Customer Reviews for BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope

BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope

Engineered with Amber-Bright™ optics to quickly help you distinguish between a brown tree and a brown critter. Trophy riflescopes have been heralded by hunters as the ideal scope for the deer woods. Multicoated optics increase brightness in low-light conditions with 91% light transmission. 1/4-MOA or finer European-style fingertip, audible and resettable windage and elevation adjustment. Fast-focus eyepieces get you on target quickly. Strong, one-piece, dry-nitrogen-filled tubes with integrated saddles.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Review 1 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

4x12x40 doa

Date:January 19, 2011
not sure if I was sold a "bad one", but mine had a piece of metal shaving inside the occular lens to start w/, than sighting time came, one click does not equal 1/4"@100yrds, keept on drifting, once it was sighted ,every now & than that drift again. so I returned it to cabelas and spend an extra 100$ on a nikon,what a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bushnell scope

Date:February 22, 2010
very poor scope, (good visibility) ,but would not track properly, very hard to focus lens and target i have sen better from bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't buy again

Date:November 30, 2013
The low-light capabilities of this scope are pretty awful. I missed out on a nice buck this week because I could see him in my binoculars but not the scope. It is about a 4-6x scope in low light. Anything beyond that looks like dense fog. It does look nice at all levels during full light. If I could go back in time I would get a higher end scope. Saving $100-200 is not worth missing out on those low light shots...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

there are better scopesfor the money

Date:December 2, 2012
I got one of these for my mule deer/anrelope hunt in Wy this year
1. its hard to zero
2. the slightest bump knocks it off far off zero. i suget either a Leupold VX1, Nikon. bith not to much more then this scope but better quility. I did sendtrophy xlt doa 600 scope back to bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not the best scope

Date:November 26, 2012
Tried to mount on a 308 bolt gun, even with 2 sets of rings to try I did not get full eye relief. the front bell on this scope was so far back i did not get full relief, I could not slide the scope far enough back. then i put it on my 22 and it fit well, but at 50 yards to the target it was blurry, ( paralex ) is set for 100 yards. as this is a centerfire scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Banner Dusk to Dawn 3X9

Date:May 28, 2010
I was really impressed with the scope initially. It sighted in easily, and the optics are respectable for a scope in this price range. After a couple of sessions at the range however, I noticed that my point of impact was drifting significantly. I re-sighted the scope several times. Each time the scope would start to drift after 20-30 rounds.
This was mounted on a .223 AR-15, which has a very light recoil. I am returning the scope for a Trophy XLT model. Lesson learned. Don’t skimp when buying a scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OK scope for beginner

Date:October 21, 2014
This is a great scope for a beginner or youth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope!

Date:November 25, 2014
Love this scope, but it's a little big for my .35 Remington, had to get high mounts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good scope for the money.

Date:November 25, 2014
I purchased the 3-9x40. Crystal clear image, nice zoom capabilities, and easy to sight in. The lens caps pop up so you do not lose them and the front one is spring loaded with a little button to open it. Only difficult thing was to get the crosshairs focused.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell XLT 3X9X40

Date:November 2, 2014
Found this scope to be an excellent value! Very clear optics and multi-plex reticle. Also, I like the Butler Creek scope covers that were include with the scope. I bought this scope for my Dad, who due to his aging eyes, had issues achieving a "full scope" on his old 32mm scope. He is very pleased with the performance of the scope too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice scope

Date:September 23, 2014
This scope is very nice easy to get sighted in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Trophy XLT 4-12AO w/Multi-X

Date:September 23, 2014
Based on price and performance, I have been pleased with Bushnell scopes and can say the same for this particular model. However, whoever mounts the Butler Creek scope covers at the factory needs further instruction. Mine arrived with the objective (front), lens cover mounted in such a way that when set at 100 yds. the scope hinge bumped-up against the barrel. (Not a good thing if a lower ring height is beneficial). So, I warmed-up the cover with a hair dryer set on the low setting to remove it. Then, I set the objective lens at 100 yds. and mounted the cover so that the hinge was on top of the lens, centered on the 100 yd. mark and parallel to the top of the windage cap. Now, you can adjust the range without interference from the cover hinge. Otherwise A-OK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good workhorse little scope

Date:December 31, 2013
Nice clear optics for a scope of this price. Adjustable parallax works great and it gathers a lot of light! I have this on a savage MK II .22lr and it is perfect! The DOA reticle is nice and useful although on this rifle you just use different ranges for the drop. I am rough with this particular rifle/scope and so far it holds zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than expected

Date:September 17, 2013
Nice scope, matter of fact I would replace some of my more expensive scopes with this product. Very good buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the Price!

Date:May 25, 2013
A great scope. It mounts easily, shoots well, and holds its mark. The only reason this doesn't deserve 5 stars is because it can be a little tough to focus at high power and long range. Otherwise, its an excellent scope, especially on my .300 Win. Mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad

Date:January 15, 2013
Good scope for the money. Adjustments are smooth and accurate. Holds its zero and has good clarity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:December 6, 2012
The Bushnell scope is great, good brightness and held zero. The scope covers were loud to open and both broke during the first hunt. Would have given the bushnell five stars the scope covers are already off. Will buy quieter covers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good - But Not Perfect

Date:December 3, 2012
I decided to replace an older scope on my Savage Axis .308 for the Tennessee center fire season because the really big critters come out in the last five minutes of legal shooting light. The 91% light transmission of the XLT (comparing my old scope to my brother's Trophy XLT) really does make a difference. (Just ask the critter that came out right at dark on the last day of the hunt - just like on the deer hunting cartoon shows). After two days of hunting in wet and drizzle, including a 40 minute four wheeler ride in and out both ways, no sign of fogging. It does seem to be waterproof so far.
The scope is optically very good - sharp, bright and to my eyes no distortion across the field of view. The duplex reticule is sharp and the quick focus eyepiece works very well to set up for individual eyes.
Now, the aw-pooh's.
The quick focus eyepiece makes the rear lens a bit bigger than normal. A normal double-ended elastic banded lens cap won't fit over it. I found this because I don't like flip-up lens caps (just me)and I'll have to look around for some other lens caps or make my own elastic banded caps for this scope.
Additionally, the flip-up caps are not very durable. The front cap lasted until the second morning when it broke off when I flipped it up.
All in all - a good scope, but the lens caps need some attention- that would make it a five.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope

Date:August 21, 2010
Purchased the 3-9x40 with DOA. Nice scope for the price. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is that clarity isn't quite as good on 9X. It works great on 8X, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no complaints

Date:December 2, 2014
I was apprehensive about buying a low cost scope for a new muzzleloader. But this one held up nicely during its first season of use. Very good at gathering light in low light conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 38