Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

Solid one-piece, aircraft-grade aluminum-alloy construction makes this scope strong and resistant to magnum recoil. Fully multicoated optics deliver sharp images. Two reticle options: Choose V-Plex for all-purpose hunting or the Dead-Hold BDC reticle to simplify hold-over and windage corrections on long-range shots. The Precision-Glide Erector System ensures smooth magnification changes. Waterproof and fogproof. Reset turrets. 1" tube.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
47 out of 52(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Review 1 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: east Tn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

grate scope for the money

Date:March 13, 2011
My wife order the vortex diamondback scope 3x9x40 on the 8th and received it on the 11th, mounted it on a ruger compact 243 and compared it to a rifleman 2x7x33 and a conquest 3.5x10x44 at dusk . Hands down vortex over the rifleman. Both are almost equal in price as for the conquest I thought little to no difference between the two. My son and a friend thought the vortex had the edge. The conquest is 3 times the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:June 10, 2014
Absolutely amazing scope. Better than I imagined for price and quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the price

Date:May 27, 2014
Great scope for the price. Also cant beat the warranty vortex offers. Would recommend if you want a great scope but don't want to break the bank. Mounted on my mini 30 works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Absolute garbage!!!

Date:May 17, 2014
I purchased 3 Vortex Diamondback 4-12X40. I mounted all 3 scopes on Ruger American rifles. I attempted to zero my .30-06 and fired the 1st round and made adjustments. After the 1st round I could not focus the scope @ 100 yards unless it was on 7x. I fired the second round and the objective lens fell completely out of the scope tube!!! For the remaining 2 scopes there is no edge to edge clarity in these scopes at all!!! A complete blur or haze is a better description of what the edges of these scope look like!!! Save your money and either upgrade to the Vortex Viper or buy a Burris or Nikon Prostaff!!! Cabelas will be receiving these 3 scopes back!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vortex scope

Date:May 7, 2014
So far i am very pleased with this scope. However i have not had the opportunity to put it through all the ballistic tests.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 1, 2014
Great scope work good in low light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40mm

Date:March 29, 2014
I purchased this scope on sale to put on a Ruger American .30-06 rifle for my son. I was so impressed with the clarity and construction of this scope that I subsequently purchased two more as replacements for other rifles. I know quality optics as I own Nightforce, Leupold VX-3 and Ziess. I will not say that this scope is on par with the above-mentioned, but it's well worth the money I spent to purchase the scope(s)! Based on my experience with this scope I subsequently purchased a Vortex Viper HS-T for my .338 Win mag. I was not disappointed! Vortex is putting out some really nice glass these days and the VIP lifetime warranty is a bonus (especially with my kids)!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vortex diamondback riflescope

Date:March 25, 2014
scope is very sharp & clear, best scope in it's class!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:March 25, 2014
This scope is just ok. Better than the crossfire but this scope is small and best suited for a .22. Not overly impressed & not a good choice for my rifle and my standards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value Out There

Date:March 20, 2014
I purchased a Winchester 270wsm and was looking for a scope. I have rifles with other scopes but I wanted a quality optic for the new rifle. I researched and looked in stores at Bushnell Trophy XLT, Nikon Prostaff, Redfield Revolution and Burris Fullfield II, all of which are in similar price range. This scope is hands down far above anything I looked at, up to twice the price. I ordered the 4-12x40 from Cabelas and had it bore sighted at the local gun shop. Sighting in was very easy. It's low light clarity is awesome. I have taken the rifle hunting already and could not be happier with it. My first time out, a night hog hunting trip here in Georgia, I killed a hog around 10pm with only the help of a flashlight. I am now hoping to replace other scopes in the near future!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice scope

Date:March 18, 2014
I put this scope on a ruger .308 it was very clear and very easy to adjust. Vortex warranty is unbeatable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope

Date:March 18, 2014
Quality appears to be above average for a scope in this price range. With the unconditional life warranty & clear optics it becomes a deal too good to refuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome deal

Date:March 18, 2014
This is a very nice scope for the money! I'm now a believer. Vortex makes a fine product. The scope is crystal clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Optics

Date:March 6, 2014
A+!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Typical Vortex quality

Date:March 4, 2014
Outstanding scope for my AR. I Use for coyotes and varmint calling. I will continue to buy Vortex optics. Outstanding optic for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plenty good enough, 2 minor regrets

Date:February 15, 2014
This is 3-9x, 40mm, Dead-hold BDC Diamondback. Mounted to Browning BAR in .270 cal. for coyotes. Previous 2 scope purchases were Leupold VariX-II (1990's vintage), and newer Leopuld 4x .22 riflescope (forget model name). Have been a contented gold ring customer. This Vortex was $100 cheaper than new VX-2, same warranty, fairly broadly-touted, a safe bet, a let's-be-open-minded sort of purchase. Performs as hoped, optically clear, plenty bright, focus adjustment is straight-forward and not prone to accidental tampering, smooth zoom with right degree of resistance and quality turning surface (including with gloves), linear and predictable sight-in experience. Two disappointments were the poor click feel/feedback distinction on windage and elevation adjustments (hard to count with confidence), and the Leupolds have a better and simpler zero-reset dial arrangement, just in my opinion. Oh, and I suppose the Leupolds are, prettier. Really like the deadhold BDC reticle, would have been nice for antelope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keep up with Dad

Date:January 14, 2014
I bought this scope in hopes my son could see deer in the early am/late pm as I can with a scope that cost 2x as much the Vortex Diamondback. IT works great!!!!
Great scope for the money!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value

Date:January 14, 2014
Good clear optics for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bring it in close

Date:January 14, 2014
Moved up from 4 X 9, getting older, this seems to bring the target in closer for my eyes. Like the marks for adjusting to range and wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive

Date:January 7, 2014
I have a decent gun collection and have tried just about every brand of scope over 45 years. Vortex scopes have exciting clarity and probably the best warranty on the market. Sight in was smooth with dependable clicks. Very impressive and good price.
Will be adding more Vortex units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 52