Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes

VORTEX Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Count tines, plan your stalk or just keep a close eye on that trophy of a lifetime without going too far afield. Get high-definition imaging and real-life color fidelity thanks to the high-density (HD), extra-low-dispersion glass that has been fully multicoated featuring with XR anti-reflective coatings for increased light transmission and maximum brightness. Ultrahard, scratch-resistant ArmorTek coating protects exterior lenses from scratches, oil and dirt. Fully waterproof with O-ring seals to keep out moisture, as well as dust and debris. Argon purging promises a lifetime of fog- and waterproof performance. Twist-up eyecups, dual focus adjustment, sunshade, rotating tripod ring and Picatinny accessory rail round out this great, high-definition spotting scope. Available: Angled - Easier, more comfortable viewing, especially during longer glassing sessions. More stable in windy conditions. Straight - Acquire targets quickly and easily. Great for use with a car-window mount.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(293 Reviews) 293
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 293 reviews
5 Stars
247
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
270 out of 278(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Review 1 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Good to 20X

By
I wanted a high quality scope to use for a variety of viewing situations and was impressed with the store model of the Viper HD. Up to 20X is great but unfortunately the scope is rather soft and loses detail after that. Maybe I got a bad one but it went back and I'll be looking for an alternate choice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2012

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope 20-60X

By
Location: Muscatine, Iowa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I gave this scope a three star rating because it came up short in two important areas regarding my use. I am an eye glass wearer and the scope specifications state it has an eye relief of 18mm. It has an adequate eye relief at 20 power, however this diminishes quickly as higher powers are selected. I coud not use the scope without removing my eye glasses above 30 power. This would not be a big issue if someone did not wear glasses. The scope was bright, and resolution was very good as long as you were viewing with magnification settings between 20-40X. However, with settings above 40X the resolutiion was grainy to the extent that I did not want to use the settings above 40X. I called Vortex and asked how the fixed 32 power eyepiece would compare with the variable power eyepiece. They advised me it would be a superior optics with an 18mm eye relief. I ordered the 32X eyepiece and was extremely disappointed with it. It was extremely short on eye relief and the image quality was terrible. However, for someone who does not need eyeglasses and is not interested in using the higher powers above 40X it is a nice, clear scope. The price is attractive compared to some of the high end scopes, but I returned my scope and will start saving up for a scope of better quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

Good value!

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I ended up returning an angled Vortex Viper HD as I did not care for the angled view. This was a much better value as it included the mail in rebate for the tripod. At first glance, I would say the construction on this scope is as good as the Vortex. very clear optics in a "HD" glass. The biggest difference is that this is made in China whereas the Vortex glass is at least made in Japan. So far, I am very happy with this scope for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2015

Good for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very clear, awesome sight adjustments, poor low light visibility. Overall I'm very happy with the scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2015

Viper HD first reaction

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Upon opening the box i was very impressed with overall quality. Very clear and well built. The rubber coating is a nice option. I have 2 issues however, first I was surprised a medium priced scope did not come in a case of some sort just a cardboard box..? Second the neoprene case, OMG a little Velcro would have gone a long way. I'am a big guy and it was ridiculously hard to install the cover over the rubberized tube. Yea and Utube didn't help. Other than out to the range this weekend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

very good spotter

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very good spotter for the bench. Very good resolution. A bit heavy for the field but I never use a spotter in the field. Bino's are more practical for field use in New England.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

You can't beat the quality of this scope

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
For the price and quality of this scope and the free replacement you can't beat it. I'm sold on vortex merchandise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Awesome Equipment

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Awesome scope lives up to everything people say 100%
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2015

Everything I needed it to be

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Got this for Christmas. Have done some scoping around my neighborhood ( I live next to the water with mountains in the background). I am totally satisfied with what I have seen so far. Feels sturdy, works very well when mounted to my sturdy tripod. Clarity is excellent both in daylight and in full moon light (I mean looking at the moon itself). Got some real nice photos using my iPhone's camera. Can't wait for next hunting season!
I uploaded a photo I took on Christmas Eve, full moon, some light clouds, holding my phone still with my old shaking hands. I think I will spring for one of those phonescopes.
Very happy with product thus far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2015

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This scope is a great scope for the price, I have been very impressed with the clarity in low light on animals a long ways off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope

By
This spotting scope is the best I have owned. Cristal clear with smoth adjustments. I carry it in my pack along with tri pod Elk hunting and couldn't be more pleased with its weight and performance. It's always a pleasure dealing with Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014

Great Value!

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Found the scope to be very useful during an elk hunting trip to Colorado. Great value for the money. Great clarity at lower settings and at dusk. Would have liked the highest magnification to have been a little crisper. Would recommend purchasing this unit to my friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014

Great glass, great price

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Title says it all, I use it for viewing bear, deer and elk in Washington and love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

I can see

By
This scope is the best I've ever used. The quality of Vortex optics is unbeatable for the price. Vortex has the other competitors beaten hands down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2014

Vortex Viper HD Spotting Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought this to view long range targets while I do my Cowboy Action Shooting in the Buffalo shoots. Haven't had a chance to use it yet except for outdoor viewing of the flora and fauna. I did view an Osprey about a hundred yards away and could see the color of its' eye and the wrinkles on their feet/talons. So far I love it. I'm sure I will be able to see hits on a paper target at 400 yards using my 45-70.
If you're into photography you can obtain an attachment that allows you to attach a good SLR or even a small handheld pocket camera.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014

Couldn't be MORE happily surprised

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I took this model to a recent regional Berger F-Class
match and literally everyone of the highly qualified
competitors present were quite impressed, the match
was held in the desert near Phoenix AZ and luckily
the weather was quite mild I mostly used it to spot
for other competitors and at 1000 and 600 yards
the resolution is superb/ Like other reviewers I
wear eyeglasses and had NO trouble from that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Vortex HD

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This spotting scope was exactly what I needed for long range identification of big game. It gives the consumer the most bang for their buck.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2013

Great scope at a great price

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
As with any spotting scope the picture quality becomes a little darker as the magnification increases. This scope is no exception, but with that being said, the Vortex Viper HD has
an exceptional balance between quality and price.
I have used this spotting scope to view antelope and deer at over 2 1/2 miles away. At that distance I was able to determine the approximate size of the antelope and mule deer buck. Both animals were observed in thick sage brush and on open farm ground. The color definition and image clarity is exceptional for a scope of this price. I would recommend this scope to any of my friends
who were on a budget where price and quality are a consideration.
Bottom line, I feel I got my money's worth and more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

awesome unit

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Most exellent , so glad I waited to purchse a high end scope and a great price to top it off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® Viper HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

it is awesome

By
I love this. I can see a bird on a bush a mile away. The scope let's in good light and the image is very clear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 22