Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes

VORTEX Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Count tines, plan your stalk or just keep a close eye on that trophy of a lifetime without going too far afield. Get high-definition imaging and real-life color fidelity thanks to the high-density (HD), extra-low-dispersion glass that has been fully multicoated featuring with XR anti-reflective coatings for increased light transmission and maximum brightness. Ultrahard, scratch-resistant ArmorTek coating protects exterior lenses from scratches, oil and dirt. Fully waterproof with O-ring seals to keep out moisture, as well as dust and debris. Argon purging promises a lifetime of fog- and waterproof performance. Twist-up eyecups, dual focus adjustment, sunshade, rotating tripod ring and Picatinny accessory rail round out this great, high-definition spotting scope. Available: Angled - Easier, more comfortable viewing, especially during longer glassing sessions. More stable in windy conditions. Straight - Acquire targets quickly and easily. Great for use with a car-window mount.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Review 1 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good to 20X

Date:November 5, 2013
I wanted a high quality scope to use for a variety of viewing situations and was impressed with the store model of the Viper HD. Up to 20X is great but unfortunately the scope is rather soft and loses detail after that. Maybe I got a bad one but it went back and I'll be looking for an alternate choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Muscatine, Iowa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope 20-60X

Date:February 12, 2012
I gave this scope a three star rating because it came up short in two important areas regarding my use. I am an eye glass wearer and the scope specifications state it has an eye relief of 18mm. It has an adequate eye relief at 20 power, however this diminishes quickly as higher powers are selected. I coud not use the scope without removing my eye glasses above 30 power. This would not be a big issue if someone did not wear glasses. The scope was bright, and resolution was very good as long as you were viewing with magnification settings between 20-40X. However, with settings above 40X the resolutiion was grainy to the extent that I did not want to use the settings above 40X. I called Vortex and asked how the fixed 32 power eyepiece would compare with the variable power eyepiece. They advised me it would be a superior optics with an 18mm eye relief. I ordered the 32X eyepiece and was extremely disappointed with it. It was extremely short on eye relief and the image quality was terrible. However, for someone who does not need eyeglasses and is not interested in using the higher powers above 40X it is a nice, clear scope. The price is attractive compared to some of the high end scopes, but I returned my scope and will start saving up for a scope of better quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You can't beat the quality of this scope

Date:February 5, 2013
For the price and quality of this scope and the free replacement you can't beat it. I'm sold on vortex merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:September 10, 2014
Found the scope to be very useful during an elk hunting trip to Colorado. Great value for the money. Great clarity at lower settings and at dusk. Would have liked the highest magnification to have been a little crisper. Would recommend purchasing this unit to my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great glass, great price

Date:August 17, 2014
Title says it all, I use it for viewing bear, deer and elk in Washington and love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I can see

Date:July 9, 2014
This scope is the best I've ever used. The quality of Vortex optics is unbeatable for the price. Vortex has the other competitors beaten hands down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope

Date:May 18, 2014
Bought this to view long range targets while I do my Cowboy Action Shooting in the Buffalo shoots. Haven't had a chance to use it yet except for outdoor viewing of the flora and fauna. I did view an Osprey about a hundred yards away and could see the color of its' eye and the wrinkles on their feet/talons. So far I love it. I'm sure I will be able to see hits on a paper target at 400 yards using my 45-70.
If you're into photography you can obtain an attachment that allows you to attach a good SLR or even a small handheld pocket camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't be MORE happily surprised

Date:February 17, 2014
I took this model to a recent regional Berger F-Class
match and literally everyone of the highly qualified
competitors present were quite impressed, the match
was held in the desert near Phoenix AZ and luckily
the weather was quite mild I mostly used it to spot
for other competitors and at 1000 and 600 yards
the resolution is superb/ Like other reviewers I
wear eyeglasses and had NO trouble from that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex HD

Date:November 12, 2013
This spotting scope was exactly what I needed for long range identification of big game. It gives the consumer the most bang for their buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope at a great price

Date:May 8, 2013
As with any spotting scope the picture quality becomes a little darker as the magnification increases. This scope is no exception, but with that being said, the Vortex Viper HD has
an exceptional balance between quality and price.
I have used this spotting scope to view antelope and deer at over 2 1/2 miles away. At that distance I was able to determine the approximate size of the antelope and mule deer buck. Both animals were observed in thick sage brush and on open farm ground. The color definition and image clarity is exceptional for a scope of this price. I would recommend this scope to any of my friends
who were on a budget where price and quality are a consideration.
Bottom line, I feel I got my money's worth and more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome unit

Date:January 15, 2013
Most exellent , so glad I waited to purchse a high end scope and a great price to top it off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it is awesome

Date:December 18, 2012
I love this. I can see a bird on a bush a mile away. The scope let's in good light and the image is very clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:November 23, 2012
When I brought this spotting scope home I told my wife it would be the difference in me harvesting my biggest Black tail deer ever I was right. Managed to get a 20inch plus buck 15 minutes before dark at 400 yards.
Very Impressed with the low light brightness and clarity of the viper HD. was able to watch a spike elk at 1125 Yds in the same light conditions on 25 power to deter man if he was a legal spike only bull. this scope works great a close range and long range. can put spikes on a elk at over 2 miles or horns on a buck at well over a mile and a 1/2. does get a little hard to focus if you try and use to much of the magnification at closer ranges. found we used it on 20-30 power the most during deer season with awesome results.The family harvested 5 western 4 point bucks and a forking horn. the best year ever for big bucks all from the viper hd. If you are going to hunt anything out past 800yds I would recommend this scope if closer than that I would go with the smaller 15-45-65 scope. Thank you Vortex for the great year.
The only negative I have is they could have come up with a way to attach the 80mm lens cap to the scope to prevent loosing it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.