Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

VORTEX Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   The Ranger 1000 gives gun hunters, target shooters and bowhunters the data to be accurate to 1,000 yards. Plus, it can be set to yards or meters. Primary Horizontal Component Distance (HCD) mode displays an angle-compensated distance. A clean display and highly intuitive menu keep things simple, yet provide high-level performance. Fully multicoated lenses deliver optimal light transmission, while O-ring seals make them waterproof. It’s compact, ergonomic and lightweight, making it easy to pack or hang around your neck using the included lanyard. An adjustable utility clip can be mounted to the right or left side to clip it to a belt, pocket or other flat-edged surface for easy access, or can be completely removed. Runs on one CR-2 battery (included). Vortex VIP unlimited lifetime warranty. 3.9"L x 3"W. Wt: 7.7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
39 out of 44(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Review 1 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rangefinder

Date:March 27, 2015
Compared with a higher priced one and the Vortex won out. Ranged a non reflective object in low light and got 837. Comfortable and easy to use. Vortex has a great warranty. Would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best product for the money

Date:March 25, 2015
Vortex company meets and exceeds my expectations every time I buy one of their products. They have my buisness for life. This range finder is in a class of its own. Try the Vortex brand and you'll never look back. They have a warranty program that no one has come close to. Try it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great field tool

Date:March 24, 2015
Vortex makes a great product and this range finder is no exception. I have been very happy with it and it is well worth the purchase price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex rangefinder

Date:January 4, 2015
Earlier in 2014 I bought a vortex viper spotting scope and was very pleased with it the quality of the scope help to influence me to purchase the vortex rangefinder I used it in the mountains for deer hunting and to me it suits all my needs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:December 17, 2014
Built like a tank and has a top of the line warranty if something should happen to it. The red/orange display is a must have in low light situations. Reads quick and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good use-friendly tool

Date:December 2, 2014
Needed new range finder since my last one died during last hunt. This one had excellent warranty, is made well and is easy to use. Found it very accurate in the buttes and prairies of Montana, would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Rangefinder

Date:November 26, 2014
Being somewhat of a "longer" range shooter, I'd been considering a TBR product for a while. The Vortex 1000 is easy to operate, and gave me the corrected distance on a bull that was moving to cover on opening day. I had but a brief opportunity on the bull and without the TBR function, I easily may have misjudged and overshot the animal. One well placed round and I tagged a very nice 6 point bull!! Thanks Vortex.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love it

Date:October 28, 2014
I don't know how I hunted archery with out it. Simple to use and accurate. Vortex should have included a retractable zinger with the unit. The clip is alright, but since you are up in a tree stand the zinger would be a true selling feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line

Date:September 2, 2014
It's a bit pricey but you won't regret it. This thing is rock solid and carries a rock solid warranty with it. The clip is honestly a great feature that is overlooked by many rangefinder makers. Every detail of it feels precision crafted and it works like charm. The display is well thought-out and works great in low light situations. It comes with a nice lanyard as well. I bought another slightly cheaper rangefinder a couple years back and it's had issues ever since and the smallest amount of rain would cause the thing to shut off. Spend the extra money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:September 2, 2014
Perfect, lightweight, accurate long and short range, and best of its so simple and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crystal Clear, Well Made

Date:August 29, 2014
I purchased the Ranger 1000 after comparing it to the Leupold RX 1000i TBR. I spent a lot of time reading the reviews and testing them at the local Cabela's. They were both so close in features and quality it was really a toss-up. I do agree with other reviews that the Vortex is slightly slower to range, however as a tree stand hunter I use the rangefinder to range different areas in my field of view before the deer even show up so the speed was not a concern of mine. Also I really didn't think pressing the button three times was an issue at all.
I decided on the Vortex simply because it was a less expensive than the Leupold (at the time I purchased). Both are great rangefinders and if you don't mind pressing the button three times to range, you can't go wrong with the Vortex Ranger 1000.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Date:July 29, 2014
This is my second Vortex product purchase this year. This device is reconfirming my decision to use the Vortex brand. Earlier this year I purchased the Vortex 10X42 binoculars for my daughter and we were both completely satisfied and impressed with the quality of that product. The Raner 1000 is equally impressive. I have been a Swarovski optics fan and user for many years. The Vortex brand is a worthy competitor. I highly recommend this product. I use it for hunting and golf.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:March 31, 2014
great size, real light and compact.
easy to go through settings.
farthest object i've ranged so far is a tree at 967.
Red display, ranges fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder

Date:December 31, 2013
Compaired this Vortex to the Nicon 1000 berfore purchasing. The vortex had better raitings with a better warranty. I bought the binos last year and love them, both have exelent optics. This rangefinder worked flawlasly I did not have any problem with finding the correct button to activate the unit. I only ranged out to 390 yds, looking to check it out for longer distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:December 17, 2013
Worked right out of the box. Easy to use. I would definately recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best pick I could have made for a rangefinder

Date:October 29, 2013
Really like this rangefinder, compact and very accurate. Fast readings and easy to work. Cost a little more, but I think it's worth it. I also think the warranty makes it worth it. I was able to work with my hunting partner's identical Vortex 1000 he purchased last year from Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a Find(er)!

Date:October 29, 2013
Wanted a compact rangefinder with a red or orange display for viewing in low light.. the Vortex does the job. I've used it now a dozen times bowhunting and the only negative was the case was a little noisy when bumped against something . That was easily remedied by wrapping the exterior with a piece of camo fleece tape.The optics are great also, don't hesitate on this item!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:October 22, 2013
I picked this up for my wyoming elk hunt. Out of all the options I looked at this had the brightest optic. It had the range I was looking for out to 1000 and also has the ability to adjust for angled shots. It also comes with a make your own range table so you know what your hold over needs to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice!

Date:October 15, 2013
I went to Cabela's specifically for a range finder. I walked in the store bent on a different brand. The man working the counter set out this pair of Vortex range finders. I am familiar with Vortex as I own a pair of their binos (which I love) and I was also aware of their awesome lifetime warranty.
I had already looked through the others when I picked these up. As I looked through them I was not surprised at the quality of lenses. I instantly fell in love with the red illuminated cross and lettering.
I purchased the Vortexes and they have performed well in Canada and the states. The only thing that even implies a hint of dissatisfaction is when ranging a barn at 1000 yards on a sunny day it hesitated and took about 3 tries to get it to range at 996 yards. But let's be real, who really needs something ranged at 1000 yards. These work great out to 800 or better.
In closing, you won't go wrong with Vortex optics!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® Ranger 1000 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:October 8, 2013
The unit fits the bill! Easy to hold with the controls at your finger tips. Taken them out to deer hunt, worked great. Helps you get back in judging yardage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 44