds water repellency to many types of leather. The beeswax/propolis suspension formula provides a time-release lubrication to inner fibers while the leather’s surface is reinforced against scuffing and remains breathable. The formula contains no harmful silicone, petroleum or solvents, and is odorless after applied. Goes on easily with a clean cloth. Made in USA. Net weight: 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Review 41 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cumming, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best for leather care

Date:January 5, 2009
This is the best preservative on the market. Its all natural and provides great protection for your leather boots. It will keep the leather in great condition, add waterproofing, and will not change the color of the leather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redlands, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff

Date:November 4, 2008
After using the leather renewer on my hunting boots, I treated my work boots that are constantly in water and mud. They were pretty worn and scuffed but the leather came back like new. Even the original finish came through the scuffing. These Cabelas work boots will last a long time now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salem, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff!

Date:September 23, 2008
I rubbed it in by hand and it really changed the look of my meindls. I like the way it looks and it took the "squeak" out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Red Lodge, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent on Mountaineering Boots!

Date:September 6, 2008
Obenauf's Heavy Duty LP is a great product. Apply it to your boots when they're new and then twice a year thereafter for good leather appearance, protection, and performance. I invested $200 in pair of quality mountaineering boots (from Cabelas - made by Meindl) and treated them right out of the box with Obenauf's. They now have two years of rigorous back country, high elevation backpacking and climbing trips on them and after just applying another coat of Obenaufs (two cloats actually) they look like new - save a few superficial granite cuts that only kevlar or steel would have resisted.
There's nothing like a new looking fresh smelling pair of leather mountaineering boots to inspire another good hike. Headed out tonight so gtg. Try Obenauf's. Apply according to directions included, melt with your hands or a hair dryer so it permeates the leather. You'll like it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:June 24, 2008
It did a great job of treating and preserving my five year old hunting boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Effective Waterproofing...

Date:June 6, 2008
Highly recommended, try warming with hair dryer per product instructions for best application. Used on chemical plant work boots under nearly constant wet conditions to good effect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Savannah, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leather Boots Care

Date:April 7, 2008
Quality product and an exceptional value! I used it on my quail hunting boots and now they look like they are brand new!
Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nimbus from Wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Heavy Duty Leather Preservative

Date:February 21, 2008
I've been very happy with this product and its companion, the Leather Oil Preservative. I use the oil version first--let soak in overnight and follow up with heavy duty the next day; and I'm "good to go" for another 3 or 4 months. I warm this stuff in the microwave about 30 seconds to soften first and finger apply. A little goes a long way--4 oz jar lasts me couple years. Many uses--I even use this on my Cabela's unlined Canadian Moccasins with no discoloration. Works so good for me, I'm afraid to try any other. Product made in Idaho, USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leather Conditioner

Date:August 20, 2007
Easy to use. Gives leather a nice color. Very good water repelling product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff But Not Impressed

Date:April 14, 2015
They make my leather shoes look good but if they are not designed to be waterproof this stuff isn't going to make them waterproof. A bit on pricey side so honestly if I was looking for some kind of leather wax I would probably just buy it from local chain at half the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:July 9, 2013
Darkened my rough leather boots a few shades but definitely conditioned and protected them great. Softened them up and covered scuffs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Obenauf's 4oz

Date:February 15, 2010
Easy to apply, but a little messy using bare hands.
Worked well on removing and keep off salt stains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: American West
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good to go!

Date:October 1, 2009
I bought this for my Gore-Tex boots because it is listed as Gore-Tex approved. It goes on easy. At first it really darkened the leather and the boot looked almost greasy for a day or two (it looked as though I had used lots of neats foot oil on the boot), but then it went back to its normal look if only slightly darker. It finally rained around here and I wore the boots that day. I could tell that the boot could breathe and that the leather was much softer and it seemed renewed. I like the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: glenrock wy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:March 3, 2009
put some on my boots,but have'nt been in any moisture yet
to know how good it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Obenauf's Heavy-Duty Leather Preservative – 4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rochester, Washington
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad product

Date:January 6, 2011
I bought this product to waterproof my hiking boots thinking it was the best product available but it is possibly the worst waterproofing product I have ever used. I worked out in the Olympic rain Forrest last summer and although it didn't rain everyday there was condensation and dew on the vegetation each morning that would get my boots wet and I used this product to make them waterproof. Unfortunately this product did absolutely nothing to waterproof my boots. Within the first hour each morning my boots would be completely soaked to the point of making "squishing" sounds as I took each step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-55 of 55