Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

Solid one-piece, aircraft-grade aluminum-alloy construction makes this scope strong and resistant to magnum recoil. Fully multicoated optics deliver sharp images. Two reticle options: Choose V-Plex for all-purpose hunting or the Dead-Hold BDC reticle to simplify hold-over and windage corrections on long-range shots. The Precision-Glide Erector System ensures smooth magnification changes. Waterproof and fogproof. Reset turrets. 1" tube.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
53 out of 58(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Review 1 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: east Tn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

grate scope for the money

Date:March 13, 2011
My wife order the vortex diamondback scope 3x9x40 on the 8th and received it on the 11th, mounted it on a ruger compact 243 and compared it to a rifleman 2x7x33 and a conquest 3.5x10x44 at dusk . Hands down vortex over the rifleman. Both are almost equal in price as for the conquest I thought little to no difference between the two. My son and a friend thought the vortex had the edge. The conquest is 3 times the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good scope for the price

Date:September 30, 2014
vortex is impressing me lately, this scope is well featured considering its price range, the glass is clear, controls are accurate and true, and the reticle is simple, allowing good holdover hashes without being distracting. mounted on a ruger american 7mm-08 i set up for my girlfriend and i think it was a great choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:September 30, 2014
I purchased this scope based on the reviews of others. The warranty and price are hard to beat. I gave it a four star because I have only range tested it. I will put it through a tougher test hunting mulies in Wyo. later this month.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope for the money

Date:September 23, 2014
This 4-12x40 scope has great clarity, elevation and windage turret manipulation is smooth. I was easily hitting targets at 900+ yds. Absolutely awesome scope for a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Descent, cheaper, some minor issues, but good

Date:September 9, 2014
This scope is pretty good. I put it on an AR-15 because I 1st wanted to try a vortex and second I wanted a good scope on my AR that don't cost an fortune since it will be beat up and abused. So far the scope has held up and held zero well. When changing magnifications you do need to adjust the eye relief some to keep everything clear. I used it prairie dog hunting the other day and even at max magnification I could see everything very clear. The only time I have noticed any difference between this scope and any of my higher dollar scopes that I have is at low light times in the morning or at dusk. At these times the the clarity is good but not great. But I expected this because it is a lower priced scope. So if you don't need perfect clarity in the early mornings or dusk then this is a good all around scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money

Date:August 20, 2014
I purchased this scope for my Mossberg MVP Patrol, a 5.56 bolt action rifle. Had to take off all the stock sights for a proper fit, but fits well for me. I have not been able to test this product yet, but am writing the review because of one small defect I found after I made it home.
The clear protective plastic lense cap had a huge crack in it. Luckily it does not hinder the scope's sight at all, and is probably why I did not see it until I got home. I am not sure if its a product defect, or was caused afterwards. I am still waiting a response from Vortex to see if they will just send me a new protective cover.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope for the price!

Date:August 13, 2014
I have 4 of these scopes on various rifles from a 22-250 to a 7mm-08. The perform great for every thing from plinking to a 375 yd shot on a coyote in -5 deg tems.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:June 10, 2014
Absolutely amazing scope. Better than I imagined for price and quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the price

Date:May 27, 2014
Great scope for the price. Also cant beat the warranty vortex offers. Would recommend if you want a great scope but don't want to break the bank. Mounted on my mini 30 works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Absolute garbage!!!

Date:May 17, 2014
I purchased 3 Vortex Diamondback 4-12X40. I mounted all 3 scopes on Ruger American rifles. I attempted to zero my .30-06 and fired the 1st round and made adjustments. After the 1st round I could not focus the scope @ 100 yards unless it was on 7x. I fired the second round and the objective lens fell completely out of the scope tube!!! For the remaining 2 scopes there is no edge to edge clarity in these scopes at all!!! A complete blur or haze is a better description of what the edges of these scope look like!!! Save your money and either upgrade to the Vortex Viper or buy a Burris or Nikon Prostaff!!! Cabelas will be receiving these 3 scopes back!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vortex scope

Date:May 7, 2014
So far i am very pleased with this scope. However i have not had the opportunity to put it through all the ballistic tests.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 1, 2014
Great scope work good in low light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40mm

Date:March 29, 2014
I purchased this scope on sale to put on a Ruger American .30-06 rifle for my son. I was so impressed with the clarity and construction of this scope that I subsequently purchased two more as replacements for other rifles. I know quality optics as I own Nightforce, Leupold VX-3 and Ziess. I will not say that this scope is on par with the above-mentioned, but it's well worth the money I spent to purchase the scope(s)! Based on my experience with this scope I subsequently purchased a Vortex Viper HS-T for my .338 Win mag. I was not disappointed! Vortex is putting out some really nice glass these days and the VIP lifetime warranty is a bonus (especially with my kids)!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vortex diamondback riflescope

Date:March 25, 2014
scope is very sharp & clear, best scope in it's class!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:March 25, 2014
This scope is just ok. Better than the crossfire but this scope is small and best suited for a .22. Not overly impressed & not a good choice for my rifle and my standards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value Out There

Date:March 20, 2014
I purchased a Winchester 270wsm and was looking for a scope. I have rifles with other scopes but I wanted a quality optic for the new rifle. I researched and looked in stores at Bushnell Trophy XLT, Nikon Prostaff, Redfield Revolution and Burris Fullfield II, all of which are in similar price range. This scope is hands down far above anything I looked at, up to twice the price. I ordered the 4-12x40 from Cabelas and had it bore sighted at the local gun shop. Sighting in was very easy. It's low light clarity is awesome. I have taken the rifle hunting already and could not be happier with it. My first time out, a night hog hunting trip here in Georgia, I killed a hog around 10pm with only the help of a flashlight. I am now hoping to replace other scopes in the near future!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice scope

Date:March 18, 2014
I put this scope on a ruger .308 it was very clear and very easy to adjust. Vortex warranty is unbeatable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope

Date:March 18, 2014
Quality appears to be above average for a scope in this price range. With the unconditional life warranty & clear optics it becomes a deal too good to refuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome deal

Date:March 18, 2014
This is a very nice scope for the money! I'm now a believer. Vortex makes a fine product. The scope is crystal clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Optics

Date:March 6, 2014
A+!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 58