Customer Reviews for REDFIELD Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

REDFIELD Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder

Don't rely on guesstimates. Be sure of the exact range so you can shoot with confidence. The Raider 550 will give you fast, accurate ranges. With 6X magnification, you can be sure you're dialed in on that trophy. You can use the Raider 550 as an instant spotter when game is close. A high-speed digital processor and powerful laser means fast, accurate ranging. At 4" long and under 5 oz., it conveniently fits in a pocket. You won't miss an opportunity with the Raider 550's simple, one-button operation. One press of the button instantly acquires your target; press and hold to scan the landscape to return ranges for landmarks or other game. The unit's efficient energy use means longer battery life from the common CR-2 battery. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
62 out of 68(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Review 21 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate N.Y.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

550 Range Finder

Date:October 17, 2011
Purchased this ranger finder about a year ago. Great product. Easy to use,small enough to fit in your pocket.Excellent clarity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dillwyn, Va.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:October 29, 2011
Just received and tested. Spot on at many known
distances. Easy to use. Optics very clear. Great deal
for the money. Thanks Redfield.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Burleson, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:November 13, 2011
The Redfield 550 works great and as advertised. I purchased it in September before Bow season and used it all season including during rifle season thus far. Battery life still shows 100% thus far with a lot of use. It's a great rangefinder for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Silverdale, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sent Back

Date:December 1, 2011
Rec'd it new today & it's already on the way back to the factory. I opened the box & installed the battery, turned it on & took a look. On the left side of the viewing screen it had black flakes in it. Tried cleaning with a Q-tip ... but no such luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CAMERON, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

REDFEILD IS BACK!

Date:December 3, 2011
BOUGHT ONE AFTER EXCELLANT PERFORMANCE WITH THE REVELUTION 4X12X40 SCOPE. IT SHOOTS 1/2 INCH GROUPS ON SON'S .243. RANGEFINDER JUST AS GOOD! EASY USE, SMALL, SPOT ON YARDAGE. FITS IN YOUR POCKET! IF IT FUNCTIONS THIS WELL IN EXTREME COLD, WILL BE ESTATIC. I WILL BE TRYING OUT REBEL BINOCULARS NEXT! BEST PART IS NONE ARE BUDGET BUSTING PRICES AND PEFORMANCE COMPARABLE TO FAR HIGHER PRICED BRANDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern, CO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT!!

Date:December 30, 2011
This range finder is great! I was surprised about how small in size the rangefinder is but im sure it will make carrying it alot easier. Optics are great and it is very accurate! Very happy with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Abilene, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Date:January 6, 2012
Overall im very pleased with this rangefinder. Its very small and thats great for bow hunting! Money well spent! Ive been pleased with all redfield products so far!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Redfield disappointment

Date:January 9, 2012
Maybe I expected too much, but I own a redfield scope, binoculars, and just received this raider 550 a few days ago. The other products have been outstanding, but when it comes to their rangefinder I have to say that I'm disappointed. I've had some time to play with it and have used it hunting once, so I'll list the pro's and con's for me. Pro's: affordable, compact, lightweight, easy operation, seems accurate. Con's: feels very fragile and cheaply made, hard to read the display in sunlight, sight picture not very crisp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marion, SC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 11, 2012
This rangefinder is well worth the money. I tested it from the ground and from a 15 foot tree stand. Very accurate and well built.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bay Area, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor in Low Light

Date:January 12, 2012
I am not sure what is wrong with my rangefinder. On my side yard I put out a little bow range, and it is shaded due to the house and the fence. It will not pick up the target at all at 20 yards. I am wondering if its having issues picking up on the black of the target or what, but if thats the case I don't know how it will work when going after a hog in low light conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St John Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rangefinder

Date:January 30, 2012
very accurate and compact ( only 4 inches) would recommend to anyone looking for great rangefinder
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WA state
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder

Date:April 12, 2012
Bought the Redfield Range Finder last week and have been testing it at home before going turkey hunting. Optics are fine yardage is instant and accurate, it will do just what I need it to do in the field and at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spectacular

Date:May 6, 2012
This pair of rangefinders have proven themselves crucial every single time I have found myself in the woods. These have been a key piece of bow hunting for me and a buddy of mine, get these today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get what you pay for

Date:November 19, 2012
It easily fits in the palm of your hand and seems to be made well. The functioning of the product is straightforward and has the typical button that, once depressed, immediately ranges your target.
With that said, the target might be defined as multiple items. For example, if looking across an open field and the only, substantial target in your viewing area is in fact your desired target... then it works great. But if there are trees, shrubs, etc... it is often difficult to discern exactly what it is ranging.
In my opinion, it is a fun toy to play with during deer season but may lack the accuracy needed for true long range distancing.
Its not a bad tool at all, I'm just still on the fence with it until I use it in that 850 yard deep open field.
In short, you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:November 19, 2012
Overall I'm satisfied with my purchase. I'm sure there are better but for my range from 100 to 275 yds, I'm really satisfied. I've got buddies I hunt with that paid 3 or 4 times more than I did, we compared to 300 yds with maybe 1 yard difference. Can't beat it for the money and the way I use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redfield

Date:November 26, 2012
I bought the bushnell yardage pro 850 first then returned it because its new and the reviews are not as good as the redfield. I'm glade I did. I own a redfield scope and Now I own a (BA) rangefinder from redfield and absolutely love this thing. You won't go wrong with this one. It's really small I was shocked about that but it works well, the only thing that could be better would be that it doesn't work that well when trying to range something black, but other than that it's BA. I also like the way you can focus the eye piece
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth it

Date:November 26, 2012
Not worth the 1 calorie i burned carrying it . fogged up , blurry , crosshairs were off ext. You get what you pay for!! Take it from a hunter .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bargain

Date:December 5, 2012
Very good rangefinder for the price. Took it to my local shooting range to check the accuracy and it was spot on. Simple and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

have not received manufactures rebate yet

Date:December 11, 2012
i bought this thinking the price was right, with the manufactures rebate. have not received the rebate . other than that, great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Redfield® Raider 550 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:December 15, 2012
Very good rangefinder for the money. I used it in conjunction with the Boone and Crockett reticle on my new Leupold Scope and took a nice deer at 325 yards on my first day of hunting this season. Every range I checked was right on with known distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 68