Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope

VORTEX Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Experience the upper limits of spotting scope performance with a Vortex Razor HD Spotting Scope that delivers superior image quality and color fidelity. A sophisticated, high-definition, triple-apochromatic lens system almost completely eliminates chromatic aberration across the entire field of view – no fringing, degradation of resolution or dilution of color fidelity at longer distances. ArmorTek™, an advanced exterior multicoating, protects lens surfaces from scratches, dirt and fingerprints. Dual focus system is capable of both coarse and fine adjustment. The compact, die-cast magnesium-alloy rotating body is purged with argon gas, and is waterproof and fogproof. Custom carry case included. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Review 1 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20-60x85 is very nice, big and heavy though

Date:December 29, 2013
We also have a Leupold Golden Ring 12-40x60 that I have had for almost twenty years now. I have reviewed it here on Cabelas web site.
I was window shopping for an angled body scope after a telephone conversation with a tech at Vortex in which the topic of sharing a single scope with kids came up. He said: you might want to consider an angled body scope especially given your desire to look at the moon, stars and planets with your kids.
Long story short, after reading reviews and looking through what was out there from Kowa, Leica, Zeiss and Swaro I settled on this scope and am happy with my decision. We may be giving up some slight optical quality in going with the Vortex, but not enough to really notice. We own Swaro, Leica and Nikon EDG optical instruments which I have also reviewed here, I am not saying that to brag, just to make the point that I am not adverse to pay when I can justify the cost with a commensurate and noticeable step up in quality.
This scope is noticeably better optically in a few areas than our old Leupold, but the Leupold weighs half as much. If you are currently shopping both scopes I would highly recommend a side by side test of the Leupold HD and the Vortex if the scope will be used for bird watching and star gazing. Our old non-HD is a good scope, and a great hunting scope, but if you intend to use the scope for bird watching etc where color fidelity and freedom from CA are considerations then you would want to limit your choice to a scope with HD glass.
The Leupold 12-40x60 is about as much scope as you would want to haul into back country on your back, and likewise whatever tripod you would have matched to either of these two scopes. This is a rather heavy scope and it does demand a tripod and head that is capable of supporting it. If you are buying a scope of this quality and expecting for it to perform well on a flimsy tripod, you would be just as well served by a much less costly scope. Just saying.
I really do like the focus set up on this scope a lot too. If there is anything that I would like to see Vortex change about this scope it would be that the detents on the rotating collar would be more pronounced and they would add a Picatinny rail mount like on their Viper scope so that I could attach an old 2x pistol scope to it to aim it with when shooting rockchucks.
All in all, if weight is not a consideration this scope is hard to beat. Vortex, Swaro and Leupold all have legendary customer service and I can attest to the value of that from having to have dealt all of them as well as with others that are not as focused on that aspect of their business. If you need "customer service," you really are at the mercy of the company you are dealing with and Vortex is as good as anybody in that regard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Scope for the money

Date:December 10, 2013
I purchased the Razor HD 11x33x50 scope for taking back deep in the mountains. Wasn't disappointed! Scope is super light and great quality. Scope is very clear and brings in light nicely overall a great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent clarity and customer service

Date:October 6, 2013
I bought both the razor HD spotting scope as well as the razor HD 10x42 binos several years ago. I have compared them side by side to my brothers swarovski binos and spotting scope, both at full light and dusk. Neither him or I could tell a difference in clarity, certainly not a $1,000 to $2,000 difference. During a hunting accident, one of my pack horses rolled down a rocky mesa side, crushing my binos and spotting scope (as well as everything else). Both were destroyed. I sent them back to Vortex, in several pieces. In 2 weeks I had a new set of binos and spotting scope on my front pouch, no questions asked, no hassle at all. This is a great product, with an unmatched warranty. Their clarity is equal if not better than that of swarovski at any light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex beats Swarovski

Date:September 18, 2013
I have 12x50 Viper Vortex binoculars and am very happy with them after doing some comparison shopping at the store vs. Leupold since I love Leupold. I was in the market for a high-end spotting scope so I called the Vortex home office located in Wisconsin and after a long conversation with one of the gentleman who had over 20 years in optics said he would put the Vortex glass up against any brand on the market. I said even Swarovski he said and especially them.
So, I went to the Wheeling store and asked the knowledgeable sales staff if they would mind doing a spotting scope comparison. And the 2 men were Great! We took the Vortex Razor 20-60x85mm (costing $1,600) and the new Swarovski Modular 25-60x85mm (costing almost $4,800 with both eyepiece and objective lens) outside focusing on a small parking sign in a Walmart parking lot approx. 1/4 mile away. With the fine adjustments and less distortion on the Vortex, I came to the conclusion that the Vortex was as clear and had less chromatic aberration than the Swarovski. The salesman said the fine tuning on the Vortex really makes the difference in the clarity. I totally agreed. Plus, the unconditional warranty at Vortex compared to Swarovski's conditional warranty the decision is easier. After contemplating the comparison with my wife over lunch at Cabelas, I purchased the Vortex and very happy I did because it is amazing at the range viewing the small .17 caliber holes at 200 yards. Plus the HD color is fantastic when using with my iPhone 5 alongside of PhoneSkope product using with the Vortex spotting scope. The pictures and videos are fabulous at long distances. The owners at PhoneSkope encouraged me to do the comparison when I ordered their product for my binoculars.
I really like to shop Cabelas online, but you cannot compare products like I did at the store ordering online, especially when the store is located 2 1/2 hours from my home in Ohio. The sales staff is always helpful and knowledgeable when doing comparison shopping that is necessary for major purchases. Now I am ready for the elk hunt in Idaho next fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Price point and performance #1

Date:August 11, 2013
My personal opinion of my Razor Hd 20x60 85mm is that you are gonna be hard pressed to find a product that has the capability of this spotting scope for the money. I will be honest with the fact that it doesn't have the clarity of my Swarovski during the first 3 minutes of light or the last 7 before your days done, but for the money or not for the money this is the spotting scope I use to make my living. Needles to say that the customer service and warranty are the best in the business. Good Luck!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:September 17, 2012
This is a great scope! Clarity is awesome! Very happy with the investment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spectacular Scope!!!

Date:June 21, 2012
I can't emphasize how great this spotting scope is. I recently had my Swarovski stolen from my house. I have used and hunted with my Swarovksi spotting scope for 20 years. I just felt sick because I didn't know how I was going to replace it. I ended up buying the Vortex HD and let me tell you, the Swarovski holds nothing over this scope except double the price tag.
I took my Dad out spotting and we seen a herd of deer running from something. The deer were being chased by a small pack of wolves. The deer and wolves were at least 3 miles away. It was fascinating to watch, and the scope was so crystal clear we could see the hair move and easily count the points on the rack of the two bucks. It is amazing to me how clear this scope is when you turn the power up to 60.
I have also used this scope for digi-scoping. With the Vortex camera attachment my pictures have turned out great. I recently took pictures of Big Horn sheep at about 100 yards away and I really zoomed in. The pictures turned out Awesome!!! I literally can count the hairs around the snout in sharp detail.
I love this scope and it has been worth every penny I spent on it (Actually, my home insurance). I highly recommend this scope if you can't tell. I read multiple reviews, went to several sportsman stores, looked thru all the top scopes including Leica and Swarovski, and researched online thoroughly before I decided to purchase this spotting scope. I decided on the Vortex because everyone I spoke to at Cabela's and the other stores I visited raved about it. I never have seen a bad or poor review. This will be the best scope you ever own for the price!! I guarantee it...
With the warranty that Vortex provides, the quality of the scope and the price difference between the other top brands, I literally don't know how they can compete with Vortex or why someone would spend the extra money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Expensive but incredible

Date:February 28, 2012
I've been using a Redfield 15-45x for the past 25 years or so and decided to upgrade my spotting scope in anticipation of some special time in the field this past summer. After a lot of research I settled on this scope. It was an expensive purchase for me, but by getting it thru Cabela's, I earned enough points to get a pair of Danner GTX boots for free, and that helped.
At home, I put this and the Redfield up on the deck and checked out pronghorns in the back yard. At full daylight, I didn't see a whole lot of difference. However, in the field, different story. I found myself on 60x many, many times. The optics were so clear and crisp that I was surprised when I bumped into the upper stop- with the Redfield, the image gets blurry past 30x and I'm "milking" it to 45x. The Vortex is cruising at 45x.
In addition to hunting, I do a lot of bird-watching, especially of raptors. I got the angled eyepiece and am SO glad I did. It's really comfortable looking at cliffs thru the angle and it's much easier for people of various heights to step up and look thru your scope. When hunting, I like the relaxed position of looking at the ground, rather than kinking my neck up with a straight-thru scope, especially when looking uphill at game.
It would be nice if eye relief were better, but that's always an issue. With contact lenses, I had no problem and I found that even with my 20/500 vision that I have enough adjustment to see w/out my glasses.
I mount this on a Vortex Dakota tripod and that's another winner.
.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Providence, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Spotting Scope on the Market

Date:January 27, 2012
The Vortex Razor is by far and above the best spotting scope on the market for the money. I have nothing but rave reviews for it clarity and capabilities. My only complaint is that I wish that Vortex would make a good quality carrying case (either soft or hard sided) to protect this expensive scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: yukon canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent spotting scope

Date:February 26, 2011
at 60 power the clarity is amazing.when trying to
determine if your dall sheep ram is legal or not
this scope can save you alot of walking.well
worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: choteu ,mt
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Review continued

Date:October 9, 2010
I sold my Leica and bought a Vortex Continued
Review Of Vortex Razor HD 85mm spotting scope
By Jeff
Professional Naturalist /Guide for The Nature Conservancy, Montana.
Body and construction
The Vortex razor feels very well made. The zoom operates smoothly. I really like the duel focus knobs that are very smooth and have no lag in the rolling of them.
I really like that the eye-piece locks in place with a pin. I would prefer all rubber armor on the body like the Leica and Swarovski.. I also find the sun shade slides out too freely for my tastes. I think the Objective lens cap might not fit well if you put a protective filter on but I did not test this.
I also like how smooth and firm the eye-cup twists out. making for great eye-relief adjustment.
Now for some real world use.
I used the Vortex in the field leading wildlife watching expeditions and hikes.
I also tested it watching White-winged Cross bills feeding. I loved the color rendition I got through the Vortex. I saw great highlights in the bird’s feathers.
I used the scope several times at dusk looking for grizzly bears at Pine Butte Preserve in Montana. The Vortex did very well in the poor light- even in the rain. The Vortex scope was even brighter than my Leica binoculars. I had several of my clients comment on how bright and sharp they thought the scope was. We watched several moose and were able to see the velvet on the antlers from ½ a mile. I was able to pick out elk from nearly two miles away, and we watched a female grizzly with two cubs run across a meadow. The detail in their hair was excellent. You could see her coat ripple and move as she stood up to smell us. One major difference I noticed: at 60x the Leica and Swarovski really seemed to tunnel down and have small field of view. The Vortex seemed much bigger and brighter. This was most observable when looking at wildlife over one mile away in poor light.
Summary
The Vortex Razor is a top quality scope. You might get slightly more from a $4000 dollar scope, but I do not think it would be a difference that mattered.
The Razor has by far the best warranty in the industry and that is a huge benefit to me.
If you drop the Vortex and break it ;Vortex will fix it. You will not get this with Leica, Swoarvski, or Kowa. Nikon had a great warranty too, but it is not transferable to another owner of the scope. The Vortex warranty stays with the scope not the owner!
I have loved using the scope on the job. I am very impressed by the scope and will seriously look at other Vortex products in the future. I think that if they can keep up the quality and the affordable prices, we will hear a lot more about Vortex Optics.
Foot note!
I just recently had to send back my scope to be repaired. I had a client drop my scope in a parking lot and broke the tripod mount.
The Warranty and Repair Department at Vortex are
great! They said the repair would take 5 days from when they received the scope. They offered me a loaner scope for while my scope was away.
The repair form is easy, and the costumer service people were very friendly.
I continue to be impressed by this company!
I am Really Glad I bought this scope!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: choteu ,mt
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!!! I sold my leica and bought a Vortex!

Date:September 27, 2010
Review Of Vortex Razor HD 85mm spotting scope
By Jeff
Professional Naturalist /Guide for The Nature Conservancy, Montana.
Pros:
· Clear sharp images,
· Excellent resolution.
· Well built and solid
· Smooth zoom
· Smooth and adjustable eye relief
· Wide field of view
· Out standing price!
· Unbeatable Warranty
Cons:
· Not enough eye relief for some people with glasses
· Lens caps may not work with some filters
· The View through case is poorly fitted and cumbersome.
· Sunshade slides out too easily (a small rubber ring would help)
Bottom Line:
This is an outstanding scope at a great price.
The other leading optics manufacturers may have a slight edge over the Vortex in some areas, but this scope holds its own with the very best leading with a great price and the best warranty in the business.
More about how I found the Vortex.
I have been using a Leica APO 77mm scope and Leica binoculars for years.
I have a straight view Leica. This came to be a problem guiding because of the long hours glassing for bears and other wildlife as well and that it will not accommodate users of differing heights easily. So, I started looking for a replacement scope. I went to Leica first, but the new Leica APO 82 was selling for thousands of dollars
That made me pause and look around. I read some reviews of the Vortex. It sounded like a top quality scope at a reasonable price. However, the price made me wonder if I would notice a difference in quality from the other top scope manufacturers.
Fortunately, due to my work, I have access to many top scopes for comparisons including Swarovski, Nikon, and Leica.
I was able to test the Vortex scope in the field for several weeks. I also set up a 100 yard Snell eye chart comparison. I am very impressed with the Vortex performance both in day- to-day field use and in direct comparison to several other excellent scopes.
Resolution and sharpness
In the resolution tests I set up, the Vortex scored equal to other scopes tested against.
For my resolution test, I set each of the four scopes on a sturdy tripod viewing a Snell Eye Chart at 100 yards on a cloudless, Montana afternoon. I had several different testers read the eye chart through each scope several time, and at different magnifications. I varied the order for scopes and the direction that they read the lines of the eye chart.
The scopes I compared were:
Vortex Razor HD 85mm w/20z-60x
Leica APO 77 w/20x-60x
Swarovski 80mm STS HD w 20x-60x
Nikon Fieldscope 82mm ED w/ 25x-75x
Here are the results of my Snell Eye Chart comparisons.
All were great scopes.
None of the scopes tested were able to clearly resolve one line smaller than the others. In other words, all appeared equally clear.
In most runs of the test the Vortex had the same accuracy as the Leica. There was some variation from one test to another and from one tester to another.
When trying to read 5 mm lettering at 100 yards, body position and eye relief were very important. If one’s position was not in correct, testers had more difficulty with some letters.
After hours of squinting at the eye chart, the impressions of the testers were:
The Leica might have been the sharpest, but not by much. The Vortex was a very very close second and even that was not a sure thing. The Swarovski and Nikon were about equal, and just behind the Leica and the Vortex.
We did however notice more chromatic aberration in the Swarovski and in the Nikon than with the Leica and the Vortex. The Vortex had warmer cast to the view, almost like a slight warming filter and the Leica and Swarovski had a cooler cast like a cooling filter. I do not think this is good or bad just different. One of the testers said “that they though the Vortex had great contrast in relation to the other scopes.” I did find that some style of glasses made it difficult to get the appropriate amount of eye relief for one tester.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What I expected

Date:September 8, 2014
Love the size and weight of this spotter for carrying up the mountain. The optics are clear and bright in low light conditions. The only critique I have is that both the focus knobs turns too easily. They should be tighter for fine focus and not move once adjusted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not sold on this

Date:November 5, 2013
Hard to use and transition from binocs to the angled eyepiece of the Razor. Hard to use for viewing from vehicle. It was set on a tri pod recently and could see up the mountain but not straight across or downhill. I will go back to an inline view type scope. Good glass, fine tune was good, HD was good as was other adjustments. Felt heavy in the day pack at the end of 6 continous days of hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.