Customer Reviews for BURRIS Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope

BURRIS Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope

Burris combined outstanding optics with pinpoint laser rangefinding and precise trajectory compensation in the sleek design of the Eliminator III Ballistic Laser Scope. Range your target and use the lighted aiming dot for a perfect hold over on your target at any magification. No other riflescope combines this level of quality, technology, accuracy, repeatability and effectiveness. With proper practice, this optical instrument will greatly increase the distance at which you can make an ethical shot. The scope comes with tables listing thousands of cartridges and the types of bullets in popular calibers from .17 Remington to .50 BMG made by most major ammunition manufacturers. First, decide if you want to work in meters or yards. Next, find your load on the provided tables or Burris’ Internet site and locate the corresponding drop number. Then program your drop number and ballistic coefficient into the Eliminator Laser Scope. The Eliminator III provides over 1,200 yds. of range compensation, increased magnification of 4X-16X power and accuracy at any magnification. The X96 reticle provides freatures no other scope can match. Provides not only the lighted aiming dot for your target range, but also windage reference dots for accurate shooting in a variety of wind conditions. Ergonomic activation buttons are shooter-friendly. Parallax adjustment from 50 yds. to infinity for precise bullet placement and optimum optical resolution. It’s waterproof, shockproof, fogproof and withstands the toughest hunting conditions. Elevation and windage adjustment with 1/8" clicks at 100 yards. It functions reliably in temperatures from -15°F to 140°F. Scope is powered by a single CR-123 battery (included).
Overall Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
73 out of 74(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Review 1 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014

Burris not compicted at all

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I received this scope for Christmas and I really like it. It has all the information that you need to shoot for any distance up to 1000 yards or more. The reason for 4 star rating is because I mounted this scope to a 338 Lapua and the ballistics chart is limited on the ammunition information.
I can sight in the other ammo but it gets expensive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2015

Well worth the money

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought this scope a couple years back and immediately knew i had made the right choice. The 1/8" MOA is accurate, I promise you that you will be shooting through the same hole while sighting in. My longest shot is just underage 800 yards and was dead on. The only complaint I have is it could capture a bit more light right at dusk. Overall if you're going to be doing long range hunting this scope will continue to amaze you every time you shoot it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

So Far So good!

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought the 4X16 Eliminator 3 a few weeks ago. Got it mounted recently. Mounting was interesting. I had bought a Warne 20 Moa one piece mount for my Savage LRH in 300 Win Mag after purchasing this scope. The scope came with 3 shims. One for a 10 MOA (A) mount, one for 20 Moa (B) and one for 30 Moa (C). The thing is, Burris really wants the scope mounted level so if you use a elevated mount the shims are used to take it back to a 0 Moa mount. I am assuming the calculations may not come out right if you use a 20 Moa mount without the correct shim. Had I known that to start with I would have bought a (0) Moa mount. As it was I used the B shim as I have a 20 MOA mount. Again, If you have a zero Moa mount you need not mess with using a shim.
Anyway, I got it sighted in at 100 and applied the ballistic info. From what I gather it appears you use the drop chart that comes with the scope and based either on your particular brand ammo or based on similar ammo you enter the estimated drop number and the BC of the bullet you are using. Since I am using a 210 Gn Matrix bullet with a BC of .637 I entered a BC of .63 as it only allows 2 digits for the BC. I had to play with the controls a bit to get both the recommended drop number and BC but doing so wasn't extremely difficult. Per instructions the best thing to do after entering the data is to shoot the rifle at 750 yrds to verify you have the correct data entered and adjust if you don't. I haven't been able to do that yet but will if I can find a field that long. However I did take a doe at 75 (didn't even activate the laser for that one and also a buck at 194 yards but used the built in ranging and ballistics for the second deer. The intensity of the lighted dot is adjustable and I need to turn mind down a bit for near dark use I've discovered. The scope compensates for the drop no matter what magnification power you choose. Should the battery happen to die on you while hunting there is a usable cross hair just like a standard scope.
The scope requires no Rings. The mounting area on the bottom of the Eliminator scope looks like a picatinny rail mount. A picatinny or weaver type mount is recommended for your rifle and Burris provides 2 clamps that clamp your mount to the Eliminator.
As to the optics, they seem very clear. Burris has a very good reputation and is a solid product and good value for the money. The scope has a little heft but I hunt from a stand so it's not an issue. I don't see myself hunting at 700 yrds with it but if it allows me to humanely take an animal at 3 to 500 yards I feel it's well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2015

High quality Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
purchased last year,gets 2 thumbs up from me.
made shots out to 500 yards and it truly puts them right on target
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014

Best Scope I have ever used

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have purchased multiple scopes and this one is hands down top notch. Once you "marry" your round to the scope (data digital input) the scope is dead on once sighted in.
We tested 200-300-400-500 ranges and the drop rate light was dead on.
I have purchased 2 of these now and recommend them to anyone who wants to take the guess work out of drop and windage.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014

Nice scope

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Didn't use it in the field yet, but so far so good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014

A few things you should know

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I just completed an elk hunt using the scope. I have also used it for brown bear hunting. First of all, it is an excellent scope and works exactly as advertised. It will get you all the accuracy you will ever need.
A few things you need to know before you buy the scope however.
It is big. I had great difficulty fitting it into a saddle scabbard while horseback hunting.
Additionally it is very heavy. It will feel like you added 2 pounds to your rifle's weight. I shoot a Magnum rifle so the added weight actually helps. But carrying it up and down the mountain gets old - fast.
Lastly, my shots for elk and bear were well within 200 yards so the advanced ballistics of the scope really were not necessary. For my Africa hunt, were many of the shots were well over 350 yards, the scope would have been perfect.
Having said all this, the scope still deserves 5 out of 5 stars. It is by far the most advanced scope on the market and its ballistic computing is excellent. If you are looking to make perfect long-range shots this is the scope for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014

Easy

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I went to my range and with just 3 shots I was hitting the bulls eye at 25 yards. With a new target and 3 rounds I could cover all three rounds in the 7/8th inch bulls eye with a dime. After that all it takes is looking up your ammo and putting in the settings. Back to the range and at 311 yards with use of a shooting sled I had 3 bulls eye with the size of a quarter. I will wait to determine longevity.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014

Burris Eliminator III Scope on 308 AR...AWESOME!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
So far so good. I put the Burris on a DPMS Lite Hunter 308. Zeroed in at 100 yards in 8 shots. Took it out to 400 yards and put 4 shots into an 8 inch circle. I am not a great bench shooter and was just using a card table and a folded up gun case as a rest. I thought it wasn't too bad. Couple weeks later I set up (card table and gun case again) at 200 and shot a 3 inch group (first shot was dead center). 168 gr BTHP. I have yet to take it out deer hunting but seems great so far. I was able to range a building at 1095 yards with no problem. Scope acquires the ranges very quickly. I found programing the scope for my specific load very easy to do...just read the instructions twice. This scope/gun combo has me super excited about future hunts. Buy this scope without hesitation, my friends!
PS. 3 different employees at 3 different gun shops said they had this scope or an earlier version of it and they all loved it. From the mouths of guys that really know guns and scopes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2013

$$$$$$$ Big Dollars

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This scope is just what the Dr. ordered for any one that hunts any type of game ! From rabbits to Grizzly bear at any range out to 750 yrds, down a steep hill or up the other side this scope will put you on target and the rest is up to you ! LOVE it ! Just a little over priced but well worth it in the long run! not to hard to set up but Zeroing in was a slight set back , but once you get it done, it is all fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013

Good/$$$

By
in the world of scopes, i have found the eliminator series, to be far superior in almost all aspects of accurate distance shooting,
of course the biggest down fall is the price,
if you use your rifle alot its worth the investment.
mounted on a 303 british 180 gr FMJ, i have reached out to 250yds without an issue the compenssation feature on the scope is spot on
although past 300 yds with larger cal. you need to take wind direction/speed into affect before firing
this could possibly be a new feature in the next gen ?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Burris Eliminator® III Ballistic Laser Scope
Based on the average of (66) ratings-only reviews
Overall Customer Rating: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 62 out of 63