Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope

VORTEX Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Experience the upper limits of spotting scope performance with a Vortex Razor HD Spotting Scope that delivers superior image quality and color fidelity. A sophisticated, high-definition, triple-apochromatic lens system almost completely eliminates chromatic aberration across the entire field of view – no fringing, degradation of resolution or dilution of color fidelity at longer distances. ArmorTek™, an advanced exterior multicoating, protects lens surfaces from scratches, dirt and fingerprints. Dual focus system is capable of both coarse and fine adjustment. The compact, die-cast magnesium-alloy rotating body is purged with argon gas, and is waterproof and fogproof. Custom carry case included. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 259 reviews
5 Stars
224
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
249 out of 255(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Review 1 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016

Great Travel Scope

By
Great little scope for travel. Excellent optics and weighs only ounces!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Perfect scope

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great little spotting scope! Light weight, small and very packable. 11x for stuff that is close with a good FOV and the 33 for things that I've looked at over 1000 yards out and could still see what I wanted to know. Like anything at higher power the FOV is smaller and the mirage gets more prominent but it is an awesome overall spotter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

Best Scope for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Looked at a lot of scopes at various price levels. This one has the best features and optics at a reasonable price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2015

Great

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2015

Great Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Really Like the spotting Scope, it has incredible quality and helped me find my Elk this year. It has been a weird year in Utah because of the heat. But we found some elk miles away and were able to get in on one with my CVA Muzzleloader From Cabelas and tagged a 7 point.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2015

Americas Best

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tried them all
Buy Vortex
Hunted For Mule Deer in Utah & Nevada
You will see what you're looking for!
Save the Window time, use Americas best optics at half the price of those imports.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015

WA Eyepiece w/Reticle makes Razor 85 even better

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We just got a 30 power WA eyepiece w/MOA reticle.
I reviewed the scope last year and am back to say that the WA eyepiece is extremely nice and if you have a Razor 85 the ranging reticles are super if you are a chuck or prairie dog shooter.
We went with the MOA graduations because it will be more flexible than the MRad version. We have rifle scopes that have turret click adjustments in fractions of an inch.
You can get Cabelas special order department to order this eyepiece for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2015

Very light and High Quality

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have used Nikon and Swarovski but Bruce Jackson from the Acworth store recommended I try this out. He was right, it is light weight and lets in a lot of light. Very handy on backpacking hunts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

Best opticever

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
the clarity and performance of this scope far surpassed my expectations and the price is reasonable,compared to other name brand very happy with my purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014

very fine scope, will be hard to beat!

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Simply put, one of the best ever made. You can see things like hair around animals eyes. Count there whiskers. Unreal the clarity which is presented when looking through. You can spot animals laying in under brush, which when using other scopes you simply miss. The angle scope is the only scope I have not gotten a sore neck using. Looking down slightly is way easier then either bending down, or kneeling, which you have to do using straight threw scopes. And the warranty that comes with a vortex, should persuade you. 100% fixed or replaced NO questions asked. The only thing I don't like is the soft case, I was hoping for a neoprene case like on cheaper scopes. Maybe I can find one later. Other than that, it is definitely a five star scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

Great Scope

By
Great scope with good clarity.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013

20-60x85 is very nice, big and heavy though

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We also have a Leupold Golden Ring 12-40x60 that I have had for almost twenty years now. I have reviewed it here on Cabelas web site.
I was window shopping for an angled body scope after a telephone conversation with a tech at Vortex in which the topic of sharing a single scope with kids came up. He said: you might want to consider an angled body scope especially given your desire to look at the moon, stars and planets with your kids.
Long story short, after reading reviews and looking through what was out there from Kowa, Leica, Zeiss and Swaro I settled on this scope and am happy with my decision. We may be giving up some slight optical quality in going with the Vortex, but not enough to really notice. We own Swaro, Leica and Nikon EDG optical instruments which I have also reviewed here, I am not saying that to brag, just to make the point that I am not adverse to pay when I can justify the cost with a commensurate and noticeable step up in quality.
This scope is noticeably better optically in a few areas than our old Leupold, but the Leupold weighs half as much. If you are currently shopping both scopes I would highly recommend a side by side test of the Leupold HD and the Vortex if the scope will be used for bird watching and star gazing. Our old non-HD is a good scope, and a great hunting scope, but if you intend to use the scope for bird watching etc where color fidelity and freedom from CA are considerations then you would want to limit your choice to a scope with HD glass.
The Leupold 12-40x60 is about as much scope as you would want to haul into back country on your back, and likewise whatever tripod you would have matched to either of these two scopes. This is a rather heavy scope and it does demand a tripod and head that is capable of supporting it. If you are buying a scope of this quality and expecting for it to perform well on a flimsy tripod, you would be just as well served by a much less costly scope. Just saying.
I really do like the focus set up on this scope a lot too. If there is anything that I would like to see Vortex change about this scope it would be that the detents on the rotating collar would be more pronounced and they would add a Picatinny rail mount like on their Viper scope so that I could attach an old 2x pistol scope to it to aim it with when shooting rockchucks.
All in all, if weight is not a consideration this scope is hard to beat. Vortex, Swaro and Leupold all have legendary customer service and I can attest to the value of that from having to have dealt all of them as well as with others that are not as focused on that aspect of their business. If you need "customer service," you really are at the mercy of the company you are dealing with and Vortex is as good as anybody in that regard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2013

Best Scope for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased the Razor HD 11x33x50 scope for taking back deep in the mountains. Wasn't disappointed! Scope is super light and great quality. Scope is very clear and brings in light nicely overall a great buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2013

excellent clarity and customer service

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought both the razor HD spotting scope as well as the razor HD 10x42 binos several years ago. I have compared them side by side to my brothers swarovski binos and spotting scope, both at full light and dusk. Neither him or I could tell a difference in clarity, certainly not a $1,000 to $2,000 difference. During a hunting accident, one of my pack horses rolled down a rocky mesa side, crushing my binos and spotting scope (as well as everything else). Both were destroyed. I sent them back to Vortex, in several pieces. In 2 weeks I had a new set of binos and spotting scope on my front pouch, no questions asked, no hassle at all. This is a great product, with an unmatched warranty. Their clarity is equal if not better than that of swarovski at any light.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013

Vortex beats Swarovski

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have 12x50 Viper Vortex binoculars and am very happy with them after doing some comparison shopping at the store vs. Leupold since I love Leupold. I was in the market for a high-end spotting scope so I called the Vortex home office located in Wisconsin and after a long conversation with one of the gentleman who had over 20 years in optics said he would put the Vortex glass up against any brand on the market. I said even Swarovski he said and especially them.
So, I went to the Wheeling store and asked the knowledgeable sales staff if they would mind doing a spotting scope comparison. And the 2 men were Great! We took the Vortex Razor 20-60x85mm (costing $1,600) and the new Swarovski Modular 25-60x85mm (costing almost $4,800 with both eyepiece and objective lens) outside focusing on a small parking sign in a Walmart parking lot approx. 1/4 mile away. With the fine adjustments and less distortion on the Vortex, I came to the conclusion that the Vortex was as clear and had less chromatic aberration than the Swarovski. The salesman said the fine tuning on the Vortex really makes the difference in the clarity. I totally agreed. Plus, the unconditional warranty at Vortex compared to Swarovski's conditional warranty the decision is easier. After contemplating the comparison with my wife over lunch at Cabelas, I purchased the Vortex and very happy I did because it is amazing at the range viewing the small .17 caliber holes at 200 yards. Plus the HD color is fantastic when using with my iPhone 5 alongside of PhoneSkope product using with the Vortex spotting scope. The pictures and videos are fabulous at long distances. The owners at PhoneSkope encouraged me to do the comparison when I ordered their product for my binoculars.
I really like to shop Cabelas online, but you cannot compare products like I did at the store ordering online, especially when the store is located 2 1/2 hours from my home in Ohio. The sales staff is always helpful and knowledgeable when doing comparison shopping that is necessary for major purchases. Now I am ready for the elk hunt in Idaho next fall.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2013

Price point and performance #1

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My personal opinion of my Razor Hd 20x60 85mm is that you are gonna be hard pressed to find a product that has the capability of this spotting scope for the money. I will be honest with the fact that it doesn't have the clarity of my Swarovski during the first 3 minutes of light or the last 7 before your days done, but for the money or not for the money this is the spotting scope I use to make my living. Needles to say that the customer service and warranty are the best in the business. Good Luck!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012

Great Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great scope! Clarity is awesome! Very happy with the investment!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2012

Spectacular Scope!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I can't emphasize how great this spotting scope is. I recently had my Swarovski stolen from my house. I have used and hunted with my Swarovksi spotting scope for 20 years. I just felt sick because I didn't know how I was going to replace it. I ended up buying the Vortex HD and let me tell you, the Swarovski holds nothing over this scope except double the price tag.
I took my Dad out spotting and we seen a herd of deer running from something. The deer were being chased by a small pack of wolves. The deer and wolves were at least 3 miles away. It was fascinating to watch, and the scope was so crystal clear we could see the hair move and easily count the points on the rack of the two bucks. It is amazing to me how clear this scope is when you turn the power up to 60.
I have also used this scope for digi-scoping. With the Vortex camera attachment my pictures have turned out great. I recently took pictures of Big Horn sheep at about 100 yards away and I really zoomed in. The pictures turned out Awesome!!! I literally can count the hairs around the snout in sharp detail.
I love this scope and it has been worth every penny I spent on it (Actually, my home insurance). I highly recommend this scope if you can't tell. I read multiple reviews, went to several sportsman stores, looked thru all the top scopes including Leica and Swarovski, and researched online thoroughly before I decided to purchase this spotting scope. I decided on the Vortex because everyone I spoke to at Cabela's and the other stores I visited raved about it. I never have seen a bad or poor review. This will be the best scope you ever own for the price!! I guarantee it...
With the warranty that Vortex provides, the quality of the scope and the price difference between the other top brands, I literally don't know how they can compete with Vortex or why someone would spend the extra money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2012

Expensive but incredible

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've been using a Redfield 15-45x for the past 25 years or so and decided to upgrade my spotting scope in anticipation of some special time in the field this past summer. After a lot of research I settled on this scope. It was an expensive purchase for me, but by getting it thru Cabela's, I earned enough points to get a pair of Danner GTX boots for free, and that helped.
At home, I put this and the Redfield up on the deck and checked out pronghorns in the back yard. At full daylight, I didn't see a whole lot of difference. However, in the field, different story. I found myself on 60x many, many times. The optics were so clear and crisp that I was surprised when I bumped into the upper stop- with the Redfield, the image gets blurry past 30x and I'm "milking" it to 45x. The Vortex is cruising at 45x.
In addition to hunting, I do a lot of bird-watching, especially of raptors. I got the angled eyepiece and am SO glad I did. It's really comfortable looking at cliffs thru the angle and it's much easier for people of various heights to step up and look thru your scope. When hunting, I like the relaxed position of looking at the ground, rather than kinking my neck up with a straight-thru scope, especially when looking uphill at game.
It would be nice if eye relief were better, but that's always an issue. With contact lenses, I had no problem and I found that even with my 20/500 vision that I have enough adjustment to see w/out my glasses.
I mount this on a Vortex Dakota tripod and that's another winner.
.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® Razor™ HD Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2012

Best Spotting Scope on the Market

By
Location: Providence, UT
The Vortex Razor is by far and above the best spotting scope on the market for the money. I have nothing but rave reviews for it clarity and capabilities. My only complaint is that I wish that Vortex would make a good quality carrying case (either soft or hard sided) to protect this expensive scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 33