Customer Reviews for VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

VORTEX Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope

Solid one-piece, aircraft-grade aluminum-alloy construction makes this scope strong and resistant to magnum recoil. Fully multicoated optics deliver sharp images. Two reticle options: Choose V-Plex for all-purpose hunting or the Dead-Hold BDC reticle to simplify hold-over and windage corrections on long-range shots. The Precision-Glide Erector System ensures smooth magnification changes. Waterproof and fogproof. Reset turrets. 1" tube.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.823 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(526 Reviews) 526
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 526 reviews
5 Stars
457
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
508 out of 518(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Review 1 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: east Tn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

grate scope for the money

Date:March 13, 2011
My wife order the vortex diamondback scope 3x9x40 on the 8th and received it on the 11th, mounted it on a ruger compact 243 and compared it to a rifleman 2x7x33 and a conquest 3.5x10x44 at dusk . Hands down vortex over the rifleman. Both are almost equal in price as for the conquest I thought little to no difference between the two. My son and a friend thought the vortex had the edge. The conquest is 3 times the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clear and bright. Vortex for other rifles.

Date:November 3, 2015
Great scope for the price. 200 yard zero on Model 70 30.06 had 1/2 inch spread.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Can See Again!

Date:October 20, 2015
I just mounted my new Vortex Diamondback scope on my .270 Remington 700. I bore sighted the scope then went off to the range. I found the process of zeroing in the scope very easy and effective. The clarity of the optics is so much better than my old scope, and it performs much better in lower light situations that I am confident that it will make a great difference on my upcoming deer hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:October 13, 2015
very pleased with the Vortex. you can't go wrong with the Vortex brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome optic

Date:September 24, 2015
right out of the box and on the gun…great optic and the price and warranty unbelievable value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Diamondback

Date:June 30, 2015
have purchased this scope and love it. easy to adjust ,great eye relief ,had to adjust slightly for a right-handed person mounted and I shoot left-handed. love it in general, works well and gets me on target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

three shots three elk

Date:June 22, 2015
I guide new hunters for elk. The BDC system coupled with great eye relief allowed me to guide three new elk hunters to 1 shot kills on elk at ranges from 300 to 380 yards. What can I say Vortex has my vote for best scope in its price range- and then some.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:May 12, 2015
What can I say? Great optics!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I was expecting

Date:April 7, 2015
After reading the reviews I didn't hesitate to buy this scope. It hasn't lived up to the positive reviews. Clarity, especially in full sunlight is marginal. The reticle is crisp but the target is blurry in spite of many focus adjustment attempts. I have also had issues with consistency when attempting to dial elevation. Tried to shoot the box and ended up with a ragged 5" group from a rifle that prints 1/2" groups with my 55gr tsx hand loads. I bought it partly because it's relatively compact for a 4-12 and my Mossberg MVP patrol 5.56 needs a shorter scope to clear the rear sight. It fits that need nicely but I'd rather have a crystal clear Nikon or Burris 3-9 for the same price than this fuzzy 4-12. Maybe I got a dud. I think I'll give Vortex's customer service department a chance to impress me like their product hasn't so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Scope for the price

Date:March 31, 2015
I have sighted this scope in and it works great and repeatable. Mil marking make it easy for distant targets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

all a hunter needs

Date:March 27, 2015
On a saddle mule in good old leather, under my right leg with butt to the front, the pre 64 model 70 Winchester has wore a few different scopes. The Vortex is great, built tough and no need to baby it. Zero is still Zero rain, snow and dirt. Tried them all Vortex is the best yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

decent scope for the money

Date:March 17, 2015
I bought this to mount on a savage 17wsm b mag. (Great accurate gun by the way). I got the scope when they had rebates running or I probably would of picked the redfield 4-12x40 as it had better eye relief and faster less picky sight picture on it. But this scope is very clear and bright. The eye relief is decent not great. It seems very well built and is very light and compact. Perfect for the smallish 17 I put it on. Easy to sight in And holds zero so far. Heck of a deal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:January 21, 2015
I bought this scope for the great reviews on it. The only drawback on it is the short eye relief. I was aware of it when I bought it, I just had to make a little adjustment on creeping up to the scope a little closer. Not a problem on my part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope for the money

Date:January 14, 2015
I am not a very experienced scope user, but these Vortex scopes are very well built and the glass is crystal clear.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best

Date:December 31, 2014
These are the best optics at a great price!!! My vortex 4-12 is just as clear as high end scopes and it holds a zero like no other!! Plus their VIP warranty can't be beat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BUY IT !!!!

Date:December 10, 2014
Don't waste your money on other high dollar scopes. This Vortex is as good as if not better than all of them. I placed it on top of my Tikka 308 and it is a tack driver at 200yds !!! BUY IT !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best scope I have ever seen

Date:December 9, 2014
This scope is so clear and with 50mm size lets in plenty of light in low light situation,3.5x10x50,dont think I will ever buy a different brand of scope again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product for the price

Date:December 2, 2014
I have 2 of these and couldn't be more pleased for the price and quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well pleased with this scope.

Date:December 2, 2014
This scope suited my needs well. I am very pleased with it, especially at the price. My 11 year old has used it to take 2 deer so far this season. It has held up well, considering he is rough on equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 V-PLEX Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cristal Crear

Date:November 28, 2014
While sopping for an excellent scope that would provide the best optical features light weight, clarity, light penetration I found that the Vortex 4x12x50mm Diamondback was the best for the money not to mention the unconditional warranty. So I also purchased the 4x12x40mm scope. On my first hunt with the 4x12x50 i was able to clearly see a boar and put him down. My hunting friends passed my rifle around and commented on the clarity of the scope and how much they could see in low light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 86