Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   Leupold’s-exclusive FireDot illuminated reticle gives you a bright, clear aiming point in any lighting condition. With eight intensity levels to choose from, it provides the precise illumination needed to match the conditions. A proprietary motion sensor automatically deactivates the illumination after five minutes of inactivity to conserve battery life and reactivates it as soon as motion is detected. A common CR-2032 coin-cell battery provides a remarkably long run time. Plus, fiber-optic light pipe eliminates the need for an eyepiece-based control module. Leupold’s legendary Index Matched Lens System™ combines with edge-blackened, lead-free lenses for astonishing clarity and light transmission. Extreme fast-focus eyepiece ensures optimal diopter adjustment in the field. 30mm main tube and finger-click adjustments assure maximum adjustment precision. Second-generation waterproofing resists fogging more effectively than standard nitrogen. Backed by Leupold’s Full Lifetime Warranty. To take full advantage of the CDS System, contact the Leupold custom shop after your purchase (800) LEUPOLD, and provide the technicians with the ballistics of the load you shoot.  The more accurate the information you provide, the more accurate the dial will be.  Bullet weight, ballistic coefficient, muzzle velocity, elevation/temperature of your hunting grounds—all this information can be utilized to provide pinpoint accuracy.  Even if you only have your factory ammunition box, the Leupold Custom Shop can create an exquisitely accurate CDS dial that will provide the accuracy needed for first shot stops at extended range. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
43 out of 48(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Review 1 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely impressed

Date:November 30, 2015
I went Elk hunting this year in Montana for a week with three days of heavy rain and no way to protect my scope. Yes, it does rain in Montana, occasionaly. The front lense pocket was filled with water. The scope performed perfectly, no leaking or fogging. I will only buy Leupold scopes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

California Mule Deer. VX-R 1.25-4X. 336XLR 30-30

Date:October 28, 2015
Openning week in Southern California dropped a mule deer from a stand with Marlin 336XLR 30-30 with a leupold VX-R 1.25-4X scope using 140grain MonoFlex Lever Evolution. Shooting in high desert. ~100 yard shot. Early moring after sunrise. Still that wispy dawn darkness. Red dot does help. Deer jumped, adrenaline ran maybe10yards towards stand (cool) and piled up. Love the scope. I typically set it at 1.25X. Gives me that nice single focus sight picture. Very clear. Doesn't magnify the shakes; just gives a nice and clear sight picture. Love my old Win94 peep sight days, but scopes are better. Recommend keeping the magnification as low as you can make the shot. Highly recommend the scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

humane kill at low light

Date:October 25, 2015
I have two VXR firedot scopes and they have kept my freezer full of venison. I like for the following reasons:
1-excellent optics at a good price
2 - adjustable firedot is useful for daylight or lowlight. Helps with precise target acquisition.
3-leupold lifetime guarantee
the last three deer that i have taken were all legally at low light (30 minutes before sunrise or after sunset). The firedot allows me to humanely take that shot and drop the deer like a sack of potatoes imstead of botching the shot and looking for a deer for 2 hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R 2-7 & AR10 vs Bear

Date:September 16, 2015
I gave this 5 stars because they don't have 6. Normally when you think defensive weapon you are thinking bad guy humans. I came up to a belligerent bear on my rural property at 30 yards. VX-R dot reticle target acquisition instantly. One round in the nostril and dead bear. Whew! Off-hand shooting at the range to 200 yards is a breeze with this reticle. Your eye hand coordination just puts the dot on target without thinking. Next project is a VX-R on my .358 Savage 99 for more bear and pig fun! You want this scope if you are serious about fast & easy target acquisition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope - Very durable

Date:April 26, 2015
Am on this site to order my second VX-R scope. Read through the reviews and felt like I have to make a comment. Bought my first VX-R two years ago and put it on a 375 H&H. Shot the rifle at least 40 times after scope was zeroed getting ready for a Brown bear hunt in Alaska last fall. After 10 days of less than gentle handling in typical Alaskan weather I spotted a bear on the other side of the river (aprox 195 yds) I got got my rifle up, put the dot on the bears shoulder and dropped it with one shot. I got on target and made my shot before my guide could get his rifle on target. This scope is fast, accurate and tough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow! -)))

Date:March 3, 2015
This scope is awesome! Very clear sharp! Have shot guns for years but am no expert! You will not be disappointed. Love the red dot you can dim it for even more precise shooting! This is my first scope with turrets really like them never did much longer shooting before but dial it in to two hundred yards and it is very clear and easy to hit exactly what you are aiming at! It is a joy to shoot with would give it 7 stars ! Hope this helps you in your decision glad I did not settle for something else! -)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VXR 3-9x50

Date:February 6, 2015
I have long been a user of the VX-3 and have several. In fact, I got rid of all but one of my European scopes because the VX-3 is so good. I got a good price on the VX-R so thought I'd give it a try. Mounted it on a Ruger Scout Rifle w/XDS full length pic rail. This is my first illuminated reticle. I am extremely pleased with the scope and the firedot. It is clear and you can see well until the end of legal shooting hours. The scope works very well in low light you just have to remember to dial down the intensity of the dot as night approaches. I won't be trading in any of my VX-3s or my VX-6 but highly recommend this scope to anyone who want quality and value. I have the CDS model and recommend that you regularly check that the dial is on zero. If you use a rifle scabbard or soft case the dial can sometimes move.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:January 27, 2015
very happy with this scope works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold always number one

Date:January 13, 2015
Always remember-Leupold, Made in the USA. Look at the others, including a popular German brand. Lifetime guarantee unless you did something really stupid. This VXR with the ballistic fire dot reticle is hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R

Date:December 31, 2014
I'm very pleased with this scope. The sales people in the Delaware store were very helpful with my purchase.With such a selection of scopes I was really which one to buy. They asked me what my use for the scope was and helped me pick out one that be best for me. Thanks to all the people in this dept. all were very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:December 17, 2014
I want to say first I love leupold scopes. I also love that this scope has a green dot. After that the glass is nice and clear as it should be. Here is the problem. I bought this scope and after four days the dot went from a dot to a blob. I didn't even shoot the rifle yet. Also I want to state that I used a good torque wrench to tighten it in the mount. Also used a good mount. Ok no one is perfect. after two hours at the store and extra shipping the new one was on it way. Got the new scope in and turned it on and it had a blob from the get go. Where is the QC here? This scope is a hundred dollars more for a green dot that doesn't even work? I might try a third one but I'm leaving on vaction in three days and not sure it wil make it in time. Plus now I have to go back to the store during the holidays. Save your money and get a regular vxr patrol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:November 24, 2014
I bought the 4x12 40mm FireDot Ballistic version of this scope to mount on my 6.8 SPC AR-15. The scope was well built, and the glass was very clear. The Lighted dot reticle was really helpful in the first 30 minutes before sunrise and 30 minutes after sunset. Worked great on the gun and had no issues with it mounted on my AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't be beat

Date:October 21, 2014
absolutely the best scope I own
best light gathering-- moves bullet when sighting in
just love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

On target....

Date:October 10, 2014
It is worth the money to purchase a high-end scope. I noticed how easy it was to zero this scope, and it stayed zeroed. I didn't have to tap on the scope to make sure of the correct adjustment. I installed this scope on my 7.62 M1A1 EBR with a LEUPOLD MARK 4 IMS MOUNTING SYSTEM 30MM RING INSERT and quick release mount. I love it....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive Leupold Scope

Date:August 19, 2014
I recently purchased a VX-R Patrol with an illuminated reticle. The scope is very bright and clear and the reticle is fully adjustable for low light conditions. It has become my favorite wild hog hunting scope and I plan to buy another soon. This scope is one of the best I have used and it's made in America!
TF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scope

Date:July 9, 2014
Very pleased, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good, all-around performer.

Date:May 21, 2014
If you're considering a tactical scope for your AR, put the Leupold VX-R Patrol 1.25-4X with Firedot reticle on your list of contenders. It's fairly compact, has good (not great) optics and the ability to use it with or without the Firedot is a plus. It's a bit of a "Jack Of All Trades" style product. Certainly, a dedicated red dot with no magnification is faster to use, and there are better multifocal scopes than the VX-R in its price range. Still, it does work well, and has enough versatility to fit the needs of many AR shooters who are looking for an affordable product which is made in the USA. One thing to be aware of though -- Leupold doesn't see the need to include a set of lens covers or a Scopecoat, so you'll have to find something that works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-R Hog

Date:April 8, 2014
very clear optics. I can still run it with both eyes opened even though it is not true 1x. Not a big fan of the push button illumination but it is ok. Reticle is definitely too big for precision work but that is not the intention I had for this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R 3-9X40

Date:April 7, 2014
I bought this scope for my AR and I am very pleased. The red dot really makes a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® VX-R Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:March 5, 2014
Scope works great. Mounted on a BLR in a 358 Winchester. Would have preferred the circle to be a little bit tighter than it is but I knew that up front as that is part of the spec.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 48