Customer Reviews for SIMMONS Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SIMMONS Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope

Enjoy substantial savings on Simmons spotting scope. This advanced model is waterproof and fogproof and comes with a metal hard case and full-size 44" tripod. It's equipped with BK7 porro prisms and fully coated, high-quality optics in a rugged housing wrapped in durable rubber armor. Images are bright and clear with excellent color reproduction and light-gathering ability. Great for scouting game, spotting targets at the shooting range, and observing birds and wildlife.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Review 1 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OK for the money

Date:January 8, 2014
Just bought the Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting scope, the scope is clear but the parts are cheaply made. 0ne leg already broke as I was just opening the legs at the top. Case is flimsily, fold down eye cup came off, but I will probably keep it for the price, only using it for the range, wouldn't think of taking it on a hunting trip. Would only recommend because of price and use would only be for the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality

Date:November 5, 2013
Flimsy tripod. Even if I did get scope centered, it would soon slip off center. Any wind at all made centering impossible.
Scope rarely in focus even at 50 yards. Constant fight trying to focus. 100 yards was near impossible.
I returned it 2 days later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good all-around scope

Date:February 12, 2013
Not the smallest or one with the best optics, but an accurate and fully functional scope at a most attractive price. Bundled with a hard case and tripod, this scope is a work horse that will not disappoint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope... Subpar tripod

Date:January 29, 2013
Great scope for the money, works great out to 200 yards which is the max at my range. However the tripod could be better made, there is too much play in the joint between the legs and the swivel bracket, which causes it to move at the slightest touch or even vibrate in light winds... I'll probably end up replacing the tripod, it's that bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

Date:January 2, 2013
You get what you pay for ! Poor quality lens, tripod was junk, zoom adjusting ring was not even attached to the adjuster, just spins freely. Returned for refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value spotting scope

Date:December 27, 2012
I was very happy with the simmons spotting scope. I was a bit worried it would be cheap and nasty but was impressed when l got it. l read other reports that they had received the scoped cracked on deliverly and l was a bit worried this might happen to me so l emailed cabelas and they made sure it had extra padding around the scope. The box it comes in is great and will protect the scope while in the truck. The scope works just as well as any more expensive scopes that cost four times the price. The stand once mastered was great but that was the only weak part of the package the plastic parts could easily break if dropped. Overall l have been very impressed with the spotting scope for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT SPOTTING SCOPE

Date:December 27, 2012
Very good for the price. Optics and the simmons products are of high quality, Satisfied with the purchase. Thank you Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons Spotting Scope

Date:December 18, 2012
Great value for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

About what I expected

Date:January 7, 2012
I wanted a scope to take to the shooting range so I could shoot more and walk down range less. I dindn't want to spend much money, and this package was affordable. I have only used this at 100 yards with .45 cal bullets and I can easily see where the bullets are hitting. I have also used this to watch deer in fields a couple hundred yards away, and I used it to view Jupiter's moons, but you can see those with binoculars. The optics are okay at the lower powers, not real clear at higher power (forget 60x magnification).If I wanted to count antler points at several hundred yards or go out west and glass all day I would plan on spending at least 3x more. If you want an affordable scope to take to a 100 yard range, this will work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hamilton, OH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What do you expect??

Date:December 22, 2011
For the price and the intended use this is an incredible product. For the range or even hunting deer here in Ohio this is more than sufficient!
If you want a $500+ scope spend the money, you get more than you pay for here. The tri-pod is exceptional for the price too; read FREE! If you spend a minute to figure out how to tighten it up it won't blow around!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, LA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Very Good Quality

Date:November 10, 2011
I received this spotting scope the other day, I have to say the hard case is nice. Took it out to the range, we had a slight wind blowing that day maybe 5-10 mph and could not steady this scope. Could barely make out the the holes in the target at 100 yards when I moved to 200 yards forget it! Not very well made, I found it to be of poor quality even at that price! I have returned this scope and will be shopping for another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor quality materials

Date:October 20, 2010
I received the spotting scope well packaged in a hardcase with the interior foam lined. However, when I opened it to assemble the scope, the rubber eyepiece cover fell off immediately. The plastic threaded screw on cover for the eyepiece lense was cracked right through and appeared to be made very thin, so I see this happening to more than just me. This is basically just a plastic screw on cap inside the rubber eyepiece that holds the lense in place. Poor quality piece of plastic that is too thin to stand being screwed on/off more than a few times (even if it wasn't deliverd broken already, I doubt it'd last a few lense cleanings).
I returned it immediately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Valdosta, GA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice scope

Date:October 17, 2010
I am very satisfied with the spotting scope. Took it straight out of the package and got a beautiful view of the moon (holding the scope in my hand). Clear view through out the entire zoom. I agree with bart concerning the tripod, very sensitive. Forget about Cabela's order tracking. All I got was "in process" even when my order was in my hand. They did ship very fast, so no real complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good scope value.

Date:August 21, 2010
Recieved the package last night opened it as usual well protected in the box.
I went out on the porch early in the morning and viewed the barn a mile away very crisp view even with the early morning summer hase. Took a few moments to ID the objetct on the other side that turned out to be a house two miles away and could see the shingle seperations on the roof.
Reel cool.
The case is ok.
The tripod will do but is the week sister needing very delicate touch to pan up or down. Still a good unit over all.
With the value of this unit the high priced scopes are too high priced.
Would like to have a camera adapter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simmons 20-60x60 Waterproof Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Spotting Scope For The Price

Date:August 15, 2010
I "store tested" numerous brands and models...(found an electrical outlet about 75+ yds away from the display counter and tested clarity/visibility of the slots in the outlet). I really wanted a spotting scope kit, (hard case, tripod, etc.), however, I tested just about all of them...Note: high marks for the sales associate who was very patient with my testing. The high end scopes offered a little better clarity and lighting, but, they cost 2-10 times as much...I did not think they offered 2-10 times better clarity. This one appeared to function very well in the store. On a sunny day I took it to my range. It worked great for my 54 year old eyes at 100 yds and 150 yds...spotting every little .223 hole in the paper. I only used up to about 45x magnification, as 60x really reduces the field of view and the amount of available light. Very pleased with the quality for this price point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.