Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope

VORTEX Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope

Solid one-piece, aircraft-grade aluminum-alloy construction makes this scope strong and resistant to magnum recoil. Fully multicoated optics deliver sharp images. Two reticle options: Choose V-Plex for all-purpose hunting or the Dead-Hold BDC reticle to simplify hold-over and windage corrections on long-range shots. The Precision-Glide Erector System ensures smooth magnification changes. Waterproof and fogproof. Reset turrets. 1" tube.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(585 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 585 reviews
5 Stars
509
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
562 out of 573(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Review 1 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011

grate scope for the money

By
Location: east Tn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My wife order the vortex diamondback scope 3x9x40 on the 8th and received it on the 11th, mounted it on a ruger compact 243 and compared it to a rifleman 2x7x33 and a conquest 3.5x10x44 at dusk . Hands down vortex over the rifleman. Both are almost equal in price as for the conquest I thought little to no difference between the two. My son and a friend thought the vortex had the edge. The conquest is 3 times the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2016

Great scope for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Lense is clear and holds its zero. Great scope fornthe price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2016

Scope

By
Scope has been returned, seems to have been used. The lenses were dirty, the tag on the scope seemed to half way scrapped off and the scope cover was broken. The box sent from Cabelas was in perfect shape. I do not believe this was a problems with Cabelas in any way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2016

Nice Scope for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I put this scope on my CZ 30-06 with the factory rings. The eye relief was a bit stingy on the higher powers, but it is acceptable. I shot a couple of groups with factory Remington 180 grain ammo and The gun scope combo put all the rounds in the inch and a quarter green dot at 100 yards from the bench. Not bad for an out of the box hunting rifle. The scope seems to be well made and it is clear and bright. I look forward to many years of service from this scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2016

Stop looking and buy it

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent clarity and ease of use, I put it on my Ruger American 270 and love it!!! Amazing warranty, great value, whats not to love!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2016

vortex scope

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
crisp clear view at even the highest mag. can't wait to get it out to the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2016

Vortex scope

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent product and a great value for the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

Clear and bright. Vortex for other rifles.

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great scope for the price. 200 yard zero on Model 70 30.06 had 1/2 inch spread.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2015

I Can See Again!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I just mounted my new Vortex Diamondback scope on my .270 Remington 700. I bore sighted the scope then went off to the range. I found the process of zeroing in the scope very easy and effective. The clarity of the optics is so much better than my old scope, and it performs much better in lower light situations that I am confident that it will make a great difference on my upcoming deer hunt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2015

great scope

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
very pleased with the Vortex. you can't go wrong with the Vortex brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2015

awsome optic

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
right out of the box and on the gun…great optic and the price and warranty unbelievable value!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

Vortex Diamondback

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
have purchased this scope and love it. easy to adjust ,great eye relief ,had to adjust slightly for a right-handed person mounted and I shoot left-handed. love it in general, works well and gets me on target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015

three shots three elk

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I guide new hunters for elk. The BDC system coupled with great eye relief allowed me to guide three new elk hunters to 1 shot kills on elk at ranges from 300 to 380 yards. What can I say Vortex has my vote for best scope in its price range- and then some.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2015

Great scope

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
What can I say? Great optics!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

Not what I was expecting

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
After reading the reviews I didn't hesitate to buy this scope. It hasn't lived up to the positive reviews. Clarity, especially in full sunlight is marginal. The reticle is crisp but the target is blurry in spite of many focus adjustment attempts. I have also had issues with consistency when attempting to dial elevation. Tried to shoot the box and ended up with a ragged 5" group from a rifle that prints 1/2" groups with my 55gr tsx hand loads. I bought it partly because it's relatively compact for a 4-12 and my Mossberg MVP patrol 5.56 needs a shorter scope to clear the rear sight. It fits that need nicely but I'd rather have a crystal clear Nikon or Burris 3-9 for the same price than this fuzzy 4-12. Maybe I got a dud. I think I'll give Vortex's customer service department a chance to impress me like their product hasn't so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Nice Scope for the price

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have sighted this scope in and it works great and repeatable. Mil marking make it easy for distant targets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015

all a hunter needs

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
On a saddle mule in good old leather, under my right leg with butt to the front, the pre 64 model 70 Winchester has wore a few different scopes. The Vortex is great, built tough and no need to baby it. Zero is still Zero rain, snow and dirt. Tried them all Vortex is the best yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015

decent scope for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this to mount on a savage 17wsm b mag. (Great accurate gun by the way). I got the scope when they had rebates running or I probably would of picked the redfield 4-12x40 as it had better eye relief and faster less picky sight picture on it. But this scope is very clear and bright. The eye relief is decent not great. It seems very well built and is very light and compact. Perfect for the smallish 17 I put it on. Easy to sight in And holds zero so far. Heck of a deal for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015

Great scope

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this scope for the great reviews on it. The only drawback on it is the short eye relief. I was aware of it when I bought it, I just had to make a little adjustment on creeping up to the scope a little closer. Not a problem on my part.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex® Diamondback 4-12x40 V-Plex Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015

Great scope for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am not a very experienced scope user, but these Vortex scopes are very well built and the glass is crystal clear.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 92