Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope

VORTEX Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Parallax-free for rapid shooting with both eyes open, matched with unlimited field of view and eye relief. Shockproof, with tough one-piece 30mm aluminum-alloy tube. Standard height 30mm or 37mm ring for base height options. Switch between red or green dot as conditions demand. Greater opportunity for windage and elevation adjustment compared to 1" tube. Mounting ring fits Weaver- or Picatinny-style base. Adjustable dot intensity. Includes 2X doubler, flip-up lens caps and CR-2 battery. Available: Hunting Mount AR-15 Flat-Top Mount
Overall Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
73 out of 80(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Review 1 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So nice, i bought it twice

Date:April 10, 2014
I picked one of these up while skeptical given the price but was i wrong. The StrikeFire worked great on my AR-15.
I had no issues co-witnessing it with my iron sites and it has stayed zero'd through many rounds.
I was on Cabelas.com and saw a nice sales price and recently picked up my second unit. I'll be using this on another one of my builds with confidence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must own optic

Date:March 25, 2014
The optic came in a timely fashion. Took it out to the range it was easy to zero and holds zero very well ,and I love the times two magnifier. This is a great optic for your money I completely recommend only one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1 in a 1000 bad optic?

Date:March 24, 2014
After much debate I purchased this red/grn dot optic to use for 3-gun training.
Sadly the particular sight I received would not adjust properly as I turned the windage adjustment knob. Additionally, once adjustment was achieved with co-alignment the red dot drifted away. re-adjusted on the range and it drifted away again. I returned the sight for exchange but learned this model is discontinued and no longer available. Based on the reputation I will still consider another version of the Vortex strikefire maybe in red dot only.
I gave this unit 3 stars because I suspect based on the many other reviews the Vortex Strikefire is a good optic, this one was a one in a thousand faulty unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Red dot 2X

Date:March 18, 2014
Good red dot but the 2X magnifier is a great bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good value but be careful

Date:March 18, 2014
The unit is well built, easy to mount, easy to use. However, I learned from vortex that small MOA dots will not necessarily appear as a clear dot if you suffer from astigmatism. I suffer from astigmatism. So my dot,whether red or green, looks like an apostrophe turned on its side. This phenomena does decrease in brighter light.
I purchased this sight as an addition to my M4 so that I and my wife would have a reliable lower light sighting device.
My wife does not have astigmatism, so this particular sight will be mounted on her weapon. I will look for a red dot with a bigger MOA dot.
If you have astigmatism, try before you buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good optic

Date:March 18, 2014
Clarity is pretty good with or without the doubler.
The dot isn't perfectly round.
Holds zero.
Adjustments aren't quite consistent click by click. Sometimes a click is 1/4 sometimes a 1/2.
Doesn't fog, mount is solid, controls are easy.
N/V ready.
Star bit/torx screws on the mount (best).
Uniform, nice, matte, finish.
Votex VIP warranty. Doesn't matter how it broke they fix or replace.
Holds zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Strikefire

Date:March 13, 2014
I haven't had a chance to really dial it in yet, but after mounting it on my Bushmaster AR-15, I took a few shots and it was just alittle high, not bad, will have to get use to shooting with both eyes open, so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Qualty

Date:March 12, 2014
This is a very high quality item. Mine came with the high base and I needed the low base. Contacted Vortex and they would exchange the base or send me a new one. I opted to buy the low base since the high base will be needed if I change the gun I put it on. No complaints!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:March 12, 2014
This is a great sight. I own three of them. The magnifier that comes with it is garbage but who cares. The ability to do red and green dots helps you find your target and you can make it brighter or dimmer as you see fit. Anybody that uses mine loves it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Save $$$

Date:March 11, 2014
If mounting this on a Mini 14, it needs the hunting (low) mount. Save $50 by getting the AR version, then contact Vortex and they will trade for the low mount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal!!!

Date:March 11, 2014
Tried this scope out on my brother- in- law's AR and was very impressed. Went to Cabela's website and it was $50 less than he paid so I jumped on it. I think this scope is a closeout as Vortex is coming out with the Strikefire II. Others have said it's too easy to accidentally bump the "on" switch, which is true, so I do as another reviewer said and shut the power off in the night vision mode. Less battery drainage if it does get turned on. Money well spent here folks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome!

Date:March 11, 2014
The AR mount positions the optic perfectly!
I was worried about having only one ring, but it is as solid as anything else!
I put it on my 7.62 upper, and it gets banged around alot. Holds zero, never had to resight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal on red/green dot optic

Date:March 5, 2014
This product is a great value, excellent fit and finish,everything works as advertised. looks good,does good, can't ask for more than that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Strikefire

Date:March 5, 2014
I can only give this 4 stars for now since I havent taken it out and used it yet. However on the appearance physical attributes I can rate it good. It looks really good on the rifle (I set it forward on my upper receiver) and the view of the front sight is splendid. The dot is crisp in both red and green. I turned the covers around so that they open down rather then up(preference thing) once winter finally breaks ill take it out and play around. after a bit I plan to put 45-degree posts on as a backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not quite right

Date:March 5, 2014
this is a good scope as long as its not sunny. bothe the red and green are just not dark enough. However Vortex jumped all over it and replaced this with a different scope at no charge. I've always had good response from Vortex their service is top notch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope

Date:March 5, 2014
I did a lot of research on optics, looking for the best value, not the cheapest price. I called Vortex and spent almost an hour with their rep. I was impressed with his knowledge and willingness to spend as much time with me as I needed. I told him of the complaints with the caps for the unit. He said that they knew of that, they resolved the issue. He also explained that it carries a life time warranty. You don't have to register to get it. If you sell it, the warranty is transferable. I have used it several time and am very pleased. The battery life is very impressive. He said that if you own one of these and the caps are a problem, they will send them to you. I like to deal with a company that has this type of great customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Purchase

Date:March 4, 2014
One needs a boar sight to set up for the distance. Once set up it is a fine scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Excellence

Date:March 4, 2014
Good Optic. Works great on AR. Get one and you will surely be satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid

Date:March 4, 2014
Easy to sight in and use red/green dot sight. Vortex is a good company, and with a lifetime warranty this is a no brainer. Put on my new AR and had it sighted in within 5 minutes. Was going to give it 4 stars for performance, but with Cabellas excellent price, kicked it up to 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red/Green-Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The last piece I needed

Date:January 23, 2014
I've gone through several different sight setups for my AR but none felt "right" . I saw this on sale and thought I'd try it . I have read and seen on YouTube many comments , both pro and con . So I thought I'd try . And low and behold it fit my needs . It's solidly built. It zeroed easily . It absolute co-witness' perfectly with my MAGPUL MBUS. The weight is good . The glass is clear. The only item on my "wish list" that isn't filled is I love a T-Dot reticle , like the Bushnell on my MP15-22 (it's to heavy at 15 oz for my AR) . But that aside I like it and can recommend it . For those that had a bad experience I'm sorry and I hope you got a good resolution . P.S. for those that commented on issues with the power switch turning on and off by being bumped etc . I rotated my sight 90 degree's counter clock wise . This places the switch safely protected by the picatanny rail and does not interfere with it's easy operation .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 80