Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   The Leupold VX-R Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescope incorporates green illumination and a custom-engraved main tube that proudly displays the American flag. Includes two ballistically matched custom-engraved turrets for a .223 55-gr. or a .308 168-gr. cartridge. Leupold's FireDot illuminated reticle gives you a bright, clear aiming point in all light conditions. With eight intensity levels to choose from, it provides the precise illumination needed to match the conditions. Proprietary motion sensor automatically deactivates the illumination after five minutes of inactivity to conserve battery life and reactivates it as soon as motion is detected. A common CR-2032 coin-cell battery provides a remarkably long run time. Fiber-optic light pipe eliminates the need for an eyepiece-based control module. Leupold's legendary Index Matched Lens System ™ combines with edge-blackened, lead-free lenses for pristine clarity and light transmission. Extreme fast-focus eyepiece ensures optimal diopter adjustment in the field. 30mm main tube and finger-click adjustments assure maximum adjustment precision. Second-generation waterproofing resists fogging better than standard nitrogen. Backed by Leupold's Full Lifetime Warranty. Made in USA . Color/camo pattern: Black, Cabela's Outfitter Camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
32 out of 36(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Review 1 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't be beat

Date:October 21, 2014
absolutely the best scope I own
best light gathering-- moves bullet when sighting in
just love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

On target....

Date:October 10, 2014
It is worth the money to purchase a high-end scope. I noticed how easy it was to zero this scope, and it stayed zeroed. I didn't have to tap on the scope to make sure of the correct adjustment. I installed this scope on my 7.62 M1A1 EBR with a LEUPOLD MARK 4 IMS MOUNTING SYSTEM 30MM RING INSERT and quick release mount. I love it....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive Leupold Scope

Date:August 19, 2014
I recently purchased a VX-R Patrol with an illuminated reticle. The scope is very bright and clear and the reticle is fully adjustable for low light conditions. It has become my favorite wild hog hunting scope and I plan to buy another soon. This scope is one of the best I have used and it's made in America!
TF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scope

Date:July 9, 2014
Very pleased, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good, all-around performer.

Date:May 21, 2014
If you're considering a tactical scope for your AR, put the Leupold VX-R Patrol 1.25-4X with Firedot reticle on your list of contenders. It's fairly compact, has good (not great) optics and the ability to use it with or without the Firedot is a plus. It's a bit of a "Jack Of All Trades" style product. Certainly, a dedicated red dot with no magnification is faster to use, and there are better multifocal scopes than the VX-R in its price range. Still, it does work well, and has enough versatility to fit the needs of many AR shooters who are looking for an affordable product which is made in the USA. One thing to be aware of though -- Leupold doesn't see the need to include a set of lens covers or a Scopecoat, so you'll have to find something that works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-R Hog

Date:April 8, 2014
very clear optics. I can still run it with both eyes opened even though it is not true 1x. Not a big fan of the push button illumination but it is ok. Reticle is definitely too big for precision work but that is not the intention I had for this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-R 3-9X40

Date:April 7, 2014
I bought this scope for my AR and I am very pleased. The red dot really makes a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:March 5, 2014
Scope works great. Mounted on a BLR in a 358 Winchester. Would have preferred the circle to be a little bit tighter than it is but I knew that up front as that is part of the spec.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yesss!

Date:March 4, 2014
Clear image. Nice Reticle. The firedot is fantastic.
I love this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nite Lite

Date:February 18, 2014
I used the scope on a Texas pig hunt at night and had great results. The adjustable light worked well and the fact it turned on and off with motion was a welcome feature. I used it in conjunction with a VLR-1 night lite in green and couldn't be happier with the results of the combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 31, 2014
I own 3 of these scopes and they are excellent. I have one on a 300 black out bolt gun and it is a great combo for a kids deer rifle. I tell my boys to put the red dot on the shoulder and it really helps them. You get the magnification and clarity of a traditional leupold scope with the added red dot. The red dot is crystal clear and sharp, not hazy like some red dots. Also works great on an AR platform. I also like the 30mm tube. You'll be happy with this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 21, 2014
I own and use 6 Leupold scopes. I love each one. I put the VX-R is on a M1A .308 and it is a perfect fit for a low light conditions. With a no questions lifetime warranty what more could you ask.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 19, 2014
I returned a Cabelas Alaskan Guide 30mm 3x12 for this VXR 30 3x9.Had it on a dpms ar10 308.I could only get it to shot a 6'' group at a 100yds.Put on the VXR shot the same loads and shot a 1 3/4''group at a 100yds. Also shot a 2.5'' with another load.Great improvement and the reddot shows up really bright at mid day.Cant wait to turn this arsenal on some Texas hogs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must Have, Reliable Scope

Date:September 23, 2013
I bought the 3-9x40 model for my AR-15 in .223. I think this scope is clearer than the VX-3s that I have. The Firedot Reticle is an added bonus, especially for when I'll be calling varmints at night. It didn't take long to sight in and has held up to the abuse I put my AR through. I will be buying VX-Rs from now on, a switch from the VX-3s I thought I would never separate myself from.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for your buck

Date:July 9, 2013
If your looking for a 1-4 scope, then choose the leupold vxr scope. Clear and crisp sight picture, love the option to turn on/off the red dot, and for the price this is the he best 1-4 scope on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome scope for the AR.

Date:April 30, 2013
I have the 3-9 model and wow what a sweet picture. I wish I purchased this model for my first AR build. Clear, easy to use, bright in low light, couldn't ask for more. I've used high dollar Monarchs and a VX-3 and this beats them hands down in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope!!

Date:March 19, 2013
I can't wait to use this scope next hunting season. Very clear in low light and with the red center dot it's going to be great on those early mornings and late evenings deer hunts. My dad bought one the same day and with his older eyes, he really likes the red dot. He says it helps him find the center of his reticles very quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 24hr scope

Date:March 19, 2013
I love this scope. I have it mounted on my AR. With the illuminated reticle its so much easier to put the crosshair on target. I have a hard time actually putting the crosshair on my target in quick action shooting. I usally just centered the scope and pull the trigger. This thing has made me super accurate. The glass is great at night with a bright moon or spotlight. On very bright days and high contract backgrounds it's harder to see the red dot, but still visible. Would recommed it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best scope for the AR15

Date:February 21, 2013
First off you can't go wrong with Luepold. But I absolutely love this scope. I honestly went and looked through every scope Cabelas has. This scope is on another level. Its incredible. So quick to engage targets. FireDot is great during day and Night. Zero'd no problem at all. I will never own a another AR without this scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® VX-R Series Cabela's Exclusive Illuminated Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Patrol Model Works Well

Date:February 19, 2013
Was hesitent to make this purchase after reading some of the reviews, but having Leupold scopes on all my other rifles, I decided to buy it anyway, and put the Patrol model on my M4 with an IMS 2 mount without any additional risers. Scope mounted this way looks past the F style front sight, even on the lowest setting. First 3 shots all on paper, and zeroed in 6 rounds. With a lifetime warranty, dont think you could ask for more. This scope will work with both 5.56 and 308, though I prefer a higher power scope on my 308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 36