Customer Reviews for S4 GEAR S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness

S4 GEAR S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness

Unlike other binocular harness systems, this one has a built-in lens protection to keep your optics clean and ready for glassing. ShockCord security straps ensure a comfortable, secure fit. Imported. Sizes: Small (fits optics 4.5"-6" in length), Large (fits optics 6"-7.5" in length). Colors: Black, Camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.27 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Review 1 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bino Harnes

Date:November 18, 2014
After trying several different brands of harnesses I am happy to have purchased one that is a keeper. This harness is comfortable, usable, keeps binos clean and dry, even in snowy and below zero conditions. I am very pleased with this product and the service I receive shopping at Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:November 4, 2014
I guide in Colorado and these kept my Bino's where I needed them and comfortable too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Quite Perfect

Date:October 29, 2014
I purchased this bino harness at the recommendation of my step-son who has been using his in Alaska for about six months. After unpacking it and trying it in the house, I almost sent it back but decided to go ahead and give it a try on my upcoming Colorado elk hunt. I used it to carry my binocular (a 10x42 Swarovski SLC) scouting for two days and hunting five days. Once I got used to it, I decided that I liked it, but had the following reservations:
(1) Despite the sizing recommended on the web page, the small size just barely holds my binocular. The bottom "flap" left a small gap that allowed dust to find its way to the objective lenses. After a week of use, it did fit better than at first, but still not as well as I would like. It was still necessary to clean the lenses at least a couple of times each day.
(2) The harness did not really hold the binocular firmly to my body unless I was wearing a coat or insulated vest. I am pretty much average size (5'10" and 170 lbs) and ran out of harness adjustment before the binocular was held snugly against my chest.
All in all, for the time being, I will continue to use this harness as my primary means of carrying my binocular in the field. I like the light weight, the ease of getting the binocular out and into use, and the lack of tension on the binocular during extended periods of glassing. I also found it easier to get into and out of than the harnesses that I have used in the past. I may try the newer "X" model before next fall to see if it works better for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hands down the best binoculars harness

Date:October 21, 2014
Can not imagine using any other systems once having this. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bino carrier

Date:August 26, 2014
this bino system is light weight and easy to carry it is also very easy to put the binos on and if you need to take them off it takes only a few seconds to do. it holds the binos close to you and out of the way of rifles and your bow when you make your shot. the system is very comfortable to wear all day long in clod or warm weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LARGE SIZE DOES NOT FIT THE VORTEX KAIBABS 15X56

Date:August 9, 2014
Purchased these for my Vortex Kaibabs 15X56. The large size will not fit these binoculars it is just too small.
Otherwise, I thought it was very nicely constructed and would really support heavier binoculars as well as provide protection. It just will not work for my purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bino Harness

Date:June 18, 2014
Best Harness I've used to date. Kept my binos in place and ready for use when needed. Purchased and gave mt son one for our hunts for sheep and pigs. Will be using it again in August for a hunt on the Big Island of Hawaii.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase

Date:May 13, 2014
This item fits me well but it is a one size fits all. My wife cannot wear them very well. I wish they would come in a short medium or tall for different body sizes. Other than that I think they are a great buy and hold binoculars great with quick and easy access. Quit getting in and out and easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S4 Lockdown Hands free

Date:April 29, 2014
I was skeptical in buying any bino harness. I have a Bushnell Fusion 1600 ARC 10x42 and they are not light at nearly 2 lbs. (31 oz.) I looked at price ranges and features of several and found these to be vast improvement and fitting for me features considering my needs. I bought these for significantly less $$ than some of the competitor's choices. I am in fact going back to buy the smaller harness for my ATBs. I took these turkey hunting with my turkey vest on and was never in my way, always accessible, and no perceivable noise. I highly recommend.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lockdown bino cover

Date:March 4, 2014
Excellent product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I was looking for.

Date:January 14, 2014
The only reason I give this 4 instead of 5 stars is I have not field tested it yet. I am so pleased that I no longer have to deal with lens covers and a floppy shoulder harness. This product has plenty of adjustment and my binoculars fit perfect. I believe anyone would be pleased with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better Than Expected

Date:December 24, 2013
I bought the S4 harness to replace a "standard" elastic strap harness. I found the S4 harness much more comfortable than the old harness, and it actually keeps the lenses of the binoculars clean.
I would like to give it 5 stars, but I've only used it on one elk hunt so far; therefore have no sense of durability. The system also takes some getting used to; as you can't just grab the binoculars and just lift them up like other harnesses.
All in all, it's a very worthwhile purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slick and Comfortable Setup

Date:December 24, 2013
The title says it all. I have the type of harness that snugs the binos to your chest and it was fine for carrying. But when you are glassing, there is always a little tension on the binos by the harness which gets just a bit old and a bit tiring after a while.
This harness allows you to hold the binos with no tension. It takes a split second longer to unsnap the binos but I don't feel this an issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:December 17, 2013
I own both sizes and they both work very well with the correct sized bino or rangefinder. ( I think the new 'x' series with the mesh back panel would work better with a backpack.) My only complaints are: that it will try and ride down in the front with heavy binos, it is not really made to cover wider binos, and the camo model is about 50% camo, if not less than that. Still a very good product for the price. Would rate 4.5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best harness I have seen

Date:November 14, 2013
Very effective with my Zeiss Conquest binoculars. I don't miss the only days of the binoculars bouncing around or having to pull them out of a pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple Yet Efficent

Date:October 15, 2013
These work well with my Vortex Black Diamond Binoculars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good idea-but could use some improvement

Date:June 25, 2013
the idea is great and fits well until I wear my backpack(hip strap). The pack causes slack, thus the harness does not fit snugly against the body-this could be fixed to adjust to different packs by having a back strap adjustment on the harness to take out the slack. The material is also rough against the shoulders if wearing lightweight clothing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Watch the sizes...

Date:June 17, 2013
I ordered the "small" version, (the packaging called it "micro") and the product info said that the harness would fit binos up to 6" in length. I tried it with my new Redfield Rebel 10x42 binoculars - specs say they are 5.9" in length, and that is reasonably accurate, if anything the binoculars were slightly less in length. Anyway, the "small" harness didn't really fit very well for that - not as well as I wanted it to anyway - full lens coverage, but only *JUST* barely. You need to order the large for binoculars larger than compact size. I am ordering the large version now. The package includes split rings and cable ties for attaching your binoculars to the harness. The split rings are very nice, but the cable ties are really really thin, do yourself a favor and pick up a couple slightly heavier cable ties if you need those to affix your binoculars to the harness. The only thing this harness really needs is a way to make the overall length of the harness straps themselves longer so that you can run the wraparound straps through your belt loops for added stability. You can do this if you're not very tall, but if you're a taller stature, it won't work. Still overall, a fantastic product. As a hunter I am sure fellow hunters will be aware of how we always can see little ways to improve these sorts of things, but overall this is the best I've seen on the market. I liked the product very much and will keep the "small" version and maybe re-gift it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bino lock down

Date:May 29, 2013
I liked the design but returned the product as it fell just shy of covering my 10x32 Zeiss and the next larger size is bigger than I want. Nice concept though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for S4 Gear Lockdown Bino Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not work for me

Date:April 2, 2013
does not cover my swarvorki lenes.
Dust gets in and covers the lens.
Will return and go back to rubber dust caps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 37