Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope

VORTEX Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope

Find the Vortex Optic that is right for you.   Parallax-free for rapid shooting with both eyes open, matched with unlimited field of view and eye relief. Shockproof, with tough one-piece 30mm aluminum-alloy tube. Standard height 30mm or 37mm ring for base height options. Greater opportunity for windage and elevation adjustment compared to 1" tube. Mounting ring fits Weaver- or Picatinny-style base. Adjustable dot intensity. Includes 2X doubler, flip-up lens caps and CR-2 battery. Length: 6.1". Wt: 7.2 oz. Available: AR-15 Red Dot – Extra-High Mount
Overall Customer Rating:
4.38 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
85 out of 92(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Review 1 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value for the price

Date:August 5, 2014
This sight is exactly what they say it is. It isn't an aim point but is a lot cheaper as well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Like It

Date:June 20, 2014
Lots of red dot scopes out there, but Vortex has a great reputation.
The scope is lighter than I thought it would be (that's a +). Came already mounted on the scope mount (another +) which is solid. No problems mounting on my AR. Once bore sited It was off to the range. Everything works great. The dot illumination worked ok at lower power. Got zeroed at 75 yds. With the 1X and my aging eyes I wasn't really enthused about the day's shooting. Not the fault of the scope. Next trip out I attached the doubler. Immediately started shooting MOA at 100 yds on a 6 inch steel target. You will loose some field of view with the doubler. Not a problem for me. At 100 yds the dot was the same size (with doubler) as the 6 inch gong. No problem. Just laid the dot over the gong. Each group of different reloads was MOA or less. Stoked.....
The Vortex Strike Fire sits atop of my 300 Blackout and is my home defense weapon and soon hope it will be named the Hog Hater.
Highly recommend this scope if your are looking for a moderately priced red dot scope.
Stingray
NC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product at a great price

Date:May 27, 2014
I bought this item from Cabelas on a sale and it is a great scope. The Green or Red dot choice is nice with simple controls for making it brighter or less so. this scope is also night vision compatible according to the directions so that is a bonus. Easy to sight in, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poor man's aim point!

Date:May 27, 2014
This sight is great and holds its zero. I love that you can use night vision sight with it. Great for hunting at night. I will be buying a second one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

its a Vortex. best buy for the money.

Date:May 20, 2014
You can't go wrong with Vortex. Great optics, great warranty. All at a working mans price. I own a few scopes from them and love them all.
My friends own their binos and spotting scopes and they are fantastic products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dot Scope

Date:May 13, 2014
Awesome red/green dot scope. I am a big vortex fan. They are the best scope for the money. Not the best scope, but they are great for what you pay for. I recommend picking one up as a temporary fix to an AR and then throwing it on a 10/22. That being after you buy a trijicon, aimpoint, or eotech. If you ever do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex red/green dot optic

Date:May 7, 2014
What can I say, Vortex makes high quality optics at a working mans budget. The warranty alone should be reason enough to buy. They set the example that other
optic manufacturers should follow.
I love my new optic and will be topping my Remington 700 with Vortex as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent red dot

Date:May 1, 2014
Bought this product for my Bushmaster AR mounted
nice although I had to to use a riser to co-witness my flattop The dual color (red /green) dot is very clear and
easy to zero in the windage and elevation adjustments
were easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great red dot

Date:April 29, 2014
Excellent red dot at a great price and lifetime warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the money

Date:April 29, 2014
I was looking for a 1X red dot scope for my first black powder rifle and didn't want to break the bank. I've been a big fan of Vortex for a number of years and this scope was a tremendous find. The price was outstanding, and with help from the Cabela's technical staff, I got the right mounting bracket the first time. I had this mounted in less than 15 minutes and I'm a novice at installing scopes. The scope operates beautifully, with one small exception...the red dot isn't really round. It looks more like a snowflake and can stick out on one side a little more than another. Didn't effect my accuracy, but I had to get over that mental issue. If it helps, I installed this scope on a TC Prohunter FX .50.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:April 29, 2014
I searched the web and Cabela's had the best deal on a great scope! Thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good optic for the money

Date:April 23, 2014
This is a good optic for the money. East to sight in, works well, good adjustability of dot color and brightness, and easy to mount. In my case the nut on the rail mount loosened up after being tightened 'hand tight' so you may want to keep a 1/2" wrench or nut driver in your rifle bag until you find the right tightness to keep it solid.
Another tip: Close the front flip down cover when turning on/off the optic to make it easier to see the dot. Sometimes if the mode is accidentally set to NV, or the brightness gets turned down, the dot may be difficult to see. Closing the front cover gives it a black background.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So nice, i bought it twice

Date:April 10, 2014
I picked one of these up while skeptical given the price but was i wrong. The StrikeFire worked great on my AR-15.
I had no issues co-witnessing it with my iron sites and it has stayed zero'd through many rounds.
I was on Cabelas.com and saw a nice sales price and recently picked up my second unit. I'll be using this on another one of my builds with confidence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must own optic

Date:March 25, 2014
The optic came in a timely fashion. Took it out to the range it was easy to zero and holds zero very well ,and I love the times two magnifier. This is a great optic for your money I completely recommend only one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1 in a 1000 bad optic?

Date:March 24, 2014
After much debate I purchased this red/grn dot optic to use for 3-gun training.
Sadly the particular sight I received would not adjust properly as I turned the windage adjustment knob. Additionally, once adjustment was achieved with co-alignment the red dot drifted away. re-adjusted on the range and it drifted away again. I returned the sight for exchange but learned this model is discontinued and no longer available. Based on the reputation I will still consider another version of the Vortex strikefire maybe in red dot only.
I gave this unit 3 stars because I suspect based on the many other reviews the Vortex Strikefire is a good optic, this one was a one in a thousand faulty unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Red dot 2X

Date:March 18, 2014
Good red dot but the 2X magnifier is a great bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good value but be careful

Date:March 18, 2014
The unit is well built, easy to mount, easy to use. However, I learned from vortex that small MOA dots will not necessarily appear as a clear dot if you suffer from astigmatism. I suffer from astigmatism. So my dot,whether red or green, looks like an apostrophe turned on its side. This phenomena does decrease in brighter light.
I purchased this sight as an addition to my M4 so that I and my wife would have a reliable lower light sighting device.
My wife does not have astigmatism, so this particular sight will be mounted on her weapon. I will look for a red dot with a bigger MOA dot.
If you have astigmatism, try before you buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good optic

Date:March 18, 2014
Clarity is pretty good with or without the doubler.
The dot isn't perfectly round.
Holds zero.
Adjustments aren't quite consistent click by click. Sometimes a click is 1/4 sometimes a 1/2.
Doesn't fog, mount is solid, controls are easy.
N/V ready.
Star bit/torx screws on the mount (best).
Uniform, nice, matte, finish.
Votex VIP warranty. Doesn't matter how it broke they fix or replace.
Holds zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Strikefire

Date:March 13, 2014
I haven't had a chance to really dial it in yet, but after mounting it on my Bushmaster AR-15, I took a few shots and it was just alittle high, not bad, will have to get use to shooting with both eyes open, so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® StrikeFire Red Dot Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Qualty

Date:March 12, 2014
This is a very high quality item. Mine came with the high base and I needed the low base. Contacted Vortex and they would exchange the base or send me a new one. I opted to buy the low base since the high base will be needed if I change the gun I put it on. No complaints!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 92