Customer Reviews for MERRELL Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers

MERRELL Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers

If your idea of multitasking involves running meadows and scaling mountains while laughing in the face of bad weather, Merrell's Reflexes are for you. Their mid-high-top design stabilizes your ankles so you can confidently explore any terrain. A fully waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® lining keeps out all forms of moisture while allowing your perspiration vapor to escape for optimum comfort. The waterproof nubuck leather/pigskin uppers are bolstered by Benecke Ceraprene® toe bumpers for extra durability and protection. 4.5mm anatomical footbeds conform to the shape of your foot, and Air Cushion® midsoles offer superior cushioning. And because rugged terrain requires extra support, Merrell has added microinjection external heel counters, injection-molded shank supports and compression-molded EVA footframes. Reflex® outsole promotes both uphill and downhill safety and support on most any surface. Imported. Height: 6". Average weight: 2.6 lbs./pair. Colors: Kangaroo/Boa Grey, Smoke. Men's sizes: 7-14 medium width. Half sizes to 12.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(531 Reviews) 531
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 531 reviews
5 Stars
396
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
14
1 Star
16
492 out of 531(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Review 1 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2013

very disapointed

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
bought this hiking boots from cabelas a couple months ago because of the good rating ,how wrong was that i always purchased great shoes after spending $ on this shoes my feet where killing me i felt like i was walking on eggs moving from left to right like rolling back and fort first i tought there was somthing wrong with my feet so i went to a doctor but things where no better finaly i purchased another pair of shoes and a miracle i can walk normal again now i am stuck with a worthless pair of shoes i doubt if cabelas give me a refund
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2012

Extremely uncomfortable boots

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased these boots to be my summer hikers and boots for early season archery. To this point I've been pleased with Merrell footwear. In fact, I have never had an issue with a pair of boots in my life. I would consider my feet "boot friendly."
First, the positive. The GORE-TEX held up and kept my feet dry with everything from misty grasses to downpours, even when I sunk my foot in an elk wallow.
The reason for the 1 star rating is the extreme discomfort of these boots. I got my first blister in my life after the first time wearing them. I stuck with them because I believed I needed to break them in. While on my early season archery hunt, I had to give up half way through the first day because my feet hurt so bad. I pulled the footbed out and could not believe what I was looking at. This is the thinnest footbed I have ever seen in a hiking boot. Merrell was so focused on making something lightweight that they completely overlooked comfort.
BEFORE YOU BUY: pull the footbed out and see what I am talking about. I can pretty much guarantee you will not want to purchase these boots.
I will say Merrell's customer service is superb and they have been really helpful in my return.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2012

Hikers

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
sent 1st pair back as one shoe did not fit/feel right. I felt like I was walking with allot of pressure on back and instep on my right foot. Got another pair and same result.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2012

Bad footwear.

By
I know for a long time this brand, but such quality did not expect. Seams rough, it is sewed very badly.
Inside something sticks out. I do not advise to buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

sore feet

By
Location: Upton, wyo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
these shoes made my feet really sore the first day I wore them hunting in archery season. I broke them in before I went so that wasn't the problem. It made them really hot like they didn't breathe. I was in really steep country going up and down hills. Had to finish hunt in my old rocky boots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2011

Expected better

By
I bought these to work in and after two months the sides by your toes ripped apart. Expected more from merrel, especially for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010

leaks

By
Location: Ohio
Although these boots were very comfortable, they didn't keep my feet dry. The torture test for any waterproof breathable boot is deep wet grass. Wore these turkey hunting, walking across a dew wet field of mid-calf grass, my socks were soaked (and the right boot has squeaked since new). Returned them to Cabelas, no questions asked after having them 4 months. Thank you Cabelas for standing by your products and taking care of your customers!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010

nothing but pain

By
Location: wisconsin
no matter what i do my feet hurt when i wear these
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009

Hopefully a fluke

By
Location: Hilo,Hi
Left side shoe was narrower than the right side. returning the shoe today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009

Too bad I can't give em "zero stars"...

By
Quality suddenly dropped a bunch... within 1 1/2 hours I had blisters. And this from a loyal customer who ordered this exact shoe 3 or 4 times every year for 10 years with no complaints. In the past as the pair I was wearing wore out some, I'd just order another pair in a different color and I was set! Not anymore. And never again will I purchase ANY shoe from this manufacturer. I'm SORELY disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

Sore feet

By
Location: Lynden,WA
They hurt my heels. I would send them back, but I got them dirty!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2009

Not Waterproof

By
Location: Batavia, IL
I've had the same pair for several years. They have been durable and comfortable but were never waterproof, even when new. My feet got wet just walking through wet grass. I still wear them, but only in dry conditions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2008

merrell hikers

By
Location: nj
This is my second pair of Merrell hikers. The first pair that I had leaked. I returned them to Cabela's where they gave me a PARTIAL refund. I thought maybe the first pair leaking was a fluke so I bought the same boot again. Same result while walking thriugh wet grass my feet got wet. Comfortable boot, but Gore-Tex isn't supposed to leak. This time I'll buy Danner's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2008

Poorly Assembled Footbeds

By
Location: San Francisco, CA
I've purchased many Merrell products over the years.
Having really liked my first pair, this was to be my second pair of these boots. However, the second pair's footbeds were poorly assembled. The right footbed was skewed in production resulting in a pinching vertical crease in the right arch and the right heal with only the inner half supported, like half my heal went over the edge. The left boot was not as bad, it only had a rippled ridge under the left toes, which would have been ok for shopping or driving but like a knife by the end of a ten plus mile hike.
Overall, not suitable for my uses. Was considering an exchange but decided for a full refund.
This is the second time this year I've had this particular problem with Merrell boots. Been loyal for over a decade but the quality control of late is causing me to reconsider.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2008

Disapointment

By
Location: Rathdrum, ID
I bought a pair of these because Merrell was a reputable name. They lasted two weeks when they started to come apart. Exchanged them for a differnt pair (and different model) and these started to come apart three weeks later also. Very dissapointed in this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2007

merrell reflex mid hiker

By
Location: New Mexico
I rcently went on A week long hunting trip. I had bought these shoes for this hunt and they started comming apart on the third day out in the field. I was notverry happy with this shoe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2012

Repeat buyer, not impressed

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
3rd pair of these shoes I've owned and Im not nearly as impressed with this pair as I was with the 1st 2. I am a UPS driver and wear shoes hard...2-3 pair/year. I expect to replace shoes every 3-5 months, but only after 3 weeks this shoe started falling apart...gor-tex labels peeled off, toe caps peeled forward and they just seemed harder on the ankles that the previous pairs. Returned and ordered a different shoe. Merrell definitely changed something in their construction.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

soaked feet

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The shoes were comfortable right out of the box needing no breakin . They were great until I experienced a heavy dew and as they were advetised as 100% waterproof I fully expected them to be that. I was wrong . I would have been better off barefooted then at least my feet would have dried off when the grass did.Once they soaked up the water it took 3 days to dry out. The only reason I didn't give the lowest rating is because they were comfortable right out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2011

Waterproof boots -- NOT!

By
Location: Massachusetts
After my Danner boots finally gave up, I decided to give the Merrell Reflex a try, after all the positive reviews here. Bad mistake. Granted, they are comfortable hiking boots, but... they are advertised as waterproof, which they're not. In my book, waterproof means more than just okay with some drizzle or such. I have had them for a couple of months now, and every time I wear them in serious rainfall, my socks get soaked. I guess I am back to Danner again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

not satisfied

By
Location: little rock, ar
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
shoes are not very comfortable, i have had them for about two months now and if I walk very much in them they put my feet to sleep. not good because i am on my feet all day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 531