Customer Reviews for LEICA Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder

LEICA Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder

Leica upgraded the Rangemaster 1600 with the ABC™ ballistic program to dial you in for dead-on accuracy. Never before has a rangefinder been capable of such precision. In the calculation of the ballistic curve, this innovative feature integrates data for the angle of declination, temperature and barometric pressure – particularly useful on mountainous terrain. By also precisely integrating ammunition parameters, it delivers accurate sighting point corrections taking the guesswork out of rangefinding. High-performance optics deliver clear sighting of game, even at longer distances. The wide field of view ensures fast target identification. AquaDura™ hydrophobic coating on lenses repels water. Ranges out to 1,600 yards. Includes carrying cord, battery and Cordura® nylon case. Dimensions : 2-1/4"H x 4-1/2"W x 1-1/4"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Review 1 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great range finder

Date:August 2, 2012
First off I have had bushnell rangefinders and leupold rangefinders and always the advertised range was way over exagerated, I was lucky if the 1200 yard leupold would range 600 yards on the best of days.
This Leica is great The first day out I was testing to see how far it would go and was able to mark a tree at 1604 yds I marked a person at 1127 yards and several other things around just to get a feel for what it would do. This is the most compact light weight does as advertised piece of gear I have bought in a while.
The only bad thing that I can say about this rangefinder is the instructions seem to be written by a 7 year old that english is not the first language for. It is lacking a lot of needed in depth descriptions of how all the features work and how to properly use them. I took a awhile for me to learn how the true horizontal range worked on it and I was able to find that out by doing a search and reading about it on a forum. When you get the unit it will be in Metric units and this is really easy to change to yards, the directions for that are easy to follow. The rest of the directions can be understood with a little hands on of the unit but the information on how the true horizontal range works and how other features work could use more thorough explaining in the instructions. the unit also displays temperature, angle, and baro pressure with the push of a second button this comes in handy for those long range shots.
This product is well worth the money and will range beyond the advertised max yards unlike the other rangefinders I have used that were lucky to range half the advertised range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leica 1600-B LRF

Date:August 4, 2012
I had the Swaro 8x30 LRF for about 1-1/2 yrs. Great LRF. I then got the Leica 1600 and compared the two, SxS, for about 3 months. I sold the Swaro and loved the Leica 1600. When the Leica 1600-B came out, it was a no brainer as I am a LR shooter. Both the 1600 and 1600-B have the ABC Ballistic Computer with the 1600 going out to 550 yds and the 1600-B, going out to 875 and not a yard more. The beauty of both these LRF is you simply point and push. The ABC Ballistic Calc does the rest. The 1600-B is a bit easier to set up and adjust to your preferences. Easy enough that when competing in a 24 hr Sniper Adventure Challenge last week and my 1600's battery died, I had loaned it to my partner, it took a couple of seconds to convert my 1600-B from my #3 curve (mine) to his #5 curve and he kept on shooting.
The instructions can be confusing but once you play with it for a bit, it becomes pretty easy to set up and adjust.
Improvements of the 1600-B over the 1600. Barometric pressure is in inches of Mercury instead of the little used psia. They blew it with the 1600-B when they gave the read out in # of 1/4 moa clicks instead of the partial moa. (example; 21 clicks vs 5.25 moa)
My bullet matches curve #3 within 1-2 clicks out to about 650 yds but then diverges more and more to the 875 yd limit where it's then 11 clicks off.
With it's internal temp, baro pressure and angle readings, that instantly input into the ABC Ballistic Calc, quick firing solutions are readily available.
Still, for a LR shooter who wants a "QUICK" firing solution the 1600-B works wonders.
If it were not for the "minor" items I mention, I'd give this LRF a solid 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:September 12, 2012
Very happy with purchase so far, unit is less than a month old. The first thing I noticed about the range finder was the quality of the glass. Everyone who has tried the range finder has commented on the quality of the glass---it is really good. I used the range finder while caribou hunting in Alaska, north of the Brooks Range. The country is wide open with rolling terrain which looks similar to the Montana grasslands--no trees, just some short brush occasionally scattered about. I was able to range a Cabela’s dome tent at 1065 yards away from our camp, range an abandoned 55 gallon fuel drum at 1174 yards, a caribou at almost 800 yards, and a short brushy rock cliff face at over 1700 yards!! The weather was clear, no fog, dust or other detrimental atmospheric conditions. Bear in mind that at first I was disappointed when I had trouble ranging items well under 1100 yards. Then I figured it out: it was me, not the range finder. To get good results you MUST have a steady rest, no wobbling about. I found if I stood my rifle up and rested the range finder on my objective end of my scope and against the barrel, the results were consistent and impressive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line!

Date:September 17, 2012
Excellent rangefinder. Fast, accurate and clear even in brush. I have been using other brands for years and have experienced the difference . If you can afford it, don't think twice about owning it. Definetly worth the extra $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spend the money!!

Date:September 17, 2012
This product does everything it claims and more. I had the Leopold 1000 DNA and TBR it worked ok out too 700-800 yards in good weather and rain or snow it is no good. The Leica has hit 2123 once and has no problem hitting 1900-2000. The temp and pressure are nice to have for long distance stuff that Im getting into. I would buy this every time compared to what else is on the market. I don't use the holdover setting and have not fooled with that yet. Kinda hard to set up the first time but its worth it if you need to range things out to 2000 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth it

Date:November 26, 2012
Purchased the Vortex RF. Wasn't pleased with the results at all. Returned it and spent the extra dough on the Lieca. On a bright sunny day, I ranged trees off hand at 1136yds. The "clicks" feature, where it tells you how to adjust your dope for the range to your target, isn't spot on, but you should already have this info when shooting to 1000 + yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best

Date:December 18, 2012
I’ve had many range finders and this one is best!! its quick, accurate and super fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Glass, solid numbers

Date:January 2, 2013
On my annual trip in elk country, my Riflehunter 1000 wasn't able to give me ranges as close as 200 yards. I ordered this after reading reviews and am not in the least dissapointed . Well maybe one thing, I can't use it bowhunting, as the software dosnt kick in until it hits 99 yards.
The glass appears flawless, and I was ranging animals out to 1300 yards, one after the next. It probably works further, there just weren't any animals further. If you want a do it all finder, this might not be the one, but for long range rifle shooting I don't think you can go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder

Date:January 8, 2013
By far the best rangefinder I have ever purchased. I ranged a tree line at over 1300 yards. Much farther than I can shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leica 1600-B

Date:February 26, 2013
I have 2 older model Leica range finders and a pair of Leica binoculars i also have other high end binoculars and range finders but none compair to the Lecia...I have not gotten to use the 1600-B hunting yet, but setting them up with my gun has been amazing! you wont go wrong with these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love it

Date:March 5, 2013
as soon as i got this thing home I put the battery in it and headed out on the deck. In low light i ranged a large rock across the lake at 1780 yards. My old range finder would never range the yardage it said it would. i havent messed will all the calulation stuff yet but looking forward to figureing the thing out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great range finder

Date:August 17, 2013
As far as basic ranging, you can't beat it for the price. The red read out is easy to see, even in low light.
the glass is clear and pleasant on the eye. This range finder will range well past 1000 yards if you can hold it steady. The only bad thing is the directions. This range finder will do so much more and I can't figure it out. I can say if you find yourself at a Cabelas store, pick one up and you will fall in love with it. I still give it 5 stars even though I can't figure the thing out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best range finder I have ever used.

Date:October 29, 2013
Ranges perfect. Was ranging rock bluffs out to 1900+ in west Texas last weekend. Temp and angle work great. The balistic feature is worthless to me as it is not giving data that I can use. I use I - shooter for a ballistics calculator and don't need the one in the Leica anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor reading

Date:November 14, 2013
I bought this rangefinder in December of 2011. I used it a couple of times and only discovered a month ago the yardage was not calculating properly. It was ranging in error any where from 6-10 percent. This was confirmed when I brought it into the store and two employees ranged different yardages. The Vortex we used read 319 yards while this one read 291. We even used a brand new Leica that had just come in and that yardage was way off. The employee took the cheapest rangefinder and this also confirmed the Leica was not correct in the yardage.
Poor choice for this amount of money. Luckily the store took it back and I am going to buy a Vortex rangefinder. I have their binoculars and spotting scopes and they are great products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By Leica ExpertMay 15, 2014
11th Cav who also responded to this post is correct. The unit was simply set for meters, not yards. Anytime a rangefinder is off by appx 10%, this should be the first thing to check.LeicaTech
Review 15 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

response to another review

Date:November 16, 2013
another user said this unit didnot range properly. said, other range finders read 319 yards while his read 291.
you were in Metric mode, if you do the conversion 319 yards = 291 meters. This unit is a great product, but part of it requires the operator has the ability to use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bright Rangefinder

Date:November 28, 2013
The 1600-B rangefinder is very bright at low light. The best rangefinder I ever used. small size and easy to use. It is designed more for rifle use at long range. setting for a specific caliber could be confusing, but it is useful once it is set. the only reason not a 5 stars is it has No TBR for bow hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best range finder i have ever used.

Date:December 14, 2013
This leica 1600-B rangefinder is the clearest most accurate product I have used. It ranges much quicker than my other cheaper models and outperforms my german Z brand also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What more can I say you get what you pay for!

Date:January 8, 2014
This RF was ranging trees out 1589 yards. For long range shooting its calculations have been spot on. Hunting will be a plus this year knowing where my shot placement needs to be. It's worth the $$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the wait.

Date:March 12, 2014
Absolutely worth the wait and cost. The manual is not as hard to understand as I was led to believe. Be sure you use the correct settings and this unit works.
Clear, 7x magnification, small, light, angle display, temp, pressure, this thing has it all.
Ranged 556 yards, doped scope, read wind and dropped a 175 gr JHP onto a 6x12 (inch) A-zone plate. No problem. First shot. Weeks earlier I had been trying to hit the same plate, thinking it was 530 yards, measured by a friends non-Leica range finder. I'm sold on this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leica Rangemaster 1600-B Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate and compact.

Date:April 22, 2014
I can't think of a stand alone range finder that will top this, that is not 2x the price. I'm working on a full review of this on Ryan's Range Report, but so far I've been very happy with it.
I was able to range a building at 1922 yards from my roof top.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21