Customer Reviews for MERRELL Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers

MERRELL Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers

If your idea of multitasking involves running meadows and scaling mountains while laughing in the face of bad weather, Merrell's Reflexes are for you. Their mid-high-top design stabilizes your ankles so you can confidently explore any terrain. A fully waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® lining keeps out all forms of moisture while allowing your perspiration vapor to escape for optimum comfort. The waterproof nubuck leather/pigskin uppers are bolstered by Benecke Ceraprene® toe bumpers for extra durability and protection. 4.5mm anatomical footbeds conform to the shape of your foot, and Air Cushion® midsoles offer superior cushioning. And because rugged terrain requires extra support, Merrell has added microinjection external heel counters, injection-molded shank supports and compression-molded EVA footframes. Reflex® outsole promotes both uphill and downhill safety and support on most any surface. Imported. Height: 6". Average weight: 2.6 lbs./pair. Colors: Kangaroo/Boa Grey, Smoke. Men's sizes: 7-14 medium width. Half sizes to 12.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(524 Reviews) 524
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 524 reviews
5 Stars
391
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
14
1 Star
16
485 out of 524(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Review 1 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very disapointed

Date:July 24, 2013
bought this hiking boots from cabelas a couple months ago because of the good rating ,how wrong was that i always purchased great shoes after spending $ on this shoes my feet where killing me i felt like i was walking on eggs moving from left to right like rolling back and fort first i tought there was somthing wrong with my feet so i went to a doctor but things where no better finaly i purchased another pair of shoes and a miracle i can walk normal again now i am stuck with a worthless pair of shoes i doubt if cabelas give me a refund
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Extremely uncomfortable boots

Date:October 25, 2012
I purchased these boots to be my summer hikers and boots for early season archery. To this point I've been pleased with Merrell footwear. In fact, I have never had an issue with a pair of boots in my life. I would consider my feet "boot friendly."
First, the positive. The GORE-TEX held up and kept my feet dry with everything from misty grasses to downpours, even when I sunk my foot in an elk wallow.
The reason for the 1 star rating is the extreme discomfort of these boots. I got my first blister in my life after the first time wearing them. I stuck with them because I believed I needed to break them in. While on my early season archery hunt, I had to give up half way through the first day because my feet hurt so bad. I pulled the footbed out and could not believe what I was looking at. This is the thinnest footbed I have ever seen in a hiking boot. Merrell was so focused on making something lightweight that they completely overlooked comfort.
BEFORE YOU BUY: pull the footbed out and see what I am talking about. I can pretty much guarantee you will not want to purchase these boots.
I will say Merrell's customer service is superb and they have been really helpful in my return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hikers

Date:May 19, 2012
sent 1st pair back as one shoe did not fit/feel right. I felt like I was walking with allot of pressure on back and instep on my right foot. Got another pair and same result.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad footwear.

Date:April 8, 2012
I know for a long time this brand, but such quality did not expect. Seams rough, it is sewed very badly.
Inside something sticks out. I do not advise to buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Upton, wyo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

sore feet

Date:October 5, 2011
these shoes made my feet really sore the first day I wore them hunting in archery season. I broke them in before I went so that wasn't the problem. It made them really hot like they didn't breathe. I was in really steep country going up and down hills. Had to finish hunt in my old rocky boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expected better

Date:April 3, 2011
I bought these to work in and after two months the sides by your toes ripped apart. Expected more from merrel, especially for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

leaks

Date:May 18, 2010
Although these boots were very comfortable, they didn't keep my feet dry. The torture test for any waterproof breathable boot is deep wet grass. Wore these turkey hunting, walking across a dew wet field of mid-calf grass, my socks were soaked (and the right boot has squeaked since new). Returned them to Cabelas, no questions asked after having them 4 months. Thank you Cabelas for standing by your products and taking care of your customers!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nothing but pain

Date:April 30, 2010
no matter what i do my feet hurt when i wear these
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hilo,Hi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hopefully a fluke

Date:September 26, 2009
Left side shoe was narrower than the right side. returning the shoe today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too bad I can't give em "zero stars"...

Date:July 15, 2009
Quality suddenly dropped a bunch... within 1 1/2 hours I had blisters. And this from a loyal customer who ordered this exact shoe 3 or 4 times every year for 10 years with no complaints. In the past as the pair I was wearing wore out some, I'd just order another pair in a different color and I was set! Not anymore. And never again will I purchase ANY shoe from this manufacturer. I'm SORELY disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lynden,WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sore feet

Date:June 17, 2009
They hurt my heels. I would send them back, but I got them dirty!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Batavia, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Waterproof

Date:January 2, 2009
I've had the same pair for several years. They have been durable and comfortable but were never waterproof, even when new. My feet got wet just walking through wet grass. I still wear them, but only in dry conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

merrell hikers

Date:December 22, 2008
This is my second pair of Merrell hikers. The first pair that I had leaked. I returned them to Cabela's where they gave me a PARTIAL refund. I thought maybe the first pair leaking was a fluke so I bought the same boot again. Same result while walking thriugh wet grass my feet got wet. Comfortable boot, but Gore-Tex isn't supposed to leak. This time I'll buy Danner's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: San Francisco, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poorly Assembled Footbeds

Date:May 28, 2008
I've purchased many Merrell products over the years.
Having really liked my first pair, this was to be my second pair of these boots. However, the second pair's footbeds were poorly assembled. The right footbed was skewed in production resulting in a pinching vertical crease in the right arch and the right heal with only the inner half supported, like half my heal went over the edge. The left boot was not as bad, it only had a rippled ridge under the left toes, which would have been ok for shopping or driving but like a knife by the end of a ten plus mile hike.
Overall, not suitable for my uses. Was considering an exchange but decided for a full refund.
This is the second time this year I've had this particular problem with Merrell boots. Been loyal for over a decade but the quality control of late is causing me to reconsider.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rathdrum, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disapointment

Date:March 7, 2008
I bought a pair of these because Merrell was a reputable name. They lasted two weeks when they started to come apart. Exchanged them for a differnt pair (and different model) and these started to come apart three weeks later also. Very dissapointed in this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

merrell reflex mid hiker

Date:February 10, 2007
I rcently went on A week long hunting trip. I had bought these shoes for this hunt and they started comming apart on the third day out in the field. I was notverry happy with this shoe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Repeat buyer, not impressed

Date:August 29, 2012
3rd pair of these shoes I've owned and Im not nearly as impressed with this pair as I was with the 1st 2. I am a UPS driver and wear shoes hard...2-3 pair/year. I expect to replace shoes every 3-5 months, but only after 3 weeks this shoe started falling apart...gor-tex labels peeled off, toe caps peeled forward and they just seemed harder on the ankles that the previous pairs. Returned and ordered a different shoe. Merrell definitely changed something in their construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

soaked feet

Date:October 5, 2011
The shoes were comfortable right out of the box needing no breakin . They were great until I experienced a heavy dew and as they were advetised as 100% waterproof I fully expected them to be that. I was wrong . I would have been better off barefooted then at least my feet would have dried off when the grass did.Once they soaked up the water it took 3 days to dry out. The only reason I didn't give the lowest rating is because they were comfortable right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Waterproof boots -- NOT!

Date:August 7, 2011
After my Danner boots finally gave up, I decided to give the Merrell Reflex a try, after all the positive reviews here. Bad mistake. Granted, they are comfortable hiking boots, but... they are advertised as waterproof, which they're not. In my book, waterproof means more than just okay with some drizzle or such. I have had them for a couple of months now, and every time I wear them in serious rainfall, my socks get soaked. I guess I am back to Danner again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Merrell® Reflex Mid GORE-TEX® Hikers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: little rock, ar
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not satisfied

Date:January 18, 2011
shoes are not very comfortable, i have had them for about two months now and if I walk very much in them they put my feet to sleep. not good because i am on my feet all day
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 524