Customer Reviews for NIKON Nikon M-308 Riflescope

NIKON Nikon M-308 Riflescope

Nikon has a complete line of optics   A true long-range optic developed to optimize the performance of the .308 Win./7.62x51 NATO round in AR-10 platforms. Ultra ClearCoat™ optical system delivers superior image clarity with light transmission up to 95%. Eye Box Technology results in 4" of noncritical eye relief. Models are available with a BDC-800 reticle that has hold-over marks out to 800 yards, or Rapid Action Turret technology that allows you to dial elevation from 100 to 800 yards. The 1"-dia. one-piece tube is nitrogen-filled and O-ring sealed for waterproof, fogproof performance. Includes one-piece M-308 AR mount with built-in 20-MOA incline.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Review 1 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great optics

Date:September 2, 2014
Just used it last week a lot of optics for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect scope for 308

Date:August 26, 2014
Cabelas mounted it for me on a SSG 3000 and bore sighted it, first round was 2 inches low at 100 yards,
8 clicks up and dead on at 100 yards.
First time I have ever sighted in with 2 bullets.
Checked at 200 & 300 scope is right on.(scope is more accurate than I). Clear optics very easy to use at long distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:July 9, 2014
This scope has nice, clear glass. The features you get are great for the price you pay. The turrets are easy to adjust and zero. Coming with the mount is pretty nice too. Being a second focal plane scope, the BDC reticle changes at different distances. The nice thing is that Nikon has the Spot On program on their site. You put in your type of ammo and the other fields and then you can print out a BDC cheat sheet. The program is a great feature that makes this scope so much easier to be accurate with. Overall, this is a high quality scope for a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope for those AR 10s.

Date:July 9, 2014
So easy with custom turret for specific ballistics.
Dial and shoot. Great scope!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon M-308 Scope

Date:April 15, 2014
This is a very nice scope . I put it on a SW AR 10 308 and was easy to sight in. The magnification is great and optics are very very clear. This is my second Nikon scope. I will continue being a Nikon customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:April 15, 2014
If you are spending more money on other glass you are wasting your $$$ Nikon makes amazing products at a fair rate.
Hitting 600 yard targets all day with this thing. Would go out further but I am limited by my range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scop/bases not synchronized

Date:March 25, 2014
I love this scope, bought two in fact and have my load synchronized with the turrets. The mounts, however, with the advertised slope, must have been machined with a hand sander and a bent level...I have had to shim the rear of both to get them in the ballpark with the muzzle of the rifle to get within the tolerances of target acquisition to use the turrets....Great scope-bad mounts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rainy in Seattle

Date:February 27, 2014
I was very pleased with the sight when I first zeroed it and took it to the range. Great feature set, easy to use and good resolution for the price but where it failed was when I went hunting and it was foggy and rainy and also snowing. I spent most of the time wiping the glass because it was fogging up. I had wished I had a microfiber towel! instead of an old paper towel that just happened to be in my hunting jacket. It was basically useless if I had to make a quick shot. I even had lens caps on. What I finally ended up doing was putting a piece of the paper towel on the lens and then closing the caps. This sight would be great if you live in the Southwest/Dessert area but I live in rainy Washington State. It was a toss up whether I recommend it or not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tactical Long Range Scope

Date:January 31, 2014
Purchased this scope on Sale, and it came with a mount for an AR-10 Rifle. Once mounted and bore sighted, it was a Tac-driver. I have used it in the cold and rain, and have not had any issues with water or fogging. At the same time I bought a leopold VX3 that I am not so happy with. The Nikon is brighter for better viewing at dusk and dawn. Plus it is much easier to get a good view due to extended eye relief.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fail

Date:December 29, 2013
Took this scope on a hunt this weekend. This scope is absolutely NOT rain or fog proof! I was in the stand wiping the scope off every 4 seconds. Had it zoomed out all the way back and still couldn't see "jack"Also gets grey if zoomed past 8x, even around noon. Looks great if your hunting inside Cabelas. Not pleased!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting with the M-308.

Date:December 14, 2013
CONS: Does not have torque values for mounting.
PROS: The Nikon M-308 4-16x42 BDC scope with Spot-On technology is the most simplest scope to use. All you need to do is input your ammunition load data and the altitude, temperature, humidity and barometric pressure of your typical hunting area and that’s it. You can also add in wind speed & direction and the Nikon Spot-On program will give you all the yardages of your reticles aiming points. I have my scope zeroed in at100 yards and was able to drop a wild boar at 300 yards with one-shot from my AR10. The only guess work was to how much lead should be given at this walking hog. Other than that, all you need to do is aim and squeeze. The hardest part is packing out your game!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon is Quality Optics

Date:November 5, 2013
I have now purchased my second M-308 BDC Nikon. With a number of scopes already owned, this unit is by far my favorite. Clarity, ease of use, and light gathering is excellent. I also use their software program for accurate bullet drop information. It is an outstanding scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M-308

Date:October 6, 2013
For the $$$ this scope rocks!! took some getting use to as i am not a scope junkie but after a once over on the directions and sighing it in we were rocking. Love the dial and forget of the BDC. Have yet to get it past 200 yards ( short range) but would not fear a +300 for now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value scope

Date:July 23, 2013
I purchased a new Sig 716 and needed a decent scope. I previously purchased a Nikon P 223 for a Sig 516 and was pleased. The M 308 purchase was for a higher quality scope for further distance shooting. However, above 10x there is quite a bit of parallax and it is not as bright as a Leupold. But for the price I am satisfied. A good although not great scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works better than expected

Date:July 23, 2013
I put the M-308 on my Savage 110BA, .338LM, used the Nikon spot on app, then went out to site it in. in 4 shot had it set in at 100 Yd. the moved out to 300, it stayed zeroed and works great. after 15 rounds checked all settings and they were still set. It words better than I expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not work

Date:July 16, 2013
The Nikon M-308 Rifescope did not work on the A1M1 308 rifle so I returned it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ar10 scope

Date:May 21, 2013
Great scope with great mount
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price scope

Date:April 30, 2013
After spending a year looking for a long distance scope, I finally looked at the m-308, glad I did, not only is it clear, it came with the mount as well. If you're looking for a scope that won't break the bank, this is the scope for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope on my .308 Recon

Date:April 24, 2013
I think this is a great value and very good scope with some great accessories. I would have given it 5 stars, however I thought the clicks on the dial could have been a little crisper, and the glass was not as clear as I would have liked, but I am used to Swarovski, Zeiss, and Vortex Viper glass. Bought this scope on sale and it came with the Nikon mounts, so for the money, this would be a very hard scope to beat as the ones I listed would cost far more for similar features (albeit higher quality). I would definitively recommend this scope for the feature hungry value shopper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon M-308 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon rules!

Date:April 9, 2013
It is everything I expect from Nikon's top quality optics and mounts. Easy to install and quick to sight in. Holds its zero while being cased and uncased many times. Rock solid and worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27