Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   The Leupold VX-R Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescope incorporates green illumination and a custom-engraved main tube that proudly displays the American flag. Includes two ballistically matched custom-engraved turrets for a .223 55-gr. or a .308 168-gr. cartridge. Leupold's FireDot illuminated reticle gives you a bright, clear aiming point in all light conditions. With eight intensity levels to choose from, it provides the precise illumination needed to match the conditions. Proprietary motion sensor automatically deactivates the illumination after five minutes of inactivity to conserve battery life and reactivates it as soon as motion is detected. A common CR-2032 coin-cell battery provides a remarkably long run time. Fiber-optic light pipe eliminates the need for an eyepiece-based control module. Leupold's legendary Index Matched Lens System ™ combines with edge-blackened, lead-free lenses for pristine clarity and light transmission. Extreme fast-focus eyepiece ensures optimal diopter adjustment in the field. 30mm main tube and finger-click adjustments assure maximum adjustment precision. Second-generation waterproofing resists fogging better than standard nitrogen. Backed by Leupold's Full Lifetime Warranty. Made in USA . Color/camo pattern: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
68 out of 74(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Review 1 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2016

1x4 vx-r hog plex scope

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Love the scope. Would of gave 5 stars but the reticle has the words pig plex in the crosshairs and i didn't care for that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2015

Extremely impressed

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I went Elk hunting this year in Montana for a week with three days of heavy rain and no way to protect my scope. Yes, it does rain in Montana, occasionaly. The front lense pocket was filled with water. The scope performed perfectly, no leaking or fogging. I will only buy Leupold scopes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2015

California Mule Deer. VX-R 1.25-4X. 336XLR 30-30

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Openning week in Southern California dropped a mule deer from a stand with Marlin 336XLR 30-30 with a leupold VX-R 1.25-4X scope using 140grain MonoFlex Lever Evolution. Shooting in high desert. ~100 yard shot. Early moring after sunrise. Still that wispy dawn darkness. Red dot does help. Deer jumped, adrenaline ran maybe10yards towards stand (cool) and piled up. Love the scope. I typically set it at 1.25X. Gives me that nice single focus sight picture. Very clear. Doesn't magnify the shakes; just gives a nice and clear sight picture. Love my old Win94 peep sight days, but scopes are better. Recommend keeping the magnification as low as you can make the shot. Highly recommend the scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2015

humane kill at low light

By
I have two VXR firedot scopes and they have kept my freezer full of venison. I like for the following reasons:
1-excellent optics at a good price
2 - adjustable firedot is useful for daylight or lowlight. Helps with precise target acquisition.
3-leupold lifetime guarantee
the last three deer that i have taken were all legally at low light (30 minutes before sunrise or after sunset). The firedot allows me to humanely take that shot and drop the deer like a sack of potatoes imstead of botching the shot and looking for a deer for 2 hours.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2015

VX-R 2-7 & AR10 vs Bear

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I gave this 5 stars because they don't have 6. Normally when you think defensive weapon you are thinking bad guy humans. I came up to a belligerent bear on my rural property at 30 yards. VX-R dot reticle target acquisition instantly. One round in the nostril and dead bear. Whew! Off-hand shooting at the range to 200 yards is a breeze with this reticle. Your eye hand coordination just puts the dot on target without thinking. Next project is a VX-R on my .358 Savage 99 for more bear and pig fun! You want this scope if you are serious about fast & easy target acquisition.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2015

Great scope - Very durable

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Am on this site to order my second VX-R scope. Read through the reviews and felt like I have to make a comment. Bought my first VX-R two years ago and put it on a 375 H&H. Shot the rifle at least 40 times after scope was zeroed getting ready for a Brown bear hunt in Alaska last fall. After 10 days of less than gentle handling in typical Alaskan weather I spotted a bear on the other side of the river (aprox 195 yds) I got got my rifle up, put the dot on the bears shoulder and dropped it with one shot. I got on target and made my shot before my guide could get his rifle on target. This scope is fast, accurate and tough.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2015

wow! -)))

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This scope is awesome! Very clear sharp! Have shot guns for years but am no expert! You will not be disappointed. Love the red dot you can dim it for even more precise shooting! This is my first scope with turrets really like them never did much longer shooting before but dial it in to two hundred yards and it is very clear and easy to hit exactly what you are aiming at! It is a joy to shoot with would give it 7 stars ! Hope this helps you in your decision glad I did not settle for something else! -)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015

VXR 3-9x50

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have long been a user of the VX-3 and have several. In fact, I got rid of all but one of my European scopes because the VX-3 is so good. I got a good price on the VX-R so thought I'd give it a try. Mounted it on a Ruger Scout Rifle w/XDS full length pic rail. This is my first illuminated reticle. I am extremely pleased with the scope and the firedot. It is clear and you can see well until the end of legal shooting hours. The scope works very well in low light you just have to remember to dial down the intensity of the dot as night approaches. I won't be trading in any of my VX-3s or my VX-6 but highly recommend this scope to anyone who want quality and value. I have the CDS model and recommend that you regularly check that the dial is on zero. If you use a rifle scabbard or soft case the dial can sometimes move.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

great scope

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
very happy with this scope works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Leupold always number one

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Always remember-Leupold, Made in the USA. Look at the others, including a popular German brand. Lifetime guarantee unless you did something really stupid. This VXR with the ballistic fire dot reticle is hard to beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2014

VX-R

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm very pleased with this scope. The sales people in the Delaware store were very helpful with my purchase.With such a selection of scopes I was really which one to buy. They asked me what my use for the scope was and helped me pick out one that be best for me. Thanks to all the people in this dept. all were very helpful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2014

JUNK

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I want to say first I love leupold scopes. I also love that this scope has a green dot. After that the glass is nice and clear as it should be. Here is the problem. I bought this scope and after four days the dot went from a dot to a blob. I didn't even shoot the rifle yet. Also I want to state that I used a good torque wrench to tighten it in the mount. Also used a good mount. Ok no one is perfect. after two hours at the store and extra shipping the new one was on it way. Got the new scope in and turned it on and it had a blob from the get go. Where is the QC here? This scope is a hundred dollars more for a green dot that doesn't even work? I might try a third one but I'm leaving on vaction in three days and not sure it wil make it in time. Plus now I have to go back to the store during the holidays. Save your money and get a regular vxr patrol
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2014

Great Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought the 4x12 40mm FireDot Ballistic version of this scope to mount on my 6.8 SPC AR-15. The scope was well built, and the glass was very clear. The Lighted dot reticle was really helpful in the first 30 minutes before sunrise and 30 minutes after sunset. Worked great on the gun and had no issues with it mounted on my AR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

can't be beat

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
absolutely the best scope I own
best light gathering-- moves bullet when sighting in
just love it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2014

On target....

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It is worth the money to purchase a high-end scope. I noticed how easy it was to zero this scope, and it stayed zeroed. I didn't have to tap on the scope to make sure of the correct adjustment. I installed this scope on my 7.62 M1A1 EBR with a LEUPOLD MARK 4 IMS MOUNTING SYSTEM 30MM RING INSERT and quick release mount. I love it....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014

Impressive Leupold Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently purchased a VX-R Patrol with an illuminated reticle. The scope is very bright and clear and the reticle is fully adjustable for low light conditions. It has become my favorite wild hog hunting scope and I plan to buy another soon. This scope is one of the best I have used and it's made in America!
TF
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very pleased, great value
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014

A good, all-around performer.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
If you're considering a tactical scope for your AR, put the Leupold VX-R Patrol 1.25-4X with Firedot reticle on your list of contenders. It's fairly compact, has good (not great) optics and the ability to use it with or without the Firedot is a plus. It's a bit of a "Jack Of All Trades" style product. Certainly, a dedicated red dot with no magnification is faster to use, and there are better multifocal scopes than the VX-R in its price range. Still, it does work well, and has enough versatility to fit the needs of many AR shooters who are looking for an affordable product which is made in the USA. One thing to be aware of though -- Leupold doesn't see the need to include a set of lens covers or a Scopecoat, so you'll have to find something that works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

Leupold VX-R Hog

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
very clear optics. I can still run it with both eyes opened even though it is not true 1x. Not a big fan of the push button illumination but it is ok. Reticle is definitely too big for precision work but that is not the intention I had for this scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

VX-R 3-9X40

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
I bought this scope for my AR and I am very pleased. The red dot really makes a difference.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 50