Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   The Leupold VX-R Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescope incorporates green illumination and a custom-engraved main tube that proudly displays the American flag. Includes two ballistically matched custom-engraved turrets for a .223 55-gr. or a .308 168-gr. cartridge. Leupold's FireDot illuminated reticle gives you a bright, clear aiming point in all light conditions. With eight intensity levels to choose from, it provides the precise illumination needed to match the conditions. Proprietary motion sensor automatically deactivates the illumination after five minutes of inactivity to conserve battery life and reactivates it as soon as motion is detected. A common CR-2032 coin-cell battery provides a remarkably long run time. Fiber-optic light pipe eliminates the need for an eyepiece-based control module. Leupold's legendary Index Matched Lens System ™ combines with edge-blackened, lead-free lenses for pristine clarity and light transmission. Extreme fast-focus eyepiece ensures optimal diopter adjustment in the field. 30mm main tube and finger-click adjustments assure maximum adjustment precision. Second-generation waterproofing resists fogging better than standard nitrogen. Backed by Leupold's Full Lifetime Warranty. Made in USA . Color/camo pattern: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
37 out of 42(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Review 1 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VXR 3-9x50

Date:February 6, 2015
I have long been a user of the VX-3 and have several. In fact, I got rid of all but one of my European scopes because the VX-3 is so good. I got a good price on the VX-R so thought I'd give it a try. Mounted it on a Ruger Scout Rifle w/XDS full length pic rail. This is my first illuminated reticle. I am extremely pleased with the scope and the firedot. It is clear and you can see well until the end of legal shooting hours. The scope works very well in low light you just have to remember to dial down the intensity of the dot as night approaches. I won't be trading in any of my VX-3s or my VX-6 but highly recommend this scope to anyone who want quality and value. I have the CDS model and recommend that you regularly check that the dial is on zero. If you use a rifle scabbard or soft case the dial can sometimes move.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:January 27, 2015
very happy with this scope works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold always number one

Date:January 13, 2015
Always remember-Leupold, Made in the USA. Look at the others, including a popular German brand. Lifetime guarantee unless you did something really stupid. This VXR with the ballistic fire dot reticle is hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R

Date:December 31, 2014
I'm very pleased with this scope. The sales people in the Delaware store were very helpful with my purchase.With such a selection of scopes I was really which one to buy. They asked me what my use for the scope was and helped me pick out one that be best for me. Thanks to all the people in this dept. all were very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:December 17, 2014
I want to say first I love leupold scopes. I also love that this scope has a green dot. After that the glass is nice and clear as it should be. Here is the problem. I bought this scope and after four days the dot went from a dot to a blob. I didn't even shoot the rifle yet. Also I want to state that I used a good torque wrench to tighten it in the mount. Also used a good mount. Ok no one is perfect. after two hours at the store and extra shipping the new one was on it way. Got the new scope in and turned it on and it had a blob from the get go. Where is the QC here? This scope is a hundred dollars more for a green dot that doesn't even work? I might try a third one but I'm leaving on vaction in three days and not sure it wil make it in time. Plus now I have to go back to the store during the holidays. Save your money and get a regular vxr patrol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:November 24, 2014
I bought the 4x12 40mm FireDot Ballistic version of this scope to mount on my 6.8 SPC AR-15. The scope was well built, and the glass was very clear. The Lighted dot reticle was really helpful in the first 30 minutes before sunrise and 30 minutes after sunset. Worked great on the gun and had no issues with it mounted on my AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't be beat

Date:October 21, 2014
absolutely the best scope I own
best light gathering-- moves bullet when sighting in
just love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

On target....

Date:October 10, 2014
It is worth the money to purchase a high-end scope. I noticed how easy it was to zero this scope, and it stayed zeroed. I didn't have to tap on the scope to make sure of the correct adjustment. I installed this scope on my 7.62 M1A1 EBR with a LEUPOLD MARK 4 IMS MOUNTING SYSTEM 30MM RING INSERT and quick release mount. I love it....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive Leupold Scope

Date:August 19, 2014
I recently purchased a VX-R Patrol with an illuminated reticle. The scope is very bright and clear and the reticle is fully adjustable for low light conditions. It has become my favorite wild hog hunting scope and I plan to buy another soon. This scope is one of the best I have used and it's made in America!
TF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scope

Date:July 9, 2014
Very pleased, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good, all-around performer.

Date:May 21, 2014
If you're considering a tactical scope for your AR, put the Leupold VX-R Patrol 1.25-4X with Firedot reticle on your list of contenders. It's fairly compact, has good (not great) optics and the ability to use it with or without the Firedot is a plus. It's a bit of a "Jack Of All Trades" style product. Certainly, a dedicated red dot with no magnification is faster to use, and there are better multifocal scopes than the VX-R in its price range. Still, it does work well, and has enough versatility to fit the needs of many AR shooters who are looking for an affordable product which is made in the USA. One thing to be aware of though -- Leupold doesn't see the need to include a set of lens covers or a Scopecoat, so you'll have to find something that works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-R Hog

Date:April 8, 2014
very clear optics. I can still run it with both eyes opened even though it is not true 1x. Not a big fan of the push button illumination but it is ok. Reticle is definitely too big for precision work but that is not the intention I had for this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R 3-9X40

Date:April 7, 2014
I bought this scope for my AR and I am very pleased. The red dot really makes a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:March 5, 2014
Scope works great. Mounted on a BLR in a 358 Winchester. Would have preferred the circle to be a little bit tighter than it is but I knew that up front as that is part of the spec.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yesss!

Date:March 4, 2014
Clear image. Nice Reticle. The firedot is fantastic.
I love this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nite Lite

Date:February 18, 2014
I used the scope on a Texas pig hunt at night and had great results. The adjustable light worked well and the fact it turned on and off with motion was a welcome feature. I used it in conjunction with a VLR-1 night lite in green and couldn't be happier with the results of the combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 31, 2014
I own 3 of these scopes and they are excellent. I have one on a 300 black out bolt gun and it is a great combo for a kids deer rifle. I tell my boys to put the red dot on the shoulder and it really helps them. You get the magnification and clarity of a traditional leupold scope with the added red dot. The red dot is crystal clear and sharp, not hazy like some red dots. Also works great on an AR platform. I also like the 30mm tube. You'll be happy with this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 21, 2014
I own and use 6 Leupold scopes. I love each one. I put the VX-R is on a M1A .308 and it is a perfect fit for a low light conditions. With a no questions lifetime warranty what more could you ask.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 19, 2014
I returned a Cabelas Alaskan Guide 30mm 3x12 for this VXR 30 3x9.Had it on a dpms ar10 308.I could only get it to shot a 6'' group at a 100yds.Put on the VXR shot the same loads and shot a 1 3/4''group at a 100yds. Also shot a 2.5'' with another load.Great improvement and the reddot shows up really bright at mid day.Cant wait to turn this arsenal on some Texas hogs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must Have, Reliable Scope

Date:September 23, 2013
I bought the 3-9x40 model for my AR-15 in .223. I think this scope is clearer than the VX-3s that I have. The Firedot Reticle is an added bonus, especially for when I'll be calling varmints at night. It didn't take long to sight in and has held up to the abuse I put my AR through. I will be buying VX-Rs from now on, a switch from the VX-3s I thought I would never separate myself from.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 42