Customer Reviews for NIKON Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NIKON Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope

Drill targets out to 200 yards with your slug gun. This bullet-drop-calculating scope takes the guesswork out of difficult, long-distance hold-over shots with its trajectory-compensating BDC 200 reticle. Sight-in at 50 yards and then use the easy-to-see ballistic circles for targeting game at 100, 150, 175 and 200 yards for dependable, trophy-rolling accuracy. Bright, multicoated optics consistently deliver up to 92% light transmission for clear, sharp images and superior low-light performance. Its 5" eye relief protects your brow from the recoil of heavy slugs. Distortion-eliminating 100-yd. parallax setting. Waterproof, fogproof and shockproof. Lifetime warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Review 1 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turns a shotgun into a 200 yard rifle

Date:January 12, 2013
I bought this scope and mounted it to a Remington 870 cantilever rifled barrel. What a great purchase! After I sighted in at 50 yards, the Spot on app showed me exactly where I would be at each BDC circle for my 2 3/4" Accu-tips. I was dead on at 200. Shot a doe at 195 yards at dusk and dropped her right where she stood. This scope is great in low light. If you are on the fence to put this on your shotgun, get off and BUY IT! You will be glad you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the money

Date:January 8, 2013
Very happy with the Nikon shotgun scope spot-on helps make it very accurate at long ranges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT CHOICE

Date:January 2, 2013
I HAD THE CABELA'S STAFF MOUNT THIS FINE NIKON SCOPE ON MY REMINGTON 870 12 GAUGE SLUG GUN. I INSTALLED ONE INCH DIAMETER WARNE QUICK CONNECT RING MOUNTS ON THE STOCK CANTILEVER BASE.
ONCE ON THE RANGE, I NEEDED TO GET ON PAPER AT 25 THEN 50 YARDS. BY THE 20TH ROUND I WAS HITTING A RESPECTABLE GROUP.
THE COMPENSATING 'HOLD POINT' AT 100 YARDS WAS RIGHT ON. I DOUBT I WILL TAKE MORE THAN A 100 YARD SHOT AT A DEER IN MY HOME STATE OF NEW JERSEY, BUT I DECIDED TO MAKE THE INVESTMENT FOR THE FUTURE.
I OFTEN TAKE EARLY AND LATE DAY SHOTS, SO THE SCOPE'S ABILITY TO GATHER ADDED LIGHT WILL BE A BONUS FOR MY AGING EYES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the money

Date:December 28, 2012
I own four of these scopes. They are the best quality you can get in this price range. Also you can't beat Nikons warranty. If you have issues they will repair or replace no questions asked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slughunter shotgun scope...brown and down, 7 pts.

Date:December 6, 2012
First time in the field with my new shotgun fit with the nikon slughunter 200 BDC 3x9x40. Absolutley AWSOME! no searching through the scope, lifted the gun, and there was perfect vision. BANG! brown and down, 7 point buck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:December 4, 2012
Clear, bright, and can take a beating. I love the long eye relief, and it's built very well. Highly recommended and love it on my slug gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope, can't wait to use./ Purchasing advice

Date:October 31, 2012
This is a great scope, and if you use sabot slugs like hornady's it should really give you the potential to hit something close to 200 yards away. I can't wait to use this scope for actual hunting.
About purchasing the scope, however, I went to the actual store to buy this scope and have it mounted, not in stock, ordered online, returned to have rail put on my shotgun and get scope mounted, rail not in stock. Ordered online, and finally got it mounted on third trip to Cabelas. My recommendation would be o cll ahead before you head there and waste time and gas to find out what you need is not in stock. Also, after getting it mounted I tried to change barrels and my barrel would not come out as one of the rail screws was too long and caught in the topside of my barrel. This would also be a good thing to check before leaving the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:October 16, 2012
This is my second slughunter shotgun scope. I read favorable reviews from Cabelas customers last year and bought one for my 12 gauge Browning slug gun. I loved the bright optics, it did not fog up in the field like the one I replaced and the BDC reticle works as advertised. I bought a Savage 220 bolt gun and replaced the scope on it with a Slughunter. Looking forward to a great season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY NICE SCOPE

Date:October 6, 2012
MOUNTED THIS ON A SAVAGE 220F SLUG GUN. USED REMINGTON PREMIER 20GA. 3" ACCUTIP SABOT SLUGS AND WAS RIGHT ON. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS SCOPE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Length of scope

Date:September 8, 2012
Nice scope but make sure you measure the distance between your rings. I did not do this and found the scope will not mount on a Mossberg 695 because it is too short. Need to have a 12.5" scope. That is bad news because the eye relief is why I bought the scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern, NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Rained Out

Date:January 24, 2012
This scope is mounted on a Mossberg 500 with rifled barrel with cantilever scope mounting rail. The scope mounted fine. Is good at the range. The Spot-On ballistic program comes close to being accurate. The problem is RAIN. Hunted in the rain and water droplets stay on the lenses making it impossible to see. Had to keep wiping them dry. Needs better coatings. I dont have these problems with my comparably priced rfile scopes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Takes care of Business

Date:December 21, 2011
I matched the scope with a 12 gauge H&R Ultra Slug Hunter and sighted in with Remington Accutip 2 3/4 inch sabots. I used high scope mounts. When sighted in at 50 yards with crosshairs as per the instructions with the scope, here are my results. There are 4 ballistic circles below the crosshairs. Each circle has 3 aim points top, middle and bottom. The middle of the circle is used unless otherwise stated. The first circle is dead on for 100 yards with this ammo. The second circle is dead on for 125 yards. The third circle is good for 150 yards using the bottom portion of the circle. The fourth circle is dead on for 175 yards. The fourth circile is also used for 200 yards when the bottom of the circle is used-but the shot will still be 4 inches low. So, when shooting at 200 yards use a mid -chest aim pt. on deer, using bottom of 4th circle. Remember-4 inches low with 4th circle at 200 yds. Of course this formula only works for the ammo specified. The velocity for the Rem Accutip in 2 3/4 is 1850 fps. A faster slug will yield different results, but I like the knock down power of this load. All of the above shots were made using Caldwell Lead Sled Plus,(awesome product) also purchased from Cabelas. When I say "dead on" I mean plus or minus one inch in elevation. Hope this info will help some of you. Good hunting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: newfield
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nikion slughunter

Date:November 25, 2011
this scope is top line scope i took my first dow with it this year. if your looking for accuracy this is the scope for you. thank you cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead on accuracy

Date:November 24, 2011
What a great scope! I field hunt so i needed to be able to take those long shots. I Mounted the slughunter on my Mossberg 935 last season. opening day at first light i spoted a group of deer feeding i ranged them at 194 yards. fired one shot at trophy 10 point he is now hanging on the wall. Best investment ever!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gotta try it!

Date:September 21, 2011
I just bought a Benelli M2 and topped it with a Nikon Slughunter scope with the BDC reticle. I chose the Brenneke Gold Magnum slugs and was very please. I sighted it in at 50 yards on the fourth shot, dead center. I used the recommended reticle on the scope at 100 yards and knocked the bullseye out of the target. Five shots and I was done shooting. I am very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope

Date:May 30, 2011
I really like this scope. I bought the 36mm diameter and it is fine for slug gun hunting. I have several other Nikon scopes and all of them are as nice and bright as much more expensive rifle scopes. The hold over feature works great with a little bit of practice. Brenneke sabots worked the best for me in my Benelli.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

spot on shooting

Date:December 12, 2010
we sighted in as directed (50 yards) with hornadays 12ga sst's in my rem. 1100sp. honest 1&1/4" groups or less off tripod sticks. Then out to 150yds it was spot on. used top of first circle for 75yd shot on first deer with scope and it hammered it. great product,quality,clarity,brightness, it's all there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Little Hocking ,Ohio ( southeastern Ohio )
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nikon slughunter scope

Date:December 6, 2010
This scope is great ! I've had several scopes on my shotgun but this is the clearest . I've hunted hard with it for two years and it has not failed me yet .I've made two shots one at 155 yards and one 163 on nice bucks in this period that I consider long shots with a shotgun and both hit dead on . Took some time to sightin at 100 hundred yards and then find where it was hitting at 50 , 150 ,175 , and 200 but once you got this info , all you have to do the next year is shoot at 50 yards to make sure it's still on ( which it has been both times) and you are good to go. I couldn't be more pleased and would definately recommened it to abyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent shotgun scope

Date:September 17, 2010
If your looking for a BDC scope for your shotgun look no futher. This is a great scope backed by a great company (Nikon) and it is as good as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon Slughunter Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

does what it says

Date:July 23, 2010
You need to do some work on the type of slugs to shoot as Nikon will not tell you which ones they used to base the reticules on. I use the Brenneke "green lightning" as they pattern great in the Benneli M2. With this scope I have dropped several deer at 150 yds. It does what it says and I am very happy I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.