Customer Reviews for BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope

BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope

Engineered with Amber-Bright™ optics to quickly help you distinguish between a brown tree and a brown critter. Trophy riflescopes have been heralded by hunters as the ideal scope for the deer woods. Multicoated optics increase brightness in low-light conditions with 91% light transmission. 1/4-MOA or finer European-style fingertip, audible and resettable windage and elevation adjustment. Fast-focus eyepieces get you on target quickly. Strong, one-piece, dry-nitrogen-filled tubes with integrated saddles.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Review 1 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

4x12x40 doa

Date:January 19, 2011
not sure if I was sold a "bad one", but mine had a piece of metal shaving inside the occular lens to start w/, than sighting time came, one click does not equal 1/4"@100yrds, keept on drifting, once it was sighted ,every now & than that drift again. so I returned it to cabelas and spend an extra 100$ on a nikon,what a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bushnell scope

Date:February 22, 2010
very poor scope, (good visibility) ,but would not track properly, very hard to focus lens and target i have sen better from bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't buy again

Date:November 30, 2013
The low-light capabilities of this scope are pretty awful. I missed out on a nice buck this week because I could see him in my binoculars but not the scope. It is about a 4-6x scope in low light. Anything beyond that looks like dense fog. It does look nice at all levels during full light. If I could go back in time I would get a higher end scope. Saving $100-200 is not worth missing out on those low light shots...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

there are better scopesfor the money

Date:December 2, 2012
I got one of these for my mule deer/anrelope hunt in Wy this year
1. its hard to zero
2. the slightest bump knocks it off far off zero. i suget either a Leupold VX1, Nikon. bith not to much more then this scope but better quility. I did sendtrophy xlt doa 600 scope back to bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not the best scope

Date:November 26, 2012
Tried to mount on a 308 bolt gun, even with 2 sets of rings to try I did not get full eye relief. the front bell on this scope was so far back i did not get full relief, I could not slide the scope far enough back. then i put it on my 22 and it fit well, but at 50 yards to the target it was blurry, ( paralex ) is set for 100 yards. as this is a centerfire scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Banner Dusk to Dawn 3X9

Date:May 28, 2010
I was really impressed with the scope initially. It sighted in easily, and the optics are respectable for a scope in this price range. After a couple of sessions at the range however, I noticed that my point of impact was drifting significantly. I re-sighted the scope several times. Each time the scope would start to drift after 20-30 rounds.
This was mounted on a .223 AR-15, which has a very light recoil. I am returning the scope for a Trophy XLT model. Lesson learned. Don’t skimp when buying a scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good workhorse little scope

Date:December 31, 2013
Nice clear optics for a scope of this price. Adjustable parallax works great and it gathers a lot of light! I have this on a savage MK II .22lr and it is perfect! The DOA reticle is nice and useful although on this rifle you just use different ranges for the drop. I am rough with this particular rifle/scope and so far it holds zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than expected

Date:September 17, 2013
Nice scope, matter of fact I would replace some of my more expensive scopes with this product. Very good buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the Price!

Date:May 25, 2013
A great scope. It mounts easily, shoots well, and holds its mark. The only reason this doesn't deserve 5 stars is because it can be a little tough to focus at high power and long range. Otherwise, its an excellent scope, especially on my .300 Win. Mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad

Date:January 15, 2013
Good scope for the money. Adjustments are smooth and accurate. Holds its zero and has good clarity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:December 6, 2012
The Bushnell scope is great, good brightness and held zero. The scope covers were loud to open and both broke during the first hunt. Would have given the bushnell five stars the scope covers are already off. Will buy quieter covers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good - But Not Perfect

Date:December 3, 2012
I decided to replace an older scope on my Savage Axis .308 for the Tennessee center fire season because the really big critters come out in the last five minutes of legal shooting light. The 91% light transmission of the XLT (comparing my old scope to my brother's Trophy XLT) really does make a difference. (Just ask the critter that came out right at dark on the last day of the hunt - just like on the deer hunting cartoon shows). After two days of hunting in wet and drizzle, including a 40 minute four wheeler ride in and out both ways, no sign of fogging. It does seem to be waterproof so far.
The scope is optically very good - sharp, bright and to my eyes no distortion across the field of view. The duplex reticule is sharp and the quick focus eyepiece works very well to set up for individual eyes.
Now, the aw-pooh's.
The quick focus eyepiece makes the rear lens a bit bigger than normal. A normal double-ended elastic banded lens cap won't fit over it. I found this because I don't like flip-up lens caps (just me)and I'll have to look around for some other lens caps or make my own elastic banded caps for this scope.
Additionally, the flip-up caps are not very durable. The front cap lasted until the second morning when it broke off when I flipped it up.
All in all - a good scope, but the lens caps need some attention- that would make it a five.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope

Date:August 21, 2010
Purchased the 3-9x40 with DOA. Nice scope for the price. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is that clarity isn't quite as good on 9X. It works great on 8X, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scope

Date:May 13, 2014
very easy to use and real quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:December 11, 2013
This Scope is very bright and clear. Good eye relief. Very easy to sight in. I bought the 4x12x40 which ended up being to much scope for where I am hunting. Now I will have to go out West for a hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope for the Price

Date:November 27, 2013
I bought this scope wanting more zoom capability for my 300 win mag, and this one did the job. It has great clarity and does great in low light too, the price also was great, there is no need to pay for a more expensive scope, this one is perfect. It also zeroed very easy and holds its zero great. I will definitely get another one or two for my other rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope

Date:April 9, 2013
I have 5 of these Trophy scopes and love every one of them. I always bore sight at the house before going to the range and I have had no problem sighting in with just a few shots. These scopes keep their settings and stand up to the riggers of large caliber fire. This particular purchase was installed on my Ruger Mini 14. It is lightweight and draws light well. After bore sighting I took this to the range and shot 10 rounds in a 1 1/2" group at 100 yards without changing the scope's settings at all! Highly recommend these scopes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy XLT 3x9

Date:January 4, 2013
When hunting for a rifle package, my father told me you couldn't go wrong with Bushnell. Boy, was he right! I purchased the Trophy XLT 3x9x40 for my Ruger American .270. The guy at the counter bore sighted the scope for me right there at the store, and thanks to him, I had it sighted in within 10 rounds!
I chose this scope for the sharp clarity I saw when I looked through it. It allowed me to stay out in the field an extra 5 to 10 minutes thanks to my scope.
The only thing I didn't like about this scope is the covers that come with it. The rear cover snapped right off the first day of the season! I didn't knock a star off of my rating, because the poor quality of the scope covers doesn't have anything to do with the excellent quality of the scope itself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:December 5, 2012
I am very pleased with my new scope. It was as advertised and more. Wish I had this years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushnell® Trophy XLT Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good scope for the price

Date:September 17, 2012
good price for this scope,clear lense built solid
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27