Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

VORTEX Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   The Ranger 1000 gives gun hunters, target shooters and bowhunters the data to be accurate to 1,000 yards. Plus, it can be set to yards or meters. Primary Horizontal Component Distance (HCD) mode displays an angle-compensated distance. A clean display and highly intuitive menu keep things simple, yet provide high-level performance. Fully multicoated lenses deliver optimal light transmission, while O-ring seals make them waterproof. It’s compact, ergonomic and lightweight, making it easy to pack or hang around your neck using the included lanyard. An adjustable utility clip can be mounted to the right or left side to clip it to a belt, pocket or other flat-edged surface for easy access, or can be completely removed. Runs on one CR-2 battery (included). Limited lifetime warranty. Dimensions: 3.9"L x 3"W. Weight: 7.7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
29 out of 34(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Review 1 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line

Date:September 2, 2014
It's a bit pricey but you won't regret it. This thing is rock solid and carries a rock solid warranty with it. The clip is honestly a great feature that is overlooked by many rangefinder makers. Every detail of it feels precision crafted and it works like charm. The display is well thought-out and works great in low light situations. It comes with a nice lanyard as well. I bought another slightly cheaper rangefinder a couple years back and it's had issues ever since and the smallest amount of rain would cause the thing to shut off. Spend the extra money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:September 2, 2014
Perfect, lightweight, accurate long and short range, and best of its so simple and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crystal Clear, Well Made

Date:August 29, 2014
I purchased the Ranger 1000 after comparing it to the Leupold RX 1000i TBR. I spent a lot of time reading the reviews and testing them at the local Cabela's. They were both so close in features and quality it was really a toss-up. I do agree with other reviews that the Vortex is slightly slower to range, however as a tree stand hunter I use the rangefinder to range different areas in my field of view before the deer even show up so the speed was not a concern of mine. Also I really didn't think pressing the button three times was an issue at all.
I decided on the Vortex simply because it was a less expensive than the Leupold (at the time I purchased). Both are great rangefinders and if you don't mind pressing the button three times to range, you can't go wrong with the Vortex Ranger 1000.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Date:July 29, 2014
This is my second Vortex product purchase this year. This device is reconfirming my decision to use the Vortex brand. Earlier this year I purchased the Vortex 10X42 binoculars for my daughter and we were both completely satisfied and impressed with the quality of that product. The Raner 1000 is equally impressive. I have been a Swarovski optics fan and user for many years. The Vortex brand is a worthy competitor. I highly recommend this product. I use it for hunting and golf.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:March 31, 2014
great size, real light and compact.
easy to go through settings.
farthest object i've ranged so far is a tree at 967.
Red display, ranges fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Date:December 31, 2013
Compaired this Vortex to the Nicon 1000 berfore purchasing. The vortex had better raitings with a better warranty. I bought the binos last year and love them, both have exelent optics. This rangefinder worked flawlasly I did not have any problem with finding the correct button to activate the unit. I only ranged out to 390 yds, looking to check it out for longer distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:December 17, 2013
Worked right out of the box. Easy to use. I would definately recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best pick I could have made for a rangefinder

Date:October 29, 2013
Really like this rangefinder, compact and very accurate. Fast readings and easy to work. Cost a little more, but I think it's worth it. I also think the warranty makes it worth it. I was able to work with my hunting partner's identical Vortex 1000 he purchased last year from Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a Find(er)!

Date:October 29, 2013
Wanted a compact rangefinder with a red or orange display for viewing in low light.. the Vortex does the job. I've used it now a dozen times bowhunting and the only negative was the case was a little noisy when bumped against something . That was easily remedied by wrapping the exterior with a piece of camo fleece tape.The optics are great also, don't hesitate on this item!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:October 22, 2013
I picked this up for my wyoming elk hunt. Out of all the options I looked at this had the brightest optic. It had the range I was looking for out to 1000 and also has the ability to adjust for angled shots. It also comes with a make your own range table so you know what your hold over needs to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice!

Date:October 15, 2013
I went to Cabela's specifically for a range finder. I walked in the store bent on a different brand. The man working the counter set out this pair of Vortex range finders. I am familiar with Vortex as I own a pair of their binos (which I love) and I was also aware of their awesome lifetime warranty.
I had already looked through the others when I picked these up. As I looked through them I was not surprised at the quality of lenses. I instantly fell in love with the red illuminated cross and lettering.
I purchased the Vortexes and they have performed well in Canada and the states. The only thing that even implies a hint of dissatisfaction is when ranging a barn at 1000 yards on a sunny day it hesitated and took about 3 tries to get it to range at 996 yards. But let's be real, who really needs something ranged at 1000 yards. These work great out to 800 or better.
In closing, you won't go wrong with Vortex optics!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:October 8, 2013
The unit fits the bill! Easy to hold with the controls at your finger tips. Taken them out to deer hunt, worked great. Helps you get back in judging yardage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex rangefinder

Date:September 10, 2013
Very nice product. will range out to 600 yards easely. really fast reaction time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex 1000 vs the rest

Date:September 7, 2013
I purchased the Vortex Ranger 1000 this past week and just took it to the range for testing.
Before buying I researched and tried out the Vortex, Nikon, and Leupold all in their angle compensating 1000 yard models and here is my take.
Nikon: For fairly priced optics this is usually my brand of choice as their products tend to be feature rich, clear, and at a lower price than similar products. With the rangefinder it was slightly less money than the Vortex, had clear enough optics, and appeared to be of high quality. Where it lagged the Vortex were three things that were important to me being Warranty, size, and the ease of reading the display. The Nikon was noticeably more bulky than the other two brands, the display was gray instead of the red readout of the Vortex, and the Vortex lifetime warranty is something I could not find in any other brand in this price range.
Leupold: I think Leupold makes great higher end products but their rangefinder and really any other of their lower priced or mid range products has never impressed me. This rangefinder seemed well made but the optics were not as good as either the Nikon or Vortex, and their gray display was the most difficult to read of the three. This was the highest priced of the three and yet the warranty, readout, and optics all trailed the other two test products.
Vortex: This rangefinder feels smaller than the Nikon for sure and about the same size as the leupold however just seemed more comfortable to hold overall. Optics were easily the most clear of the three and the red readout on the display was very easy to read both in low light and in sunny conditions (and its adjustable). As for the accuracy I can only speak for the Vortex since the other two didn't leave the store. I took three readings at each 100 yard mark at the range from 1-500 yards. Here are the results 100 yard: 99, 100, 100. 200 yards: 200, 202, 199. 300: 299, 302, 301. 400: 399, 403, 402. 500: 503, 502, 501. I am picky with a lot of things but if anyone tries to tell me that the slight difference in yardage with each read really makes a difference in your shooting then I have a bridge I will sell you. These were all free hand too so it could have been the user. Also worth noting is these were all read off of flat cardboard surfaces not reflective surfaces and I had no issue ranging at the advertised soft target distance of 500 yards on a sunny day.
I didn't have a chance to try out the angle compensation feature yet but am trusting that too will work flawlessly. Overall I am very happy with this right out of the box. My one piece of advice is to read the manual as some of the reviews I have seen were clearly user error and proof that some people don't believe in reading the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't beat Vortex

Date:August 12, 2013
I am a Professional Wyoming Hunting Guide and I exclusively use Vortex. I consistantly range elk from 20 to 1156 yards(which is the farthest it has reached). Their warrentee is a no-brainer. The first one I had didn't range correctly so I returned it, no questions asked. They just handed me a new one and off I went. Still have the second one and is outstanding. Use the color brightness controll in the winter and you will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Purchase

Date:August 7, 2013
Vortex=best value in optics. Have paired this rangefinder with my Vortex Diamondback binoculars. Couldn't be more pleased with the value and outstanding warranty of both of these products. For the money you can't find clearer or more durable optics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sold on Vortex

Date:April 2, 2013
This rangefinder has the clearest optic I have ever looked thru. It has been quite the conversation piece at the range with lots of folks now wanting one as well because they were so impressed. I love the scan mode and have had no trouble reading any target in bow range. Superb product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:December 6, 2012
Works great. Have used in on several hunts so far.
Love that it is waterproof not just water resistant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works

Date:November 26, 2012
Compact and easy to use. Must have for measuring distance in real time. Not good for short distances. Great for field work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet

Date:October 16, 2012
2nd time was the charm for me. Sent first pair back as it had difficulty ranging targets (soft or hard) anywhere close to the specs. 2nd pair I received one day before Utah muzzleloader mule deer hunt. They work perfectly and ranged deer and trees up to 800 yards away. Ranged a moving truck at 1,230 yards before it went around a turn. Elk hunt was just as good, ranging elk at 860 yards. This 1,000 rangefinder is small and fits inside my cargo pant pocket for easy grab. Consistently ranges past the specs of 500 yards for soft targets and 1,000 for hard targets. Accurately displays angled yardage to target as far as I can tell. Red display was no problem seeing in bright sunlight. Point, press button twice (three times if you want scanning mode yardage--nice feature) and your ready. Nothing to adjust or mess with. Default settings are just right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34