Customer Reviews for S4 GEAR S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness

S4 GEAR S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness

Unlike other binocular harness systems, this one has a built-in lens protection to keep your optics clean and ready for glassing. ShockCord security straps ensure a comfortable, secure fit. Imported. Sizes: Small (fits optics 4.5"-6" in length), Large (fits optics 6"-7.5" in length). Colors: Black, Camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Review 1 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lockdown bino cover

Date:March 4, 2014
Excellent product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I was looking for.

Date:January 14, 2014
The only reason I give this 4 instead of 5 stars is I have not field tested it yet. I am so pleased that I no longer have to deal with lens covers and a floppy shoulder harness. This product has plenty of adjustment and my binoculars fit perfect. I believe anyone would be pleased with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better Than Expected

Date:December 24, 2013
I bought the S4 harness to replace a "standard" elastic strap harness. I found the S4 harness much more comfortable than the old harness, and it actually keeps the lenses of the binoculars clean.
I would like to give it 5 stars, but I've only used it on one elk hunt so far; therefore have no sense of durability. The system also takes some getting used to; as you can't just grab the binoculars and just lift them up like other harnesses.
All in all, it's a very worthwhile purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slick and Comfortable Setup

Date:December 24, 2013
The title says it all. I have the type of harness that snugs the binos to your chest and it was fine for carrying. But when you are glassing, there is always a little tension on the binos by the harness which gets just a bit old and a bit tiring after a while.
This harness allows you to hold the binos with no tension. It takes a split second longer to unsnap the binos but I don't feel this an issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:December 17, 2013
I own both sizes and they both work very well with the correct sized bino or rangefinder. ( I think the new 'x' series with the mesh back panel would work better with a backpack.) My only complaints are: that it will try and ride down in the front with heavy binos, it is not really made to cover wider binos, and the camo model is about 50% camo, if not less than that. Still a very good product for the price. Would rate 4.5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best harness I have seen

Date:November 14, 2013
Very effective with my Zeiss Conquest binoculars. I don't miss the only days of the binoculars bouncing around or having to pull them out of a pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple Yet Efficent

Date:October 15, 2013
These work well with my Vortex Black Diamond Binoculars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good idea-but could use some improvement

Date:June 25, 2013
the idea is great and fits well until I wear my backpack(hip strap). The pack causes slack, thus the harness does not fit snugly against the body-this could be fixed to adjust to different packs by having a back strap adjustment on the harness to take out the slack. The material is also rough against the shoulders if wearing lightweight clothing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Watch the sizes...

Date:June 17, 2013
I ordered the "small" version, (the packaging called it "micro") and the product info said that the harness would fit binos up to 6" in length. I tried it with my new Redfield Rebel 10x42 binoculars - specs say they are 5.9" in length, and that is reasonably accurate, if anything the binoculars were slightly less in length. Anyway, the "small" harness didn't really fit very well for that - not as well as I wanted it to anyway - full lens coverage, but only *JUST* barely. You need to order the large for binoculars larger than compact size. I am ordering the large version now. The package includes split rings and cable ties for attaching your binoculars to the harness. The split rings are very nice, but the cable ties are really really thin, do yourself a favor and pick up a couple slightly heavier cable ties if you need those to affix your binoculars to the harness. The only thing this harness really needs is a way to make the overall length of the harness straps themselves longer so that you can run the wraparound straps through your belt loops for added stability. You can do this if you're not very tall, but if you're a taller stature, it won't work. Still overall, a fantastic product. As a hunter I am sure fellow hunters will be aware of how we always can see little ways to improve these sorts of things, but overall this is the best I've seen on the market. I liked the product very much and will keep the "small" version and maybe re-gift it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bino lock down

Date:May 29, 2013
I liked the design but returned the product as it fell just shy of covering my 10x32 Zeiss and the next larger size is bigger than I want. Nice concept though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not work for me

Date:April 2, 2013
does not cover my swarvorki lenes.
Dust gets in and covers the lens.
Will return and go back to rubber dust caps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

keeps the binos close to your chest

Date:March 13, 2013
The design is basic and it works. I have used it only for two full days and will use it over the basic harness I normally use. The harness gets some getting used to because you have to slide the binos down and then pull up to your eyes, but once you get used to it its easy.
The harness covers the glass on the binos but doesn't protect the body, so if you are after a case type harness this isn't it.
Finally, I would have preferred a more understated print on it then the orange and white that seems to stand out but I can live with that. Mine is camo, but there is little camo on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best out there!

Date:March 8, 2013
This is a must have for any hunter. My whole family uses the Lockdown, and it fits all of us great. Not only that, but this system works great in any environment. Whether hunting whitetail in Texas, a treestand in the North, a brushy valley in the Pacific Northwest, with a rifle, or bowhunting, you are always prepared. My favorite part is just how close your binos are held to your body. Especially when bowhunting, you never have to worry about it getting in the way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Harness

Date:March 5, 2013
I love this new harness. I attached my bino's and away I went. The bungie straps that are attached to the bino's removes any tension associated with holding them up or out from your body! I also like how well they hold my bino's secure to my chest. They no longer flop around.
I highly recommend these to everybody!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good bino harness. best one that i've purchased

Date:January 30, 2013
I really like my harness, very comfortable, keeps bino in place instead of having it bounce around on your chest when you are on a stock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bino Harness

Date:December 27, 2012
I found this during a shopping excursion at the Dundee store. It was just the harness I'd been looking for I wanted one that would be easily accessible while affording my bino's a fair amount of protection. As we all know these things aren't cheap even cheap ones. This one works very well protection and simplicity of use. Perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good harness

Date:December 19, 2012
Works just as advertised. after I finally got the harness adjusted properly my binos didn't flop around while while ridding a quad into my hunting area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent setup!

Date:December 18, 2012
Functional and practical! Being a bow hunter they keep glass close to the body without impeding on ROM.1st season with them and have faired well under some extreme NE hunting conditions...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked great while horseback riding

Date:October 26, 2012
I used the S4 lockdown bino harness on a recent horseback mule deer hunt. I was very happy with the way that it really did hold down my binoculars. I had trouble in the past with the standard bino harnesses while riding horses as the binoculars really bounced. With the S4 lockdown bino harness it was also easy to get my binoculars out and then back in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Perfect

Date:October 15, 2012
I was hoping the harness would be a little more snug and thereby limit the "bounce" i get on other bino harnesses (especially given the price). Although it is a little better than most harnesses, there is still plenty of bounce. It may be that I need to make my own "custom" adjustments. I am 5' 9" and 150 lbs and it does not adjust as snug as I would like. I will say that the actual "lock down" on the holder itself is very convenient and well designed for protection of and access to the binos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28